Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/31/14 13:36
Chapter: Chapter 4: The Barren Gardens

I think it would've been fun to visit the gardens in Harry's neighborhood although they sound like they're in poor shape. I suppose they could start by beautifying their own garden area--by setting an example. You really have to wonder where children played.

Author's Response: Unfortunately the Muggles would not be able to see his spruced-up garden because they cannot see Number Twelve Grimmauld Place, so they would not be inspired by his example to clean up their own places. However, visiting witches or wizards would be able to see it.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/31/14 12:30
Chapter: Chapter 3: The American Visitor

You made me start wondering what would've happened if there had been no Tom Riddle. There wouldn't be a series of very successful books. I don't think Harry would be the wizard that he is if there had been no Voldemort. He probably would've been quite ordinary. He lost a lot but it made him tougher and more insightful.

Author's Response: I agree. He would have been very different

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/30/14 16:35
Chapter: Chapter 2 The Sign in the Plaza

I like seeing Harry out in the Muggle world walking to work. I used to like to walk to work too when I had to walk through an area that was scenic--nice neighborhoods. Harry's feelings while he was viewing the poster were interesting. That was a very thought-provoking poster.

Author's Response: The poster was modeled after a TV public service announcement that I saw while I was in nursing school back in the 1970's. But Harry wouldn't be watching television, so I changed it into a public service poster. The effect was about the same.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 07/30/14 15:04
Chapter: Chapter 1 Infanticide

I wonder how many dads have dreams like that. I don't remember having dreams during my pregnancy involving harm to the babies. It's probably more of a dad thing because I think there's so much pressure on men to be good fathers.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for leaving a review for my first story after all this time. Actually, I have no idea about the prevalence of baby-danger dreams in new dads as opposed to new moms. I got all these dreams from myself and my female friends, but I didn't ask any men. So who knows?

Reviewer: HermiJeanGranger
Date: 11/24/13 7:08
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

This was such a beautiful story! For the past few days, I had been picking up several different stories and left them aftr two or three chapters. Then i found ths, read the summary and decided to give it a shot. And i am glad i did it!! Everythng fit in with canon and yet it had a cmpltely difrnt theme and approach. Due to my hectic schedule i had to read it in bits, a chapter a day, bt i persevered because of the theme and the narrativn. As a student of psychology i found it all the more interesting. U must hav put a lot of research and deep thought into this. Kudos! Arthur's striking observation was the highlight of the story, and also loved the part of Mrs.Figg and her history. She is such an insignificant character in the buks bt u made her endearing, great thinking!! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments, and for leaving a review after the story had been posted for so long. It is always a thrill to receive one more review. I'm glad you thought that Arthur's observation was striking, since I meant it to be that way, and I'm glad that you appreciated my backstory for Mrs Figg, who deserves more attention and respect than she sometimes gets. There was a lot of interesting research to craft her story (and a lot of the other stuff too), but the research is fun, and it is gratifying to get the details right.

Reviewer: Chanichani
Date: 06/02/13 22:01
Chapter: Chapter 9 The Bombing of Coventry

Intresting theory with the broom thing. It could possibly be right, at least, I think so.

Author's Response: Thanks for remarking about the broom thing. As the idea developed for me, it seemed to make sense, and it certainly fit in with the direction in which I wanted the story to develop. And thank you for reading my story.

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 05/30/13 19:21
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

This is such a different story from what I usually read, but I rather enjoyed it, and I was very curious to find out what the dreams meant. But, I should have seen it coming that the baby was Harry, since I know that in dreams, everyone represents something about the dreamer. And it all makes sense, really. :) I thought the tender moments with Ginny were very sweet and I was glad that this wasn't really a romance.

I suppose the only thing that threw me off was the occasional language, because the warnings didn't mention anything at all, not even Abuse, so I think it may be a good idea to put in those warnings, but keep the ratings as First years. This way, other people will know what to expect, because while I may not be affected much by reading about abuse, someone else might be. Just a side note.

Anyways, I did enjoy the story! Thank you for taking the time to write it and let others share in the magic of writing.

Author's Response: Hmm. Interesting point you make about the warnings. I had always considered this story to be fairly academic (which is why Ron said, in Chapter 10, "You had to stop being so intellectual about it..."). I think that some of the people who read it may have had some personal connection with abusive situations, but the story seemed so mild and retrospective (no actual abuse is occurring in the story), that I did not think there was any danger in the story. Still, you are probably right. Actually, I'm glad you didn't see it coming as to what the dreams meant, because that was supposed to be a surprise in Chapter 10. And I'm glad that you thought that the scenes with Ginny were successful. One of my goals with this story was to develop Harry's and Ginny's relationship a little more, because it was not as well-developed in the 7 books as I would have liked, and I wanted to show her as a more mature person. Thanks so much for the review!

Reviewer: cjbaggins
Date: 05/19/13 23:57
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

Wonderful ending! A fitting conclusion to this story, that while an uncomfortable topic, you have addressed with compassion and sensitivity. Well done! cj

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind remarks, cj. I'm very glad that you appreciated the story. I just got back from a professional conference today where the main topic was the latest research about the negative, lifelong effects of stress, abuse and neglect on babies and children, and I found myself throughout the conference thinking about this story and about the people in real life who have been thus affected. It is so true.

Reviewer: Chocolate butterbeer
Date: 03/24/13 14:43
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

That was really interesting it was good I liked it did you know about all this stuff before or did you look it up? U can really see the courage that Harry had to do all this

Author's Response: Hi Miriam. Thanks for reading my story, and special thanks for writing a review. In answer to your question, I did know a lot of this material before, but I also had to do a lot of research. I have a notebook full of printed-from-the-internet maps of London and descriptions and pictures of the places Harry visited. As a result, people who actually visit those places will hopefully find that my story is not too inaccurate. I agree with you about Harry's courage. Even though there are no dragons or swords in this story, it takes a lot of courage to reveal our innermost thoughts and self to other people. I hope you will think of some sort of story that no one else has done, and give it a try!

Reviewer: Trucker
Date: 02/02/13 21:32
Chapter: Chapter 1 Infanticide

I'm in awe of the care you took in writing this piece. As a volunteer chaplain at a state mental hospital, I've seen enough to know that you've scored a bullseye or two. And in reflecting on my father's life -- he was a virtual slave and punching bag for his father -- and how my father fought his demons and managed to be a loving father to his two sons and not continue the cycle -- I was the lucky one.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your comments. They are particularly appreciated, coming from someone with some personal connection to the topic.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 01/20/13 6:20
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

Thanks for the nice epilogue. I wish every one could have a happy ending.

Author's Response: Thanks for the many reviews, Dad. It is good to know that there is someone we can always rely on to let us know that our stories are being read. (Though I can't figure out why nobody made any comments on Chapter 6, which for me is the pivotal chapter of the story, or on Chapter 9, since I have a particular interest in World War II.) This story was bound to have a happy ending, since there was no way for Harry to go except up. And the epilogue is a good example of how a tiny kindness that we do (such as sending the books to Harry) can have a much bigger impact than we would ever guess. We can all recall tiny kindnesses that someone did for us, so tiny that the person probably doesn't even remember them, that made a huge difference to us.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 01/19/13 18:04
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

Fantastic!!! I loved and enjoyed this story very much!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your ongoing encouragement and unqualified appreciation of my story. It is gratifying to know that people got as much from reading it as I got from writing it. A year ago I would never have dreamed I would do such a thing, because I tended to keep my thoughts to myself. But now, who knows? I may write something else someday.

Reviewer: baby54boomer
Date: 01/19/13 15:27
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

Your epilogue is a wonderful finality to what must have been a difficult story to write. Thank you for leaving us with a ray of sunshine..a bright day after Harry's long, dark night.

Author's Response: You are perceptive to discern that this story was difficult to write. I first came to this site to read more stories about Harry Potter, with no intention of writing. But after reading a few fluffy one-shots by Neil about Harry's early experiences with his newborn children, I saw a gaping hole in the extended canon, a subject that no one seemed to have addressed. It had to be written, and I felt sure I could do it. The difficult part was doing it well. The job took nine months, with much research and rewriting, and it was miraculous how things often fell into place almost by themselves, in ways I didn't expect. Perhaps that is the power of the subconscious. Thank you for your encouragement, all the way to the end. (And a huge Thank You to my beta readers.)

Reviewer: Stargirl34
Date: 01/19/13 12:45
Chapter: Chapter 11 Epilogue

I loved this. The whole story was so real: Harry's misgivings about starting his family, his realization that his past was abusive, his search for links to his past... And your epilogue was perfect. I love the idea of Harry reading the books to his own children. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for saying that the story was well done. I had no idea, when I started, whether I could write something worth reading or not. There is not much magic in this story; maybe that it why it seems real -- because it is something that could happen to anyone. The Bible says, "The truth will set you free," and in Harry's case, it did.

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 01/14/13 15:00
Chapter: Chapter 10 The Last Funeral

Sorry I haven't made previous reviews. I liked this story. Mr. Weasley's interpretation of Harry's dream was excellant. Good writing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for writing a review now. Mr Weasley is an entertaining character, but also very wise, and it is good that Harry can rely on him. I am glad that you enjoyed my story.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 01/14/13 14:25
Chapter: Chapter 10 The Last Funeral

This story has always been been about a different subject to the usual. It has been a journey for Harry and us readers and I really like the ending.

Author's Response: Interesting that you say that the story has been a journey for the readers as well as for Harry. Perhaps many people take this journey. Thank you for your continued interest. There will be one more chapter.

Reviewer: baby54boomer
Date: 01/14/13 13:51
Chapter: Chapter 10 The Last Funeral

Wonderful.

Author's Response: Thank you for that kind word. You know, I think that this story appeals more to the older readers because we are able to look back over the sweep of our lives and our children's lives and recognize the enduring themes.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 01/13/13 18:22
Chapter: Chapter 10 The Last Funeral

I cried right along with him!!! Very well written!

Author's Response: Thank you for your appreciation. This chapter was the most difficult to write, and I struggled with it longer than with the other chapters. I wish that all of us (including me) could be as brave and tough as Harry.

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 12/22/12 14:16
Chapter: Chapter 9 The Bombing of Coventry

While child abuse is a serious subject, This is a very gentle story and Harry meets some nice people.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for continuing to read. I like to think that it is a story of hope, of coming out of the dark shadows into the daylight.

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 12/12/12 12:06
Chapter: Chapter 2 The Sign in the Plaza

I have always thought that the books make too little of Harry's background. I'm not certain the last paragraph here doesn't make too much of it - except for how you have placed it at a time in his life when a person might well worry about such things.

"Only Hermione, the Weasleys, and a few others knew him also as the Survivor of Sixteen Years in the Dursley Household."

And I do hope he does talk to one of them...

Author's Response: I am hoping that when you read the subsequent chapters you will see why I made that statement. Despite what I wrote in response to an earlier review, this story is not really my first work of fiction; except for the characters and locales created by JKR, it is all taken from real life. The book Harry finds in Chapter 6 really exists as depicted and would affect any survivor of childhood abuse in the way it affected him. Patricia's statements in Chapter 7, that it takes time to rebuild a healthy personality from a foundation of abuse, that she is still working on it at age 48, and that "it will always be a part of the definition of who you are", are accurate. People who were blessed enough to avoid being part of a Dursley-like household may feel that some of this story is over the top, but people who lived through that experience will identify with it. Thank you very much for reading and commenting on my story, and I hope you will also enjoy the coming chapters.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Makers of Fine Wands by CanisMajor 1st-2nd Years
Ollivander of Croton arrives in Athens in 382 BC with big dreams, noneof which...
James and Me by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
Annabel is having a bad day. Her sudden and unexpected meeting with a face from...
Tom Riddle and the Cave of Living Waters by alittletiefling 6th-7th Years
What would happen if Tom Marvolo Riddle had been adopted by well-meaning squibs?...
FEATURED
It Takes Two to Tango by lucca4 3rd-5th Years
They cannot keep doing this; it is only a matter of whose resolve will break...
In The Heat Of The Morning by welshdevondragon 3rd-5th Years
Summary: In the heat of the morning, Katie and Leanne lie in the grounds...
Can't Fight the Moonlight by Acacia Carter 6th-7th Years
A life-changing disaster at work drives Neville Longbottom to seek aid from...
The History Teacher by iLuna17 6th-7th Years
Maybe he didn’t just love history, maybe he loved being a history teacher.
white on white by Padfoot11333 6th-7th Years
Three vignettes about scars, love, and sex.
CATEGORIES