As per my last post, we're going to be starting our username purge, but due to some queue troubles, we'll be doing it manually. All this means is that it will take a bit longer and that we might need a bit more cooperation from you all.
First, I would like to stress again that ANY profile with a story under it WILL NOT be deleted. So if you have a story, please don't worry. Starting tonight, we will be sending out emails to users who don't have stories and whose profiles seem to not be in use. If you don't have any stories on MNFF but would like to keep your account and you'd like to help us out a bit, please edit the following at the top of your author page bio:
Please do not delete
If we see this, we promise that we will not delete your account.
Now as much as we might try, there may be an accident or two along the way. If your profile is accidentally deleted, you may of course sign up again with the same username. Your reviews will not be deleted. We will try to avoid this at all costs, of course, but sometimes accidents happen.
And again, we'd like to stress that if you have a story that you know you won't be finishing, we ask you to remove it to relieve some stress on the database.
Lastly, we'd like to thank you all for all your support and your understanding. MNFF is a great community and we want to keep it around as long as possible and this wouldn't be possible without your continued loyalty.
Posted by Anasuya on 01/15/08 - 05:36PM (48 Comments)
As you've noticed recently, there have been quite a few glitches with stories, emails etc. Some were due to the hacker attack, yet others are due to the sheer size of MNFF. We're outgrowing our database. To help relieve some pressure, we're going to be purging old usernames and inactive accounts.
Please read the following VERY CAREFULLY
ONLY accounts that have had no activity for the past 6 months will be deleted. Activity can be generally defined by logging in. So if you've logged into MNFF in the past 6 months, your account will NOT be deleted. This includes the Remember Me feature. If MNFF remembers you and you've been online in the past 6 months, your account is safe.
As long as you have a story on MNFF, your account will NOT be deleted. Only accounts without stories and without activity will be purged.
If you're in doubt about your account or would like to keep it, simply log in. That will keep it safe.
This will be happening sometime within the next week or two. I will make another post right before it happens.
Also, in order to relieve some more stress on the database, we will be doing an abandoned story purge in the near future (within the next month). However, if you know of a story that you will not be completing, we would be very grateful if you took the liberty of deleting it yourself. It will save us all some time and our servers will thank you for it.
Again, I can't stress how wonderful and patient you've all been. We're working hard to correct everything and you all are making it much easier on us by understanding. Thank you.
Posted by Anasuya on 01/10/08 - 03:17PM (90 Comments