Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 09/25/15 0:37 · For: 1942 - 1945: Epilogue
You're not supposed to ask hard questions at the end:D I enjoyed this story. Thank you for writing it. it's sad that Tommy lost his magic in the end but he did it for a good cause. See you next time.

Author's Response: Thanks for seeing it through. Questions are just answers waiting a new cycle of plot bunny breeding...


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 09/05/15 1:49 · For: Grindelwald 1942
Well, that was ugly. But, as you said, I was warned. This chapter took a lot of creativity and imagination. I'm not saying this as a hard core criticism but I kind of like the traditional part of the story where Grindelwald and Dumbledore duel. I respect that everyone has their own version of how that went down.

Author's Response: The Grindelwald duel will remain one of canon's biggest mysteries. We will never know how they fought, whether they even fought or whether it was more akin to Dumbledore talking Grindelwald down from the ledge. We'll simply never know.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/21/15 0:01 · For: Nurmengard 1942
I hope there's nothing wrong with Alec. I'm the sort to hope until the last second. I wonder if this will lead up to the famous duel between Grindelwald and Dimbledore. They are fortunate
to have the British wizards with them.

Author's Response: The next chapter needs a boatload of Trigger Warnings. So...consider yourself warned.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/20/15 23:13 · For: Stregoicavar 1942
I'm not sure if I'd like flying in a small plane like that. People did amazing things back in the day. I thought the boys would join in and dance wih each other. Isn't this a little different use of Patronuses? I know they need happiness on behalf of the person using but I guess I didn't know they gave hope.

Author's Response: I am an aircraft GEEK. I can't think of a better rush than looping the loop in a Hurricane or Spitfire. Even a Cesna will do it. Patroni are fun that way. They require happiness and hope, they're made of happiness and hope and if they stick around they make it easier for the caster to maintain happiness and hope. But when happiness dies...


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/13/15 0:21 · For: Ruritania 1942
Things are getting serious now. I'm really wanting to see how this ends. I was wondering what G.K. Stood for. Keep posting.

Author's Response: I'm only a few chapters away from the end. It all depends on how I wrangle in the last two.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/05/15 21:03 · For: Summer Break 1942
This is all so amazing. I love Gwendolyn. Shae seems like such a sweet snake. You have questions to answer. How does Myrtle die? Will they find Alec? Will they be able to hex Hitler? New chapter soon.

Author's Response: All things to those who wait. I don't know how Myrtle will die. She's a Muggleborn, it's possible the war will kill her. At any rate, I'm not going to kill an innocent little girl if I can avoid it. As for everything else, we'll see...


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/05/15 4:46 · For: Spring Term 1942
That was indeed marvelous and terrific. I thought you couldn't look a basilisk in the eye. Or could Tom look one in the eye because of his magic?

Author's Response: It is entirely a muddy issue in canon. Because there's no logistical way for Tommy to avoid looking at the Basilisk and being looked at. So I'm gonna assume he had some sort of canonical immunity. It's not a great answer, but it wasn't ever clear.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/04/15 22:50 · For: Winter Term 1942
That Tom, showing up in people's living rooms. I guess it doesn't surprise me that homosexuality blossomed among purebloods. At least it looks like it could. I wonder what the Ouija board will tell Tommy.

Author's Response: That Tom, such a scamp. It's not really that homosexuality was encouraged, more like the upper classes (Mundane and Magic alike) were totally fine with discreet dalliances that didn't rock the boat or cross class and racial boundaries. The minute it broke a social taboo, it was all hellfire and brimstone. But yes, our ancestors were really big on shagging outside of wedlock, once kids were accounted for.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/04/15 3:00 · For: Fall Term 1941
I guess there was nothing that could keep Tommy away from Hogwarts. I love that song Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy. There's something catchy about it.

Author's Response: He was a famous trumpet man from up Chicago way...he had a boogie style that no one else could play...he was the top man at his craft! But then his number came up -- and he was gone with the draft! He's in the army now...a-blowin' Reveille! He's the boogie woogie bugle boy of Company B!


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/04/15 2:18 · For: Little Hangleton
I was surprised that Henwen stayed with Tommy as long as she did. Letting him generate a Patronus was brilliant. The adder was a cute addition. It was interesting that the townspeople recognized Tommy as his father. I was happy that Tommy stood up to the Riddles.

Author's Response: It was a canon plot point that Tommy and Thomas resemble each other, I just appropriated it in a different context. Tommy's magic is off the charts.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/04/15 0:49 · For: Summer Break 1941
It will be interesting to see if Tommy's birth father is still alive and Tommy gets to meet him. The Baron sounds like a greasy character. I got the impression that he thought he was going to tell Tommy something he didn't know and somehow cause trouble with the information.

Author's Response: Francis DeLacy is what we call a Mixer and a Red Herring. Yes, he thought he'd be causing a lot of mischief by pointing an emotionally distraught teenager at the father who allegedly abandoned him. What no one ever thinks about is poor bloody Thomas Riddle esquire. The guy who really is the victim.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/04/15 0:26 · For: Winter and Spring Term 1941
You've made Tommy's grief feel so palpable. Smart young boys like Tommy need independence to get around and do what they need to do. Authorities have never learned how to work with people like Tommy.

Author's Response: You want some real waterworks, listen to Ludovico Einaudi's Il Giorno next time you read. And have some kleenex handy.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/04/15 0:13 · For: Fall Term 1940
I sure didn't expect that at the end. And here I was worried that Liz would be blown out of the sky. I was wondering , when Tommy seemed to see Alec's body kind of fading in and out was that a prediction of Alec's death?

Author's Response: In the words of the immortal Dr. River Song: SPOILERS


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/03/15 15:05 · For: Until Summer 1940
I love that, "War on, Moron." Sluggie always did have a big mouth.

Author's Response: A big mouth but a big heart.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/03/15 13:58 · For: Summer Break and Sept 1939
This is too good. I pumped my fist in the air, cheering for Tommy putting up his Shield. Great chapter.

Author's Response: Awright, a fist-bump is worth its weight in gold. Or bitcoin. Something.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/03/15 13:28 · For: Spring Term 1939
This just gets better and better. I really look forward to reading. I appreciate the comments made about the similarities between Hitler and Grindelwald. I like this new Tom. There wouldn't have been a need for Harry Potter if this had been Tom Riddle.

Author's Response: heehee, well that's what an AU's for. Although I beg to differ, Lily and James would have a Harry, Sirius jr and a wee Remus if they'd lived and continued building their nest.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/03/15 4:22 · For: Winter Term 1939
How cool! A House Elf. I didn't know they came with big old houses. It's a shame that the House of Gaunt was brought so low. You have to feel bad for poor Merope.

Author's Response: Eh, the Weasley twins said Elves come with "Big Old Houses". And English tradition is so rich, and Muggles are plenty rich too. Hmm, without going too much into my fanon ideas about squibs and Purebloods, I'd say there is a good case to be made that in the HPverse, House Elves would be just as likely to haunt Muggle buildings that meet their requirements. Muggles, after all, can't see them to abuse them.


Name: Fynnsmom (Signed) · Date: 08/03/15 3:59 · For: Fall Term 1938
Obvious question but does that also mean that Tommy is related to Alphie? I'm enjoying hearing a back story for all of the Blacks.

Author's Response: I'm dead certain the Blacks and the Gaunts are distantly related. We get some textual hints about this, and the ex cathedra Black Family Tapestry sort of encourages us to draw parallels. One thing is certain, both families produce their share of mentally...unstable (?!) people.


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 06/11/15 17:50 · For: Fall Term 1940
Also wanted to say, I like the phrase there's a war on, moron.
Surprised at this turn of events that make Tom an orphan again.

Author's Response: Real thing kids used to say to be nasty, as children are wont to be. Don't be too surprised. Cardiff got hammered during the Battle of Britain, and the Davies-Maldonados are both in the nursing corps/medic corps. They'd be right in the thick of any area seeing heavy bombardment.


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 06/11/15 17:31 · For: Until Summer 1940
sorry I haven't reviewed much. I do have the story bookmarked and I check every 2 weeks to see if there is an update.

I thought it rather odd that Tom doesn't like Dumbledore and that Dumbledore also acts suspicious of Tom. In the original, Dumbledore is suspicious of Tom because of nasty accidents/pranks that occurred when Tom the psychopath was in school, but presumably with Tom not so fearing death, I assume the pranks aren't happening or at the very least not being caused by Tom. It doesn't make sense then for Tom to feel that Dumbledore is interfering in his life.

I notice that there is a hint that at least Alphie might be gay (although uncle Stig seems to imply that this is true of Tommy.

Author's Response: :) Thank you for taking time to review anyway! It's definitely appreciated. I think even in an AU certain personality traits hold true for Tommy and Albus. Dumbledore likes to be in charge, he likes to have control and he likes to be seen as wise and smart. I don't think Dumbledore likes to have his authority questioned, even if he doesn't go to Snape levels to discourage it. I also think Tommy's native personality is curious and ambitious. Tommy questions things, uncovers secrets and gets at the truth of mysteries, whether that's Ancient Wales or his family tree. Even without Albus and Tommy's canon animosity, their personalities rub each other the wrong way. Dumbledore at his core is an authoritarian, even if his authority is based on wisdom or intelligence. Tommy is anti-authoritarian, even if it's because he can't let secrets and mysteries alone. An immovable object is meeting an unstoppable force. Alfie is gayer than Oscar Wilde prancing in a sailor suit while singing "Somewhere Over the Rainbow". And as Uncle Stig is a product of the Public School System, he doesn't bat an eye at romantic same-sex friendships.


You must login (register) to review.