Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Uncovered by Death

Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 12/30/12 13:24 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
That review seems to have submitted itself by accident before was finished, so you get two for one here... ;-)

I really don't know who did it, which impresses me. Could be Cormac, he's such an idiot, could have done it by accident - but that's so obvious. I'm sort of hoping Draco is at least under suspicion for a bit... not that I think he did it, but it would be so delightful to have poor Scorpius pulled in so many directions, and while I do believe he would do the right thing in the long run, I can see you doing so much with the suspense...

BTW, her robes probably have a fair percentage of something like polyester, which works perfectly with her being on the assisted students scholarship...(I got the suggestion that they were probably synthetic at least in part from my expert..)

Author's Response: It could be Cormac, the idiot, or it could be Draco, or maybe it's ... No, I can't say. No hints at all. She certainly wore cheap robes and nothing bespoke. That does fit with Sally-Ann's profile, but it's not been confirmed yet. ;p ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 12/30/12 13:13 · For: Chapter 5 - Threads
How will they read it? Someone will find a way... One of the girls, I'll bet - Ginny, or Hermione, or maybe even Lily, although of course none of them should be touching it, or maybe Scorpius will show his mettle...

Author's Response: Ah, well, the diary reader might be revealed in the next chapter ... and ... um ... no, I'll let you find out. I'm not sure Ginny would want to go near one again, mind you. Thank you ~Carole~


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 12/30/12 7:27 · For: Chapter 5 - Threads
With any luck, they will read it in the next chapter. This is a cracking story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much and I'm glad you're enjoying the story. The diary might take a little longer to decipher than the next chapter . . . ~Carole~


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 12/27/12 15:17 · For: Chapter 4 - Complications
Nice twist/connection with Hannah! I hope you don't make her a suspect, though. Poor Scorpius and Lily keep getting interrupted, lol. Where's all the stuff I saw on LS?? ;) very good chapter because I loved seeing the supporting cast and what they are up to. And that reveal at the end is brilliant. Yes, I looked her up. Very cool and can't wait to see where it goes! ~Gina :)
PS I will catch up with your other soon too!

Author's Response: Ah, the stuff on the LS ... later chapter ... possibly. Bit of a running joke, poor old Scorpy getting increasingly frustrated - heh heh - that's long distance relationships for you.

Hannah as a suspect ..... hmmmmmmmmm, we shall see. Glad you looked up Sally-Ann - yes, she's definitely there, and yet not when they take OWLS so of course there has to be a reason .. .

Thank you for reviewing. I've just sent ch 11 to the evil Kara for beta'ing, so let's see what she thinks - mwahahahahahahahha ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 12/23/12 0:14 · For: Chapter 4 - Complications
I feel dreadful because I didn’t really like her much, and all I wanted was my necklace, but if that body is her, then -” She gulped and her face drained of all colour. “Merlin, this is worse than I thought. All those years of thinking badly of her ... it was my grandmother’s necklace, you see, and ... and ... and she couldn’t have returned the necklace to me, anyway - not if she was dead. Neville, what am I -”

This is so finely handled! Very in-character, very human. What a shock it must have been for her to see it in the paper!

I like the party scene as well - very true to life. Although I think you and I must agree to disagree about Oliver, because in another universe he and I are married and ...I shall be tactful and just smirk... :-)

That's the beauty of the characters who are less fleshed out, isn't it? There's so much more you can do with them, or rather, so much more that needs doing with them.

Lovely, as usual!

Author's Response: Oh, we can agree about Oliver. He says in another fic I wrote, that he's 'discerning', that leaves the field wide open :D .

Yes, the beauty of minor characters, especially more or less non existent ones like Scorpiuswho I have so much fun writing.

Thea, thank you very much for your review and support. I'm glad you appreciated Hannah's 'human' reaction. I think she's feeling a lot of guilt now for feeling badly towards the girl, but nothing is certain ... yet (although I might have just left you another red herring - heh heh heh) ~Carole~


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 12/21/12 17:40 · For: Chapter 4 - Complications
Unfortunate initials for Sally. S.A.P.

Author's Response: Yes, I wonder if JK realised. (She is mentioned at Harry's Sorting, if you're interested.) ~Carole~


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 12/11/12 12:25 · For: Chapter 3 - Leads
Loved it! "...perhaps our hero's about to have some fun." Er, with his girlfriend's mum? LOL! That was a great moment.
Let's see. First of all, I was loving James Sirius until he went and published that article. Git. At least Ginny knows; I hope Harry calls him on it sometime, though.
Then the woman with the arms and the flour - hahahahaha! Sorry, the image and then the name was just highly amusing to me.
Neat little twist with Tamara Flint, especially with her being out in the Muggle world now. There's a story to that, I'm sure.
Fun chapter, and looking forward to some more leads as theirs seem to have all gone!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: There is a story to Tamara Flint and you might just find out some more - Mwahahahahahaha. Seriously, Tamara bloody Flint looked set to take over the story which was why this couldn't be finished in time for the challenge, so hold onto your hat for her. (sigh, I'm spoiling now).

Thank you for reviewing. Yes, James Sirius is being an arse, but he would say he's only doing his job, and Scorpius shouldn't have been talking to Ben, really. I think Ginny will screech at him, not to mention Molly who adores Scorpius now. (She loves abandoned ducklings).

Okay, now I'm rambling, and I really need to get a move on with chapter 11 before kara hexes me. Thanks again ~Carole~


Name: ProfPosky (Signed) · Date: 12/10/12 19:44 · For: Chapter 3 - Leads
I can't say what I love more, your devious mind, or your ability to do the most amazing things with characters who are barely a by-line in the books in a way that is canon-consistent...

I don't know who this girl is, although I have a feeling she may be the one he eliminated first day...

I will be terribly evil, though - I've a friend who does forensic archeology in Britain - I'm dying to ask her if the condition of the body as presented tells her anything...

Author's Response: ASK!!! I have nothing to fear! (Um, well, I may have taken one or two liberties, but basically I did some research on the net and through watching Csi and reading Patricia Cornwall, so who knows what is accurate now - It's all MAGIC - is my cop out - ha ha)

Thea!!!!!! Thank you for reading. I'm glad you're enjoying the story as I have had a lot of fun writing it, but also some tortuous moments when I was plugging plot holes.

Glad you're enjoying the story. There's plenty more to come. ~Carole~


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 12/10/12 12:30 · For: Chapter 3 - Leads
I liked how you made Scorpius slightly imperfect talking to Ben without thinking.

Author's Response: Scorpius is far from perfect, but he's still my hero - ha ha. Thanks for mentioning that; he's still very new at this game and his enthusiasm is going to get the better of him occasionally (not to mention his Malfoy moods). ~Carole~


Name: rambkowalczyk (Signed) · Date: 12/10/12 12:26 · For: Chapter 2 - Find the Girl
Enjoying the story.

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm having fun writing it. ~Carole~


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 12/10/12 10:12 · For: Chapter 3 - Leads
Getting nowhere fast. They need a break.

Author's Response: I'll let you in on a secret; they're about to get one. :) Thanks for reading and reviewing. :)


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 12/04/12 12:06 · For: Chapter 2 - Find the Girl
Brilliant. So much going on, so many rich details. And it's such fun to go back to Hogwarts and to High. But my favorite is still Harry. He's just so calm and unflappable and grown-up. Grown-up Harry and his father card. Love it!
I think Proudfoot is a git. He's probably got something against Malfoy. Hope Harry sees it.
Also, are you a detective on the side? ;)
Sorry it took me so long and sorry this is a rubbish review, but it was a really strong chapter! Onward!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you like Harry. I can;t write him as a teen (we have JK for that) but I like writing him grown up - hee hee. He will be in this quite a lot, but it's Scorpy's story really. Proudfoot is ... well, yes, he's a git. Too old school, maybe.

Am I a detective on the side? Hmm, not brave enough, but I do love reading detective stories.

Thanks Gina for the review. Much appreciated. ~Carole~


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 12/01/12 10:09 · For: Chapter 2 - Find the Girl
Intriguing.

Author's Response: I hope so . . .


Name: Dad (Signed) · Date: 11/27/12 14:46 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
An excellent start to what looks like being a good yarn.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I hope the rest of it lives up to the first chapter. ~Carole~


Name: Gmariam (Signed) · Date: 11/27/12 12:39 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
This is fantastic! What a great start. I just love it. From the first line (still giggling) to so many other brilliant bits, I am just in envy and awe. It's so well done that it comes off as a really engaging, engrossing, easy read--not one of those things where it's confusing to follow or you can tell the writer sort of struggled with the prose or something. Does that make sense? You style is just so natural and flowy.
You really know these characters, so I think that's a big part of it. I love your Scorpius, I really do. And then Harry. Harry! Since he is more my age, I'll take him. I love how understanding he is. And then your own minor OCs are just so great too. Gah. Envy and awe.
The layers are great. Like, I could pick out bits from your other stories, but then things new to this that might even be hints. Plus the details are perfect.
I copied this bit:
"Storms, to Scorpius, represented enlightenment, that first experience where he realised not everything adults said was true, and that there were many versions of the truth. "
This is fantastic. Just so, so true and insightful and perfect. Wonderful!
So yes, update quickly! Now that I know what all those mysterious updates have been about, I want to read more!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Yes, I still like the first line. For a long time it was all I had - ha - but it was better than staring at a blank document. I'm glad you like the story and it's not too convoluted, but can't promise that some of it won't get confusing.

Ireally appreciate the comment on the characters because I do feel I know them. Obviously writing High really helped because I have a large backstory for most of them.

I will be updating soon. I have 10 chapters written and beta'd - but need to crack on with the rest - ooops. Thanks again ~Carole~


Name: PeppermintToads (Signed) · Date: 11/26/12 20:10 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
Great start! The description of the body was grosteque and gave me chills. Hugo seemed very Ronnish (I am now declaring that to be a word) in this chapter--jealous, protective, awkward when it came to other people showing affection within his range of eyesight.

I am so excited that you're writing a sequel! I can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Yay! thank you very much. I'd had this story in mind for a while based on a few small things that happened in the last few chapters of High. Hugo is a bit Ronnish, but then I think he's miserable about Genister because he liked her rather a lot. I must make it up to him somehow. Thanks again ~Carole~


Name: harrys_red_head_girl (Signed) · Date: 11/26/12 16:55 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
I was so happy to see a sequel to High. I loved the characters in High, so needless to say I'm so excited to watch them further! I too did a happy dance when I seen this story posted! Thank you!

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope you enjoy this story which is going to be different from High in so much as it's a mystery and not romance-centric (although always there :) ) I did a happy dance when I read this review, thanks again ~Carole~


Name: silverlining95 (Signed) · Date: 11/26/12 14:39 · For: Chapter 1 -Into the Trees
Yay a sequel to High! I genuinely squeeled when I saw you'd posted this, and I can't say that excitement has subsided much.
I love the dynamics going on here between the characters, and it's nice to see Scorpius and Lily's relationship still going strong despite the distance between them.
I'm really, really intrigued as to who the body belongs to. The fact she's in Hogwarts robes only fuels that further, and I've spent the past few minutes ransacking my memory for a missing girl, unfortunately to no avail.
I can't wait for you to update, I'm desperate to know where this is leading and also to get my Scily fix!

Fenella

Author's Response: Yay! First review! thank you very much; I always chew my nails until the first one's under the belt. Now I can relax.

Mwahahahahahahaha - the identity of the victim will become apparent at some stage. Oh, and I think Scorpius is waiting for his Lily fix, too - ha ha. Poor boy ;p
,br> Thanks again. ~Carole~


You must login (register) to review.