Reviews For The Latecomer
Reviewer: tonks58
Date: 02/20/13 14:18
Chapter: Chapter 1

Harry Potter books are the only ones that can make me laugh and cry. I will never forgive J.K. Rowling for killing Fred (I would have killed Percy but she's the genius so I really can't complain).
I really liked this fanfic and I normally don't read sad stories like this one. If you hadn't put in the giraffe part I would have started crying so thank you for that. It really made me laugh.
On a final note, I think the warnings are a bit exaggerated, especially the "substance abuse" one.

Author's Response: It was just all the more tragic with it being Fred. My money was in Molly personally and afterwards I really didn't know if I was happy that I was wrong or not. Haha, giraffes make everything better. Yeah, I'm always a bit worried about the warnings on here - does it count if it's only mentioned? - so I play it safer rather than sorry. Anyhoo, I'm glad you liked this :)

Reviewer: socks2
Date: 02/20/13 2:33
Chapter: Chapter 1

Have you no pity on my tear ducts!!?!??!

Seriously, though. Very well done. My favorite part was the giraffe thing. I just wanted to give George a hug the whole time. And magic Fred back to life.

You wrote it in a way that made it so realistic, touching and honest.

But now go write something funny. Please.

Author's Response: Nope. Giraffes are pretty awesome so I can see why you liked that part. More giraffes in life would be lovely. But anyway, thank you for reading and reviewing and I'm pretty sure we can find a way to hug George. Somehow. Maybe just hug your computer and hope he can feel it or something?

Reviewer: tftolman
Date: 12/04/12 20:10
Chapter: Chapter 1

As a mom of twin boys who are thick as thieves and just as much trouble and fun as I imagine the Weasley twins where this story is so touching my number one fear has been that I would have to watch one of them morn the loss of their brother and this story has put a whole new meaning on the bond of twins and of life after death thank you

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. Yeah, it's something that sadly I have seen and it's hard to imagine what that is like. Is there such thing as a pair of twins who aren't as much trouble as they are fun :)

Reviewer: gc76
Date: 11/20/12 15:21
Chapter: Chapter 1

Made me laugh my head off particularly"Good," said Fred fondly. "You have reminded him that that some old bloke with bad skin and unhealthy relationship with his pet snake is nothing compared to the wrath of five older brothers?"
"Charlie reminded him he knows a Horntail with a score to settle just yesterday," replied George promptly." and several otheer bits. At the same time i had the sniffles. The fred and george :'(

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing! He may be dead, but Fred is still going to be looking after his little sis :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 11/03/12 7:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh hell! Now that there is a truly deserving QSQ winner. -sniff- I cried rather hard when we came to Molly's part, but even so, this fic made me laugh mostly and fondly remember the twins' spirit. Excellent work, and congratulations! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing again :) Thank you! I had no idea it was even nominated so it was a nice surprise. If anyone's funeral was going to be funny, it was going to be Fred Weasley's. All the crying aside, I'm glad you enjoyed this :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 11/03/12 7:52
Chapter: Chapter 1

Oh hell! Now that there is a truly deserving QSQ winner. -sniff- I cried rather hard when we came to Molly's part, but even so, this fic made me laugh mostly and fondly remember the twins' spirit. Excellent work, and congratulations! :)

Reviewer: vindhya
Date: 10/12/12 10:06
Chapter: Chapter 1

its beautiful.... :)

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad you liked this.

Reviewer: TwoWeekTwoMove
Date: 10/06/12 3:11
Chapter: Chapter 1

I can't believe it but I managed to cry and laugh hysterically at the same time. This was... this was... the absolute best thing I have read on MNFF ever.*round of applause*

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and reviewing :) Wow, that is insanely high praise - thank you! - but there are way better fics than this. Anyway, thank you :)

Reviewer: michaelarose
Date: 09/30/12 14:14
Chapter: Chapter 1

fred and george have always been my favorite characters since the first book, crying hysterically right now. this made me so happy and sad at the same time, and i have no idea why! you are an excellent writer, please keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm glad you enjoyed it - even with the crying! Although most of the credit should probably go to Fred and George for being themselves :)

Reviewer: Europa27
Date: 08/20/12 16:43
Chapter: Chapter 1

made me cry.... i guess typical fred ... moving one.. i hope this is how it really happened...

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Sorry about making you cry. I hope something like this happened to - if only to cheer George up :)

Reviewer: VeeBee123
Date: 08/20/12 16:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wonderfully written.
I've been a fan of Fred and George Weasley throughout the series. Naturally, Fred's death broke my heart.
I seek some kind of solace in reading Fred and George fan fiction. However, I find that very few of them actually hit the target where their humor is concerned. The Weasley twins have their own brand of humor, and only the most experienced of writers can pick up on that humor and bring it out in their story.
You are most definitely one of them.
It was heart rendingly humorous, and I enjoyed every bit of it. It's completely believable, and I like to think that what you wrote actually happened.

Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Fred's death broke us all I think. Fanfic is where we all go to to pretend that it never happened. Thank you for the kind words and I'm glad you enjoyed this :)

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/12/12 17:07
Chapter: Chapter 1

Crying like a baby, but smiling at the same time!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm you enjoyed it. Sorry about the tears though!

Reviewer: ginevra715
Date: 07/09/12 2:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was so sad, but also a lovely combination of light-hearted and funny and serious. Thanks for giving Fred a proper send-off.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm glad you enjoyed it! It always made me sad that George never got to say goodbye.

Reviewer: Invisibility Cloak
Date: 07/07/12 20:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

Lovely! I've generally stayed away from funeral pieces, but this was definitely enjoyable in or out of the context of its category. The beginning hooked me right off:
"Now we will hear George Weasley talk of the memories he shared with Fred."
He wasn't listening.The blunt beginning sets the appropriate mood for what turned out to be a very clear and powerful portrayal of what is likely, for the fandom, one of the most dreaded events in aftermath of the battle.
This time he was alone in his ignorance. … at the risk of obliterating all subtlety, I assume you're referring to Fred's camaraderie in ignorance of times past? The are beautiful/painful reminders of George's missing half like this one throughout the story- I think my favorite (a.k.a. The Most Heartbreaking) might be:
"What I wouldn't give to be fifty years older..."At this, George snorted as he tried not to think about Fred growing older.
I swear, I just did a half-sighed little “Aww” and wiped away a tear. Thank goodness, then, for your mastery of the irreverent brand of wit we have come to know and love from the twins! I couldn't stop laughing throughout. On a related subject, if I must mention one last touch of authenticity in the story, it's the pranks that were done in memory of Fred. It's difficult to authentically reproduce the twins' pranks, something many of us know from experience, but you provide a realistic idea, no problem, and even manage to work it into a painful moment:
"Please tell me you're not letting this go off without a hitch," pleaded Fred through gritted teeth. "Decoy detonators under Muriel's and few other random chairs, Whizz-Bangs at either end of the aisle, I'm pretty sure none of the food at the wake is real and this podium is set to become a giraffe in about three minutes," George replied thickly.

It's a brilliant piece in all ways- I just have a very minor thing...
"Oh contraire, my brother," Fred said. Well, perhaps we shouldn't hold Fred to excessively high grammatical standards, but I think he meant 'Au' contraire …?

Like I said, nothing too important. Thanks again for a great story, and I look forward to reading more of your stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Haha, I tend to avoid funeral fics as well; I'm not just emotionally stable enough to cope! Obliterate away :) Yes, it is. Something tells me the twins didn't take turns paying attention in lessons. A lot of fics have an organised fireworks display but that seemed a bit, well... Organised. Yeah, you got me. I'm not actually French. I know, shocking. Thank you for pointing it out :) I'll change it shortly. Anyway, thank for the review and all the kind words. They mean a lot :)

Reviewer: snuffles1
Date: 07/07/12 6:40
Chapter: Chapter 1

I really liked this. Fred and George's characters were really well done, and I think you captured the other characters' reactions to Fred's death well too. There was a good balance between seriousness and lightheartedness in the twins' conversation, which I thought was very realistic. I particularly loved the ending, especially the part about the podium turning into a giraffe. That made me laugh. Thanks for the awesome story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) What funeral is complete without a giraffe? Thank you for the kind words :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) What funeral is complete without a giraffe? Thank you for the kind words :)

Reviewer: Californiasun
Date: 07/07/12 3:13
Chapter: Chapter 1

Absolutely brilliant! I could picture every step Fred took - you completely kept him in character.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: kheldar
Date: 07/07/12 2:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

I. LOVE. THIS. STORY. Seriously, this is wonderful. I don't think there's anyone who hasn't imagined their own funeral, so this really rings true in that respect. I love how you captured the twins' relationship, particularly their joie de vivre - I've read a lot of stories that have George turn into a zombie, essentially, for months after Fred's death. I like your take on it much better: he's terribly, unspeakably sad, but life goes on, complete with tricks and "hitches". Well done indeed!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm glad you enjoyed it! You're right about that. Mine has a full on parade with elephants and stuff. Shame I won't be able to attend really... Yeah, he obviously isn't going to go back to normal straight away but I thought saying goodbye might help. Tricks? No, they all happened by themselves, I swear...

Reviewer: goldensnidget92
Date: 07/06/12 23:17
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was one of the rare pieces that makes you weep and laugh out loud within the space of two sentences: something I can only describe as masterful. And I don't use the word "weep" lightly: I have tears pouring down my cheeks as I write this review. "Mischief Managed"? Did you deliberately set out to break me?

That's not a bad thing, though. To be able to control our emotions so quickly takes a lot of talent, so well done! I was thoroughly impressed with this, and look forward to seeing what else you come up with!

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Sorry about the tears and everything. Of course I didn't do it on purpose! That would be cruel... Thank you for the kind words :)

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 07/06/12 21:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

Wow! This was great! I loved how Fred and George were still able to joke around! What a great way to send Fred off... It's too bad he had to die... *silently cries*

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) Like a little thing like death could stop them! I know... *dabs eyes* Anyway, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Lost_Robin
Date: 07/06/12 21:47
Chapter: Chapter 1

Sob, sob, sob. Fred's funeral. I always thought that they kept that wizard in a box. Is he in the attic with the ghoul?

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) It's such a random thing that is never explained! Maybe he is the ghoul after a shower?

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES