Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/15/14 13:55
Chapter: The Parliament of Stars

WOW!! That's about all I can say about this chapter. I was so excited I started to read backwards. Those stars are not easy to deal with. Great work on this chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/14/14 17:18
Chapter: A Girl Named Troublesome

The dance sounded like a lot of fun. Is Alex really talking about sex? You make it sound like she is but then you might come up with something else innocent that they could do together. Too bad for Sonja and Stuart. I hope it's not that creepy little mummy baby running around in the woods.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/13/14 17:33
Chapter: Bamboo Wands

I loved this chapter. I think it's adorable that Alex has found a "boyfriend." I think I mentioned Torvald as a possibility a while back in an earlier review. I'll have to go back and look. I can't wait until they go to the dance together. I'm glad you put a little romance into this series:D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/09/14 17:10
Chapter: The Squib Laws

So, Claudia was cursed to not have any children and then had to raise her pureblood sister? Whoever said that it sucks to be Claudia was right. David is so sweet. I'm happy he and Alex went to the dance together.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/07/14 14:59
Chapter: Memory Alchemy

I'm glad Alex got to visit with her father. Maybe she learned something. Hard to tell if he's always telling the truth though. She made an interesting observation in that she found it harder to lie to a teacher she respected. Isn't that how it goes. I hope she gets her hair back to normal.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/02/14 12:08
Chapter: The Witch's Lullaby

Alex seems old beyond her years. Wise also. She's just stubborn and doesn't seem to believe that the adults are out to protect her. Of course if she listened to the adults she wouldn't have as much fun.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 04/01/14 15:03
Chapter: The Bones of Their Victims

In all honesty, there are parts of your stories that I don't like. They're well written but outright frightening. I hate to think of a young girl going through some of the things Alex has to go through. I must add that I enjoyed this past part of this story. It was exciting and interesting and I feel like I learned something.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/27/14 12:23
Chapter: Witches' Rock

I think this is Alex's worst night ever. If she can do something to John at this point she has my utmost respect. She's so tired I don't even know how she's thinking straight.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/26/14 17:20
Chapter: The Stone Hogan

You keep throwing us one surprise after another. The werewolf situation does raise further questions. Why did John have that Hogan marked on his map? Who killed Yuhzhee Redhorse? Why was she killed?

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/26/14 13:51
Chapter: A Gathering of Witches

That was interesting and exciting. I love and hate the rattlesnake. I don't care for snakes and have a healthy respect for rattlesnakes. They are all over out here. Ironic that Henry mentioned the Lands Below. Alex might just have a map to show him.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/26/14 12:39
Chapter: Nemesis

I did not expect a Navaho Auror. I did think it was strange that someone was there besides John M. or one of his gang. I can't wait to find out what happens to Alex now. Does the Auror know John and what he's doing? Wouldn't it be funny if John were an undercover Auror?

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/21/13 14:15
Chapter: Runaway

I guess Alex can take care of herself. I didn't even think about unlocking a motel room with magic and spending the night. I'm more worried about her finding John M.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/20/13 18:24
Chapter: Lies My Mother Told Me

I know I haven't read for a long time. I must have gotten busy and stopped reading for a while or stopped reading long chapters. I didn't forget about Alex though. You'd think people would keep a better eye on her. It's not like she hasn't gotten herself in danger before. How tragic it was for her to meet her mother.

Author's Response: Hi - glad you're still reading and enjoying. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Talex666
Date: 02/19/13 11:13
Chapter: Ghosts of Roanoke

Well damn! I've been hopping about your stories and blog just reading everything for the last couple of weeks. The Alexandra Quick series was read in one long, incredibly unproductive weekend. :)

I admit to liking fanfictions like AQ which only includes the world/universe of the series it is inspired by, but uses original characters and plots - creating a fresh storyline in a familiar world, so to speak. Yours is the first really decent one I've read so far though, and I agree with other reviews that your writing and plot/character management, especially the AQ series, is easily publishing standard (if that's the correct phrase). Perhaps more so than a lot of well known books on the shelves today. However I agree with your view that publishing AQ would cause it to lose too much of it's character as a story. The HP fandom needs some quality stories that aren't just romance and little else.

Anyway, I dislike leaving a completely useless review, so I'll just sum up some points that make AQ better than other stories in my eyes, and some points to improve on:

Pros:
-The attention to detail. Especially on the plot and sub-plots. This is what makes AQ one of those stories which I can re-read multiple times and find something new each time, including subtle jokes which only a few authors bother to put in.
-Character development and detail. I didn't quite realize how much effort you put into this until reading your blog, but I admire the complex natures of the characters, and how they shift almost unnoticed over time. Another aspect of this is the skill of the characters, especially Alexandra herself. Almost all HPFF authors give their protagonists sudden bursts of previously untapped power and wisdom near the beginning of their story, but Alexandra's abilities, asides from her raw magical prowess, are actually well earned through arduous lengths of training and perseverance, spread fairly well throughout the books so far. I'm a little skeptical of how she almost managed to get the better of the auror Henry Tsotsie, but hey.
-Dead end subplots. This is something authors rarely have the courage to do - the amount of effort and "storytime" that went into the time turner red herring was remarkable. It might have irritated some readers, but it gave the story an additional level of realism, and bought it sharply back down to earth again with a much needed jolt.

Cons:
-Binomial nomenclature. Yeah I know, it's not much of a con, but I'm currently doing a biology degree and have a habit for nitpicking. In the chapter "Without A Wand", Alexandra refers to Nigel as a storeria dekayi - using the Latin name of the species of grass snake Nigel belongs to. While you correctly wrote it in italics, binomial nomenclature dictates the genus name is always capitalized, so in this case it would be Storeria dekayi instead, even if written in the middle of a sentence. Just a little mistake, but thought you should know.
-Portkeys. I'm sure inconsistencies with magic have been pointed out in every other review, I haven't checked. I admit it must be difficult creating an entirely new culture while trying to stick to a pre-determined structure of magic, which would affect said culture. With this in mind I'll glaze over smaller inconsistencies and ones that can easily be explained, and go straight to the one that bugs me the most. Dumbledore could create a portkey with a single spell, in the space of a few seconds. His specialty is transfiguration, not artificing, and while he may have spent ages learning how to make a portkey that quickly it is highly unlikely. Portkeys in HP are considered fairly common and easy to manufacture, even if their use is regulated by the Ministry. Therefore I find it a little difficult to believe that they would be so expensive in America, and artificers spend ages sweating over their creation, if they were used so readily and easily (such as the quidditch world cup in book 4, for example).

I'm sure given more time I could come up with some more constructive(ish) criticism, but this review is long enough. Good luck writing book 5! Are you ever going to release the name, or just cruelly tease us until the book is finally complete? :P

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the thoughtful review! I will keep the binomial nomenclature in mind for the future - I didn't think to check a style guide on that item. The issue with Portkeys is actually not something anyone else has brought up. You make a fair point. My reason for making Portkeys somewhat difficult to create is that otherwise, it would be fairly easy to cross vast distances (the U.S./Confederation being considerably larger than the UK) which would have a major impact both on American wizarding culture and on my plots. The problem of introducing quick and easy teleportation into a society has been covered by such authors as Larry Niven. That said, yeah, it's kind of hand-wavey. And to answer your last question: I will announce it eventually, but I'll probably tease folks a bit more. ;)

Reviewer: Fortescue
Date: 01/28/13 21:41
Chapter: Without a Wand

I've been reading your Alexander Quick novels obsessively for the past week and I must say I am blown away. The level of care you've taken in developing an American wizarding culture is astounding. The Harry Potter universe is still there propping it up, but you've taken this story far beyond the normal realm of fanfiction. At first I couldn't stop thinking about Harry, Ron, Hermione, ect living in Britain and I was secretly hoping that Alex might take a trip across the Atlantic... and just happen to bump into them, but that desire has long since been smothered. You created characters that I want to keep coming back to for their own sake.
I think my only concern is that while you've given Alexander a large circle of interesting friends and family you haven't really given them a chance to shine. Anna and Julia remain little more than occasional confidants whom Alex goes to for moral grounding and the Alexandra Committee has become merely a group of researchers who were never able to truly take part in the action. Alexandra adventures are exiting and full of bravery, but they offer little of the unbreakable bonds of friendship through thick and thin that defined the Harry Potter series and most great adventure stories.
That being said I look forward to the release of AQATWA immensely. I hope Alexandra continues to do some growing up in her relationships with the numerous parental figures. (I was thrilled to see a few rays of hope shine through to the Claudia/Archie/Alex family). Alexandra's tale will no doubt be stuck in my mind for quite some time and it is with baited breath that I wait for book 5, but at least now I'll be able to get some actual work done :)

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 10/26/12 15:48
Chapter: Nemesis

Been reading your stuff for a long while now, ever since I first read "Hogwarts: A House Divided" a couple of years back, but this is the first time I've left a review. I know that makes me an awful reader, as all writers do so much for so little, but there it is.

First of all I think your writing is terrific! Your creation of a whole wizarding USA that is so different from the UK that JKR created, but still completely canon-compliant is a staggering achievement. Your characterization is good. You don't get overly bogged down in descriptive detail, but still give enough for us to form a good mental image of the places and people in your story.

OK, that's the good part. Now I can make a little correction without feeling like a jerk!

In this chapter you have the grocery store in Shiprock (Orange Rock, I have no idea why you changed the name) selling beer. You can't buy beer in Shiprock or any other place on the Navajo Reservation. It's a small mistake, but as you are so VERY careful to keep your stories canon-compliant I thought you would probably feel the same way about a factual error about the muggle world too.

Please keep writing! I love the AQ series and you have left us at such a horrible cliff-hanger that I will be heart-broken if it doesn't run it's course. Be sure to look both ways before you cross the street, you have lots of readers depending on you!

-M.M.-

Author's Response: Oops - I think I did know that the Navajo Reservation is dry, but that detail must have just slipped my mind in this chapter. Thanks very much for your review. I have just started writing the fifth book. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/27/12 21:43
Chapter: And I Will Treat With Any Power

Whoa--I did not see that coming at all. I can see where Alex would be angry. I think I might be a bit nosier though and hang around and demand to be told the truth. I can't wait until I have time to read again and find out how you explain this big puzle. Great chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/27/12 20:12
Chapter: This is Going to Suck

I really liked this chapter. I couldn't believe it when Alex jumped into the frozen pond. I think she's developing feelings for Brian. I was hoping she'd give him a ride on her broom. I hope no one blames Alex for Bonnie's accident. She probably tried to follow Brian just to be nosy and get him in trouble. Besides, she was grounded.

Great chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/04/12 20:31
Chapter: Goody Pruett

Well, that was interesting. Alex has gotten several good ideas about how to "feel" her wand. Somehow I think she's looking in all the wrong places for her wand. Alex is quite the little actress isn't she? Great chapter.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 06/04/12 19:59
Chapter: Regal Royalty Sweets and Confections

I really liked what you did in this chapter with the old wizard office building--how Alex could see it as a condemned Muggle building and then as an abandoned office building. I hope that's not John Manueilito dressed up like a hag and coming after Alex. Great chapter.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
At the Battlefront by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
The Final Battle at Hogwarts rages on as the victims question whether or not...
Crocus by Equinox Chick 3rd-5th Years
Four years after the Battle of Hogwarts, Andromeda Tonks exists only for her...
Other Lives and Dimensions and Finally a Love Story by MoRoCcAnAnDpRoUd 6th-7th Years
The year is 1977, and the Wizarding World is in turmoil, but it doesn't really...
FEATURED
My Troubled Tyrant by Belledeg Professors
Keedie Dante has experienced many amazing things during her time at Hogwarts...
His and Hers by Acacia Carter 3rd-5th Years
In a perfect world, Neville and Hannah's wedding would go off without a hitch...
All This Waiting For The Sky To Fall by Dawnie 1st-2nd Years
They found her body - broken, bleeding, face filled with signs of pain and fear...
Sanguini, the Vampire by teh tarik 6th-7th Years
Vampirism is the persistence and the perpetuity of the body, a madness of the...
Lost and Found by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
When Tracey Davis's financial security was a casualty of war, her family is...
CATEGORIES