Reviews For James and Me
Reviewer: harrys_red_head_girl
Date: 09/03/12 3:01
Chapter: Cataclysm

Neil,
Pure Brilliance, as always! I really, really, liked this story. I was hoping that Annie would be magical,(while reading earlier stories) but this is great! I have loved the last few stories you have posted, sorry I haven't posted. Glad your back from holiday, I have missed your writing! But I hope your holiday was good! I am wishing for more of this story, you didn't leave a cliff hanger, but you deff left me wanting more. I hope that more on Strangers, A&S, H&P and Epithalamium post soon. Thank Your helping me feed my NEED for Canon stories, I just love how you are keeping Jo's creations alive, along with bringing a few of your own into the mix. You are magical! =)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
A lot of people wanted (or expected) at least one of the Charltons to be magical, but that would have been an easy option for me. This way makes things much more complicated. Holiday was great, thanks. There will be more about grown-up James, but not for a while. Next will be H&P, and after that Strangers, I hope. I’m not sure when you’ll see more of the other two.
-N-

Reviewer: macheel
Date: 08/31/12 16:56
Chapter: Persistence

I love it. The world you have created is wonderful. It is great the your stories are all in the same canon. When i see you have posted a story I choose to read your first.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I find that by setting everything in the same canon-compliant future I can develop original characters, and I have a solid foundation on which to build more stories. -N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 08/31/12 5:05
Chapter: Persistence

Ah yes, James is very much like his namesake: bold; brash; charming; arrogant: and the sort of guy that would tend to drift if there wasn't a "Great Cause" to be taken on.

Enjoyed the whole thing a great deal. I most enjoyed the confrontation between Simon and James, and the last line is PERFECT!

Now onto H&P!

-MM-

Author's Response: Thank you.
James is, I think, still looking for his cause in this story. I have a few ideas about where he will find it.
The confrontation was, I hope, fairly understated, I didn’t want a shouting match.
-N-

Reviewer: Youss
Date: 08/30/12 21:50
Chapter: Cataclysm

This story brought up some questions in me, but they will probably told sometime in a story (In a long time) But still I want to ask them.
The first thing I thought is that Annie had a crush on Al when they were little, this because she had only positive thoughts of him and mostly wondered how he was doing.

Next I wonder if the Charltons and potters will bezome friends again when James and Annie are going out together. And I wonder how James got on swimminging and how his relation was to Annie when they were young. I never thought of James as a sportive person, except for quittich.

It is also weird now to read strangers, because now I know how it will end on that age.

Further, very nice story and I hope to see some more next-gen fics soon. I like them really wel.

greetz

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Some stuff will (eventually) be told. I’m not sure that Annie had a crush on Al (I may change mind about that), but she certainly liked him more than she liked James.
I have several ideas about what happens next, but I’m still in the very early stages of planning them, and they are unlikely to be written until I finish something else. I’ve had this story in my head for a very long time, but I always worried about writing it because it does give some stuff away about Strangers. However, it fitted this challenge, so I decided to write it.
-N-

Reviewer: stanzie
Date: 08/30/12 20:57
Chapter: Persistence

I was saddened that the Charltons weren’t magical. I thought Annie would at least be. I just wish the Charltons would be able to be in on the secret. But if Annie marries James, she will know, but will her family?

As for Rose, you state that she got into Muggle University and is studying the mathematics of how impossible things happen. So basically, she’s trying to figure out a scientific explanation for magic, correct? If that’s the case, no wonder Hermione is so excited about it.

This was the second time ‘Hockey’ was used for Quidditch. When you refer to hockey, you mean field hockey not ice hockey, right?
I have to say I learn a little more about British culture every time I read one of your stories. This is another new idiom for me: Playing gooseberry. I looked it up and it means the same things as a third wheel; I had thought so from the context, but I had to make sure.

I liked Annie, and I found her liberal use of swear words endearing, mostly because it makes her seem real. Who wouldn't curse in that situation? It's also nice to see James all grown up and finally getting things together.

This story makes me want you to write more Next Gen, but I know you have other stories that need to be finished first, so I won't ask.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
So many questions. :-D I have ideas about when Annabel will discover the truth (soon), and ideas about her parents, too. Unfortunately, I won’t be writing those stories for some time.
I have my reasons for sending Rose to University, too. Will I ever get to write those next-gen stories? I have no idea. The only thing I will say is that my stories won’t have any Rose/Scorpius (or in fact anybody/Scorpius) romance in them.
I really should try to remember to write field hockey. In the UK ice hockey is ice kockey, and “field” hockey is simply hockey. And also with gooseberry. When I wrote that line, I wondered if a translation would be required. I’m glad that the context was enough for you to make sense of it Third wheel isn’t a term I’ve heard.
Annabel was having a bad day, and her swearing was, I hope, entirely appropriate. She doesn’t normally swear so much.
-N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 08/30/12 20:40
Chapter: Persistence

Aww..This was adorable Neil! Brought a little bit a sweetness to this absurdly hot day. (It's ridiculously hot.) The ending is my favorite. Well done! I would like to see how she handles it when James tells her he's a wizard. I can imagine that Annie would handle it quite well, considering.

And I have to say, (as I've probably said before) this little canon-world you've created for yourself and others is truly something special. I look forward to each of your stories updating, especially, especially if the previous chapter was left on a cliffhanger. Your writing is top-notch; it's captivating.

Cheers!
- Katie

Author's Response:
Katie, thanks for the review and the compliments.

I'm glad you liked this, it's been in my head for quite a long time now, and like a lot oof stories I've been thinking about for a while, it was fairly easy to write. Here will be a sequel, although not for some time.

-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 08/30/12 19:48
Chapter: Persistence

Great story, love the way your stories all connect with one another.
When does Annie find out the truth about the Potters?

Author's Response: Thanks.
When? Fairly soon. At least she does, you might have to wait a while, sorry.
-N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 08/30/12 11:37
Chapter: Persistence

Ah, the Charltons! Not an update, but at least they still exist! I thought you had abandoned them.

Author's Response: Not abandoned, simply sidetracked by the challenges. -N-

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 08/30/12 0:46
Chapter: Persistence

Love the second part. I'd love to hear more about them both *nudge, nudge, wink, wink*. :P
This leaves me wishing for more. Great job as usual! :D :D :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I'd like to wite more about them too, but I'm going to resist until I get H&P finished, and get more Strangers done, otherwse I'll never finish anything.
-N-

Reviewer: slytherin_girl101
Date: 08/29/12 23:32
Chapter: Persistence

Ah, the beginning of James' and Annie's relationship...Brilliant! I liked it a lot :)

Author's Response: Thanks. This story has been lurking in my head for a long time, the challenge gave me the chance to write it. -N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 08/29/12 20:03
Chapter: Cataclysm

Oh my goodness! This fits so many things into place. From Strangers to Centuries...Hints. And this is quite well done. So obviously the secret didn't get out, persay. Looking forward to more!
Cheers!
- Katie

Author's Response: Katie.
If the secret got out, then it was put firmly back inside again. I'll say no more than that.
I hope that this stands alone as a one-shot, as well as fitting in to my other stories.
-N-

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/29/12 19:27
Chapter: Cataclysm

I hope the follow up one shot will be here soon. It took me a while to realise this was a future of your great universe, Sad the families drifted apart.

Author's Response: Thanks, part 2 is on its way as I type this. Sad, but these things happen. -N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 08/29/12 18:46
Chapter: Cataclysm

So little Annie Charlton grew up to be a foul-mouthed muggle law student. Not at all what I expected. I was sure she was going to turn out to be a witch after your response to my Owl Post comment, and I had a rather different picture of Harry coming to her house on her eleventh birthday.

This also explains why the Potters moved back to Grimmauld Place. The kids were all away at school, the thirty acres of woods just sat ignored, and Ginny and Jacqui had become estranged over James little prank. I should have figured you hadn't made a rookie mistake in Zygosis.

It's a very nicely done story. You have a real knack for getting into the heads of your characters and showing the world from their various perspectives: male or female; young or old; magical or muggle.

I'm really looking forward to the rest of this story, and even more to the next chapter of H&P.

I don't know if this is really the right place to ask, but I have a request. I'd like to see a story by you (my favorite fanfic author) from Hagrid's (my favorite character) pov, or at least with him heavily featured. Perhaps you could do it for your bachelor party chapter of Epithalamium.

Author's Response:
Annabel is having a stressful day. She's certainly foul mouthed at the beginning of the story, but don't assume that she's always like that. (Although it's possible that she is. :-D) My owl post comment was deliberately vague. A lot of people wanted one of the charltons to end up at Hogwarts. I thought that would be too easy.

There is actually more to the estrangement that simply the prank. But that's another unwritten story, and it's one which Annie and Jacqui have mysteriously forgotten all about. I was evasive about a Zygosis review, too (yours?). I try not to give away too much in review replies.

There will be more next-gen from me, but not for a while. I intend to concentate on H&P and Strangers.

I'm well aware that I have neglected two very important characters. Hagrid, and Teddy. I'm intending to rectify that oversite.

-N-

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 08/29/12 17:03
Chapter: Cataclysm

Oh, this is true to your word. I loved reading this, Annie Charlton has really become quite a character. :D
Is there another chapther to come? I love the ending- a look at the later Potters. :D :D :D

Author's Response: Thank you.
Annie really came alive for me as I wrote this.
There will be another chapter, simple because although word tells me this is a one-shot of 9944 words, the site tells me that the story breaks the 10,000 word chapter limit.
-N-

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 08/29/12 16:40
Chapter: Cataclysm

I have to confess this actually made me cry. A someone who absolutely adores Strangers at Drakeshaugh, somehow the thought that James tore apart the two families is completely gutting.

James' realisation that Anna was in fact 'little Annie Charlton' genuinely made me gasp. It caught me completely off guard, I hadn't clicked on to that at all. In fact I promptly re-read this to try and see if I should have realised it earlier!

In terms of the actual content, I thought you handled Anna's heartbreak perfectly. Her conflicted state of mind was really human and natural. James, too, was perfect. Arrogant yet charming with Harry and Ginny's natures just glimpsed.

In order to console me, please post part two soon!

Fenella x

Author's Response:
Thank you, Fenella.

I've had this idea in the back of my mind for quite some time. I've always resisted "true" next-gen, by which I mean stories where the Potter kids are old enough to fend for themselves. Strangers, to me doesn't count.

It's probably unfair to load all of the blame on James. Once I decided that neither Henry nor Annie would be magical (and until this story, I didn't let anyone know) I knew that when James and Al went to "that public school in Scotland" the families would invariably drift apart. There is one (tiny) clue to Anna's identity. "Mum" turns to her husband and says "Out, Mike."

I'm beginning to like James. He is, I hope charming. And I hope that Anna has managed to humble him a little. You'll see part 2 very soon, I hope.

-N-

Reviewer: slytherin_girl101
Date: 08/29/12 15:57
Chapter: Cataclysm

It was pretty good I liked it.

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES