Reviews For Baby Boy
Reviewer: Yurippe
Date: 12/18/13 16:02
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was so beautiful!

Reviewer: Cauldron_night
Date: 05/16/13 12:40
Chapter: Chapter 1

Love it !

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/12/13 5:11
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was a really sweet story - you got inside Andromeda's head so well. Having lost her husband, daughter and son-in-law, of course the last thing she would want is her grandson to work in a dangerous profession. I liked this line But their daughter is dead; she isn’t sure if she’d survive if the same thing happened to Teddy. , because I don't know how she would be able to cope if she lost him, and it really shows what she's giving up by "letting" him be an Auror - or maybe agreeing to it is a better way of putting it, because he can technically do what he wants.

I also thought you showed beautifully what it must feel like when your child has become an adult and it suddenly hits you that they don't need you anymore... not that I've ever been in that position, but it felt really natural and accurate the way you described it.

I thought it was very sweet that Teddy learnt to cook so he could look after Andromeda - it really shows that he's grown up. I also liked how he stood up to Harry and said that his parents would have wanted him to live, not just exist.

I liked the section where Andromeda wanted to blame Harry - I think there would be a bit of conflict between those two, but also like you wrote, it would be easier for her to blame it on Harry, rather than accept that it is Teddy's choice.

But overall I really enjoyed this - it was characterised so well and you really captured Andromeda's emotions - fear, love, pride.

~Katrina

Reviewer: SoGranola
Date: 03/04/13 15:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

Ohhh, I loved this. And I would be lying if I said I didn't get a little teary at points. It was incredibly well-written; you did a great job making Andromeda and her feelings very relatable. Two enthusiastic thumbs up.

Author's Response:

Hello! I don't recall seeing you on my page before, so welcome, and thanks for stopping in!

You really hit the nail on the head about Andromeda's feelings. It's so easy for most people to relate to her worries of Teddy growing up, because it's happened to most of us, having a loved one grow up and away from us. I'm glad you felt I conveyed that well, and I shall take those thumbs up with equal enthusiasm. :D

~Jess

Reviewer: The owl
Date: 02/26/13 10:40
Chapter: Chapter 1

Hi Jess,

Firstly, thank you thank you thank you! This was such a fabulous birthday present, and I hope the rest of MNFF has enjoyed it as much as I have. I wanted to write a SPEW review for you, but every time I read this, my brain turns into a pile of squee, so I think I'd best not.

From the first few words of this, you had me hooked. Your prose is gorgeous, and there is so much going on technically. Like, I loved how the pond could be a metaphor for Andromeda -- calm, but kind of mysterious in that you can't ever see through it, and only disturbed by something external and surprising. It set the mood really well, too -- pensive and peaceful but sad too. The alliteration of “simple and smooth” sounded so wistful and gah I just wanted to hug Andromeda already!

The gorgeous writing was something I flailed at right through the story. I don't know how you manage to sustain it so well without ever descending into cliché, or making it too much to read, if that makes sense. I think it works so well for me because you switch back and forth from the description into emotions and thoughts and actions all the time, and just--it's so well balanced! Like, I absolutely loved the ordinariness of you last line; that was spot on. For all of Andromeda's worries, these are entirely normal family scenes, things that so many people will feel, and you brought me right back into the real world with that. I couldn't help but smile.

In fact, there were so many details in this story that made me smile. Yes, there was a lot of sadness in there too, but Teddy, in all of his loveliness, balanced it out to a degree. Seeing him as a baby was adorable -- the orange hair made me think of the Weasleys and wonder what what mischief he'd get up to in his dreams. I could imagine the two sides of him, just from that -- the boisterousness that he might have gained from his mum, but the calm, gentleness of his father too.

Then, the sudden transition to nearly grown Teddy, taking care of the woman who was stroking his hair only a moment ago, well, it was almost painful. It certainly made me feel Andromeda's pain even more. More than that, though, it made him all of a sudden into a real person in my mind. I guess he reminded me a lot of Remus in that moment -- always looking after everyone else and never himself. That was true of him offering to give up his job for Andromeda too. I can only imagine how unhappy that would have made him, and how guilty she might have felt as a result, so it was a relief when she relented.

Clearly, I'm no mother either, but I found her worries and her love for Teddy so overwhelmingly convincing. I cried for her the first time I read this. If she had a Boggart, I imagine it would be Teddy dying, so for her to overcome that and support him in a career that she knows could kill him was huge. And the acceptance that he was an adult -- that must feel like she's giving him up and oh, my feels!

Right, I think that's enough squee from me now. Thank you thank you thank you once again! *tacklesquishes*

~Sophie

Author's Response:

First of all, I shall preface by saying it makes me so happy that you liked this story. It isn't the type of story I write at all, so the fact that you like it and don't find it to be rubbish and just don't want to tell me is a relief. However, I did make a conscious decision to step outside of my comfort zone a bit because I knew this sort of story is more in your wheelhouse. Let's just say that I was glad Maple rescued me and told me it wasn't crappity, because I honestly didn't know, lol.

The pond, as you mentioned, was a bit of a metaphor for Andromeda and the calm it gave her that she badly needed. Just months before, Harry was crashing into that pond with Hagrid, and ever since then, nothing was the same for Andromeda or her family. And even when the melee died down, there was still the issue of inner turmoil, threatening to surface at any moment from the slightest disruption.

I don't suppose I have much to say about my style, as it's the same one I've always had. However, I'm glad it works for you as a reader and for the story. But one thing I will mention that you brought up is the sudden shift from Teddy being a baby to him being an adult. That was a not-so-subtle device on my part to illustrate the striking grown-up quality of Teddy in the second, yet Andromeda still sees and thinks about the former section when he was a baby.

One aspect of Teddy's personality that I wanted to be clear was his deep love for the people close to him. He knows better than most how important loved ones are and how easily he could've not had them around. His parents died because they loved him too much to let him grow up in a world ruled by Voldemort; that leaves a mark as clear as the one Lily left on Harry, I think.

I kind of had to wing it on the parental feelings, but I was informed by a reader that I did pretty well in that aspect. But really, as corny as this sounds, I kind of transfigured my experiences as a mod mummy and watching my little baby modlets become proper, talented moderators. The rest was sort of natural after that. Feel free to judge me, lol.

Anyway, I am still so pleased you liked the story. I haven't had the chance to write a birthday fic and actually finish it for a long time, and you deserve all the squishes in the world for being so nice and hard-working. I'm happy to do this for you, despite it being the furthest thing from my cup of tea. Here's to another year of friendship!

~Jess

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 02/17/13 17:34
Chapter: Chapter 1

You have a vivid and accurate imagination for what goes through a parent's mind as once helpless infants become mature, capable adults. You hit a LOT of right notes.

Author's Response:

Hellooooo!

I find it incredibly ironic that you mentioned that, because I've never had kids and really don't plan to. I suppose I just channelled what would concern me if I were in charge of someone who wasn't capable of taking care of themselves and then suddenly could do things on their own. But that I hit the right note makes me happy, because I do try to summon the right feelings in readers to accurately convey my stories.

Thanks for stopping in, and I'm so happy you enjoyed the story.

~Jess

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 02/16/13 11:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

Teddyyyyyyyyyy!

OMG. He is the most adorable character EVER! I love him here. There's an amazing humility to him that just adds so much depth to his character, and his vulnerability just makes me want to hug him. I also love Andromeda and how she eventually did allow Teddy to become an Auror in spite of her worries -- and I get why she would be worried. After all, Tonks might still have been alive had she not been an Auror, or at least, that's what I think Andromeda would have liked to think.

I generally am not a fan of gen fic, truth be told, Jess, so I was wondering what kind of story this would be given I think you mentioned on the LS that this wasn't really featuring a pairing. Buuuut then I realised I was reading about Teddy, and after the hell you put him through (lol), I loved this story in spite of knowing what will eventually happen to him. Ah well. I guess I can try and pretend that the other thing doesn't happen, haha -- nah, seriiously, even without the knowledge of your other story, I still adored reading this one. It was a nice family-friendly thing by you, which was a surprise, hehe. Happy birthdayyyyyy to Sophie once again, and nice job, Jess :)

Author's Response:

Yay, reviewssssssss!

Anyway, back to business. Yes, this is completely not my thing, and the lack of shipping (outside of latent Ted/Andromeda), this is more a story about familial relationships and what they mean to different characters. To Andromeda, it means keeping her loved ones safe from harm, but for Teddy, it means honouring his parents' sacrifice by not letting the state of the world dictate how he lives his life. In a way, Teddy channels a bit of James/Lily in that respect.

It's completely understandable that Andromeda wants to hold Teddy close, but it's also a beautiful thing that Teddy grew up in a world devoid of violence and still chose a career of protecting the innocent. I think it speaks well of the sort of man he is and the sort of person Andromeda raised. Also, it's indicative of the impact Ted had on Andromeda's life and how he pulled her out of the Black family lifestyle. And maybe -- just maybe -- Andromeda was a bit stunned by how much like Ted her grandson really was.

Anyway, thanks for dropping in, despite it not being your thing. This was quite difficult to write, since I am used to shippy fic rather than genfic, so I'm glad it was worth the effort. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 02/13/13 21:42
Chapter: Chapter 1

Very, very sweet. It's amazing how well you got into Andromeda's mindset. I have a five-year-old but half those thoughts about her growing up haven't really occurred to me yet. Or maybe I'm in denial like Andromeda. ;) Either way, she was wonderful, wrestling with her conscience is such a realistic, emotional way. Teddy was perfect. What a guy. But knowing what happens...*sniff* Lovely story!

And another happy birthday to Sophie!
~Gina :)

Author's Response:

Yay twin!

I'm glad you could connect with it. Obviously, with me not being a parent, it crossed my mind whether it was a realistic portrayal, but when I just thought about it, I know what would weigh on my mind if I were responsible for the development of a human being. It just...made sense that these were the things she wondered about. And then Teddy. D: But she shall not speak of that other thing, hehe.

Thanks for dropping in, Twin! ~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES