Reviews For The Paths Continue
Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/02/14 3:02
Chapter: Chapter 14-Revelation

Interesting. Well that stooge Draco for what he deserved. His loneliness is his own cause and his own doing. I'd feel sorry for him but it wasn't too late for him to change and be with Ginny instead of Astoria but he made his decision and now he must lie in the bed he made. Great conclusion! It ended better than I expected. I didn't always agree but I still enjoyed your story.

Author's Response: Thanks again for reading and sticking with the story to this point (I haven't decided whether to continue it or not.) I was very fortunate to have two excellent Betas who made the story readable.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/02/14 2:42
Chapter: Chapter 13-Reconcilations

Ginny's birthday was spectacular! I'm so glad you made James appear and Harry's little speech was the piece de resistance!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/02/14 2:23
Chapter: Chapter 12-Nightmares

Great way of tying in canon and linking Ginny's PTSD to her chamber incident. They dreams are a completely likely and predicate occurrence age all the trauma she had experienced. Great plot device.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/02/14 2:02
Chapter: Chapter 11-The Damaged Witch

I'm glad Ginny is recovering, but like nearly all addicts, she had caused a lot of pain in the lives of her loved ones. Now it's time to learn just how much pain and havoc she has wreaked.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/02/14 1:42
Chapter: Chapter 10-The Missing Witch

OH dear oh dear, please let Ginny be safe! Poor poor Ginny, she is so wayward now. How could she let herself sink so low. I'm so worried. Please I hope you didn't kill her off!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/02/14 1:34
Chapter: Chapter 9-Two Weddings

I'm so glad James and Gee Gee are back together! Yay! You did good! I'm glad Harry and Hermione married. Will take getting used to. I love the so much as characters, I'm just glad to see them happy.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/01/14 23:40
Chapter: Chapter 8-An Unikely Meeting

So this is where the flirting with Hermione was leading to! I remember reading other readers' comments on how weird it was Harry would comment on her beauty. Although I suppose it's normal that even between friends, if she's attractive, there's no reason to pretend he hasn't noticed. I'm glad they are trying a relationship. They've always loved and card fit each other andbeen very compatible. They just never acted attracted to one another, but time can change you. Attraction is also about chemistry and what we desire. You can come to desire someone you didn't before and vice versa.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/01/14 11:03
Chapter: Chapter 7-Star Crossed

Ergh, Draco is such a coward! That's okay though because I'm not quite comfortable with Ginny and Draco living happily ever after. However I do like this new and reformed Draco very much!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/01/14 2:08
Chapter: Chapter 6-Changes

Seriously?? How many cheating Weasleys are you gong to create? I think this is a bit much. I dunno. Although I could see Ron making the mistake of cheating on Hermione if they had a fight and were still dating, I can't see him cheating on her after they are married. I like the way you wrote Albus' reaction. I think the way he reacted is totally understandable.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/01/14 1:27
Chapter: Chapter 5-Unexpected Events

I'm so shocked about the whole Potter divorce debacle. I'm very upset with Ginny's behavior thus far. Yay for Gee Gee Wood the model!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/01/14 1:01
Chapter: Chapter 4-A New World

Poor Rose and Scorpius! I feel bad for Rose that Astoria is such a hateful woman to call her mother a Mudblood. It's sweet that Gee Gee & James are so serious about each other.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 06/01/14 0:47
Chapter: Chapter 3-A Secret Revealed

I love Minnie & Linus' relationship so far. It's interesting. James and Gee Gee are rather boring. However with both couples I feel like we don't see enough of their personalities. People feel more vested in a story's characters and what happens to them in their lives the more they know about the character. I know what happens to them and his they react but I know little about who they are personality wise. Just a thought.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/31/14 10:06
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Secrets

I love where you are going with the characters. Still trying to keep them all straight in my mind but you have an interesting back story for each of them. I especially love seeing interaction between the older (Potter) boys James & Linus.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 8:38
Chapter: Chapter 1- Unlikely Couples

Hmm hmm, those Potter boys are the great seducers, huh? I guess it's not only the emerald eyed ones the parents and the girls should look out for!

Reviewer: HGHR_fan
Date: 04/19/14 16:07
Chapter: Chapter 1- Unlikely Couples

This story was hard for me to read as Ron and Hermione and Harry and Ginny are my favorite couples in the world. However, I like that in the end they were all able to be friends.
I enjoyed how you turned your OCs into a crucial members of the story. They had ties to all my favorite characters and made the story so enriched.
I couldn't stop reading the story which to me shows there is show much potential to continue it. It is not often that I have to find out what happened next.
I enjoyed that it had fluff, angst and everything in between. I enjoyed the revolving POV and enjoyed how Draco tied everything together.
I look forward to reading it again.

Author's Response: Thank you for the very nice comments. I'm thinking about a followup, but just can't get all the piece in place. Thanks again!

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 03/14/14 18:14
Chapter: Chapter 14-Revelation

Fantastic!

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 03/14/14 11:27
Chapter: Chapter 14-Revelation

Turned out nice for the most of them. Draco got something to think about.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 02/02/14 13:41
Chapter: Chapter 12-Nightmares

This path is certainly a long and winding road.

Reviewer: Oregonian
Date: 02/01/14 16:43
Chapter: Chapter 12-Nightmares

Hi, Ken. This is Vicki of Slytherin House, making some general comments on your almost-completed story, rather than waiting for the last few chapters to be posted.

What stands out to me most prominently is your narrative structure, a story that proceeds at a rapid pace, covering many years in a relatively short span of words. The tale is crammed full of events, so that the story line proceeds briskly, never bogging down. It consists almost entirely of what the characters say and do, with little description or reflection of people’s inner thoughts, and the conversations are not extended. You are giving us the bare bones, or as Sgt. Joe Friday (you know who he was) would say, “Just the facts, Ma’am.” This is by no means meant as a criticism; it is just one style of telling a story. If each of the scenes in your story were expanded to its fullest, your word-count would rival that of War and Peace.

I notice that you have many story lines going simultaneously, such as Minnie/Linus, Rose/Scorpius, Harry/Hermione, Luna/Ginny, and so on, but it works because the characters are all interrelated and constantly communicating with one another. So in the end it seems like all one story, and every event depicted impels the plot forward. That is good.

Some specific thoughts:

Linus and Minnie are refreshingly sensible for teenagers/twenty-somethings, and they make generally good decisions and treat each other reasonably. I enjoy reading, at least occasionally, about characters who can learn from the mistakes of others and do not have to learn everything the hard way.

I liked your treatment of post-Hogwarts higher education for young witches and wizards. My impression is that traditionally wizards and witches had little contact or interaction with Muggles, but it is reasonable to assume that that barrier is slowly breaking down. JK Rowling has stated that there were no wizarding universities, although some some authors have posited that there were, so it is logical to propose the existence of a transitional program for Hogwarts graduates who wish to take advantage of what Muggle universities have to offer. I think that traditionally the wizarding community relied on on-the-job training, apprenticeships, or the school of hard knocks, such as in the case of Fred and George, who opened their joke shop without the benefit of any formal business training. So I very much enjoyed your description of Millie’s on-the-job training for an Advocate career. It was well spelled out and gave me a much better idea of how the system worked.

You have depicted Luna as a very strong character, running a successful publishing business after her father’s death and generally being a rock of support for the people around her. I find it very plausible that she would develop in this way during her mature years.

I am glad that you have introduced Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome as an explanation for Ginny’s dysfunctional behavior. It makes a lot of sense that she and many other survivors of the second wizarding war and the Battle of Hogwarts would be thus afflicted. In a much less drastic way, I used the same idea in my story The Baby In The Closet to discuss the concept that early traumatic experiences produce effects that echo down the years in ways that the victim does not recognize or understand. Life in general is not easy, marriages break up with dismal regularity, and Linus and Minnie probably don’t appreciate how lucky they are.

I am looking forward to your final chapters of this story, and I would encourage you to consider something a little different for your next story, a more detailed treatment of a smaller scope of narrative, simply because it is good to try to stretch ourselves by attempting something new. I did that when I tried to write romance in Beloved Son and adventure in The Hogwarts Storm, and was pleasantly surprised by the results. Write on!

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 10/28/13 8:11
Chapter: Chapter 11-The Damaged Witch

Some light on the horizon then.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Other Prophecy by IWriteToSurvive 3rd-5th Years
Hermione Granger is in a dilemma. A dilemma she never thought could happen...
Do Over by Jeograph 6th-7th Years
Harry plods toward his death, toward the Dark Lord to give himself up, to make...
The Full House by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
"Power and the money, money and the power,Minute after minute, hour after hour."-Gangsta's...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
CATEGORIES