Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Uncovered by Death

Name: xxbabewithbrainsxx (Signed) · Date: 03/24/13 8:22 · For: Chapter 10 - Birthday Gifts
Yay, a welcome breather to all the mystery and action. I think it was necessary to have a filler chapter here, and it didn't even feel like that because you just write so well :)

I think you did a great job of portraying Scorpius's relationship with his family, especially with his dad. I like that nothing is perfect here particularly bearing in mind how everything is far from easy with Narcissa and everything.

And yayay Daphne! :D I do love how you've written her here. Oh and the present from Lily was so sweet. As was the appearance of Teddy. Sorry, I realise my review is steadily worsening and probably doesn't make much sense -- basically I enjoyed this a lot and I can't wait for the next chapter :D How many more chapters do you plan it to be? (And I totally get that that can change -- I mean remember my Sirius/Rosmerta had an accidental second chapter, lol)

Well done! :D

Soraya xxx

Author's Response: An accidental chapter I could deal with ... ha ha ha. Soraya, my love, I'm not sure. I've written chapter 11 and I'm definitely past the middle. I'm think 15/16, but need to make sure all the ends are tied up.

Thank you so much for the review. I have loved writing this story (so far) not just because it's Scorpius/Lily but because I've moved away from straight romance and into a plotty fic. And thank you for appreciating that the chapter was breather. It is necessary for the story (pssst, there's some information hidden there somewhere - mwahahahahah) but also it's part of Scorpius's story to show the interaction with his mum and dad.

Thank youuyuuuuuu and I hope you enjoy the rest Carole


Name: xxbabewithbrainsxx (Signed) · Date: 03/20/13 18:19 · For: Chapter 8 -Undercover
Flail flail flail FLAIL

carole did you know that I think you're amazing? Because I totally do :D I'm on my phone in Sweden at the moment and am about to go to bed, but I'd thought I'd review just to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed the ride with scorpy so far and am really looking forward to where things are going to head later on. Btw I have read the next chapter - I just was appalled at one chapter not having any so I thought I would review :3

Honestly, I could go on forever about how amazing this is but I'm not quite surer where to start. There are so many excellent characters in this - scorpius and James and harry and Lily - they were all characterised beautifully and I love the whole murder mystery going on here. I'm really intrigued although I don't think it's mclaggen - possibly zacharias or else someone else mclaggen slept with. Hmm. Anyway I can't wait for tar next chapter :D oh and happy early birthday! One of these days, you're going to fess up and tell me your real age... muabahhahahaha

Heart youuuuu soraya x

Author's Response: Thank youuuuuuu. yayay, this is such a lovely review, and I'm so pleased you're enjoying the story. I need to get cracking on finishing it. I keep saying it will be another three chapters, but then I said that about High (which was supposed to be 3 in total - ha ha - and ended up at 22.)
,br> Hope Sweden is fabulous. ~Carole~ (Oh, I'm 93, btw)


Name: Ginny Weasley Potter (Signed) · Date: 03/14/13 12:51 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
Gah, I'd left you a review this morning, but somehow (and I still can't figure out how) I copy-pasted your banner request on this. Hehe.

Anyway. Eep. A body! This reminds me of the beginning of a typical episode on Bones, hehehe. And I'm intrigued -- mostly because I know how much research this involves (I have a WIP where there's a murder -- not like yours, but a regular murder, and I sat for days with tiny notes to perfect everything while I plotted it). I do wonder though, would the Auror department have a forensics branch? Of course, it's not impossible that the Aurors could be trained in body identification, and basic forensic procedures, but I'm still intrigued.

I like how you've written Scorpius in this. It's just the way I like him, and I can't wait for the snark to kick in. :D I like Lily too, and Hugo, the poor fellow, really deserves a better girlfriend, doesn't he? :(

And, haha, I still support ScoRose, but somehow, I don't mind reading Scorpius with other people these days. I guess, writing him with Victoire did it for me, ha!

I'm definitely intrigued, and I honestly want to read on, but I have to stop here today, because I may or may not have an exam tomorrow (if it doesn't happen, I'll be irritated that I had to wait to read more of your fic :/). I'm also inspired, and I hope I can make a banner that's as interesting as a story, and I'm nervous about that!

Pooja

Author's Response: You will, I'm afraid, have to read on to discover what happens with the forensics, but basically, no, they're not the ones that make a body identification, they're the people that piece together the murder and use the forensics that are based elsewhere (and they share that department with the MLE, too)

Hmm, I've not watched Bones, so can't comment on that, but the idea of a long dead body being discovered is fairly generic, I suppose. I watch a lot of cold case type programmes, and they intrigue me, which was why I wrote this.

Oh, don;t feel too badly for Hugo, or rather anti-Genister - she's okay, really, but Hugo (in my story Diffraction) was a bit of a twit towards her. And Aaron is a flist hottie, so you can't blame her - ha.

Regarding the research: I did read up a lot on body deterioration over the years and also the soil it was left in. I also could easily have taken the easy way out and declared that because there was magic in the ground, that such and such happened, but I didn't because I started to find it interesting - ha ha.

The Scoprpius/Lily aspect of this story does take a backseat to the mystery, but it's still present. Thanks for reading and reviewing ~Carole~


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 03/11/13 18:11 · For: Chapter 9 - Motive
I did a reread. I suppose I should have a clue who Cormac is hiding but no girl is coming up. Could it be Cormac is gay and doesn't want anyone to know.

Proudfoot is looking more and more at the very least unprofessional or worst guilty. I reread the search, and it definitily is as Scorpius said. Furthermore Proudfoot was extremely meticulous until they came into the bedroom. Also I noticed the Proudfoot was there before Scorpius presumably checking security.

I also noticed that Tamara implied that her apartment was muggle proof but later it says she doesn't know spells all that well because she's living a muggle life. I suspect her wand is closer to her than we think.

Good mystery.

Author's Response: Yes, Scorpius isn;t making anything up; Proudfoot is, as you say, at the very least unprofessional, and perhaps is guilty ... but of what? DUN DUN DUUUUUN.

I shall disabuse you of one thing; when I described Tamara's house as Muggle-proof, I did mean electric alarms, high walls, etc etc - like a gated community. Scorpius was able to Apparate there very easily because she has no wards set up against it.

There is a very weeeeeeny clue as to the identity of Cormac's lover, but it is very weeny.

Thank you very much for the review and I'm glad you're enjoying the story. I'm about to start chapter 12, which may give a few more answers to some of your questions (I just need to see how it pans out.) ~Carole~


Name: silverlining95 (Signed) · Date: 03/10/13 9:59 · For: Chapter 9 - Motive
This is seriously intriguing me, I have no idea who it could be! I like how you haven't made Cormac a stereotypical villain, he's complex and I really want to know who it is that planted the wand! (I'm starting to think it might not be a 'her' though... hmmm)

I hope you update soon and that Scorpius finally gets to spend some time with Lily haha!

Fenella

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review :) - I am so pleased you're finding this intriguing as I've been trying to not reveal too much. It's very hard writing a mystery when you know the answer - hahahahah. I should be updating soon as have two chapters written, but I do need to get cracking on chapter 12. Thanks again ~Carole~


Name: locanena (Signed) · Date: 03/10/13 1:41 · For: Chapter 9 - Motive
Omg omg omg omg! Who is it?

Author's Response: Mwahahahahahahahahah - Not telling ... yet. (You might find out in chapter 12, as am about to start that one.)

Thank you ~Carole~


Name: locanena (Signed) · Date: 02/02/13 10:51 · For: Chapter 7 - Identification
You never have disappointed me, and you haven't still. Awesome chapter

Author's Response: Thank you so very much. I hpw you enjoy the next one. ~Carole


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 01/31/13 22:18 · For: Chapter 7 - Identification
It's always neat to start a new chapter and remember the last bit of the previous chapter, if that makes sense. You left it at a cliffie with Tamara Flint so as I read those first few sentences, I got excited. And it was cool, esp. when Scorpius went to her house and discovered a cover-up. Or she was lying. I don't know. You've thrown out a ton of stuff here so rather than drive myself mad trying to figure it out, because I know I'll be wrong, I'm just noting them and enjoying the ride. Something's weird with McLaggen and his story about the train, something's weird with finding the wand, and something's odd about the wand itself (great research!) And then for Pat to get hit just as Harry was about to head to McLaggen's, forcing Proudfoot instead...yeah, I wasn't going to try to figure it out, so I'm stopping. With my suspicions. Sub plot could be anything with all that's going on, but yes, I am still totally enjoying it. Hope you are too. Great chapter - sorry for the really rambly review! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: hahahahaha - I'm a meany pants for not replying earlier, but thank you so much for the review. Hmm, there is a sub plot going on now because I liked the Tamara Flint dynamic and this was one of the reasons I had to pull it from the challenge because it was going to get far too long.

Thank you for all your reviews ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 01/31/13 0:31 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
I have to agree that the wand may have been planted - and I suspect that auror, the nasty one, of having something to do with the murder or the murderer...

I find it interesting that people keep telling Scorpius he is the reason his mother dropped out - it seems to me that even a powerful wizard would have difficulty impregnating his mother before his own conception, but then, maybe these people know something I don't... silly me, if I were them, I'd more likely blame Astoria and Draco... but interesting how he is reacting to being connected to his mother, and then Ollivander brings it up at the end of the chapter - nice for someone besides Harry to finally have an "important" mother...

The whole pine wand business is very interesting. Did you make up pine being protective, or find it somewhere? Here a 'pine box" is (or was - my slang is behind the times) is slang for a coffin. hm...

Am now trying to picture using my double point sock knitting needles as wands, as they are about the same length. no - a pencil, I just measured. Will now go around practicing with a pencil for days, I suppose...

Waiting for next chapter!

Thea

Author's Response: I'm not sure Astoria is necessarily important in this story, it's more the way he's more like his mother (his core) than his father, despite people mixing them up because of the way he looks.

The pine wand business is from Pottermore. I was researching the wand woods and cores and pine fitted Sally-Ann's character to me, but there was this thing attached about longevity and protectiveness. However, that also suited, in my mind, the way the person died, so I decided she had a pine wand.

Interesting suspicions you have. Next chapter is written and beta'd, just waiting for me to edit and add (next week probably. I'm a little ahead of myself, but need to get back to this soon before I lose track of the story.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! ~Carole~


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 01/30/13 17:37 · For: Chapter 7 - Identification
It made me wonder if the wand was planted in Cormic's trunk. He seemed to have no problem with the aurors looking through his house. He can't be that stupid. Very complicated plot.

Author's Response: It's possible he's that stupid . . .

There's a few more twists, yet, but I hope it doesn't become too complicated. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing. ~Carole~


Name: locanena (Signed) · Date: 01/21/13 21:31 · For: Chapter 6 - Blast from the Past
OH MY GOSH THIS IS SOO FREAKING AWESOME!! I love your style of writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. There should be another chapter coming up soon. :) ~Carole


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 01/17/13 17:13 · For: Chapter 6 - Blast from the Past
I love it! Can't wait.

Author's Response: Thank you. Next chapter should be up next week. ~Carole~


Name: dmbw7052 (Signed) · Date: 01/15/13 18:52 · For: Chapter 6 - Blast from the Past
really good! but what does higgledy-piggledy mean?

Author's Response: higgledy- piggledy means a mess, so everything is mixed up. Thanks for the review ~Carole~


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 01/15/13 17:22 · For: Chapter 6 - Blast from the Past
Nice cliffhanger, for one! And loved seeing Draco, for another. Bringing him in as a consult was a good idea for the interpersonal relationships going on here. ;) But my favorite part had to be this:

“Are you asking me out?” Scorpius said, laughing loudly. “Only I’m seeing your sister, and you’re really not my type.”

HAHAHA I loved that! Were you cackling when you wrote that too?

Great job with McLaggen and the clues from the body advancing the plot, and then the cursed diary (nice to see Harry can still be impulsive and stupid, lol) and again - great cliffie!

So much fun to read!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I did cackle at that bit (and there's something in a later chapter that makes me giggle, too) but I think I hugged myslef more at bringing Draco in. Mwahahahahah - *sigh* I can't seem to stop writing him, atm.
,br> Glad you liked the cliff. Mmm, Harry is still going to be reckless at times, and although he's a 'grown-up' I can imagine him still getting wound up by Draco when Draco is being clever about something. Not as petty as Draco, but still getting irritated with him.

Thank you. ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 01/15/13 14:59 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
I especially like the Draco vs. Harry by-play. And I would write more, but I am on my Nook and the touch screen is very,very annoying.
Note to self, do NOT get Iphone...

Author's Response: I have an iPhone . . . I am pleased you liked Draco. When I had the idea about including him, I was hugging myself with girlish glee because I do so like writing his snark and also the dynamic between him and Harry. At times they're still the schoolboys they were and can never quite leave the past behind. Thanks for the review ~Carole~


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 01/15/13 13:16 · For: Chapter 6 - Blast from the Past
Another twist, but it makes for a great story.

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes, this is the point where plot lines start to diverge :) Thank you for the review and I'm glad you're enjoying the story. ~Carole~


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 01/02/13 22:40 · For: Chapter 5 - Threads
The chapter title says it all: so many threads here! I loved the locket, and meeting Pomona in a Muggle garden, and finding that diary with Susan Bones. And then introducing new suspects like Cormac - the plot thickens! Great stuff. Love the dynamic between Harry and Scorpius - Harry so calm and understanding, Scorpius eager to learn and help. Oh, and throwing in that last bit about Proudfoot - great details! Loving it! Such fun to read - keep it coming! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: There are a lot of threads in this tale and hopefully they won't all get tangled - ha. Thank you, Gina for the review. I will keep going because I'm really enjoying writing it. ~Carole~


Name: Softy (Signed) · Date: 01/01/13 21:07 · For: Chapter 5 - Threads
So many twists and turns, I can't wait for the next installment. I wanted to see lily and Scorpius continue their relationship but now I am far more intrigued by the mystery of the body. Great story please don't make me wait too long for what happens next

Author's Response: Thank you so much for saying this. When I conceived the idea of this story, I was concerned about the fact that I'd billed it as a follow up to High, and yet the romance aspect does take a back seat. There will be more Scorpius/Lily moments, but with her at Hogwarts and him working, I realised their time together had to be limited. Thanks again. ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 12/30/12 13:24 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
That review seems to have submitted itself by accident before was finished, so you get two for one here... ;-)

I really don't know who did it, which impresses me. Could be Cormac, he's such an idiot, could have done it by accident - but that's so obvious. I'm sort of hoping Draco is at least under suspicion for a bit... not that I think he did it, but it would be so delightful to have poor Scorpius pulled in so many directions, and while I do believe he would do the right thing in the long run, I can see you doing so much with the suspense...

BTW, her robes probably have a fair percentage of something like polyester, which works perfectly with her being on the assisted students scholarship...(I got the suggestion that they were probably synthetic at least in part from my expert..)

Author's Response: It could be Cormac, the idiot, or it could be Draco, or maybe it's ... No, I can't say. No hints at all. She certainly wore cheap robes and nothing bespoke. That does fit with Sally-Ann's profile, but it's not been confirmed yet. ;p ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 12/30/12 13:13 · For: Chapter 5 - Threads
How will they read it? Someone will find a way... One of the girls, I'll bet - Ginny, or Hermione, or maybe even Lily, although of course none of them should be touching it, or maybe Scorpius will show his mettle...

Author's Response: Ah, well, the diary reader might be revealed in the next chapter ... and ... um ... no, I'll let you find out. I'm not sure Ginny would want to go near one again, mind you. Thank you ~Carole~


You must login (register) to review.