MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Hunters and Prey

Name: minervassister (Signed) · Date: 03/23/13 13:23 · For: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited
That was a tour de force, another wonderful chapter.
Phoenix patronuses, dementor spit, dark magic what more can you ask for in a story and Harry and Ginny friends again.
Keep up the good work.

Author's Response:
Thanks, there was certainly a lot happening.
Only a couple of chapters left (unless it's ends up being three). More soon, I hope.

Name: BlackAce (Signed) · Date: 03/23/13 12:41 · For: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit
Long time reader, first time reviewer.

I just wanted to write this to thank you. I read A LOT of HP fan fiction from this site and others. There are a lot of writers and stories that I follow and love.

However, your HP world is second only to JK Rowling's. I cannot get enough of your writing. Please keep it up and thanks again.

Author's Response:
Thank you for the compliments.

When I started writing, I decided that I would write in only one canon compliiant future, and that I would take my time geting from the battle to the epilogue. Galloping through the nineteen years in one blockbuster was never an option. However I didn't realise that I'd end up writing missing moments and next-gen too. I have no plans to stop writing. I have a lot of stories to tell.


Name: trigg (Signed) · Date: 03/23/13 9:30 · For: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited
Absolutely great chapter and now I don't know how I'll wait for another chapter. It's a wonderfull idea that turn their patronus to a phoenix. Thanks a lot.

Author's Response: Thank you. As it's my intention to get this story marked complete by the end of next month, I hope that you won't have long to wait. -N-

Name: sam1 (Signed) · Date: 03/23/13 7:23 · For: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited
Great chapter the best That i have ever read

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Name: SoGranola (Signed) · Date: 03/16/13 16:10 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
Ahh.. Best/worst cliffhanger yet! Mostly because there's no "next" to click to keep reading! I can't wait for the next update. I read that you're hoping to have the story complete by the end of April, and I must say I'm very pleased. (If only I could convince you to work on finishing A & S next. ;) )

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The next chapter (Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited) is now back from one of my betas. I'll be readig through it over the next few days. Can I possiblu use the same cliffhanger three times in a row?
I have a ridiculous number of unfinished chaptered stories, so I've been alternating between this and "Strangers". Once H&P is finished, I'll be returning to A&S (and continuiing with Strangers.

Name: SoGranola (Signed) · Date: 03/15/13 23:08 · For: The Snare: The Foolish Pride of Lions
Neil, you are the master of the cliffhanger. I am VERY impressed at how well you end each chapter. I consider myself pretty hard to impress, but you keep doing it over and over again. :)

Author's Response: Thank you.
The fact that the early chapters alternate, so you have to wait two updates to find out what happens next may have been overdoing it. But I'm a big fan of cliffhangers.

Name: trigg (Signed) · Date: 02/15/13 5:50 · For: The Snare: Three Caged Birds
Hi again and thanks for explanation. I understand. Now it was makes sense. I will read it but as you say, not chronologically. Can I ask when you will update it?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and sorry for the delay in my reply. Personal issues have stopped me writing for the last two weeks. The next chapter is almost ready, and I’m hoping to be able to mark this story as complete by the end of April at the latest. -N-

Name: trigg (Signed) · Date: 02/14/13 21:00 · For: The Snare: Three Caged Birds

I tried to read this story but the chapters looks like doesn't in correct order. For example chapters 1,2,3,4,5,6 and seven doesn't seem continue in order. I don't really know but I think it should be 1-3- 5- 2- 4- 6 or something like that. Can you fix it or give exact sequence please? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hello.
You're the first so make this observation. The clues are in the chapter titles. If you want to read the story chronologically the chapters run: first, Introduction; second The Hunt chapters; third, Interlude; fourth, The Snare chapters; fifth, the Prey chapters.
However, I suspect that the story won't make much sense if you read it that way. I deliberately wrote it to flash back and forwards in time and some things revealed in The Hunt chapters relate to events in the Snare chapters, and to add another complication, all of the Prey chapters are happening at roughly the same time, but in different places. I know what I was trying to achieve, perhaps I've failed, but this story was not written in straight chronoligical order, and it isn't meant to be read that way.

Name: hanname (Signed) · Date: 01/15/13 14:03 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
So this is how Mark and Lavender met for the first time. It's actually really romantic. Keep writing. I love this story as much as everything else you've written. And I hope you hold on to whatever notebooks or disks you have all this planned on because when I win the lottery I want to buy them. You really manage to keep all the small details in line and never contradict yourself. Amazing! And you manage to make your male characters very real which seems to be a struggle for many authors even ones that have been published.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Yes, the events in this story are referenced in Brown, which I wrote first, but I've had this planned for a long time.The overarching what happens when is little more than a series of cells in an excel workbook. The master spreadsheet covers October 1996 (The Hufflepuff) to August 2027 (James and Me). There are more detailed sheets for my longer stories (this story is plotted on a day by day basis). As I'm male, it's the female characters which present me with most problems. :-D

Name: apemangirl (Signed) · Date: 01/07/13 17:19 · For: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit
I love the complexity of this story and the characterization. Really looking forward to more. Once its complete, I'm going to go back and read it again, just to enjoy the uninterrupted experience! Thanks - I love all your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The next chapter should be ready for my betas by the weekend (I hope) and after that there will be one (possibly two) more chapters. I hope to have it finished before Easter. -N-

Name: dawndragon2 (Signed) · Date: 12/17/12 18:42 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
I loved it looking forward to more

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. More soon. -N-

Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 12/11/12 22:10 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
Ooo great cliffie! This story has captured my attention and I eagerly await the updates. I am sure a lot of other people do too!

Author's Response: Thank you, I’m hoping to finally be able to mark this one as complete sometime early in the new year. -N-

Name: Cinderella Angelina (Signed) · Date: 12/10/12 11:50 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
I thought Mark did everything exactly right in this chapter. I love it when characters make the logical choice -- ask the receptionist out! Let go of Daphne when you grab her inappropriately! Put the card in your pocket!

I really hope Mark gets a nice date with Cara before being caught up in the Lavender whirlwind. Not too nice, though. And considering who he just ran to save from a burning building, my hopes aren't too high.

Oh yes. I also thought Mark's action to run toward the burning building was exactly right. I am so proud of him this chapter! (So, well done writing him.)

Also, for some reason I immediately understood that Erasmuson was saying to boil your head. I'm going to start calling people numpty.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Mark may regret some of his choices, but that’s life. He probably should have held on to Daphne, regardless of where he was holding, I’ve no doubt that Polly Protheroe would have.

According to my timeline it’s now March 2000, and Moon is set in March 2005, so Cara will have a nice time, and Mark will keep in touch with Rhys. Lavender has a lot of misadventures to get through, too.

I had a lot of fun writing Erasmuson, though I’m worried that a true Scot will find errors.


Name: glendora (Signed) · Date: 12/10/12 0:16 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
Oh... don't leave us hanging here long! I see how many of the story threads come together here, but there's still more... How *does* Rabastan Lestrange link to Bletchley and Greengrass (other than being Deatheaters)? I can't wait to see.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.
How related are the Hunt and Trap chapters? How much does Lestrange know about what’s going on? Next, we’re back in Edinburgh with Harry and co., and you’ll find out a little more.

Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 12/09/12 10:17 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
As always fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Name: Ruchira_M (Signed) · Date: 12/09/12 9:45 · For: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black
"daft wee blonde lassie "? I wish Luna heard that.

And finally, Mark and Lavender!

Author's Response:
Thanks. Mark obviously doesn’t keep up with who's who in the world of Potter.

Finally they meet (sort of)


Name: MaraudingMarauders (Signed) · Date: 10/30/12 19:27 · For: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting
Thanks for the update! Love keeping up with this story :-)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The end is in sight. -N-

Name: glendora (Signed) · Date: 10/18/12 23:10 · For: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting
Exciting, exciting... I hope you won't make us wait too long for the finale! This story has my vote for best post-Hogwarts chaptered story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
There are three or four chapters to go. I was hoping to get it finished by Christmas, but it may be early next year, as it seems to be growing. Thanks for the vote, too, although I didn't win (and to be honest, I'd have been astonished if I had) it was nice to be nominated.

Name: Cinderella Angelina (Signed) · Date: 10/15/12 19:35 · For: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting
I love Susan! And I love Theo, and Terry, etc. But mostly Susan. I love that she had mixed feelings about Lavender being "cured" and the possibility of her being an Auror. (Not very mixed, just the idea that Lavender would always be cheerful and would accompany her on patrol -- But Susan didn't really even seem to mind that idea.)

Theodore acted exactly as I expected him to.

Back to Susan. I love that she is responsible enough that Philippa asks her to watch out for the other, senior Aurors.

I am excited for the conclusion that I think is coming soon...

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’ve written several stories about Auror Brown, it’s about time I wrote a bit more about Auror Bones. I’m glad you enjoyed the sudden sideways move in this story. There will be more from Terry, Susan, Polly and the others soon. As for Theodore, he’ll be scuttling back into the shadows.

There will certainly be three more chapters. There may be four, but three is, I suspect, more likely.


Name: harrys_red_head_girl (Signed) · Date: 10/15/12 14:35 · For: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting
Great Chapter! I re-read the whole story yesterday so I could remember the small details. I'm glad I did because I would not have picked up on the missing fingers at the end of this chapter. Great job with the whole Susan and Terry partnership, and with Susan's thoughts on Lavender.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The man with missing fingers. :-D
You might be interested to know that the next chapter will feature Mark Moon, plus more of the Susan/Terry partnership.(And probably no Harry). -N-

You must login (register) to review.