Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/01/14 16:15
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

What a great little story and all wrapped up with a bow. And, what a great ending. I think that night alone would bind Scorpius and Rose together for all time. I was kind of disappointed that they didn't find Slytherin's grave too but at the same time I didn't expect them to. I would've liked to see them all there.

Author's Response: Yes, Scorpius was disappointed too. But no one realistically expected it. The three who stayed with the school until their deaths were doubtless initially interred on the grounds, so it was easy to move them, but Salazar breathed his last in some faraway place, and people may well not have known where his final resting place was.
When I was studying, some years ago, about John Wycliffe, who translated the Bible into English for the common man to read in the 1300's, thereby incurring the wrath of the established church, I learned that after Wycliffe's death, the church disinterred his body, burnt it up and threw the ashes into the Severn River, to avoid having his tomb become a shrine. But Wycliffe's followers were not dismayed; they said that the church had shot itself in the foot, because now the Severn River would wash Wycliffe's ashes into the Thames, from which they would be washed into the English Channel and carried by ocean currents all around the world, thus spreading Wycliffe and his ideas to all parts of the globe, And ultimately, that's what happened!
Thank you so much for reading my story and leaving reviews so regularly :)

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 07/31/14 19:37
Chapter: Dark Enough To See The Stars

SQUEEEEEE! You completed the challenge!!!!! Good luck! :)

And might I be allowed to say how awesome this story is? Even though there wasn't a basilisk or treasure in the chamber, in a way, there were skeletons, if we are going to say that the founders were buried there.

And the ending is so precious! I can imagine Scorpius saying it, and what better timing?

It's funny how worried you were at the start about this story being a little cliche with romance, but I think it works as a whole, and it was entertaining to watch Scorpius' carefully laid plans go awry in ways unexpected. And now he has a wonderful experience shared with Rose.

Who knows? Maybe Scorpius will grow up to be an astronomer, or maybe even decide to be an astronaut... Curse my plot bunnies!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for saying that it was awesome. And no to the treasure or basilisk, but yes to the skeletons and even the dusty old equipment if you count the bug. I enjoyed seeing Scorpius change and grow from the beginning to the end, and I think he has much more respect for the competence of his "old lady" professors than he did at the start.

Yes, I was worried at the beginning about how to avoid some major cliches, so I turned around 180 degrees and drove in the opposite direction, and it was a great ride. Thanks for your unceasing support.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 07/31/14 18:08
Chapter: Look To The Stars

Wow, that was an awesome ending to the chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks to Google for giving me the information as to what these events are like when they really occur! I'm glad you are enjoying my story.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/31/14 12:10
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

Enjoyed it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you did. Did you see that coming? (Tell me you didn't.)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/31/14 11:42
Chapter: The Dark Past

What have we found?

Author's Response: We'll soon find out! (Cue the scary music.)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/30/14 13:49
Chapter: The Dark Past

I'm not sure whether a large, empty chamber was worth all that or not. I understand Scorpius' decision to not turn back until he came to the end. I was feeling physically nervous as Scorpius went down the dark staircase. I chuckled at his observation that he didn't realize "old ladies" could walk that fast.

Author's Response: I dragged the descent out as long as I could, to reflect the long period of time it took him to do it, and it gave me a lot of opportunity to reveal his inner thoughts, which tells us something about what he is like. Yes, he thinks his professors are "old ladies", but oddly enough, they don't feel that way themselves. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/30/14 12:35
Chapter: The Dark Gate

I did not expect for them to find a hidden staircase leading to the astronomy tower. I can't imagine what's down there. I'm glad you're updating quickly.

Author's Response: I'm updating quickly because the deadline for this entire story is July 31. In this story, almost nothing is going exactly as planned, but wouldn't life be dull if we got only what we were expecting!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/29/14 14:40
Chapter: Look To The Stars

That was interesting. Who would've guessed that would happen. One night my nephew and I were driving home in the night (we live in a rural area) and there was no one around. All of a sudden we saw a bright light going across the highway and sloping toward the ground. The light went out in a field not too far from the highway. It happened so fast--we just watched it and when the light went out we both asked each other "Did you see that?"

Author's Response: Well, it's actually a pretty common event, as you yourself can attest, although only a minority of them reach the ground. Still, they gotta fall somewhere, and one place is as good as another, right?

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/29/14 13:45
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

You've written Scorpius to be so romantic. It make us plain old regular people want someone like that in our lives.

Author's Response: Actually I don't think of Scorpius as 'romantic', but it is easy to see why the girls might think him so. He is just being himself, one of those fortunate individuals who are genetically gifted to produce smaller amounts than average of the fight-or-flight stress hormones when confronted by challenging situations, so that they always seem to keep their cool. I have known a few of them.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/29/14 12:24
Chapter: Dark Enough To See The Stars

I really love Scorpius and Rose stories. This one looks very interesting. I loved Scorpius' arguments as to why he wanted to look at the constellation. I also loved how Scorpius had learned to influence people from his father and grandfather.

Author's Response: I have never written Scorpius/Rose before and rarely read it, but although we don't know much canon about him, we know about his family, which gives us a good start in fleshing out his character. He is a talented and complex guy, like the rest of his family. I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/28/14 18:34
Chapter: The Dark Gate

This is becoming one of the most interesting stories in ages. Keep it coming.

Author's Response: That is big praise, since I believe that you must read almost every story that's posted, given that you review so many of them. Thank you so much for the vote of confidence!

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/27/14 14:52
Chapter: Look To The Stars

Some ending to this chapter.

Author's Response: I hope that review means that you liked it, not that you thought it was outlandish. :) Thanks for continuing to read and comment.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/25/14 13:22
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

Not sure why his parents would think he was insane for looking at the stars? Once you have done it, it is something you always want to come back to.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and commenting, Dad. Your statement intrigues me : "Once you have done it (looking at the stars), it is something you always want to come back to." It sounds as if you are an avid stargazer yourself. I see Draco and Astoria as not being particularly avid fans of stargazing, being more concerned with issues of business, money, status, and society (and living down the massive hit that the Malfoy reputation took after the second wizarding war). So they might not notice their son's interest in astronomy, or not pay any attention to it. He followed their advice in taking career-oriented courses during his two final years at school, so if he hauled out his telescope at home and started devoting more attention to astronomy, I think they would be surprised, and possibly not pleased, seeing this behavior as a waste of time.

But I'm with you (and Scorpius); I have always been interested in astronomy.

Reviewer: Wenlock
Date: 07/24/14 9:54
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

The more I read, the more I like Scorpius. I like the path the Malfoy family is taking, the continuum of decency, like you said.
You really understand people, and that is very apparent in this story. Your characterization is fantastic. And even though this is not exactly a fast-paced or suspenseful story in the traditional sense, I still find myself excited for the next chapter. Very well done, Vicki.

Author's Response: Thank you for approving of my characterization. I find it enjoyable to deal with original characters or characters not well characterized in canon, because it is very creative to build their character, bit by bit. You will enjoy the next chapter, I think.

Reviewer: Wenlock
Date: 07/23/14 10:45
Chapter: Dark Enough To See The Stars

As usual, I love reading your work. This one is intriguing. I find it interesting that Scorpius is on such good terms with so many of the teachers. He tends to suck up a bit, but nothing like his father. It seems as if he doesn't have many friends his age (otherwise he would have had the package delivered to a friend.)
I look forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Sydney, for reading my story and leaving a review. I have modeled Scorpius on a few young men I have known in my life who seemed to have poise beyond their years and interacted easily and comfortably with people of all ages. Old ladies loved them. One of them was going to become a doctor, and I'm sure he ended up having a fabulous bedside manner.

I see Scorpius as being on a continuum of decency, starting with his grandfather Lucius, who did a bunch of bad things, then continuing through his father Draco, who had some personality flaws as a boy but was mainly the victim of terrible circumstances, and ending with Scorpius, who's a pretty nice guy, although you can see the family influence. He has learned to be a keen observer and judge of himself and others, he knows how to structure relationships to further his own interest, he has a certain sense of entitlement...As my beta Elaine says, he has no problems with self-esteem! He had a special reason for having the package go straight to Professor Longbottom; you will see this in the next chapter.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES