Reviews For James and Me
Reviewer: glendora
Date: 01/24/16 21:32
Chapter: Peverell?

My condolences on the loss of your mother. I know that's hard (my father passed almost two years ago). My thoughts are with you and your family.

Thanks for updating "James and Me" and getting us into legends again. I've been hoping to get there since "the Badly Fitting Coat." So Little John was a half-giant and Friar Tuck is a Hogwarts ghost. Annie's really got a knack for these insights. I can't wait to see what she does (you do) with Robin Hood himself. I'm sure that Annie can cure James' poor self-esteem, but I hope James is good for Annie more than just bringing back the magic-out-of-the-corner-of-your-eye excitement of her girlhood. You've portrayed Annie with wonderful complexity, but I don't feel like I know James as well yet. Looking forward to him revealing himself more.

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 01/17/16 8:47
Chapter: Peverell?

Loved this chapter, was singing along with them!
Hope Annie finds out about magic soon.
Thanks for finding the time to update.

Author's Response: Thanks. I wondered if you’d know the song. As a Washingtonian, the sites (Lambton, Penshaw, and the River Wear) were all on my doorstep when I was growing up. I didn’t move North of the Tyne until I was in my early twenties.
As for updates, it’s beginning to look like I’ll have a lot of time on my hands in the near future.

Reviewer: Ribe featherquill
Date: 01/16/16 17:47
Chapter: Peverell?

Great to see you back. I've missed your stories, and as I've read your notice on your author page, I'll add that I'm sorry that those things are happening to you.

It's been a treat for me this week, it's only a few days ago that I found that the MIT story had been updated and now this. This story is great. As I've read all of your stories I know where it will ultimately end but that doesn't mean this story gets let lovely for that. James is so spot on with small James from Strangers so well done. Keep up the good work. You are nearly the only reason I keep checking in here (or fanfiction i general).

Author's Response: Thanks, most of my issues are now resolved one way or another. To be honest, it feels good to be able to escape into fantasy (write) again.
James and Annie’s story has some way to go before it reaches its resolution. I’ll certainly try to get back to regular updates.

Reviewer: Misshogwarts1125
Date: 01/16/16 15:54
Chapter: Peverell?

I knew there was going to be cool interesting plot in here somewhere. I love it. I wish you would update all your uncompleted stories soon!

Author's Response: Thanks. There are several plots, possibly too many. I’m working on updating some of my other stories now.

Reviewer: Sannah
Date: 01/16/16 1:10
Chapter: Peverell?

I am very excited this story was updated. I just finished re-reading it a couple of weeks ago.
As always, I enjoy the detail in your stories. I am thinking you may be working for the tourist board to get people to come visit UK. The descriptions of the trip are really engaging. This is another story where I use Google map to see the places you are talking about. I feel like you are providing me a guided tour!
I like the way you are writing about Annie and James interactions. It just seems so realistic since everything is not fall-into-place-perfect from the get-go for this couple. That being said, although the mean trick he played was bad, I felt that her removing her arms from his waist at the end of the chapter seemed a bit much. It seems that it was a childhood prank gone wrong and he has clearly shown himself to be a nice guy. Isn't it time to let it go?
One question -- are the songs they sing traditional songs kids would sing?

Author's Response: Thanks.
Sometimes I wonder whether I overdo things in trying to "paint the place" with my descriptions, but I’ve read stories where Harry and Ginny live in a house with a porch and rocking chair and a white picket fence, . I’ve never seen such a thing. Plus I’m interested in British legends and fairy stories so using real places (yes, Little John’s grave really does exist, as does Peveril Castle) is something I can’t resist.
The song “The Lambton Worm” is a traditional rhyme from the north east of England, so Annie would certainly know it. The monstrous creature which swallows small children alive is local folklore. Penshaw Hill exists, and there’s an oddly conical hill in the village of Fatfield which was supposedly made when the worm curled up and died. My Dad told me that the worm's bones were in it. He wouldn't lie, would he?

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 01/15/16 19:24
Chapter: Peverell?

For a big rugged northumbrian, you write Annie so well. Keep it up and I will increase your spending money by six pence a week.

Author's Response: Thanks, but you can keep your tanner, because I found several silver sixpences in my mother’s effects. So, that's the bride's shoe sorted if my kids ever get married. (That probably makes no sense at all to you.)

Reviewer: fi103r
Date: 01/15/16 10:42
Chapter: Peverell?

Nice day on the road so far.
Fun trip into names/geneology
And Rosie has some fun with James and she isn't even on the road >snicker<
And Ye Olde English as well
Good Story keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thanks. I wanted to add Peveril into the mix although even Annie thinks that James should concentrate on one thing at a time. (She's not the only one.)

Reviewer: dianainga
Date: 11/28/15 8:22
Chapter: Tiger

Where oh where is the next chapter....please give us a holiday gift by posting some additional chapters. I am so intrigued with this story and really encourage you to continue with it! Thanking you in advance!

Author's Response: It’s here at last. Sorry for the delay, but real life.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/14/15 15:57
Chapter: Tiger

I am loving this story. I'm very interested in what James wants to write about. It sounds fascinating. I hope that's part of your plot--to go into more detail on what James finds out. Or maybe you could write about it in real life. I'd read a book like that. I made a comment a while back that I first thought this was a story about James, Sr. That was when I read the title. Then you referred to him as James Sirius Potter and I knew it was Harry's son. I hope you update before too long. I love all the comments that Anna makes that take James by surprise. Flying on the motorbike. The Fat Friar, etc.

Author's Response: Thanks.
James' investigations will be a thread running through this story. I'm currently working on the next chapter, but I'm working on "Strangers at Drakeshaugh" and "Friends and Foes" and "Epithlamium", too. I hope to update soon. Real life permitting.
-N-

Reviewer: Lympha
Date: 04/11/15 10:34
Chapter: Tiger

I really like your story. Especially the end of this chapter. I think that connecting the Fat Friar with Robin Hood is really clever. I look forward to reading more of James and Annabel. Keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: Thanks. Real life issues have slowed down my work on this story, but I'll be updating it as soon as I can. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/10/15 17:51
Chapter: Friendship

I wonder if Anna's parents would be all that upset if they found out she was seeing James again. And I wonder if Anna's parents ever did figure out that the Potters were a magical family.

Author's Response: Thoese are questions which will be answered in later chapters. -N-

Reviewer: Wenlock
Date: 04/10/15 11:05
Chapter: Tiger

Oh man! This is such a great story!
Your James characterization is fantastic!
This chapter was excellent in terms of setting up for later chapters. Between the Robin-Hood-is-real-and-Friar-Tuck-is-the-Fat-Friar storyline, the tease that someday Annie will get the full story of the wizarding world and James' involement with the group that wanted to get him in trouble, I'm really looking forward to reading more.
I will say that I'm not a huge fan of James' backstory in terms of Kirsten. It seems a little to crazy to be true.

Author's Response: Thanks.
I'm glad you like my far-from-perfect James.
The Robin Hood theme will continue for some time, and along the way Annie (and you) will meet other members of the Drakeshaugh gang, and learn how James got into trouble.
As for Kirsten, the story is a little crazy, but only a little.
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/08/15 17:56
Chapter: Dreaming

Duh--I just realized that these are the neighbor kids all grown up from one of your other stories that I love. I really like it when authors follow certain characters through several stories.

Author's Response: Thanks. All of my stories are interlinked. I'm only writing one timeline, one story. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/08/15 13:23
Chapter: Persistence

The only negative comment I have is that you used the phrase "Fuck off" three times right in the beginning of the chapter. It's not that the phrase is offensive to me but it seemed over used. It was funny that James kept using odd terms with Annie. I was surprised he did that with a Muggle but it was funny. I want a James in my life.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The swearing was over-used, but it was a deliberate decision on my part. Annie was doing it because of its effect, sorry if that wasn't clear. James is much too relaxed around Annie, and he keeps dropping his guard.
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/07/15 17:12
Chapter: Cataclysm

I liked this chapter. For some reason I didn't expect it to be like this though. When I read the title I thought it was referring to Harry's father. This was delightfully different.

Author's Response: Ah yes, the older James. You know I never even gave that a thought. The simple addition of the words "James Sirius Potter" would sort that out. I'll fix it. -N-

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 04/04/15 18:14
Chapter: Tiger

Delighted to see more of James and Me! I've read Centuries, so I know where it's going eventually, but I'm enjoying the ride. I hadn't anticipated Robin Hood, and I love the idea about Fat Friar Tuck! Ive been waiting for more about the Arthurian connection to the Noble and Most Ancient Houses. Will we get there in this one? I do have one request and one hope--I want to see the exchange between James and Annie when she finally finds out he's a wizard, and I really hope that they figure out a way that she can tell her parents the truth so that Ginny and Jacquie can be friends again. I can't wait! Post more soon please!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Eventually is the right word, don't expect this to be a smooth ride. Tuck - the Fat Friar was in idea which struck me some time away. I'm probably not the first to have come up with it, but I've never seen it anywhere else. There'll be more on Arthur, too.
You will see the exchange between James and Annie, and Jacqui will appear, too.
-N-

Reviewer: SeekerDan
Date: 04/03/15 18:22
Chapter: Tiger

This is brilliance! As James almost lets slip, the link between muggle history and magical history is so close! And the link between the Fat Friar and Robin Hood is genius! I can't wait for you to write more of this story.

Author's Response: Thanks. The Stature of Secrecy was implemented in the late seventeenth century, during the reign of William and Mary. Before that, history must have been shared. As Robin is traditionally five centuries earlier (Richard Coeur de Lion and Prince John play a part in many stories) then I have a lot of myths to play with.

Reviewer: desertsol98
Date: 04/03/15 14:04
Chapter: Tiger

I think I may have scared my cubicle neighbor just now. I was so happy to see this update that I actually let out an audible cheer...in a currently very quiet office.

This is one of my favorites and I can't wait to read more. James and Annie seem like a natural fit for each other.

Author's Response:
Sorry about that, but it's about time I updated this one. You were at work? It was uploaded on Good Friday. It's a holiday in the UK.

I certainly hope that it won't take so long for me to submit the next chapter. Little John's grave, and Mam Tor, beckon.

-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 04/03/15 12:49
Chapter: Tiger

Lovely! Great to hear more about Annie and James.
Happy Easter.

Author's Response: Thank you.
and Happy Easter.
-N-

Reviewer: GinevraMinerva
Date: 11/24/14 6:24
Chapter: Cataclysm

This is great, I love the way your canon binds itself together... I'm slightly confused as to how/why Rosie is at a muggle uni, but I have no doubt that you have a good reason for it. Hope to hear more soon!! :-)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
There's a partial reason given in chapter 2 (I think), but you'll find out more when Rose makes her appearrance.
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordiale by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
Epithalamium by Squibstress Professors
Minerva McGonagall is a bright, talented witch with dreams of becoming the first...
Not From Others by FloreatCastellum 6th-7th Years
She may not have been able to join Harry, Ron and Hermione, but Ginny refuses...
FEATURED
Twilit Confessions by ahattab33 3rd-5th Years
After returning from Australia with the Grangers, Ron realises the moment to...
Soul Sister by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
Ted and Andromeda have just eloped. So, they dance. A songfic featuring...
Time and Tide by minnabird 6th-7th Years
Filius has seen her all his life: the Woman. She has been drifting through time...
Footprints in the Sand by Equinox Chick 6th-7th Years
It was a summer like any other for Danny. He worked at his parents' Bed and...
Consolation by Gmariam 3rd-5th Years
For years, Remus Lupin found comfort in the arms of Rosmerta Richardson...until...
Dangerous Liaisons by eternalangel 6th-7th Years
It was a dangerous game she was playing; Dorcas Meadowes knew it, but the exhilaration...
CATEGORIES