Reviewer: Arnel
Date: 01/10/15 22:59
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

I'm so glad I read this story after reading "The Skeletons' Tale" because I can see the development of Scorpius' maturity between the stories. What I really like about this story is that, while he's so sure of how his plan is going to play out just as he envisioned it, when faced with obstacles and complications arise, he rises to the occasion, modifies his plan and works to stay cool on the outside when he's paddling like crazy to restructure his vision and work with the authorities. That's real maturity in my books, and when all is said and done, not only does he have a memorable evening to remember his last month at Hogwarts by, he has the added reward of sharing a historical evening with Rose and the two professors.

I'm looking forward to your next Scorpius story, whatever it may be.

Author's Response: Thank you for saying that this story co-ordinates well with "The Skeletons' Tale". I hadn't really thought of writing a series of Scorpius stories, but that's not a bad idea. As you say, he plans everything out (which most of us do), but when things go in unexpected directions, he rapidly restructures in order to keep on top of the situation and get back into control. I guess we could learn a lesson from that. Even when I write a story outside the timeline of the seven books, I like to tie it back into the previously known Potterverse history; it's kind of fun to do that. And spooky to think of having to keep that secret for the rest of your life! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing.

Vicki

Reviewer: CharmAccio
Date: 01/10/15 7:24
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

Thnk you for such an amazing read.

Author's Response: I am so glad you liked it, Raeka, and welcome to the MNFF archives! Thank you for writing a review.
Vicki

Reviewer: Jadecadence
Date: 10/26/14 7:44
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

Aww,.. you do know how to keep us on tenterhooks! But I really would like to know more about the bug. Any alternate pairing story to this?

Author's Response: Yes, the bug was intriguing, but at least they knew enough about it to leave it alone. It seemed to be serving a function which they did not want to disrupt by testing it. I'm not sure what you mean by 'alternate pairing story'. Do you mean a story of these events, told from someone else's point of view, at a different point in time? That would be interesting! Thank you so much for your reviews and comments.

Reviewer: Jadecadence
Date: 10/26/14 7:40
Chapter: The Dark Past

Whoa,.. you're a wonderful writer! Have I left any reviews on your stories before? I've been an HP ff reader for more than 10 years!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and appreciating my story. I don't recognize your name, so I don't think you have reviewed any of my other stories or poems, which are all on my author page, of course. You must have read quite a lot of stories in 10 years. Do you write stories yourself also?

Reviewer: Jadecadence
Date: 10/26/14 7:35
Chapter: The Dark Gate

Whoa,... why had I not come across this story before? Have you heard of TPP? I'm usually there! Why don't you post it there? :D

Author's Response: Perhaps you did not come across this story before because I posted all the chapters in a big hurry, one after another, to meet the July 31 deadline for the TV Challenge, so the story did not spend as much time in the Most Recent posting as it would have if I had spaced out the chapters a little more.

No, I have not heard of TPP. What is it? I post my work only on MNFF because some of the other sites I have looked at have a lot of low-quality work, but I don't know about TPP. Enlighten me.

Reviewer: Jadecadence
Date: 10/26/14 7:27
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

Whoa,... this is a hopeful and very very nice positive chapter! I like!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you like it. Some people have thought that the first two chapters were kind of slow, compared to the rest of the story, but I hoped that these chapters revealed a lot about Scorpius as I envisioned him and that they tossed out hints of good stuff to come. I see that you are recently registered on this site. Welcome to MNFF!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 08/01/14 16:15
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

What a great little story and all wrapped up with a bow. And, what a great ending. I think that night alone would bind Scorpius and Rose together for all time. I was kind of disappointed that they didn't find Slytherin's grave too but at the same time I didn't expect them to. I would've liked to see them all there.

Author's Response: Yes, Scorpius was disappointed too. But no one realistically expected it. The three who stayed with the school until their deaths were doubtless initially interred on the grounds, so it was easy to move them, but Salazar breathed his last in some faraway place, and people may well not have known where his final resting place was.
When I was studying, some years ago, about John Wycliffe, who translated the Bible into English for the common man to read in the 1300's, thereby incurring the wrath of the established church, I learned that after Wycliffe's death, the church disinterred his body, burnt it up and threw the ashes into the Severn River, to avoid having his tomb become a shrine. But Wycliffe's followers were not dismayed; they said that the church had shot itself in the foot, because now the Severn River would wash Wycliffe's ashes into the Thames, from which they would be washed into the English Channel and carried by ocean currents all around the world, thus spreading Wycliffe and his ideas to all parts of the globe, And ultimately, that's what happened!
Thank you so much for reading my story and leaving reviews so regularly :)

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 07/31/14 19:37
Chapter: Dark Enough To See The Stars

SQUEEEEEE! You completed the challenge!!!!! Good luck! :)

And might I be allowed to say how awesome this story is? Even though there wasn't a basilisk or treasure in the chamber, in a way, there were skeletons, if we are going to say that the founders were buried there.

And the ending is so precious! I can imagine Scorpius saying it, and what better timing?

It's funny how worried you were at the start about this story being a little cliche with romance, but I think it works as a whole, and it was entertaining to watch Scorpius' carefully laid plans go awry in ways unexpected. And now he has a wonderful experience shared with Rose.

Who knows? Maybe Scorpius will grow up to be an astronomer, or maybe even decide to be an astronaut... Curse my plot bunnies!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for saying that it was awesome. And no to the treasure or basilisk, but yes to the skeletons and even the dusty old equipment if you count the bug. I enjoyed seeing Scorpius change and grow from the beginning to the end, and I think he has much more respect for the competence of his "old lady" professors than he did at the start.

Yes, I was worried at the beginning about how to avoid some major cliches, so I turned around 180 degrees and drove in the opposite direction, and it was a great ride. Thanks for your unceasing support.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 07/31/14 18:08
Chapter: Look To The Stars

Wow, that was an awesome ending to the chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks to Google for giving me the information as to what these events are like when they really occur! I'm glad you are enjoying my story.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/31/14 12:10
Chapter: Night of Reckoning

Enjoyed it.

Author's Response: I'm glad you did. Did you see that coming? (Tell me you didn't.)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/31/14 11:42
Chapter: The Dark Past

What have we found?

Author's Response: We'll soon find out! (Cue the scary music.)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/30/14 13:49
Chapter: The Dark Past

I'm not sure whether a large, empty chamber was worth all that or not. I understand Scorpius' decision to not turn back until he came to the end. I was feeling physically nervous as Scorpius went down the dark staircase. I chuckled at his observation that he didn't realize "old ladies" could walk that fast.

Author's Response: I dragged the descent out as long as I could, to reflect the long period of time it took him to do it, and it gave me a lot of opportunity to reveal his inner thoughts, which tells us something about what he is like. Yes, he thinks his professors are "old ladies", but oddly enough, they don't feel that way themselves. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/30/14 12:35
Chapter: The Dark Gate

I did not expect for them to find a hidden staircase leading to the astronomy tower. I can't imagine what's down there. I'm glad you're updating quickly.

Author's Response: I'm updating quickly because the deadline for this entire story is July 31. In this story, almost nothing is going exactly as planned, but wouldn't life be dull if we got only what we were expecting!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/29/14 14:40
Chapter: Look To The Stars

That was interesting. Who would've guessed that would happen. One night my nephew and I were driving home in the night (we live in a rural area) and there was no one around. All of a sudden we saw a bright light going across the highway and sloping toward the ground. The light went out in a field not too far from the highway. It happened so fast--we just watched it and when the light went out we both asked each other "Did you see that?"

Author's Response: Well, it's actually a pretty common event, as you yourself can attest, although only a minority of them reach the ground. Still, they gotta fall somewhere, and one place is as good as another, right?

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/29/14 13:45
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

You've written Scorpius to be so romantic. It make us plain old regular people want someone like that in our lives.

Author's Response: Actually I don't think of Scorpius as 'romantic', but it is easy to see why the girls might think him so. He is just being himself, one of those fortunate individuals who are genetically gifted to produce smaller amounts than average of the fight-or-flight stress hormones when confronted by challenging situations, so that they always seem to keep their cool. I have known a few of them.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/29/14 12:24
Chapter: Dark Enough To See The Stars

I really love Scorpius and Rose stories. This one looks very interesting. I loved Scorpius' arguments as to why he wanted to look at the constellation. I also loved how Scorpius had learned to influence people from his father and grandfather.

Author's Response: I have never written Scorpius/Rose before and rarely read it, but although we don't know much canon about him, we know about his family, which gives us a good start in fleshing out his character. He is a talented and complex guy, like the rest of his family. I am glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/28/14 18:34
Chapter: The Dark Gate

This is becoming one of the most interesting stories in ages. Keep it coming.

Author's Response: That is big praise, since I believe that you must read almost every story that's posted, given that you review so many of them. Thank you so much for the vote of confidence!

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/27/14 14:52
Chapter: Look To The Stars

Some ending to this chapter.

Author's Response: I hope that review means that you liked it, not that you thought it was outlandish. :) Thanks for continuing to read and comment.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/25/14 13:22
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

Not sure why his parents would think he was insane for looking at the stars? Once you have done it, it is something you always want to come back to.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and commenting, Dad. Your statement intrigues me : "Once you have done it (looking at the stars), it is something you always want to come back to." It sounds as if you are an avid stargazer yourself. I see Draco and Astoria as not being particularly avid fans of stargazing, being more concerned with issues of business, money, status, and society (and living down the massive hit that the Malfoy reputation took after the second wizarding war). So they might not notice their son's interest in astronomy, or not pay any attention to it. He followed their advice in taking career-oriented courses during his two final years at school, so if he hauled out his telescope at home and started devoting more attention to astronomy, I think they would be surprised, and possibly not pleased, seeing this behavior as a waste of time.

But I'm with you (and Scorpius); I have always been interested in astronomy.

Reviewer: Wenlock
Date: 07/24/14 9:54
Chapter: To Bloom For Thee

The more I read, the more I like Scorpius. I like the path the Malfoy family is taking, the continuum of decency, like you said.
You really understand people, and that is very apparent in this story. Your characterization is fantastic. And even though this is not exactly a fast-paced or suspenseful story in the traditional sense, I still find myself excited for the next chapter. Very well done, Vicki.

Author's Response: Thank you for approving of my characterization. I find it enjoyable to deal with original characters or characters not well characterized in canon, because it is very creative to build their character, bit by bit. You will enjoy the next chapter, I think.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Makers of Fine Wands by CanisMajor 1st-2nd Years
Ollivander of Croton arrives in Athens in 382 BC with big dreams, noneof which...
James and Me by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
Annabel is having a bad day. Her sudden and unexpected meeting with a face from...
Tom Riddle and the Cave of Living Waters by alittletiefling 6th-7th Years
What would happen if Tom Marvolo Riddle had been adopted by well-meaning squibs?...
FEATURED
It Takes Two to Tango by lucca4 3rd-5th Years
They cannot keep doing this; it is only a matter of whose resolve will break...
In The Heat Of The Morning by welshdevondragon 3rd-5th Years
Summary: In the heat of the morning, Katie and Leanne lie in the grounds...
Can't Fight the Moonlight by Acacia Carter 6th-7th Years
A life-changing disaster at work drives Neville Longbottom to seek aid from...
The History Teacher by iLuna17 6th-7th Years
Maybe he didn’t just love history, maybe he loved being a history teacher.
white on white by Padfoot11333 6th-7th Years
Three vignettes about scars, love, and sex.
CATEGORIES