Reviews For Hunters and Prey
Reviewer: trigg
Date: 02/15/13 5:50
Chapter: The Snare: Three Caged Birds

Hi again and thanks for explanation. I understand. Now it was makes sense. I will read it but as you say, not chronologically. Can I ask when you will update it?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and sorry for the delay in my reply. Personal issues have stopped me writing for the last two weeks. The next chapter is almost ready, and I’m hoping to be able to mark this story as complete by the end of April at the latest. -N-

Reviewer: trigg
Date: 02/14/13 21:00
Chapter: The Snare: Three Caged Birds

Hi,

I tried to read this story but the chapters looks like doesn't in correct order. For example chapters 1,2,3,4,5,6 and seven doesn't seem continue in order. I don't really know but I think it should be 1-3- 5- 2- 4- 6 or something like that. Can you fix it or give exact sequence please? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hello.
You're the first so make this observation. The clues are in the chapter titles. If you want to read the story chronologically the chapters run: first, Introduction; second The Hunt chapters; third, Interlude; fourth, The Snare chapters; fifth, the Prey chapters.
However, I suspect that the story won't make much sense if you read it that way. I deliberately wrote it to flash back and forwards in time and some things revealed in The Hunt chapters relate to events in the Snare chapters, and to add another complication, all of the Prey chapters are happening at roughly the same time, but in different places. I know what I was trying to achieve, perhaps I've failed, but this story was not written in straight chronoligical order, and it isn't meant to be read that way.
-N-

Reviewer: hanname
Date: 01/15/13 14:03
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

So this is how Mark and Lavender met for the first time. It's actually really romantic. Keep writing. I love this story as much as everything else you've written. And I hope you hold on to whatever notebooks or disks you have all this planned on because when I win the lottery I want to buy them. You really manage to keep all the small details in line and never contradict yourself. Amazing! And you manage to make your male characters very real which seems to be a struggle for many authors even ones that have been published.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Yes, the events in this story are referenced in Brown, which I wrote first, but I've had this planned for a long time.The overarching what happens when is little more than a series of cells in an excel workbook. The master spreadsheet covers October 1996 (The Hufflepuff) to August 2027 (James and Me). There are more detailed sheets for my longer stories (this story is plotted on a day by day basis). As I'm male, it's the female characters which present me with most problems. :-D
-N-

Reviewer: apemangirl
Date: 01/07/13 17:19
Chapter: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit

I love the complexity of this story and the characterization. Really looking forward to more. Once its complete, I'm going to go back and read it again, just to enjoy the uninterrupted experience! Thanks - I love all your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The next chapter should be ready for my betas by the weekend (I hope) and after that there will be one (possibly two) more chapters. I hope to have it finished before Easter. -N-

Reviewer: dawndragon2
Date: 12/17/12 18:42
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

I loved it looking forward to more
thanks

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. More soon. -N-

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 12/11/12 22:10
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

Ooo great cliffie! This story has captured my attention and I eagerly await the updates. I am sure a lot of other people do too!

Author's Response: Thank you, I’m hoping to finally be able to mark this one as complete sometime early in the new year. -N-

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 12/10/12 11:50
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

I thought Mark did everything exactly right in this chapter. I love it when characters make the logical choice -- ask the receptionist out! Let go of Daphne when you grab her inappropriately! Put the card in your pocket!

I really hope Mark gets a nice date with Cara before being caught up in the Lavender whirlwind. Not too nice, though. And considering who he just ran to save from a burning building, my hopes aren't too high.

Oh yes. I also thought Mark's action to run toward the burning building was exactly right. I am so proud of him this chapter! (So, well done writing him.)

Also, for some reason I immediately understood that Erasmuson was saying to boil your head. I'm going to start calling people numpty.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Mark may regret some of his choices, but that’s life. He probably should have held on to Daphne, regardless of where he was holding, I’ve no doubt that Polly Protheroe would have.

According to my timeline it’s now March 2000, and Moon is set in March 2005, so Cara will have a nice time, and Mark will keep in touch with Rhys. Lavender has a lot of misadventures to get through, too.

I had a lot of fun writing Erasmuson, though I’m worried that a true Scot will find errors.

-N-

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 12/10/12 0:16
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

Oh... don't leave us hanging here long! I see how many of the story threads come together here, but there's still more... How *does* Rabastan Lestrange link to Bletchley and Greengrass (other than being Deatheaters)? I can't wait to see.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.
How related are the Hunt and Trap chapters? How much does Lestrange know about what’s going on? Next, we’re back in Edinburgh with Harry and co., and you’ll find out a little more.
-N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 12/09/12 10:17
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

As always fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 12/09/12 9:45
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

"daft wee blonde lassie "? I wish Luna heard that.

And finally, Mark and Lavender!

Author's Response:
Thanks. Mark obviously doesn’t keep up with who's who in the world of Potter.

Finally they meet (sort of)

-N-

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 10/30/12 19:27
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Thanks for the update! Love keeping up with this story :-)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The end is in sight. -N-

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 10/18/12 23:10
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Exciting, exciting... I hope you won't make us wait too long for the finale! This story has my vote for best post-Hogwarts chaptered story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
There are three or four chapters to go. I was hoping to get it finished by Christmas, but it may be early next year, as it seems to be growing. Thanks for the vote, too, although I didn't win (and to be honest, I'd have been astonished if I had) it was nice to be nominated.
-N-

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 10/15/12 19:35
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

I love Susan! And I love Theo, and Terry, etc. But mostly Susan. I love that she had mixed feelings about Lavender being "cured" and the possibility of her being an Auror. (Not very mixed, just the idea that Lavender would always be cheerful and would accompany her on patrol -- But Susan didn't really even seem to mind that idea.)

Theodore acted exactly as I expected him to.

Back to Susan. I love that she is responsible enough that Philippa asks her to watch out for the other, senior Aurors.

I am excited for the conclusion that I think is coming soon...

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’ve written several stories about Auror Brown, it’s about time I wrote a bit more about Auror Bones. I’m glad you enjoyed the sudden sideways move in this story. There will be more from Terry, Susan, Polly and the others soon. As for Theodore, he’ll be scuttling back into the shadows.

There will certainly be three more chapters. There may be four, but three is, I suspect, more likely.

-N-

Reviewer: harrys_red_head_girl
Date: 10/15/12 14:35
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Great Chapter! I re-read the whole story yesterday so I could remember the small details. I'm glad I did because I would not have picked up on the missing fingers at the end of this chapter. Great job with the whole Susan and Terry partnership, and with Susan's thoughts on Lavender.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The man with missing fingers. :-D
You might be interested to know that the next chapter will feature Mark Moon, plus more of the Susan/Terry partnership.(And probably no Harry). -N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 10/14/12 14:59
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Oh finally! I love seeing the aurors in action. Loved the depiction of Nott Manor- nice touch with the dragon heads. Please update 'soon'.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
the next chapter will contain Law Office action and Auror action and will reveal a lot more about what's actually going on.
Next will (probably) be a chapter of Strangers.
-N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/14/12 13:10
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Brilliant!!! Love it!!!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 10/14/12 13:03
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

I love how you constantly add further elements to this story!

Susan as a character is fascinating, particularly her relationship with Lavender. Their dynamic is so interesting, as their so different yet really work as friends.

It was interesting to see a completely Harry-free chapter, not only did it allow you to develop characters like Susan more, but also made what they found in the flat somehow more interesting.

Looking forward to your next update :)

Fenella

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

As the story approaches its end, a move sideways. The Lavender/Susan team lets me have a lot of fun.

the next chapter may be entirely Harry-free too. It's certainly looking that way. After that, however, there will be a lot of Harry/Ginny and Ron/Hermione, and ither stuff.

-N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 10/14/12 7:56
Chapter: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit

Excellent chapter, nice to see some of your "old hands" in the Auror's Office (all OC's) in action.

Also nice shading on already your already well drawn-out minor characters Boot & Bones.

Nott was good too, I'll bet he has an autographed copy of Machiavelli's "The Prince" in his library somewhere.

I'm just wondering if Polly's warning to "be careful out there" was a reference to the American cop show Hill Street Blues. I didn't know that ever ran in England, but like most Yanks I have no idea what runs on the telly there except for the stuff that you export to us.

-M.M.-

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review

Another sideways move in the action, as various Aurors begin to play to their strengths. I had a lot of fun writing Terry and Susan (and Lavender).

I've been exploring weedy little Theodore, and I'm beginning to like him. Though the main characters don't.

Well spotted. Hill Street did show over here, and Polly is Muggle-born, and about the right age to hve watched it. Of course, no one in the office got the reference.

-N-

Reviewer: Emmasbiggestfan
Date: 09/01/12 22:47
Chapter: The Snare: Beater Grouses

I absolutely love this story!! This and strangers are my favorite, although your story james and me is really good too. But i am kinda worried... its been almost a month and a half since this or strangers was updated.. When will you be updating them!?! thanks

Author's Response: Hi.
Writing the Character Challenge stories (like James and Me) slowed me down, bu I'm now back on Strangers and this story. I'll be sending the next chapter of this to my betas very soon. Strangers will take a little longer.
-N-

Reviewer: stanzie
Date: 08/15/12 16:49
Chapter: The Snare: Beater Grouses

I think this story is one of your best works. It is obviously well thought out and planned. It takes talent to maintain the two timelines and not give too much away when jumping back and forth. The intrigue in both Harry’s solo mission and what was going on with Ginny made me yearn for each chapter.

I cannot wait to read the conclusion of this story.

Author's Response:
Thanks.

I think that it takes a touch of madness to believe that writing a story across two timelines. However, it certainly meant that I had to do a lot of very tight plotting before I started (unlike A&S, where I thought getting to the destination would be easy and I didn’t need to worry about the minor dertails).

The next chapter is 6000 words, unfinished, and doesn’t feature Harry, or Ginny, or Ron, or Hermione, or Neville, or Hannah.

-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES