Reviews For Uncovered by Death
Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 11/22/13 13:38
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Leads

I don't think I've ever read a fic with Karis in it. Is that really her first name? I don't recall but I have always been curious about her. I'm glad you had Scorpius speak up about the Malfoy estate because when I realized the victims had been narrowed down, I was recalling their relatives from canon. I remember that Flint was a Slytherin and that they were mostly pureblooded. Then when the revelation that she was a half blood illegitimate child cane to light, I remebered that in the 50's and prior, sometimes even present day although less so, it wasn't uncommon for people to hide illegitimate children and teen pregnancy with adoption and family secrets. Halfbloods  being akin to interracial, that would make it doubly likely. Tragically it often resulted in murder too. At first I didn't understand why the reason the story ended in a happier note with Scorpius getting wrangled into attending Ginny's Quidditch event, but now I'm thinking it's your plot device to have him in attendance to discover a clue. Since he's our main protagonist, it can't very well be discovered by Harry, now can it? ~_^

Author's Response: I made up Karis's first name for one of my fics called Lavender, blue and Gryffindor true - which as you can probably gather is the story of Lavender and Blaise Zabini. Ha ha - ah the party. Well, there were two reasons for that. One I won;t go into now, but, yes, it's important, and the other was that I wanted a little bit of a light break for Scorpius. Oh, and other things happen because of the party. As far as the illegit child is concerned, Tamara was born in the 80's - she's not that much younger than Tabitha and Harry (six years, I think is my timeline) but basically it was the fact that Jonah had been with a Muggle girl that was the big issue here. And he never told Karis about it because he wasn;t sure how she'd react, and also Karis - although older than him - might have still had a child. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 11/22/13 12:49
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Find the Girl

I love the allusion to the fact that clothes are very deceptive. I can't decide if Louis is giving Scorpius a tip to help in his investigating or his relationship! Always love when Mr. and Mrs. Zabini appear. You made we love two characters I never thought I would. Can't decide if Proudfoot is a calculating git or has something to hide. You don't stay an auror that long being an idiot, especially not with someone like Harry as your Head Auror. So either he intentionally wants to make Scorpius look bad or he is hampering the investigation. Whether it is to take Scorpius out of the investigation, slow down the discovery of the identity, or protect someone else, I don't know. It's so exciting! Can you tell I like mysteries too? On another note, who do you like to read?

Author's Response: Proudfoot is ... I won't say, but it gets revealed in a much later chapter. (I have just about finished this, btw, but am tweaking the last few chapters and epilogue) Louis I have a whole other backstory and plot for, but alas, I've not written it and not sure I ever will. He's clever and not as meek as a lot of his cousins think, though. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 11/22/13 11:26
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees

I just read the other review mentioning Bones, so I thought that was funny. If you like forensics and cold case shows, you might like Bones. It's actually based on the real-life forensic anthropologist Kathy Reich. Unlike CSI, it's got the forensics but a little more interesting, with some insight into what drives the characters. Kind of like how Sherlock Holmes' neuroses made the man, so his back story is just as interesting as his investigations. If he wasn't a flawed man with addictions and obsessed with the scientific method, he wouldn't be the detective he was. So I guess I'm just explaining to you why we are comparing it to Bones. It's a compliment really. Also, the television show is based on the life and writings of Dr. Reichs, who happens to be a NY Times best selling author. That's a pretty big deal Stateside. :)

Author's Response: Mmm, I have seen Bones once or twice, I just haven't got into it ... yet. We have some similar tyopes of shows here, and I also love CSI, NCIS and Body of Proof partly cause I love the forensic details. Bones is on my to-watch list, but it's quite a long list - ha ha. I used to love David Boreanz in Buffy, though (before I became enthralled by Spike - ha ha). thank you for the reviews.

Oh, forgot to say in the other response that I read a lot of murder mystery type things especially where there's something a little different about them. So I'm currently addicted to Ben aaranovitvh, who writes books set firmly in London present day, but the premise is a cop who can do certain forms of Magic. the tag line is kind of 'What if Harry Potter left Hogwarts and joined the Police' . they're not at all potterverse, buts till very clever, all the same. :) Hmm, other books Jasper Fforde, CJ Sansom, Conan Doyle, JK Rowling's book that she wrote as Robert Galbraith is very good, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 11/22/13 11:05
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees

I meant to start this story many times but never did. Finally got around to it when I saw you on the QSQ list. Congratulations! I really like your characterization of Lily in this story and the companion stories because it's fairly spot on to what I imagine Lily would be like. I like that she's strong like her mother but ultimately much more fair of a person than Ginny and more like Harry in that respect. I love watching crime procedural television where the stories are more about the investigators than the crimes like Bones and The Mentalist, so this is right up my alley. I swear, when they found the body, I saw an episode of Bones unfolding, if Temperance Brennan lived in the Potterverse. LoL. I think Hugo is a bit annoying. Not in a bad character way, but in a he would annoy me in real life way. (So you're doing a good job. ^_^) That's really all I can think of for now. THANKS FOR WRITING SUCH INTERESTING STORIES!

Author's Response: Thank you! I really wanted to write a murder mystery story because it's the sort of thing I like watching and reading, but hadn't really attempted it before this. I haven't seen Bones, but do know who you mean, and thank you again for the compliment. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 10/17/13 6:00
Chapter: Chapter 18 ~ Truths Unmasked

Definately one of my favourite stories.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I have loved writing this, despite the monumental headaches caused by an Engorgio cast on the plot. ~Carole~

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 10/15/13 11:33
Chapter: Chapter 18 ~ Truths Unmasked

Nooooo! Need more! -- Great chapter (lovely and long) and I can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 10/15/13 10:51
Chapter: Chapter 18 ~ Truths Unmasked

I adored this chapter. Fast paced, but not so fast that I couldn't keep up with the goings on. I particularly liked the interactions between Harry and Scorpius and Harry and Tamara, though I did find it a bit odd that it hadn't occurred to her that a wizard wouldn't have needed a key to access her documents.

The ending was amazing, you built up the tension so well (and I can't wait to find out what Scorpius's revelation was!).

Fenella

Author's Response: Thank you so much. My feeling with Tamara is that she's been without magic for so long that she's become complacent. She wouldn't have taken magical precautions, and also, her will had more or less slipped her mind because she made it in a hurry, and also didn't think it was about her money ... sort of.

You'll find out how Scorpius worked it out in the next chapter. :D Thank you again ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 09/19/13 13:07
Chapter: Chapter 17 ~ Flint Encounters

This was brilliant!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/18/13 15:57
Chapter: Chapter 17 ~ Flint Encounters

I am going on hunger strike until you get the last chapter up. Who was not there?

Author's Response: Mwahahahahahahhahahahahahah - Okay, Chapter 18 is nearly complete, and I am trying to get this all finished before end of September (although posting might take a little longer). Someone wasn't there, and it is kind of important (but you won't find out in next chapter - sorry). So glad you're enjoying the story. Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 08/07/13 13:19
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ The Widow

curiouser and curiouser! Wondering if Cho Chang and the person Scorpius is trying to remember are somehow related. Other than that I'm clueless.

Author's Response: There could be a connection, possibly, maybe ... not telling (yet). Okay, I am in the process of writing the next chapter. You might get some answers then. (although perhaps not!) Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 08/07/13 6:56
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ The Widow

That is such a mean cliffhanger! Your storyline is so innovative and cleverly written, please update as soon physically possible :)

Author's Response: I am about to start the next chapter. yes, it was a mean cliffhanger - Mwahahahahahahahahahahah. thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Snorkack
Date: 08/06/13 19:04
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ The Widow

Wow - this is getting really exciting!! Can't wait for the solution to the mystery. Please don't keep us waiting too long!

Author's Response: Sorry, I stopped writing because I wanted to finish something else, but I'm starting the next chapter now and hope this will all be finished by September. Thank you for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/06/13 17:56
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ The Widow

I can feel it coming together but who is "he"? This whole story is just fantastic.

Author's Response: Ah, 'he', yes, the mysterious 'he'. Well, Harry knows what he's talking about, and has done the infuriating trick that Hermione used to pull of running off to the library - Mwahahahahahaa.

Thank you so much for your review and compliments. ~Carole

Reviewer: FireDaisy
Date: 07/25/13 20:49
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees

Just read chapter 15 and I am really enjoying the story - I just wish there was more. I thought I knew "whodunnit" but now I am not so sure...I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: There will be more. I'm hoping this will be finished very soon, so another three chapters, I think. Thank you for the review ~Carole

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/25/13 17:33
Chapter: Chapter 15 - Money Troubles

Great story telling.Still not convinces who is the murderer.

Author's Response: Thank you! Three more chapters to go (I think, unless my plotting goes really awry). I really appreciate the reads and reviews ~Carole

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 07/16/13 12:42
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Keeping House

My theory: Montague's the father of Sally's baby but may have forgotten it since the accident. Maybe Sally was killed by Montague's parent or current wife.

As to Tamara Flint, I'm just guessing Tabatha Flint. I will however be impressed if her husband somehow figures into the Perks murder although I don't see how except for a Quidditch connection.

Author's Response: Mwahahahahahahahahahahah - sorry, any excuse to laugh manically. Uhm, glad I'm keeping you guessing. I really appreciate you reading and reviewing this story - which I hope to finish very soon. ~Carole

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/15/13 13:55
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Keeping House

This is bloody brilliant!! I just read all 14 chapters!! I can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I have 2 more chapters written but not quite set to post, and then I think there will be two more. Really appreciate you reading and reviewing - Thank you! Carole

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/15/13 13:55
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Keeping House

This is bloody brilliant!! I just read all 14 chapters!! I can't wait for more!!

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 07/14/13 15:27
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Keeping House

Great chapter, as always. Brought a smile to my face and another twist in the plot.

Author's Response: Twisty turny things. Ha ha - thank you so much for the review, I really appreciate it. ~Carole

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/14/13 14:17
Chapter: Chapter 14 - Keeping House

Zacmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaac!!!!!!!

Yeah, I had a feeling that would be McLaggen's secret :D And what Harry said at the end made me laugh so much -- I'm sure Hermione finding out Zach and Mac are together is one awkward turtle, lol. And that was nice work on Scorpius's part, getting Zach to see Cormac being held in custody.

Anyway, I'm not too sure Proudfoot is the informant anymore... argh, I used to be really good at guessing mysteries, but I guess I'm getting rusty as it's been a while since I've read one. I think there's more to Montague's story with sally-Ann, but hopefully when they interview Zac and Mac they'll get more details. That is, assuming they don't both do a bunk together... but I don't think that will happen, ha.

Right, rambly reviews over! Sorry if none of them make sense -- I am soooo rusty reviewing and a mystery as gripping as this one is bound to leave me incoherent. Well done, Croll, and post the next chapter soooooon!

Soraya xxx

Author's Response: I cannot resist the zacmackery anymore - Mwahahahahahahaha. Okay Ch 15 should be up very soon and 16 as have them both beta'd and just tweaking. The rest is being written. This is skeltering towards a conclusion, just need to time to get it all down - eeeep.

Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES