Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 10/11/13 22:19
Chapter: Firenze's tale

Great story. Tom was really scary. I had always thought that the flute would be totally useless to Tom, that it wouldn't work for him. --that you had to be of a certain temperament to make it work.

Nice snippet about Rita. Glad Firenze was able to save himself by distracting Tom with prophecies concerning him.

Author's Response: Well, Tom did once say he was good at making animals do what he wanted them to, without training them. Perhaps it''s just as well that he never got to try his hand at Piping. Thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 10/06/13 7:03
Chapter: Firenze's tale

The ending made the story. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/04/13 16:16
Chapter: Firenze's tale

I didn't realize this was the end--so soon. But it was a good story. I like stories about Tom Riddle. I think he serves as a lesson to all of us. I will look forward to your next story. I have four stories posted--2 complete and 2 in progress, if you're desperate for anything to read.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it; thanks for all the reviews.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/04/13 13:03
Chapter: Riddle and Dumbledore

Tom was more of an ass than I thought when he was young. For some reason I'm more annoyed that Tom killed the bird than when he killed the Piper. I sure don't know why Beatrice didn't just give the damn pipe to Tom in the first place. I think the Piper was more annoying than the bird:D I don't understand why Tom didn't use the Killing Curse on the bird. I guess he didn't want to use his own wand.

Author's Response: Beatrice doesn't have the kind of courage that makes Gryffindors, but sometimes a dash of stubbornness will do just as well.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/30/13 15:29
Chapter: Riddle and Dumbledore

Sad about the bird.

Author's Response: At least he got a few scratches in first.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/16/13 15:58
Chapter: Spirited advice

A very thoughtful chapter.

Author's Response: It's the calm before the storm...

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/16/13 14:17
Chapter: Spirited advice

I swore when I signed up on these fan fiction websites that whatever I read I would leave a review. I like to touch base with the authors and often wish I could do that with published authors when I read one of their books. I write also and although I enjoy it I know it's hard to do and writers deserve some bit of feedback. Anyway, you'd think a ghost would give better advice than Beatrice's relative did. I'm sure the last thing Beatrice wanted to hear was that she could aspire to marry Tom. That poor girl is going to become paranoid carrying that flute around. Well, it was a nice Monday surprise to find a new chapter from you. I look forward to more.

Author's Response: I'm working on it, honest.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/09/13 18:20
Chapter: O.W.L.s

I loved the comment that killing Muggle students might be classified as a Special Service to Hogwarts:D It's amazing how Tom got everything to work out in his favor.

Author's Response: Well, Tom does have the author (and JKR) arranging things for him. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/09/13 13:17
Chapter: Our secret

You'd think the Piper would've known he wasn't immune to the Unforgiveables. Or, maybe as Tom suggested, he wasn't as good a wizard as he thought he was. And, didn't he cast the Killing Curse with the Narrator's wand? Good for him I guess that he didn't have that curse on his own wand.

Author's Response: I guess no-one, not even a Piper, expects to be facing Avada Kedavra in the normal course of business.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/06/13 17:01
Chapter: All-nighter

I don't know if I could've snooped in someone's diary. Don't people know that curiosity killed the cat? I don't think I'm adventurous enough to follow a suspected "bad boy" on one of his journeys. I wonder why the "monster" isn't showing itself to Zinn.

Author's Response: An inquisitive Slytherin is a combination to be reckoned with. I do hope I'm making Beatrice look like she belongs in the same House as Tom, rather than just being there because it puts her conveniently close to him. As for Zinn's failure to call the monster, I think he realises by the end that someone is interfering; he just doesn't guess who it is.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/06/13 15:31
Chapter: But will they come when you call them?

If they had only known then what they know now--known to be suspicious of Tom. And we sit here pointing out that wasn't it obvious that Tom and his little pack of friends knew something.

Author's Response: I suspect Dumbledore noticed Tom's suspicious absence in this chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/06/13 15:13
Chapter: Pest Control

I'm rereading these first two chapters since that's what I read before and I have to remind myself of the story. I'm surprised that Tom mentioned that he'd had any contact with Muggles at all.

Author's Response: He wanted to impress, but ended up embarrassing himself. Happens to the worst of us.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/06/13 14:50
Chapter: Dumbledore's detention

I started reading this story again. I forgot I was reading it and liked it although I must have written it down in my notes somewhere.

Author's Response: You're a champion reviewer, Fynnsmom; your review count puts most of us to shame.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 09/06/13 14:36
Chapter: O.W.L.s

Still reading and still enjoying.

Author's Response: Thanks. I imagine most of the authors here start writing for themselves, but by the time a project grows to the length that this one has, it's definitely meaningful to hear that other people are getting something out of it, too.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/06/13 12:18
Chapter: O.W.L.s

Is there an offside rule in quidditch?

Author's Response: There is in this story. :) Actually, Quidditch Through the Ages contains a passing reference to players' tendency to "fly offside", so it's probably canon.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/31/13 13:20
Chapter: Our secret

Grade "A" nasty Tom Riddle.

Author's Response: There's more of that to come, I'm afraid.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 08/19/13 17:44
Chapter: All-nighter

Still well written. It seems that since Tom and the others were not outside, that they may have done something to make the Basilisk deaf. Rather Tom did this and the others functioned as a look out? I'm not sure if Tom shared his secrets with his minions at this time.

I like her recollections of Tom. That he was cold unlikeable (unless he was asking a favor), but really had no clue as to how evil he was. I especially liked how she imagined his boring diary entries would be.

Author's Response: I don't imagine Tom sharing his secrets with anyone. But he's good at pretending to.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/31/13 15:34
Chapter: But will they come when you call them?

This is certainly a very unique plot. I am not sure where it is going.

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliment. It may be clearer where things are going after the next couple of chapters.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/20/13 19:07
Chapter: Pest Control

I can't wait to see what Zinn will do and if he'll be successful. I hope he's not like Gilderoy Lockhart (sp?) and just telling stories or his heroics that weren't real.

Author's Response: It might be dangerous to assume that this Pied Piper is a phony. But I guess you already know that he won't be completely successful (else Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets would be a shorter and less exciting book). Glad you're enjoying the story; more to come soon.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/20/13 18:21
Chapter: Dumbledore's detention

I'm always interested in new stories about Voldemort. This was very well written. I'm wondering why Bernard has to tell Tom Riddle. And, I'm wondering who the mysterious author is. Maybe Rita Skeeter? She doesn't look that old though. And she's an Animagus so you'd think she'd be better at Transfiguration.I shouldn't guess. I never know anything.

Author's Response: The narrator is Beatrice Avery and her cousin is Bernard Avery -- he's the Avery mentioned in canon, a Death Eater-in-bud. Their names are mentioned only obliquely in the first chapter. (Sorry. My beta told me off for that; I should have listened to her.) Rita Skeeter is yet to be born (at least for the purposes of this story), but she and Beatrice both had long careers as journalists -- so look out for her later on.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
A Different Kind of Magic by unjellify 3rd-5th Years
James Potter is Head Boy and Gryffindor Quidditch captain in his seventh year...
Colorblind by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Set in the future, Harry's grandchild tries to comfort him while Harry remembers...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES