Reviewer: harry4lif
Date: 06/25/09 23:28
Chapter: The Reading Room

I have to admit that I was a little reluctant to read this at first, but I now find it quite interesting. It is rather ambiguous to write a story that has a lot to do with portraits, and I like how you have pulled it off thus far. Hermione is very in character, and it could explain some of the time that she was off someplace else, and it would definitely be something that most of us can picture her doing…Someplace that she can be quiet and read on her own. Her own personal heaven it seems.

The only thing that bothers me really is how Madam Pince seems a bit…rude, in my opinion. We don’t see much of our dear librarian, but I could never imagine her being like that to Hermione, though I see her point. It just seems a tad off. If I was her I would be glad that someone wanted to read something that wasn’t for class work for once in their life. Though, since we don’t see much of her in canon, I cannot say you are wrong or anything, but that it seems unnatural in my opinion.

Overall I think it is a job well done with the first chapter. The end is definitely a cliff hanger that leaves me wanted more. I will have to finish reading this story as soon as I get a chance.

~Alyssa

Reviewer: kumydabookworm
Date: 06/17/09 2:26
Chapter: The Reading Room

You ended this chapter quite spectacularly, explaining Severus' particularly sharp temper and also enthralling the reader and forcing them to read the next chapter in the same blow. Two birds with one stone, eh? ;)

Anyway, I rather thought this chapter was interesting. Your inclusion of the minor characters of Hannah and Anthony was lovely. It indirectly characterized Snape and provided some spice to the story.

I did feel as though your Pince was mischaracterized; I see her as a person who only feels at home in the library. Yes, she hates noise and interference, but I don't think she'd resent having to keep the library open on the weekend for a quiet student who didn't disrespect her books.

In regards to Hermione herself, overall I bought your characterization of her. I think the part about Animagi was rather poorly explained; I would have appreciated understanding her motivation for trying to be an Animagi. Was she trying to get McGonagall to tutor her in preparation for the NEWTs--what was her motivation there? Hermione does not seem the type to do things without a purpose; even in her learning, she is very specific (she avoids Divination, for example).

Your description is beautiful. Particularly drawing is your three line depiction of Lily at the end of the chapter. I can't wait to see more of this Lily; I imagine she's quite different from the real character because she's only a portrait--but this is still highly intriguing.

Nice job opening up your story in this chapter! Keep up the hard work--your use of a portrait is pretty unique as a plot device and that makes your story a must-read. :)

Reviewer: Secret Seeker
Date: 06/09/09 16:07
Chapter: The Reading Room

Oh goodness, this is such an awesome first chapter. I applaud.

You've got characterization of canon characters very well. I would imagine that if we saw something from Harmione's point of ciew in Canon, it would be just like that. Yes, trying to find a place to read and study alone and she's also slightly fussy and loses her patience at times. For example like she did here:

"then stalked furiously out of the library, muttering. "I thought I could at least have a moment's peace in the library! I didn't know I needed my own bloody READING ROOM!"

Or earlier, when she was replying to Madam Pince:

""No, Madam Pince, but I—" Hermione began, turning red."
Very like her, trying to salvage her situation but not really daring to defy a teacher.

Madam Pince was, though, a bit more talkative. Maybe it's because we don't get many direct quotes from her in Canon, or maybe it's me that I didn't notice them...but I found it unnatural although not necessarily OOC. I like how you dealt with her character still, though. It was done quite nicely.

Now, Snape. I LOVED him. This was SO him:

""No, Miss Granger, not quite. What are you doing here?""
Oh I just love the sarcasm. A very good comeback and one which I very very imagine him saying. We always get him shooting these sarcastic comments in canon and the last bit of this chapter made me love it even more!

I also love the idea of a secret room; very like Hogwarts and not at all beyond Hermione to find something like that. I think all in all this chapter was very nicely done. A cliff-hanger to hook you to keep reading, great characterisation, language and a healthy dose of sarcasm. And a lost love! (Yes I'm a Sev/Lily shipper :D). Anyway, That's the end of my monologue I guess. I'll continue reading this fic definately if I have chance!
Keep up the great work! -Martina

Reviewer: sbrande
Date: 12/15/08 20:08
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

What a wonderful story. Clearly well thought out and richly described.

LOVED IT!

Love Sonia :)

Reviewer: NoxSomnium
Date: 02/04/06 21:53
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

Hopefully you will be able to forgive me for simply reading the entire fic without reviewing each individual chapter. I admit that your portrait idea was one of the more palateable ways of bringing Lily back that I've seen. Most of the others annoy me. Chapter 16, I think it was, had several typing mistakes which you might want to check if you get a chance. I read an small bit of The Book of the Dead. Made no sense. All about Osiris creating himself. Your fic was quite riviting. I found the smothering of Draco quite surprising although it probably shouldn't have been. I thought it was a good twist/turn for the plot. Yay for Remus being Harry's latest surrogate father. I still feel that the age gap between Snape and Hermione makes that idea rather odd, but I admit I could stand it the way you wrote it. At least at the moment. :) If you write Lucius suceeding with his schemes I may have to hit both of you. With my cat. Unless you hit him with my cat for me in which case I will skip it.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Yes, Lucius needs some cat flogging. But Harry and Hermione are there to do it! But the primary school did happen and was rather nice.

Reviewer: Medmera
Date: 12/18/05 6:40
Chapter: The Reading Room

This Fic is excellent, and the first one I ever read. Though maybe the ending never felt very likely canon-wise, it was exciting all the same. I found this on the Red Hen Publications site. Very Good!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you went to the Red Hen site. JOdel did such a great job illustrating!

Reviewer: EmeraldFire
Date: 12/16/05 20:57
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

A very good story, well written! Quite different than what I usualy read, very well done :)

Author's Response: Thanks

Reviewer: Sarahosmile
Date: 11/01/05 19:15
Chapter: The Reading Room

Wow. I went to your story yesterday morning completely unsuspecting--expecting just a random fanfic about lily coming out of the portrait. Now I sit here amazed; somehow it developed into the "Final Battle", the end of the book, and Hermione as Snape's assistant! I loved your story, though I wish that Ron had been in it more. 10/10, and it will definately be on my favorites. I actually wish there was a "super-favorites" list that I could put this on. There'd probably be only one other story in it (spirits in the future). Thank you so much for this amazing story.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I put a lot of work in to it!

Reviewer: Elphie
Date: 07/28/05 12:48
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

I love, love, love this fic. I am so glad Lily was put in Slytherin -- it would not have been nearly as interesting had you put her in Griffindor. And thank you so much for not letting there be a romance between Hermione and Snape, because you could have put it in there, and that would have been gross. I think you made their relationship just right. Again, I love this fic.

Reviewer: bookaholic_au
Date: 06/29/05 6:29
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

I really like the way you have put Lizy in Slytherin, I agree that Slytherin is about ambition, not dark magic, it just happens that a lot of dark wizards are ambitious. I also like the 'other side' to Draco, I believe that he will become an unlikely ally later on. The way the Malfoy's interpreted Lily's ideas was interesting and perhaps paves the way for a sequel?

Reviewer: rgreen
Date: 06/12/05 21:08
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

I just want to say, awesome story! I love your take on Lily, as we really don't have much info about her. I loved the ending. It was happy, in the sense that the "good guys" won, but yet not without loss. It seems more realistic that way. Way to go.

Reviewer: LTPerson
Date: 05/31/05 19:02
Chapter: The Order of Merlin

This is story has been truly amazing and will keep a permanent in my favorite stories. This story has touched me and my sister (who was reading along side of me). This latest chapter has made my sister cry because she loves happy endings. Thank you for a very wonderful story. 10/10

Author's Response: Thank you (and your sister) for your very kind review! I hope you check out the illustrated version at: http://www.redhen-publications.com/Publications.html JOdel did it in a sumptuous Art Nouveau style. It's the happiest ending I could manage given some of the characters (Draco's too spoiled to appreciate what he does have, and Snape and Lupin are damaged souls). I'm glad you enjoyed it: I worked very hard!

Reviewer: ProngsPrincessLexi
Date: 05/29/05 14:27
Chapter: The Halls of the Dead

This is excellent writing. Your theories on Voldemort are extremely plausible and offer a good explanation as to what made him the evil that he is. Your apparent extensive research into the Resurection and other spells that have been performed in the story are very well thought out and used; especially the final spell used to rid Voldemort. Poor Blaise. Will we learn of his fate? I like how you used "Lily, take Harry and run. I'll hold him off!" but changed the words. From then on I thought that he might end up meeting the same fate as James Potter. Good development with Snape, and excellent characterisation all round. I am thoroughly impressed. 10 and of 10, and I am very harsh reviewer. 10 out of 10 is no small feat. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Yes, I liked the symmetry of Lily's fate, and I had planned Blaise's parallel with James Potter for some time. I'm glad you feel it came off effectively!

Reviewer: mega_potter_fan
Date: 05/27/05 16:57
Chapter: The Reading Room

Sorry, I do'nt know how it happened, but I submitted four of the same review, it's happened on someone else's story as well. And do you know it says your story is completed? How can it be if there's another chapter?

Author's Response: The final chapter is in queue. When it's validated the story will be complete.

Reviewer: mega_potter_fan
Date: 05/27/05 16:54
Chapter: The Reading Room

I love your story! It's very suspensful and arroses new ideas and Voldie's possible motives. If possible, could you contact me and tell me more about the potions and spells used to reincarnate Lily? I liked the idea and was thinking of using something similar in a HP story I'm writing, I'd sredit you, mind, and perhaps use Latin, with a different societies God's. Please tell me if that would be okay with you. Again, great story!

Reviewer: mega_potter_fan
Date: 05/27/05 16:54
Chapter: The Reading Room

I love your story! It's very suspensful and arroses new ideas and Voldie's possible motives. If possible, could you contact me and tell me more about the potions and spells used to reincarnate Lily? I liked the idea and was thinking of using something similar in a HP story I'm writing, I'd sredit you, mind, and perhaps use Latin, with a different societies God's. Please tell me if that would be okay with you. Again, great story!

Reviewer: mega_potter_fan
Date: 05/27/05 16:54
Chapter: The Reading Room

I love your story! It's very suspensful and arroses new ideas and Voldie's possible motives. If possible, could you contact me and tell me more about the potions and spells used to reincarnate Lily? I liked the idea and was thinking of using something similar in a HP story I'm writing, I'd sredit you, mind, and perhaps use Latin, with a different societies God's. Please tell me if that would be okay with you. Again, great story!

Reviewer: mega_potter_fan
Date: 05/27/05 16:53
Chapter: The Reading Room

I love your story! It's very suspensful and arroses new ideas and Voldie's possible motives. If possible, could you contact me and tell me more about the potions and spells used to reincarnate Lily? I liked the idea and was thinking of using something similar in a HP story I'm writing, I'd sredit you, mind, and perhaps use Latin, with a different societies God's. Please tell me if that would be okay with you. Again, great story!

Author's Response: Yes, I know that mugglenet is wonky. This is the third time I've tried to submit a response! Of course you can use my idea--fanfic authors share ideas all the time! As the the potion--as Hermione notes, it resembles Voldemort's resurrection ritual in GOF. Using bits of the departed, or people related in someway is obvious. As to the spell, it's simply a calling upon the powers of the underworld to release someone. A Roman might call on Pluto and Proserpina! Have fun, and thanks for your review(s)!

Reviewer: ersatzsolace
Date: 05/27/05 14:16
Chapter: The Halls of the Dead

I positively LOVE this story. I am a little confused, though. On the story page it says this story is completed, but on the chapter page it says what the next chapter will be called. Please, please, PLEASE keep writing this story!

Author's Response: There is one more chapter to go. It's in queue, so as soon as it's validated the story will be complete. I'm glad you're enjoying it.

Reviewer: miss_marjorie_black
Date: 05/26/05 23:18
Chapter: The Halls of the Dead

Ooo!!This is wonderful.I cant wait for the next chapter.Kinda make me wonder about it a bit obsesively....I need another hobbie.A perfect 10

Author's Response: The last chapter is in queue. I'm so glad you enjoyed my story. Thanks for your review!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES