Reviews For Of Ash and Fire
Reviewer: Quill of Hedwig
Date: 07/06/14 18:59
Chapter: Chapter 4

Please please please finish this!! It's an interesting and compelling plot, and I really want to see where it goes

Reviewer: SolumLector
Date: 02/27/14 17:09
Chapter: Chapter 4

More chapters?

Reviewer: The Other Weasley Sister
Date: 07/15/13 2:07
Chapter: Chapter 4

Please update!!! I am really into your story and love the plot so far!!please update, it's really good

Reviewer: hpgirl92
Date: 07/10/13 11:09
Chapter: Chapter 4

Very well written kept me sucked in the whole time can't wait to read the finished product

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/11/13 14:37
Chapter: Chapter 4

It's nice to see that Riddle doesn't know anything. And Hermione's right--he's 17 and probably 'only' has one Horcrux under his belt. He can't be too dangerous, right? I sure didn't expect to hear from Malfoy. I think Hermione is better off alone in terms of figuring things out. Can she or will she meddle with time? When I finish a chapter I want more!!

Author's Response: Lol if you're interested, I just posted chapter 21 of this fic over on fanfiction.net. Same penname. It takes a while to get chapters through the queue here so if you don't want to wait you could check it out there. Either way, I appreciate the lovely reviews. Cheers! :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 06/11/13 10:10
Chapter: Chapter 4

I hope Hermione is not pushing her luck too far. Tom is after all a murderer.

Author's Response: Ah, yes, Hermione is perhaps allowing herself to be lulled by Tom's charm as many have done before. But she's no fool... Thanks for reading! :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/04/13 18:27
Chapter: Chapter 3

OMG!!! That was almost too thrilling for words. Hermione speaking Parseltongue in the nick of time for Avery! Riddle's horrible thought processes! The dance of the Patronuses. And, the final scene. That made me sit up and take notice. What can I say but Brilliant!! Update soon, please.

Author's Response: So glad you liked it! I just submitted the next chapter, it should be up in a few days. Riddle's horrible thought processes are so much fun, they're like my favorite thing to write :p Cheers!

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/04/13 17:34
Chapter: Chapter 2

Damn, you gave me a cliffhanger and I don't have time to read the next chapter right now. It's as if Riddle has made Hermione his little project. She must be extremely scared and curious at the same time. I don't know if I'd be able to sleep knowing that the Head Boy has all the passwords and knowing who he really is. Love this story so far.

Author's Response: Haha I'm sorry! I'm basically addicted to cliffhangers, so you'll see a lot of them... Myes, Tom is not going to let go of the mystery that is Hermione easily, that's for sure. Glad you're enjoying it, thanks for reviewing! Cheers :)

Reviewer: teh tarik
Date: 06/04/13 9:29
Chapter: Chapter 3

It's great to see that Tom and Hermione are almost on equal footing with each other. It does make sense that Hermione's otter Patronus could match Tom's Thestral (and by the way, Thestral was the perfect choice for his Patronus - because he would be familiar with death). Hermione, after all, has the greater capacity to feel happiness and other strong positive emotions that would have really enabled her to produce a strong Patronus.

Again, I loved the segment with Riddle's diary entry in it. And the last part of Merrythought was plain intriguing. It appears that she's in some sort of trance. Hmm. Anyway, loved this chapter heaps! I can't wait for an update. Also, I forgot to add this to my favourites but I shall do so right away. Toodle-oo.

-teh

Author's Response: I am fascinated by Thestrals! I would love a pet Thestral... Anyway yes, I can't imagine Tom has too many warm fuzzy feelings to draw from. Yet :p Thanks for commenting, cheers! :)

Reviewer: teh tarik
Date: 06/04/13 9:21
Chapter: Chapter 2

Hi! Gah, sorry it took me so long to come back to this fic; I actually read this chapter quite quickly after it was validated but was too busy to review until now.

There are so many things I adored about this chapter. I really like the creepy diary entries Tom writes - those scenes always provide a fresh change of POV, and there's always that sense of unease/foreboding, because that is the diary that will later become a Horcrux? There's something just so fascinating about someone as complex and powerful and manipulative and arrogant as Tom pouring his thoughts into a book - I mean, it's such a trivial habit, diary-writing, and the fact that he partakes in it makes him even more chilling, unpredictable. He's so cold and detached, even when writing down his own experiences.

The scene where Tom and Hermione started passing notes in class. I think Hermione almost finds it laughable that the great Dark Lord ever passed notes in class - well, he didn't until she came along :P

Well, this story just gets more and more intriguing. I have completely no idea who the poisoner is, and I can't even begin to guess what that cryptic 'fire and ash' message meant. This is fast becoming one of my favourite stories to read on the site! Great work.

-teh

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, I can't tell you what a joy it is to receive such a detailed and thoughtful review! I agree about the diary. There are so many interesting facets to Tom's personality, like the fact that he's so secretive and solitary that the only thing he can actually trust is an inanimate object... Haha there may be a lot more things Tom will start to do that he didn't before Hermione came along. I'm glad you're enjoying this. Submitting the next chapter right now, cheers! :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/29/13 7:05
Chapter: Chapter 2

Good chapter. Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 05/28/13 16:31
Chapter: Chapter One

Wow! Loved this chapter. It was new and exciting to me. Already you have me worried about Hermione. I know she's frightened but what an experience for Hermione to meet Tom Riddle as a youth.

Author's Response: Thanks a bunch! I'm glad you're enjoying it. It will certainly be quite an experience for Hermione. Stay tuned for more! :)

Reviewer: teh tarik
Date: 05/19/13 9:58
Chapter: Chapter One

Hellooo there :)

This is such an intriguing beginning! I've encountered stories with Hermione travelling back in time to meet Tom Riddle before, but what really made your fic stand out was Riddle's characterisation. He's true to canon, and I can't emphasise enough how much I loved that part where he almost boredly pulls apart Grindelwald's methods and regime in the discussion with the other Slytherins. Also, I really appreciate that you've paid some attention to the world outside of Hogwarts - the rise and reign of Grindelwald, and of course, World War II. I do hope you'll continue to show how complex the world and what a critical and dangerous era this time period is in future chapters.

I found those mirrors really interesting; I suppose JKR never really said that they can't be used this way, so you do have freeway with them. But it's such a lovely idea, that the mirrors are able to communicate with others across time.

Anyway, I've really enjoyed this first chapter! It's a great start and I'll be keeping an eye out for updates (and I do hope you update soon)! Great work :)

-teh

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! I'm glad you approve of the trick with the mirrors. The trio's dynamic is such a powerful influence in Hermione's life and I often find it's missing in time travel fics where Hermione is isolated, so... The world war II era is a fascinating time frame, and although it won't figure too prominently I definitely will continue to sprinkle hints of the social/political scene throughout. I'm submitting the next chapter today (the first dozen are actually pre-written so no worries on steady updates for a while). Thanks again, and cheers! :)

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 05/18/13 13:35
Chapter: Chapter One

Very interesting start. Would magical mirrors communicate across time?

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! The mirrors are my little plot contrivance but I don't know of any canon details that would directly contradict them working. So I had Hermione's mirror shatter to show the time travel affected it somewhat, but not completely. Cheers!

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES