Reviews For Uncovered by Death
Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/14/13 13:52
Chapter: Chapter 13 ~ Widening the Circle

Take that, Harry! Yay, I'm glad they patched things up and also that James clarified things with Scorpius... though I'm annoyed he hasn't given away his informant because I would sooo like to know.

And I laughed so much at Harry assuming Scorpius was going to propose to Lily. Seriously, LOL. I could understand why Harry was so awkward about it! And his relief when Scorpius said they were just earrings... fabulous. :D

I want to know mooooore about Montague now! I'm off to the next chapter -- I've got to find out why Smith's done a bunk :)

Author's Response: james can't give away his informant because that will ruin the twist. He's on my side - mwahahahahahahahhahahahahahah - Sorry, in mad holiday mode and finally catching up. Thank you so much for all your reviews. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/14/13 13:36
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Reminiscences

OOOH.

Can I just say, I love all the references to other stories and pairings in this? Maybe I'm reading into things too much, ha, but I could sense a hint of Daphne/Pansy at the beginning. And theeeen, of course I had to catch the Ted/Andromeda reference after having just reread it :D

But Harry was being so unfair and presumptuous! Ugh. He should have at least asked Scorpius to explain himself without assuming he was being paid off >.< And I could understand why Scorpius said what he said to Lily, even if Lily took it the wrong way. I hope they patch things up :/ I definitely think Proudfoot set Scorpy up, because it was clear he didn't like him right from the start, but then I'm now thinking that maybe he has more to do with the case than I thought... hmmm. I'll have to see. Onto the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Oh Proudfoot, why do you hate my Scorpy so? Oh, Daphne/Pansy ... uhm, not sure that's still going on - ha ha. Sorry I took my time replying to the review; I've been very slack. thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/14/13 13:16
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Confrontation

OOOOOOH.

Carole, I am so sorry I've fallen behind with this story! *hangs head in shame* I had exams and other RL crap going on and I totally forgot about the fabulousness that is this story. D:

BUT I am back now. And OMG. I love love love drunk!Scorpy. I'm now wondering who the mystery man is, too, and I have a couple of theories that are rather crazy haha so I won't share. :P Anyway, I'm intrigued to know about Cormac's other secrets, so I will head off to the next chapter. OH, last thing, I liked teh bit at the end with Andromeda -- I hope we get to see more of her as the story goes on.

Onwards!

Author's Response: OOOH, I forgot to reply! Sorry. Uhm, yes, you will see a little more of Andromeda, but not that much. She's more important in High, tbh, but is here mainly as a different side of the family for Scorpy. I like writing drunk Scorp - ha ha. Actually i like writing drunks... I wonder why.

Thank you again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/10/13 13:42
Chapter: Chapter 13 ~ Widening the Circle

But who did James get the story off? I have my suspicions.

Author's Response: Mwahahahahahahahahaha - that would be telling! Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 06/12/13 7:21
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Reminiscences

Is Proudfoot involved in dodgy dealings? Plenty to think about.

Author's Response: Possibly ... (Thank you for reading, reviewing and inquiring :D) ~Carole

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 04/24/13 12:04
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Confrontation

Why, oh why, did I start reading this before the entire story is posted? The wait now will be painful, because this is so delightfully GOOD.

Carole, how do you manage to outdo even yourself? You've always been one of the best around, but the plotting and characterization here are just perfect. I love the pace and the cliffhangers between chapters and the "threads" you keep weaving with every subplot! I honestly don't think of myself as generally liking mystery stories, but I do love cop/FBI investigation shows and books, so maybe I do. Several times while reading this, I completely forgot I was even reading fanfic, as it felt more like a David Baldacci novel. Because with those books, I always think "one more chapter," but then the end of that chapter makes me read just one more. Great stuff.

Your Harry is so, so right. Really, it's hard for me to imagine him all grown up with teenagers, but you've really done it well. At first, I didn't like how aggravated he seemed when Hermione's name came up, but then when she showed up, I realized how well-pitched that actually was, with them being in opposition so often due to work. LOVED when you broke the tension there by having them crack up over the smart kids slumming it with the idiots. That was very sweet, and reminded readers that this professional look at their relationship is only the tip of the iceberg where Harry and Hermione are concerned.

Every time a new, known character turns up, I smile. Hannah's bit was very good, and I'm enjoying Lavender and Teddy and Neville and everyone else... your version of Draco is about my favorite to read in fanfic, as he's still a complete ass, and yet, I'm always pulling for him. He clearly is good at what he does, and he loves his family, however grumbly and nasty he can be.

But this is Scorpius' fic, isn't it? You've created such a brilliant character here, Carole. I like how he struggles to keep silent when no one would blame him for retorting to a lot of the derogatory comments he's been thrown. It would be hard to be him, that's for sure. And yet, the relationship with Draco is so complicated and interesting, and a nice sketch to compare with his growing relationship with Harry. I really need to go back and read High. I started it, got several chapters in, then got sidetracked by something in RL, and never made it back around to finish. But I was so enjoying it, and being reconnected with Scorpius in this makes me want to go back and finish more than ever.

So sorry this is so long-winded. I had intended to stop every couple of chapters and review, but then I was too hooked to take the time when I wanted to see what was going to happen next. All according to your plan, I presume?

Before I go, I shall posit my theories as others have done. I think McClaggen is gay. He covers it well, but the fact that he didn't sleep with Sally-Anne is a clue there, I think. I suspect he chose the location of his apartment for something other than the view? ;) Anyway, I shall keep my other theories to myself for now.

I'm loving this. Never more than now do I think you should write OF. This is as good or better than many suspence/crime novels I've read, and I mean that seriously. And when you get down to it, Scorpius is essentially an OC. His parentage might be known, but he could have been anything. Love your version of him.

Can't wait for more! Happy writing!

~Lori

Author's Response: Lori, I have taken my time responding because I was truly blown away with how wonderful this review is. I really appreciate you reading and reviewing the story which is something I've loved writing, so far. I am about to get back to this, so I hope the next few chapters will be ready soon. That darn cotillion distracted me - YET AGAIN!

I love that you love Scorpius because writing a story from his VP again was a little daunting. On the one hand it was easy because I knew the way his mind worked from High but on the other I was placing him in a different situation and the love interest isn't as apparent. There's also a lot less conflict with his family now that he's out of that situation, but as you've discovered, Draco decided to invade my story - ha ha ha.

I obviously am not going to comment on your theories because I don;t want to ruin the rest of the story, but I find them interesting - mwahahahahahahaha.

Okay, this is a poor response to such a fabulous review, but it's all i got!

Thank you very much ~Carole~

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 04/21/13 14:31
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Confrontation

Purely amazing

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I smiled a lot on reading your review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 04/18/13 15:59
Chapter: Chapter 8 -Undercover

I am going to catch up this. I am. This was lovely. I am liking Tamara Flint for some reason. Do you want me to? I am still liking Scorpius and Harry. Also still thinking something's up with Proudfoot. Not sure about McLaggen, even with the twist at the end. It was a really good way to introduce that, with the houseelve. Motivation indeed. And the plot thickens, as they say! I'm sorry for falling behind. Good chapter and will keep on the rest soon!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Ahhh, Tamara Flint - yes, the main reason the story spiralled from its intended six chapters. Yet another character I invented on the hoof and decided I liked - also I really wanted the Flints to play a more important part in the story, and ... something else that I was about to type but can;t because it will spoil things - OOOOOOOPs.

I'm trying to work out where you are with regards to Proudfoot, and McLaggen. Oh, Frinkle, yes. Mwahahahahahahahahah - sorry, I need to cackle ebilly just to prove I'm alive.

Thank you! ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 04/17/13 7:41
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Confrontation

I really look forward to updates of this story. It is a very interesting tale.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I am hoping to get the whole story finished and posted by end of June. It's ashame real life gets in the way. On a side note I'm very pleased to see you back. Your absence was noted :D .

Carole

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 15:48
Chapter: Chapter 9 - Motive

oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Author's Response: OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO - to you, toooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 15:35
Chapter: Chapter 8 -Undercover

It aint cormac.

But yes, I am glad you are seeing the errors of your ways and slowly moving owards scugo.

Author's Response: errors of my ways? Uhm ... are you reading this properly. Nutso?

It MIGHT be Cormac. You never know. Occasionally it is the first person they thought of - hahahhahahah

Thankieees ~Crolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll~

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 15:16
Chapter: Chapter 7 - Identification

i dont like this proudfoot. i hope i am right to dislike him and that this isnt some red herring.

wand wood! this reminds me to - er - remind someone to return to their krum fic...

Author's Response: Vand Vood - Indeed.

Proudfoot is a git.

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

Oh! Are you writing a Krum fic, too, because my good friend Natalie, who might just be a potato (and not a butternut squash) is writing one, too. And she's going to finish it ... Yes. She. Is. ~Crololololololol

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 13:53
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Complications

Fantastic ending!

But if Scorper can be mistaken for his father, he can't have been "good-looking"!

Now, repeat after me: Croll ships Scugo... Croll ships Scugo...

PS: D'you think Zac S and Cormac might make a good pairing?

Author's Response: What? Zacmac ... don;t be so blooming ridonkulous!

What's wrong with Draco? And who is this Scorper?

Repeat after me ... Croll ships Scily and the only person worthy of shipping Scugo is a person called expecto ... uh ... hestiajones.... Croll ships Scily and the only person worthy of shipping Scugo is a person called expecto ... uh ... hestiajones. .... Croll ships Scily and the only person worthy of shipping Scugo is a person called expecto ... uh ... hestiajones. ....

I think this is the party chapter that you've just reviewed. i liked writing that one - heheh heheh heheh.

Thank youuu, nuts, o love of my life ~Crolllllllllolololololol

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 13:32
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Leads

UGH. I am now too engrossed to properly review-hypnotise you back to your Scugoing reality!!!

Author's Response: SCRUCO .... you mean. Mwahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

Expecto... May I call you that? Or would you rather, Nuts? Or Patro?

I think ... I love you.

But ... it can never be because my ship is Scily.

Glad you're enjoying the story ♥

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 12:37
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Find the Girl

WHAT. I am angry on Scorper's behalf. Proudfoot - AWAY TO THE SHIRE, I SAY! (there's the Proudfoot family there, maybe this Auror is a Hobbit.)

I like Vector's characterisation, not because I find her an exciting character - but because I don't. ;) There has got to be the average strict and not very funny professor heading the school once in a while.

Reading on! The plot has thickened!

Author's Response: I love Vector. She deserves the love of a good man. Gerard Bon-Bon has ruined her LIFE!

Thank you, Expecto. Proudfoot is a git. My beta hates him too. (There is a reason for his gittishness, kind of.)

Plots do thicken, and plots diversify - eeeeeep. Scily FTW!

heh heh heh ~Crollalanza

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 03/25/13 12:02
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees

Well, Scorpy, you know the solution, don't you? If Hugo's presence is getting you all hot and bothered, take him to the changing rooms!

I have deigned to read your fic, although I know you're taking your time coming round to your true ship - Scugo.

Author's Response: *sigh*

Delusional. I slipped in an extra just for you, nuts, in chapter 8.



Crollega

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 03/25/13 0:41
Chapter: Chapter 10 - Birthday Gifts

I can't wait for the next chaper

Author's Response: I do have the next chapter ... but I need to get a bit ahead of myself so there isn't an awful gap between them. So pleased you're enjoying the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/24/13 8:22
Chapter: Chapter 10 - Birthday Gifts

Yay, a welcome breather to all the mystery and action. I think it was necessary to have a filler chapter here, and it didn't even feel like that because you just write so well :)

I think you did a great job of portraying Scorpius's relationship with his family, especially with his dad. I like that nothing is perfect here particularly bearing in mind how everything is far from easy with Narcissa and everything.

And yayay Daphne! :D I do love how you've written her here. Oh and the present from Lily was so sweet. As was the appearance of Teddy. Sorry, I realise my review is steadily worsening and probably doesn't make much sense -- basically I enjoyed this a lot and I can't wait for the next chapter :D How many more chapters do you plan it to be? (And I totally get that that can change -- I mean remember my Sirius/Rosmerta had an accidental second chapter, lol)

Well done! :D

Soraya xxx

Author's Response: An accidental chapter I could deal with ... ha ha ha. Soraya, my love, I'm not sure. I've written chapter 11 and I'm definitely past the middle. I'm think 15/16, but need to make sure all the ends are tied up.

Thank you so much for the review. I have loved writing this story (so far) not just because it's Scorpius/Lily but because I've moved away from straight romance and into a plotty fic. And thank you for appreciating that the chapter was breather. It is necessary for the story (pssst, there's some information hidden there somewhere - mwahahahahah) but also it's part of Scorpius's story to show the interaction with his mum and dad.

Thank youuyuuuuuu and I hope you enjoy the rest Carole

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 03/20/13 18:19
Chapter: Chapter 8 -Undercover

Flail flail flail FLAIL

carole did you know that I think you're amazing? Because I totally do :D I'm on my phone in Sweden at the moment and am about to go to bed, but I'd thought I'd review just to say that I have thoroughly enjoyed the ride with scorpy so far and am really looking forward to where things are going to head later on. Btw I have read the next chapter - I just was appalled at one chapter not having any so I thought I would review :3

Honestly, I could go on forever about how amazing this is but I'm not quite surer where to start. There are so many excellent characters in this - scorpius and James and harry and Lily - they were all characterised beautifully and I love the whole murder mystery going on here. I'm really intrigued although I don't think it's mclaggen - possibly zacharias or else someone else mclaggen slept with. Hmm. Anyway I can't wait for tar next chapter :D oh and happy early birthday! One of these days, you're going to fess up and tell me your real age... muabahhahahaha

Heart youuuuu soraya x

Author's Response: Thank youuuuuuu. yayay, this is such a lovely review, and I'm so pleased you're enjoying the story. I need to get cracking on finishing it. I keep saying it will be another three chapters, but then I said that about High (which was supposed to be 3 in total - ha ha - and ended up at 22.)
,br> Hope Sweden is fabulous. ~Carole~ (Oh, I'm 93, btw)

Reviewer: Ginny Weasley Potter
Date: 03/14/13 12:51
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees

Gah, I'd left you a review this morning, but somehow (and I still can't figure out how) I copy-pasted your banner request on this. Hehe.

Anyway. Eep. A body! This reminds me of the beginning of a typical episode on Bones, hehehe. And I'm intrigued -- mostly because I know how much research this involves (I have a WIP where there's a murder -- not like yours, but a regular murder, and I sat for days with tiny notes to perfect everything while I plotted it). I do wonder though, would the Auror department have a forensics branch? Of course, it's not impossible that the Aurors could be trained in body identification, and basic forensic procedures, but I'm still intrigued.

I like how you've written Scorpius in this. It's just the way I like him, and I can't wait for the snark to kick in. :D I like Lily too, and Hugo, the poor fellow, really deserves a better girlfriend, doesn't he? :(

And, haha, I still support ScoRose, but somehow, I don't mind reading Scorpius with other people these days. I guess, writing him with Victoire did it for me, ha!

I'm definitely intrigued, and I honestly want to read on, but I have to stop here today, because I may or may not have an exam tomorrow (if it doesn't happen, I'll be irritated that I had to wait to read more of your fic :/). I'm also inspired, and I hope I can make a banner that's as interesting as a story, and I'm nervous about that!

Pooja

Author's Response: You will, I'm afraid, have to read on to discover what happens with the forensics, but basically, no, they're not the ones that make a body identification, they're the people that piece together the murder and use the forensics that are based elsewhere (and they share that department with the MLE, too)

Hmm, I've not watched Bones, so can't comment on that, but the idea of a long dead body being discovered is fairly generic, I suppose. I watch a lot of cold case type programmes, and they intrigue me, which was why I wrote this.

Oh, don;t feel too badly for Hugo, or rather anti-Genister - she's okay, really, but Hugo (in my story Diffraction) was a bit of a twit towards her. And Aaron is a flist hottie, so you can't blame her - ha.

Regarding the research: I did read up a lot on body deterioration over the years and also the soil it was left in. I also could easily have taken the easy way out and declared that because there was magic in the ground, that such and such happened, but I didn't because I started to find it interesting - ha ha.

The Scoprpius/Lily aspect of this story does take a backseat to the mystery, but it's still present. Thanks for reading and reviewing ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES