Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 8:12
Chapter: Chapter 17-Loose Ends

I like the way this story ended, with a white flag temporary truce. I think Draco really would miss Crabbe his best friend. Draco may have been smarter, but Crabbe and Gayle were no less his best friends as Harry and Ron were to Hermione. Out of all the Slytherin, Draco might have tried to kill Harry and Dumbledore, but he has turned out to be the most decent. He was very much a product of his upbringing, just as Ron was a product of his. Harry chose Ron over Draco because he was a product of his upbringing. Had he not been mistreated by his Dursley kin and been raised like Dudley, he might very well have believed in the superiority of birth and bloodline as Draco did.

Author's Response: Thank you for reading and your generous comments!!! I waited to respond until you had read all 17 chapters, just lazy I guess. If you have a chance and are interested, I continued the plot line in my other story. As an aside, like you I only now only read stories marked complete, as it is such a downer be following one, and the author never finishes it.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 8:12
Chapter: Chapter 17-Loose Ends

I like the way this story ended, with a white flag temporary truce. I think Draco really would miss Crabbe his best friend. Draco may have been smarter, but Crabbe and Gayle were no less his best friends as Harry and Ron were to Hermione. Out of all the Slytherin, Draco might have tried to kill Harry and Dumbledore, but he has turned out to be the most decent. He was very much a product of his upbringing, just as Ron was a product of his. Harry chose Ron over Draco because he was a product of his upbringing. Had he not been mistreated by his Dursley kin and been raised like Dudley, he might very well have believed in the superiority of birth and bloodline as Draco did.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 3:08
Chapter: Chapter 16 - Luna's Secret

How sweet! I'm so glad that all three of them are so adult about this situation. It's true, children should not be made to suffer the consequences of their parents' actions, as they too often do. He sounds like a lovely child the way you describe him. I'm in love with Linus. :)

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 2:55
Chapter: Chapter 15 - Some Muggle Magic

Terrific! I'm so glad you were able to marry her muggle and wizard world together in this way. Excellent job!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 2:46
Chapter: Chapter 14-A Life Together

Have I mentioned that I love your fic? Even if I don't always agree, is still very well written and enjoyable. I'm interested to find out how you will resolve Hermoine's problem and when we will see Rose.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 2:25
Chapter: Chapter 13- Operation Ginny

I've been suspecting Luna had a baby for several chapters now, so when are you going to let the shoe drop? I know I'm right. Lovely wedding but why is everyone marrying at Howards? I can understand Harry marrying Ginny there but couldn't understand why Ron and Hermione had.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 2:06
Chapter: Chapter 12-A Very Weasley Wedding

Hmm. Will this be the career ending accident and match? Will it trigger a career change? Interesting turn of events.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 1:55
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Tragedy and Wedding Plans

Always Harry and the elves! I'm glad Harry is moving to Godric's Hollow. I'm so sad over George though. I'm glad they are together but so sad that Molly had to lose another child! What is up with this Mum Weasley business?? Sounds so odd. They always called her Molly and I'm sure eventually just plain Mum.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 1:03
Chapter: Chapter 10 - Proposals

So happy they got engaged! Perfect Hermione reaction. Harry's decision to move on despite being in love with Ginny but choosing to date women he can have a good time with but are more interested in being friends is a very Harry response to the situation. Ginny's jealousy is not surprising as she was always passionate about Harry.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/30/14 0:24
Chapter: Chapter 9 = Couples

Wow. JUST WOW. I'd always known Harry admitted Luna and Luna admired Harry but I'd never imagined attraction. Also the way it happened between them like just simple companionship and true friendship, comforting each other spiritually and physically was just perfect. I feel that if a physical relationship ever occurred between them, this is exactly how it should be. You captured the essence of each exactl. Harry would love Luna as a friend of beauty and intellect and his admiration would make him lust for her and Luna would never love Harry deeply because she would always intuitively know his heart belonged to another but she would admire his bravery, heroism, chivalry, and handsomeness without ever truly falling for him.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/29/14 23:45
Chapter: Chapter 8-Two Trips to the Continent

Yay!! So excited they reconciled but that was rather easy and couldn't they have just done it sooner?? LOL. I like your run in with Viktor! I find I always enjoy when an author gives us an update on him.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/29/14 23:32
Chapter: Chapter 7-Ginny Problems

I'm missing the two couples greatly! I hope you being then back soon! Please reconcile them. Ginny is so lost and I'm glad she had come to get senses. I like your exploration of her character and everything you've written sounds like what a 20 - something Ginny would be like. Her rebelliousness, her sexuality, her temper have remained the same. I'm sorry for the mistake Hermione made and I'm glad she will be forced to see Ron again. Isn't that how it always is? When you date someone who is an old friend and you have mutual friends, life eventually throws you together again. It forces you to confront your problems and resolve rather than avoid them. Many a couple rekindle their romance because of such situations. I'm glad Harry is pursuing his education and that you show him as intelligent. I've always thought that Harry was far more intelligent than he's been given credit for. He wouldn't be the first student to goof off in high school and improve in college!

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/29/14 11:01
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Paths Diverge

Poor Hermione. She made the most awful mistake and I'm disappointed in her. However she was so disappointed in herself that she broke it off with Ron. Now we are left with two miserable individuals who are lonesome fir each other. This new event added to the other two miserable individuals who are lonesome fir each other! Haha, you felt that misery deserved some company. Can't wait to see what you have in store for their path. Although I couldn't see Hermione behaving that way on her trip, I think it's a good plot device to their a wrench in she and Ron's relationship, and it would work for most female characters who were less Hermione-ish. :)

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/26/14 13:27
Chapter: Chapter 4 - End of a Chase

I commend you on am excellent chapter. I believe the way this was told is quite compelling and stayed much truer to character than your previous chapter did. I believe the Death Eaters loved their children very much and truly believed they were creating a new world order for them. To realize that his own misconduct and misperceptions was costing the lives and freedom of his family truly would break men like Crabbe and Malfoy. Many of the Death Eaters were not truly loyal to Voldemort but we're just power hungry and hangers on. I don't doubt that if told the truth by Draco, Mr. Crabbe would have an emotional breakdown and realize resisting arrest was futile. Many of the Death Eaters were moneyed and life on the lam is hard.
Meanwhile, Malfoy may be cowardly, but I honestly believe that man loved his son and wife with all his heart. Seeing the devastation his views caused in their peaceful secure lives as the privileged of society probably tore him up. He thought following his former master would secure their status but he judged wrongly. They would have been much better off emigrating out of England. He knew he was part of Voldemort's inner circle so it was either join or flee and he chose wrongly and felt responsible for his family's downfall.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/26/14 13:04
Chapter: Chapter 3 -A Trip to Spain

I understand the lust but I don't agree that Hermione would behave that way with stranger. She's been more daring lately sure but with Rob around only, whom she trusts, or with the encouragement of Ginny, one of her oldest and dearest friends. I know you are exploring the way they have changed after the war but I think that Hermoine's values would have conflicted with the behavior shown here. She waited seven years to reveal her love for Ron, she is always prepared for a situation before it happens, she just isn't going to do any of these things. She is too patient a person to have behaved this way just because he wasn't around. I could much more see Ron doing this to Hermione than the other way around.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/26/14 12:47
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Friends and Lovers

I feel for them. I remember being their age and missing my BF too. I find all the gratuitous skin and embarrassing moments are reminding me of rom come. I notice some of your reviewers hate your characters and dislike the sexual antics. I guess they forget what it's like being young and in love and apart. Yes, even bookish people like Hermione are known to be randy once in a while. In fact, peoples views on politics, life, and life decisions rarely reflect their sexual views accurately. Some of the most outgoing people can be prudes and nerds can be sexual dynamos! Just saying.

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/26/14 11:34
Chapter: Chapter 1-Old Friends and New Worlds

What a lovely story! I've thoroughly enjoyed it so far. I find the new Hermione a shock but I'm interested in the direction you are taking her and the same for the new Harry. I love that Ginny and Hermione are still best GFs and it'll go a long way for their future relationship as sisters-in-law, if you are following canon on that. I'm glad for the new mature Ron- although not appearing the hypocrite is probably the motivation for his open-mindedness regarding his sister. I am going to keep it short so I can continue reading! I just love reading completed works! I am so impatient for updates so it's nice I can read more right away. Thank you!

Reviewer: Oregonian
Date: 01/31/14 21:23
Chapter: Chapter 17-Loose Ends

Wow, Ken, you stirred up a hornets’ nest with this story. Some readers appear to want to keep our favorite characters squeaky-clean and cannot believe that you would write them as handling their personal affairs so badly. You are accused of writing them Out Of Character, but I must comment on the other side of this debate.

We must remember that these characters are teenagers and early-twenty-somethings; that’s not very old. Neuroscience tells us that the frontal lobes of the brain, the location of the centers for impulse control, planning ahead, and considering the consequences of one’s actions, are not fully developed until about age 25, and even without the benefit of CT scans and MRIs, our Founding Fathers who wrote the U.S. Constitution knew, by their own observations, that people under the age of 25 had less common sense, hence the constitutional minimum age of 25 to be elected to Congress. I have seen teenagers, good kids, the offspring of my friends, do egregiously stupid things, some involving sex and some involving the police, because of three reasons: immaturity (as mentioned above), alcohol, and the stress of difficult life situations.

It is noteworthy that the worst behavior of your characters occurs in conjunction with alcohol, the Number One lubricant for sending people down the slippery slope to unintended disaster. I confess to being a little disturbed by how so many of the fanfiction stories on this site are awash in Firewhiskey”drinking to celebrate successes, deal with disappointments, provide surcease of sorrow, lift spirits, face tragedy, relax with friends, and on and on. When someone dies, someone else (often George) goes on a booze-soaked bender that lasts days, weeks, or even months. Characters who are just getting together for dinner end up tipsy or drunk with depressing regularity, and this is treated as being amusing.

Maybe this accurately reflects the usual real-life behavior at this age; I don’t know. It is easy to believe that injudicious drinking is a sign of having achieved adulthood, but the fact is that when you are in your twenties, your fervent wish is that no one will remember the dumb stuff you did in your teens, and when you are in your thirties, you hope to heaven that no one remembers the dumb stuff you did in your twenties. Wisdom comes with age and experience, not with fame and the awarding of medals.

So Ken, your story is realistic to me: teenagers thrown unprepared into situations they don’t know how to handle wisely. Stabbing Horcruxes with basilisk fangs is one thing; all this stuff is another.

Reviewer: GeekMcLeod
Date: 09/16/13 20:33
Chapter: Chapter 1-Old Friends and New Worlds

Honestly, can't express how much I loved this story. Absolutely amazing!! Just gonna be starting the sequel tonight!

Author's Response: Thanks soooo much!!!!!

Reviewer: SnapeWasRight
Date: 07/14/13 22:13
Chapter: Chapter 17-Loose Ends

I still think Harry shouldn't have gotten back with Ginny...different guy ever week!!

Author's Response: If you read the sequel she does it again and see what happens.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES