Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 09/21/13 18:43
Chapter: Epilogue

I haven't read that particular work of Austen, but I'll definitely give it a read given how much I've loved this fic :) Seriously good! (I'd say something super fancy, but I'm still smiling from that ending!)

Author's Response: Glad you're smiling. Persuasion is a lovely book; I hope you enjoy it. Thank you for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 09/21/13 16:40
Chapter: Epilogue

It was/is fantastically brilliant!!! Well done!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I had a great time writing it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 09/21/13 10:44
Chapter: Epilogue

I can sit here no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within typing distance. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that this is the end, that such a precious fic is over forever…

I haven’t felt so excited for a fic since Lavender Blue or High, and each time you updated I got that lovely warm fuzzy feeling of anticipation. It reminded me of why I still adore fanfiction, and the talent that our fandom holds no matter how derisive the outside world may be of what we do. I know that I will be returning this fic often, because it is truly brilliant. I cannot thank you enough, Carole, for writing this for me. This has spanned nearly an entire year, but it doesn’t feel that long at all because you are a master at sustaining tension, chemistry, compelling storylines and wonderful characters. This will sound selfish, but I am really sad to see this end. At the same time, no one could ask for a better ending. It has come full circle. It has left me with tears in my eyes and a squiggly fluttery warmth in my heart.

The way you begin the epilogue had me smiling already. Ending the way it all started with Hector reading his bloody book! But there was something almost touching about this scene, no matter how infuriating and ridiculous he may be.

She smiled - her first smile in weeks. “Then my cousin and his new bride may find they inherit-”

“A sheaf of debts, yes,” Hector replied idly. “What a shame.”


I’m going to admit that I burst out cackling when I read this. THANK YOU. It makes me so happy to see Byron get his comeuppance. You are right, it has always niggled me that William Elliot got away in Persuasion, and maybe it’s because we saw the inside of Hector’s mind in this fic, albeit briefly, but I was a more sympathetic towards him and Thalia compared to Walter and Elizabeth. The moment where he sees Honoria in Daphne did redeem him somewhat--just a little. I am glad to see them continue their trivial little lives all the while lumping their debts on Byron. Muahahaha.

Dennis!!!! See, this is why your fics are always so deliciously wonderful. You slot bits of Potterverse so naturally into your own narrative. Just that one comment about how Professor McGonagall has faith in him to do well as Muggle Studies teacher, while both Daphne and Septima don’t really know who he is. WE DO. We know who he is and just the one comment makes all the difference and guhhhh. Why yes I am totally fangirling over something as inconsequential as Dennis being Muggle Studies teacher.

I really enjoyed the begrudging and awkward scene between Septima and Daphne. Too much has happened for it to be tied up sweetly and tidily. It wouldn’t do either of their characters justice, so I love the way you left it. Things are on the mend but are far from healed.

Okay.

I take back everything I’ve said before about proposals. I want to be sitting by a lake in the rain with a Spice Girls special request playing on the radio. Look what you’ve done to my poor future fiancé! Look at the expectation he has to live up to!

I may or may not be blasting 2 Become 1 right now. There is a severe thunderstorm going on so when I say blast, I do really mean it. Have you ever seen that video of Kristen Bell reacting to the sloth? Go watch it because that is basically what I did when this whole proposal started playing out OH MY GOD PERFECTION. And he asked Susan to help pick out the ring nyeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

I apologise. This review was supposed to be epic and completely serious but it’s descended into emotional drivel.

Thank you for this amazing story. You have brightened so many of my days with it.

Too good, too excellent, Carole! You do us readers justice, indeed.

Now have a glass of wine to celebrate.

Julia xxx

Author's Response: I must go, uncertain of my fate; but I shall return hither, or follow your party, as soon as possible. And maybe write another fic. A follow up. Smirk and Snarkiness awaits!

Giggling over this review and delighted at the response. This was such a joy to write. I was on a serious high for the majority of it, only getting stuck towards the end as I pondered that darn Harville speech and who I had most sympathy for out of Hector and Byron (Hector as it turned out, but I think that was 'cause I loathed Vanessa as well - ha ha)

Thank you so much for all your reviews and for reading and squeeing in equal measure. I'm pleased you appreciated the Septima and Daphne scene. I couldn't end it totally happily because I don;t think that would have suited either of their characters. Daphne was too hurt and angry, and Septima still thinking no one is quite good enough for her. Really, I think she just wanted Daphne to be a 'better' version of Honoria who wouldn't marry and would stay at Hogwarts.

Ah, Dennis, yes ... that was a little last minute, so I'm glad it fits. Knowing Charity had been a part of Septima's life meant I was loathe to not mention her in the epilogue. And I want Dennis to have some resolution and purpose in his life -sob-.

Oh, right, i don't know what else to say except I'm annoyed with myself for not hooking them up earlier because Daphne and Lee aren't in my other stories :(

Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 09/09/13 5:04
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ Paint a Picture

And now I'm back from outer space. I walked in to find Daphne and Lee getting fresh by the fireplace.

Ahem.

It's not that I didn't know this was coming but... asdhfjdlgk;dgv. This chapter made me so giggly and happy and fuzzy. I love it so much.

Now Bananarama makes sense haha. I was laughing so much when Daphne asked the record store guy whether he had a Spice Girls record. Also, I love love love the banter at the end about Myron Wagtail. There is so much fun chemistry between Daphne and Lee. Awwwwwwwwww. And I'm so glad you got to work in Valerie :D

This isn't really a proper review but it's all I can manage. I'm still feeling a bit silly and I do admit that I've had a glass of wine.

Author's Response: Wine is goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood. hee hee - I am so pleased you liked this chapter, I had a lot of fun with the record store bit and Valerie Zuton - and I now have to go and listen to that again ... The ending was a bit ... um ... odd, I know, but I just had to end on some kind of high spot and with them both happy together and back to joking made sense to me. Yes, Bananarama and not Bainamarama - thankfully.

Right, I'm going to edit the Epilogue, polish it a little and then get that posted in the next week or so, See, it's finished before your next birthday - lol. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/08/13 16:21
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ Paint a Picture

I know it is not real but I am so happy that Daphne is back with Lee.

Author's Response: As a very wise Dumbledore once said ... 'Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?'

Thank you very much. There is an Epilogue left and then that's it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 09/08/13 9:40
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ Paint a Picture

It was Lee’s writing. Her hands trembled as she clutched the paper, wondering what else he could possibly say that wouldn’t PIERCE HER SOUL.

Nyeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

Oh my word.

Author's Response: Hahahahhahahahahahahahah - Yes, I HAD to get that in somewhere - hee hee hee. ~Croll~

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 09/08/13 9:25
Chapter: Chapter 16 ~ Paint a Picture

Eeeeeek! ... I think that pretty much sums it up ;)

Author's Response: Hee hee. Hope that's a good 'eeek'. The Epilogue will follw soon, and then that's it. Thank you for reading and reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 09/05/13 9:12
Chapter: Chapter 15 - A Slytherin Trait

Wow. You developed the Septima showdown brilliantly. I loved the build up from Daphne's conversation with Minerva and the way that led into the real fireworks.

AND OH. I love your variation on the conversation with Harville! It's perfect! You tie it in with house rivalry rather than just differences between the sexes and I think that works so, so well with the rest of Daphne's story. And Lee was listening hafffjvfdnkvdfvd. Heeeeeeee. I am a wibbling mess of feelings. (I know you hate that word but I cannot articulate myself tonight sorry.)

Author's Response: You are allowed 'feelings' just not 'feels' - ha ha ha ha. Yay to you liking the Harville bit. This caused me so many problems so I'm glad it worked. Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ~Crollllll~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/29/13 12:40
Chapter: Chapter 15 - A Slytherin Trait

A fantastic chapter. You make Daphne a very real person.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 08/19/13 10:18
Chapter: Chapter 14 ~ Memorial Day

Oh goodness I was a bit worried there when Daphne was caught by Byron and Vanessa! Thank goodness they are not as sadistic as my imagination. Ugh. Byron is such a cad. You've written him so well. I grimace every time he appears, and I've started imagining him as a slug, just waiting for Daphne to squash him with her foot. I hope he gets his comeuppance!

Oooooh can't wait for the showdown. I almost thought it was going to happen right then and there in front of poor Hannah. Awkward!

Oh and I cringed when her father showed up and then I cringed even more at the thought of him accosting poor Andromeda. Shuddering at the thought. He reminds me of one of my uncles. Again, you write disagreeable characters very well, Carole!

And then when Lee shows up at the Bones' house and waves awkwardly at Daphne... I was giggling so much. JUST SEX ALREADY. But no, you definitely know best, and when all that tension and chemistry comes to a head, their reunion will be like fireworks in someone's pants. You are doing this so wonderfully, Croll, I feel all warm and fuzzy when I think of this fic and I cannot wait for the next chapter except it means we are even closer to the end and noooooooooooooo.

I'm sorry for this ridiculous review. I'm not even on a sugar high. What what.

Julia xxx

Author's Response: I didn't want Byron to be over the top bad, so gave him a small let out. Although Vanessa and Byron taking Daphne prisoner so Lee had to save her from ... um ... vampires, would have been a fabulous twist on Austen - heh heh heh.

Will Byron get him comeuppance? You shall have to wait and seeeeeee.
,br> The Septima showdown will be very soon.

As will the end of the story.

Opens new doc headed 'Epilogue'

Thank youuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: SilverDoe_IsoBell
Date: 08/17/13 10:51
Chapter: Chapter 14 ~ Memorial Day

Loving this fic - so many plot twists!

Author's Response: Yayayay, thank you! I'm certainly having a lot of fun writing it and catching up with persuasion as well. :D ~Carole

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/13/13 5:49
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Suspicion

Plenty going on.

Author's Response: And hopefully all tied up in the next 2 chapters (maybe three). Thank you.

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 08/12/13 10:15
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Suspicion

REVENGE. Vanessa suddenly became a lot more interesting... I wonder how this is all going to come together. I can't wait to see what tricks you've got up your sleeve, Croll!

Also, I neeeeed to read that conversation between Daphne and Septima. My life depends on it!

Author's Response: Well, that particular showdown was supposed to be in the next chapter, but alas (earwax) something else got in the way. Blame Byron! Thank you for reviewinggggggggggggggggggg ~Croll

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 07/28/13 11:32
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Recriminations

Yusssssss. I was clutching my pearls during that argument. You built up the tension so well and just guhhhhhhhh. I just want to smoosh them together but I think your way will be better.

She respected the part they’d played in the second war, but she couldn’t hide her frustration that none of them, apart from Bill and Percy, had taken her subject at OWL, and only Percy had bothered with the NEWT.


This had me giggling! It's what I love so much about your writing, Carole. You manage to fill them with so many little details like this, that in passing may seem unimportant, but go so far to create believable and realistic characters. Septima, a minor canon character at best, and just a secondary character in this fic, feels so real. That statement reminded me of my year 11 history teacher who told me off for dropping her subject because she'd hired a new dishy history teacher for year 12.

Author's Response: So you could have had a major student/teacher fling with Mr Dish - i am on the side of your history teacher here - ha ha ha. thank you, Juliaaaa, for the review. I did like writing this chapter. I had to have a confrontation with them rather than a smoosh (just yet) - heh heh heh.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/26/13 10:37
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Recriminations

I was wondering what had happened to Lee. I think Byron has a suspicious past.

Author's Response: twirls moustache in mysterious manner. He might just have ...
,br> Oh, yeah, and Lee had to turn up, but it's not been that long since the Throckton Fair, so timewise he's only been out of it for a week or so. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 07/07/13 10:21
Chapter: Chapter 11 ~ Past Selves

Wooooooh yeahhhh Daphne. Go get it, gurl.

Author's Response: Go get what? Hmm, hmmm? heh heh heh. Thank you ~Carole

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 07/03/13 17:46
Chapter: Chapter 11 ~ Past Selves

Another world. But so enjoyable.

Author's Response: Thank you very much ~ Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 06/19/13 12:46
Chapter: Chapter 10 ~ Friendship

for a minute there, i thought you had hooked tracey up with susan. oop. see, caron still stuck in my head :P

Author's Response: I know, it all gets very confusing in my head, but Tracey was with Demelza in one story, and Susan hooked up with Lisa. It's when i still have them doing the same jobs that I get very confuzzled. This story isn;t caron, though. Well, it doesn;t fit with High or Sabrage or ... whatever else I'm joining together to make one huge fic that JK will never take down. Mwahahahahahahahahahahahaa.

Thank you - tee hee. ~Croll

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 06/16/13 0:25
Chapter: Chapter 10 ~ Friendship

Ohhhhhhhhhhhh cliff hanger! I am intrigued as to how Byron is going to fit into Tracey and Kevin's lives, and I'm excited that you've gone down a different route by keeping Kevin alive. Eeeeeeeeee what is next???

Also, I loved sassy Daphne making everyone uncomfortable at the breakfast table haha.

Author's Response: Yeah, Daphne has kinda strayed from Ann in this version, although I think she still feel certain obligations. I didn;t want to kill Kevin off. I'm far too soft - sigh. Thank youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu ~Carole

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 06/10/13 12:36
Chapter: Chapter 4 - Impulse

how dare you make fun of terry boot?

how

very

dare

you?

Author's Response: Uhm ....



Sorry?



-snigger-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES