Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Threads of Hope

Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 23:42 · For: Chapter 7
I'm almost feeling sorry for Delores--almost. This is mean of me but I can't believe she's such an idiot. She set herself up for this. Just move on, Delores! On the other hand, it's so hard to move on. This story is painfully close to reality. There but for the grace of God go I!

Author's Response: Well, we have to feel sorry for her because she is such an idiot. It's so hard to let go of a dream, and we have all done dumb stuff (though perhaps not carried to such an extreme) when we were young. I can't help thinking that with a more supportive family, a better upbringing, she would have turned out differently.

Your reviews are much appreciated. Thank you.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 23:27 · For: Chapter 6
Wow! Excellent chapter. What is going on with the Seer and Delores? This story is getting more and more fascinating. I hope you keep updating regularly.

Author's Response: Since we see the events only through the eyes of Dolores, we know only what Dolores sees or speculates about the Seer. What did the Seer know? Dolores doesn't have the answer for certain, and therefore we do not, either, for we know only what Dolores knows.

The fundamental question that Dolores asks herself about the nature of prophecy and prophetic dreams is not one that we get an answer to, in the form of a single theoretical statement in a textbook (such as Dolores has been looking for). We eventually arrive at our answer by deduction, by considering concrete examples.
For example, Voldemort heard a prophecy about a child born at the end of July, whom Voldemort would mark as his own and who would later go on to defeat Voldemort. It could have been either Harry or Neville, but Voldemort drove the prophecy to its final end by his own actions. Similarly, in "A Christmas Carol" by Charles Dickens, Ebenezer Scrooge asks the Spirit Of Christmas Yet To Come whether the prophecy of his dying friendless and alone and being buried in a deserted grave was a vision of what must happen or only of what could happen if he failed to amend his ways. So you see, this question has been asked before, and, at least for Scrooge, the answer was that he could direct his own fate. So is the Seer acting like the Ghost Of Christmas Yet To Come?

Thank you for continuing to read and review!


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 23:16 · For: Chapter 5
Well, that wasn't right, was it? Maybe I don't know but wasn't there a Barty Crouch, Jr.? I thought he was an only child. I can't wait to see what you do with this. Love this story.

Author's Response: Ah, but we have the advantage of knowing ahead of time how things turned out. There was a Barty Crouch Jr.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 16:58 · For: Chapter 4
I think Delores is going off the deep end. My rational mind tells me that she should back off and look for another man to pursue. There should be other available men at the Ministry. Or maybe she should let things happen naturally. My irrational mind is telling me that I'd probably do the same thing or close to it in the same situation:P

Author's Response: Yes, we are all susceptible to deluding ourselves. Of course, you and I are no longer eighteen years old (thankfully).


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 16:40 · For: Chapter 3
Oh no, was Trelawney her Divination professor? If so, no wonder Delores treated Trelawney so poorly in the 5th book:D Delores is sure pathetic but I whatever gets her through the night is a good thing.

Author's Response: No, Dolores finished at Hogwarts in 1960, and Trelawney was interviewing with Dumbledore for the Divinations position at the time, somewhere around 1980, when Snape overheard her tell the genuine prophecy about Harry/Neville and Voldemort while he (Snape) was listening at the keyhole. So Dolores's Divination professor was someone else.


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 16:04 · For: Chapter 7
An excellent portrayal of a character at a time not usually thought of. Most people use Umbridge as a toad character. Nicely different.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading the entire story, Dad. Nobody is all good or all bad, and I was trying to show the roots of the qualities she came to personify in her later years, but also other qualities which, given different choices, she might have exhibited instead. The challenges and struggles of a person's early life can serve to point him in a good direction (Harry) or a more unfortunate direction (Dolores).


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 14:53 · For: Chapter 2
This chapter was so close to what can happen in reality. I was thinking you wouldn't cut Mr. Crouch out of the pursuit so soon. Delores must've felt sick when she heard he'd married. I remember when I heard that my ex-husband had married again. I learned by accident. Even though I had divorced him it felt very strange to hear he'd married again.

Author's Response: Yes, she was stunned practically speechless. It's pitiful to think that, for three days before the Christmas party, while she was agog with preparations and anticipation, he was already married and out of the country.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 03/03/17 14:20 · For: Chapter 1
How did you keep this story hidden for so long? I was very happy to see you had a new one out. I do love your stories. I love this one so far. Delores is so presumptuous. I'm glad to see you have a number of chapters posted.

Author's Response: I wrote this story for the NOTP Valentine Ficathon and did not want to enter it on the thread in the Great Hall of the Forums until it was complete. I am trying to keep it very much in character with the Dolores that we know at a later time in her life. Thank you so much for your kind remarks.


You must login (register) to review.