Reviews For Xmas Daze
Reviewer: Chanichani
Date: 06/01/13 15:31
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

This is awesome, write more soon!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, more next Christmas, I expect. -N-

Reviewer: hanname
Date: 01/18/13 6:35
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

I just read "James and Me" for the third? time and I definitely like your plan for these "lil uns".

Author's Response: Thank you. There will be more short Drakeshaugh Tales. -N-

Reviewer: hanname
Date: 01/15/13 15:25
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Sweet, cute. I'm sort of hoping Annie or Henry is Hogwarts bound and then the next moment I don't, guess I'll have to wait and see how the story unfolds.

Author's Response: I’m glad that you were ambivalent, as I took what I thought would be the more problematic route. I didn’t want to make life easy for myself, or my protagonists. -N-

Reviewer: macheel
Date: 12/19/12 8:45
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

I think this was great!! Wow from a 4 year old point of view. I have girls that age and this was great! You are such a talented writer.

Author's Response: Thank you. I wasn't certain about the four-year-old voice (by the way, Annie wants everyone to know that she's "nearly five!") I'm really glad that you think I've got it right. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 12/18/12 6:16
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Lovely!! Hagrid makes a perfect Santa.
You got Annie's speech spot on.
Well done!
Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: :-D

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 12/18/12 6:15
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Lovely!! Hagrid makes a perfect Santa.
You got Annie's speech spot on.
Well done!
Looking forward to more.

Author's Response:
Thank you, he does, doesn't he?
It took a while, and a lot of listening.
Thanks again, more soon, I hope.
-N-

Reviewer: SHaahr
Date: 12/17/12 19:55
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

I thought this was a great take on Annie's perspective, continue with the outstanding work :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'll do my best. -N-

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 12/16/12 22:43
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

excellant first chapter. good POV

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: desertsol98
Date: 12/16/12 20:55
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Perfect timing! I was just re-reading Beard-Hunters the other day and was wondering if you were going to give us readers a christmas treat.

This story was very well done. I loved hearing it told through Annie's pov. And I must admit, Santa-Hagrid is now one of my favorite Hagrid descriptions- right next to FurryFace from Tales from the battle.
Great job as usual

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’ve been rereading Beard Hunter prior to posting it on another site, and I’ve made a few tweaks. I supposed I should upload the edited version here, too.

I really should have given The Last Marauder some credit, as it was her(?) rather darker story “Why I’m Afraid of Spiders” which emboldened me to write from Annie’s perspective. In fact, I will.

-N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 12/16/12 18:24
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

YAY!! A story from Neil with Hagrid in it!

Hagrid has always been my favorite character in part because he reminds me of a very good friend of mine in both appearance and behavior. My friend is also mistaken for Santa Claus by small children, which he finds endlessly entertaining.

The story was very well done. I had no trouble understanding your "preschool dialect", which I thought was about as close as you can get to the way kids her age talk.

So, thanks for another Christmas story gem!
-M.M.-

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I think that I’ve always shied away from writing Hagrid because of his accent, which I find difficult to write. In a way I cheated here. Using Annie meant that I didn’t actually need to write much Hagrid dialogue.

Pre-school dialect is a good way to describe it. The big question is, will I get the second (and final) chapter “When Jacqui met Hagrid” finished for Christmas. It’s looking unlikely.

-N-

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 12/16/12 16:59
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Yes, Hagrid would look like Santa to a child who was not hung up on externals, because his really is a spirit of giving and generosity , size or no size, chimney or no chimney. I don't see him in fics that often, and it's a shame - he is an amazing character. I think you caught him very well here - good job!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Given that James is six, I reckon Hagrid's approaching eighty, so his beard will be grey. Besides, if a big man with a beard steps out of a fireplace, who else is it going to be? It's perfectly logical. You're right about Hagrid. He should get more use. I'll have to think about that. -N-

Reviewer: Seedy
Date: 12/16/12 15:34
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Lols, that was adorable. Pretty sure it wasn't easy to try to figure out Anne's mind & speech. Nice job, a cute xmas story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Actually, listening to my neighbour's kids, and playing videos of my own kids at that age made this a lot easier than I expected.-N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 12/16/12 14:00
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

This was cute! Annie certainly tells a good story! And Hagrid! I do believe this is the first time you've used him in your stories, but it feels like he's been there the whole time! :)

Looking forward to more of any story! :)
Cheers and happy holidays!
- Katie

Author's Response:
Thanks, Katie.

Annie certainly tells a good story when those pesky grown ups aren't interrupting her with silly questions. :-D Hagrid has not appearred in my stories, and that's remiss of me, as he's always been a big part of Harry's life. You'll see him again.

No one in the UK (at least no one I know) says happy holidays, but happy holidays to all my readers, too.

-N-

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 12/16/12 12:46
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

This was a pleasant surprise. I was slightly confused by your warning, but once I'd figured it out, it was fantastic! I love the idea of Annie's POV, and how you had added Annie saying that her mum had asked her about "head miss sprout". Truly in character, even through the eyes of a 3 year old.

I'm looking forward to whatever comes next! Happy Holidays! :D :D :D

Author's Response:
I wasn't sure about the warning, but I was trying to capture the speech patterns of a four-year-old, Despite actually seeing magic, Annie managed to rationalise it the way any young child would.

Next, who knows, Strangers, possibly. :D.

-N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 12/16/12 9:53
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Cute. Very aww-moment there.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: harrys_red_head_girl
Date: 12/16/12 9:26
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

Neil, that is such a cute story. I just love Annie. When I read your disclaimer I thought the spelling was going to be because of Hagrid, but it was so cute reading from Annie's Pov. Santa Hagrid....hahaha....I may have to start calling him that from now on. You have a true gift Neil, thank you for sharing.
~Cherise

Author's Response:
Cherise
Thanks for the review. This was one of those stories which started with "I wonder if I could" ... In this case I was convinced that I'd have to start writing from Annie's perspective, and then bring in the adults. Her parents were going to be listening at her door. But when I wrote the first words, and Annie started talking to her rag doll, the entire thing just worked (I hope). Thanks for the compliment.
-N-

Reviewer: witch1561
Date: 12/16/12 4:31
Chapter: Annie Charlton and the World's Most Ginormous Santa

I really really like this! It's been bringing back all sorts of memories of Christmas as a child - you have a great way of describing Annie's thoughts. It's lovely to see the little glimpses into the magical world, that to Annie are just part of the magic of Christmas.

Thank you very much for a cheerful end to the day and distracting me from the depressing thought that Mum's mince pies are a lot better than mine (or at any rate more in one piece...).

Author's Response:
Thanks for the revew.

It's easy to forget that, to young children, Christmas has a magic all of its own. I hope that I managed to capture that, at least in part. You may have seen magic, but Annie didn't, at least nothing that couldn't be explained away by it being close to Christmas.

Broken mince pies and custard makes a great dessert. Now I'm feeling hungry. :-D

-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES