Reviewer: J-Holly
Date: 01/18/13 23:05
Chapter: Victory Day

W-O-W WOW!!!
This is true literature!!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm smiling ear to ear right now :)

Reviewer: Samsijay
Date: 11/01/12 22:26
Chapter: Victory Day

Really good! It makes me think, especially with Remembrance Day coming here in Canada . . . it deals with the real way things like this turn out, with people slowly forgetting the tragedy, while still seeming well integrated into the Harry Potter setting and characters

Author's Response: Hello! You mentioning Remembrance Day makes me really happy, because a lot of the feelings that Lily was having were feelings that I get in and around Remembrance Day. I'm really glad that the message got across :) ~Maple

Reviewer: Theloonyhermione
Date: 07/01/12 22:08
Chapter: Victory Day

This was beautiful and sad at the same time. I'm not a huge fan of Scorpius/Lily, but oh well, I can deal with it . It was a very well-written chapter, well done! :D

Author's Response: Thanks :) ~Maple

Reviewer: Padfoot11333
Date: 05/05/12 13:30
Chapter: Victory Day

Oh, wow, Maple.


I’ve heard a lot about this fic, especially since it became a featured story lately. However, I hadn’t taken the time to read it yet. I must say, though, that I’m glad I chose this story to read for SPEW buddies :)


This is mostly interesting because you’ve successfully managed to create a real, fulfilling story in which there’s little to no dialogue and it’s mostly Lily’s thoughts. This is especially interesting because you’ve mentioned on several occasions, I think, how you prefer dialogue to prose, and you think that you wouldn’t enjoy a story as much without it as you would with it. Yet here you’ve done exactly the opposite and created this story.


Lily’s thoughts about Victory Day are what I would have never thought of, honestly, but I also think that they fit nearly perfectly. I also like your descriptions of what her family members are doing, especially your description of Ginny. I would have thought that she would have been one of the least affected by the war, but I think you show us completely otherwise here in a completely realistic way. I love the way you simply describe George as “Fred’s other half.” I think that is maybe one of the reasons that he is so upset after Fred’s death because everyone sees them as two halves that fit together, rather than their own person.


Your description of Harry I particularly like because it’s not necessarily about Harry. Mostly, you talk about Teddy. I think this is a good “emblem,” per sey, of Harry’s character, because he’s rarely thinking about himself during battles such as these. You portray this well because even Lily can tell that he’s “brooding” about Teddy and how he had to grow up alone.


I also think that it’s interesting that Lily speaks about how in generations to come, “They will never understand the terror he created and how greatly he was feared. The name will simply roll of their lips like any other.” (By the way, you have a typo here: I think “of their lips” should be “off their lips”.) Lily wasn’t alive during Victory Day, so I think it’s a little odd that she would think that Voldemort was something that will be lost in further generations, since essentially she is one of the further generations. She really doesn’t understand the real terror that Voldemort created, because she wasn’t there for it. What she’s doing”hearing about Victory Day from relatives”is all that her children will do, too.


I also found it interesting that Lily mentions that Scorpius’ and her parents don’t hate each other. From what we see of their interactions during DH I think it’s pretty clear that they are by no means on speaking terms. Yet she specifically mentions that Harry and Draco no longer hate each other. You also rule out any possibility that they would have become friends during the space between the epilogue and when this is taking place because you say that they put aside their differences when Harry saved Draco’s life. To me, this seems a little out of character because they didn’t seem like they were friends during the epilogue. Perhaps you could change this to make it where they befriended each other later.


I particularly liked the ending of the piece. I do think that Victory Day would have been difficult, especially for the people who were closest to those who died. I agree that over time, it should come to be celebrated instead of mourned. I also love the way you ended the piece. While it did feel final, I really liked that Lily was finally ready to stop mourning those who died on Victory Day and start celebrating because of the battle that was won. I honestly think that was what Victory Day was really about, not the battle itself, just the win.

In the whole, Maple, I really enjoyed this fic. I’m glad I read it, and it absolutely deserves to give you one of your MNFF goals and be a featured story.

Apple xxx

Author's Response: Hey Apple! It's ironic, isn't it, that I find stories written in this style boring, and yet I write like that :p Thank you for the typo, by the way! I guess when I'm saying that Voldemort will lose meaning in later generations, I'm thinking about my own experiences with history. I have never known the terror of WWI or II, but the children of thsoe who faught in it will understand it more than I ever will, because their parents actually lived it. As for Harry and Draco, I agree that they aren't on speaking terms, but I think that their exchange in DH shows that they no longer hate each other. Thanks for the lovely review! Maple

Reviewer: Envy_I_May_Be
Date: 05/02/12 12:45
Chapter: Victory Day

That was beautiful, Maple! It was very lovely; the emotion and depth was rather moving. Beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks :)

Reviewer: BlueClaw
Date: 04/28/12 16:11
Chapter: Victory Day

I've been reading this reviews and would like to say the story was great and I like that it is called Victory Day. It reminds me of Victoire Weasley.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading :) And I'm glad you like the title

Reviewer: Con Moto
Date: 04/28/12 5:24
Chapter: Victory Day

Amazing!

Author's Response: Thanks :)

Reviewer: noblefate
Date: 04/26/12 20:47
Chapter: Victory Day

I think this is the most human portrayal of Lily Luna I've ever seen. She seems so much her father's daughter, and it seems that her concerns about people forgetting the stories behind the names is the sort of thing Harry would do. I appreciate that in just a short glance you give readers a true sense of who she is and the world she lives in.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad she seemed real to you :) Maple

Reviewer: gryffindorgirl98
Date: 04/26/12 9:10
Chapter: Victory Day

Amazing, Tantalizing, Heart-rending and Emotional.......need i say more?Maybe I do, but believe me, that would take up a lot of space!Great work with the story! PS-Did Lavender really die in DH?

Author's Response: Than so much! And Lavender's death is up to interpretation. We know that she was attacked by Greyback. She did die in the movie, not that that makes it canon or anything ;) Maple

Reviewer: Ascendio
Date: 04/25/12 21:04
Chapter: Victory Day

Gahh Maple this is so good! I love the idea of it. And also what I love as Gina mentioned, it really does have an even bigger impact as you think of it relating to wars and such in the real world. It's sad, but hopeful. You've captured it beautifully. I love the idea of the monument, it feels like something that would most definitely be there. It's very sad to think of people not knowing Colin.... :( But I can't really picture Harry wanting to go into every detail about it so it makes sense for them not to know. Just lovely, and I love the hopeful ending. -Annie

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Annie! I'm glad that you enjoyed it, and found it both hopeful and a good thing to think about :) Maple

Reviewer: GinevraPotter00
Date: 04/25/12 4:03
Chapter: Victory Day

Beautiful Fic!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 01/31/12 1:54
Chapter: Victory Day

This was fantastic! It totally captures the essence of time, and how things, especially the losses of others, can fade into nothing important over time. But I would have thought that Harry would have mentioned Colin Creevy to his kids.

Author's Response: Thank you! I suppose I just wanted to use a canon example people would recognise, thus Colin. Maple

Reviewer: Ithinkrabis2people
Date: 01/30/12 14:55
Chapter: Victory Day

Hi! The title of your fic caught my eye, because I’ve never really considered that there might be some formal recognition of the anniversary of the Battle of Hogwarts. I just assumed people would remember quietly in their own homes, but it makes perfect sense for an actual event of remembrance to take place: it’s basically just Remembrance Day in the Muggle world, after all.

Anyway, I really like the way you’ve dealt with the theme of remembrance. “I see names I don’t recognize. Most of these names, in fact. Names such as Colin Creevey mean nothing, and that saddens me.” “ I completely understand Lily’s sadness here. I think anyone who looks at a war memorial, and sees names that are totally unfamiliar to them, could feel the same sense of sadness, even guilt that they perhaps don’t remember how lucky they are sometimes. The way she feels the memory becoming more detached and distant from everyday life, and that she recognises that her children won’t understand this feeling either, is particularly interesting; it sort of mirrors what’s happening in the real world as we lose more veterans of the World Wars.

All of this musing does, however, characterise Lily as a rather introspective sort of person, spending quite a bit of time on her own and really reflecting on things, particularly quite wide social issues (not just typical teen problems); I think it’s quite interesting that you see Lily this way, because the Lily I saw in the epilogue came across to me as quite extroverted (although I think we agree that she’s rather mature?). Of course, a lot of years have passed since then, and she was around family at the time, so I’m absolutely not saying your interpretation is wrong/OOC/etc. It’s just highlights how two people can draw different conclusions from the same bit of text! (Besides, I quite like playing devil’s advocate in reviews!)

I think the conclusion is my favourite part; the way it turns to renewal is, again, very reminiscent of a lot of funeral rites in the real world, and this recognition that “life goes on” is very important in the healing process. The optimism you portray here is heart-warming, and it put a little smile on my face.

Overall, this is a very sensitive piece, and I can tell you’ve put a lot of thought into the emotions people do really feel about these sorts of events, and that shows in your writing. It made for a lovely read: well done!

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for the lovely review! I actually found out only yesterday that I made up the whole Victory Day thing :p But I do think they would have some sort of Rememberance Day type dealio. The next-gen characters are so fun in this way. How does a nine year old end up in their teens? I don't know why, but this for sure is my Lily, even if I may write her differently some other time, this is her. Thanks for the lovely review! Maple

Reviewer: Arial Felchem
Date: 01/02/12 19:57
Chapter: Victory Day

Good story!

Author's Response: Thanks :)

Reviewer: iLuna17
Date: 01/02/12 19:47
Chapter: Victory Day

Maple,

I really loved this piece. It was sweet with a little fluff, yet there was just a touch of darkness swirled in with it. I thought your characterization of Lily was great: her confusion, the way she thought about things, it all fit what I believe Lily would be like. Also, the slight simplicity and sometimes bluntness really adds to Lily's character, in my opinion. I also thought the subtle touch of Lily/Scorpius was nice. I’m an avid Rose/Scorpius believer, but I have to say this is one of my exceptions. It really added to her character, as well as showed the difference between the war and then. (Her being a Potter, him being a Malfoy)


I thought the ending was very powerful, especially the third paragraph from the end. The emotion is so raw and powerful, and I think it sums up the war (and life) perfectly. All things lose meaning with time, which is quite sad, and I think this piece portrayed a unique and different angle about how the next generation views ‘Victory Day’. What you, or rather Lily, says is true: wars previously thought have simply become pages in a history textbook; the emotion and suffering behind them becomes lost in time.

I do have to say, though, some of the large paragraphs made it a little hard to digest. When I read, I tend to skim over the larger paragraphs, and I think it would be a good idea to break up some of them, particularly the third paragraph from last. I do wonder why you call the day 'Victory Day'. The term reminds me slightly of the Giver, but I think that all in all it works with the story. It seems slightly awkward, but it could just be me. Apart from those small things, this piece was lovely, powerful, and magical.

The last few sentences are the most magical, and are definitely my favorite. Lily realizes that they should not focus on the sadness of the event, but instead be thankful. It brings a sense of closure to the battle, and I think I will remember these sentences forever, regarding any war or struggle:

They did not die so that the next generation would feel sadness. They died so that we could feel joy, love, and freedom. They died so that we might be able to enjoy life. Today is Victory Day. Today, I celebrate.

Also, the memorial for the people who fought and Lily’s reaction to it remind me a bit of the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier in Washington D.C. I’m not sure if you know of it, being that I forget whether you’re American or British, but it is a tomb in Arlington National Cemetery that honors all of those who died and whose bodies were never found, or they simply went MIA. When Lily talks of the nameless faces, I can’t help but think of this, and how the day honors them.

All in all, I really loved this piece. I thought it was thoughtful, deep, well thought-out, and carried a great message, whether it was intended or not. If you write anything pertaining to this piece or decide to expand it, I would love to read it.

Ellie

Author's Response: Hello, Ellie! I am really glad you liked it, and thanks for the wonderful review! Breaking up the paragraphs has actually been on my to do list, as someone else pointed it out, too. I am very happy I was able to make you think of something else, because that is what I believe stories are supposed to do: touch the reader. -Maple

Reviewer: SilentJane
Date: 01/02/12 3:25
Chapter: Victory Day

Beautiful. You did a really good job

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 12/30/11 13:51
Chapter: Victory Day

You know, as I was reading this, I almost forgot it was about Harry Potter. It seemed it could be about so many other things in real life, so many other wars and battles. WWII came to my mind, given the title of Victory Day given to Harry's defeat of Voldemort. I imagined all these things being said about the men who stormed Normandy. It's all very true and also very sad.
That said, this was still about the Potterverse and your subtle mentions of certain characters - Ginny, George, Harry, and esp. Teddy Lupin - were a perfect way to flesh things out. I thought Lily's voice was well done here and that you captured the tone and feel of such a day really well! Nice job!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm actually really happy that people are connecting to this piece. I know I channeled a lot of my feelings regarding Rememberance Day into it. -Maple-

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 12/29/11 14:14
Chapter: Victory Day

This is lovely, Maple. You've written such a poignant story and I love the fact that although it's from Lily's POV, you also give a very good view of how all the other people are feeling on that day.

You really manage to convey the depressing atmosphere of that day and yet you give a wonderful sense of hope towards the end when Scorpius turns up. (I ♥ you for that and have forgiven you for killing Lavender ... LOL.)

Beautiful story. Sorry this review cannot do it justice. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it :) -Maple

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 12/29/11 12:44
Chapter: Victory Day

I love this, Maple. I think you've really caught something, the disconnect from the past that Lily feels, which is pertinent today in the real world. Of course, even the daughter of Harry and Ginny Potter struggles, because to understand what went on at the time, you have to have lived it! The way Lily is trying to come to terms with something that she isn't truly able to understand felt very sincere. As I'm half Polish, I've grown up listening to my mum's stories about my grandparents journey from Poland to Siberia to Africa and eventually to England at the end of the war, and I could really relate to what Lily feels, here.

I loved the repetition of 'Today is Victory Day' and the transition at the end when Lily finally realises what Victory Day truly means. Her moment of realisation is even more poignant in that that's what the people who fought died for - for the next generation to grow up in a world of peace where they can look back and learn from the horrors of the past.

What a great little one-shot, Maple. I'm so glad Jess pointed me in this direction :)

Julia xD

Author's Response: That's kind of where I got the main outline for this one-shot, because my Grandfather faught in war, but there is no way I'd ever know what that's like. Thanks for reading :) Maple

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES