Reviews For Hunters and Prey
Reviewer: Emmasbiggestfan
Date: 03/23/13 16:23
Chapter: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

This was a great chapter! The repeated cliffhanger was a really cool idea! I was so excited when I was that u had updated this story! The Phoenix idea was really cool.. What is the meaning of it being a Phoenix though?! Will it have anything to do with a live Phoenix either past or future?! Keep it up!!

Author's Response:
Thank you.

The next chapter will start at a point in chapter 15. The moment Susan and Lavender's conversation ends. I've wanted to change their Patronuses for some time. We know that they can change (because Tonks's did). I also wanted them to match (like James and Lily's). But I didn't want to simply do it, nor did I want Ginny to end up with a doe, or Harry with a stallion. The idea of them changing during a desperate shared peril seemed to me to be the best way to do it, and the phoenix has so many meanings (including never ending rebirth) I simply couldn't resist using it.

Epic reply, sorry. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 03/23/13 13:23
Chapter: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

That was a tour de force, another wonderful chapter.
Phoenix patronuses, dementor spit, dark magic what more can you ask for in a story and Harry and Ginny friends again.
Keep up the good work.

Author's Response:
Thanks, there was certainly a lot happening.
Only a couple of chapters left (unless it's ends up being three). More soon, I hope.
-N-

Reviewer: BlackAce
Date: 03/23/13 12:41
Chapter: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit

Long time reader, first time reviewer.

I just wanted to write this to thank you. I read A LOT of HP fan fiction from this site and others. There are a lot of writers and stories that I follow and love.

However, your HP world is second only to JK Rowling's. I cannot get enough of your writing. Please keep it up and thanks again.

Author's Response:
Thank you for the compliments.

When I started writing, I decided that I would write in only one canon compliiant future, and that I would take my time geting from the battle to the epilogue. Galloping through the nineteen years in one blockbuster was never an option. However I didn't realise that I'd end up writing missing moments and next-gen too. I have no plans to stop writing. I have a lot of stories to tell.

-N-

Reviewer: trigg
Date: 03/23/13 9:30
Chapter: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

Absolutely great chapter and now I don't know how I'll wait for another chapter. It's a wonderfull idea that turn their patronus to a phoenix. Thanks a lot.

Author's Response: Thank you. As it's my intention to get this story marked complete by the end of next month, I hope that you won't have long to wait. -N-

Reviewer: sam1
Date: 03/23/13 7:23
Chapter: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

Great chapter the best That i have ever read

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: SoGranola
Date: 03/16/13 16:10
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

Ahh.. Best/worst cliffhanger yet! Mostly because there's no "next" to click to keep reading! I can't wait for the next update. I read that you're hoping to have the story complete by the end of April, and I must say I'm very pleased. (If only I could convince you to work on finishing A & S next. ;) )

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The next chapter (Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited) is now back from one of my betas. I'll be readig through it over the next few days. Can I possiblu use the same cliffhanger three times in a row?
I have a ridiculous number of unfinished chaptered stories, so I've been alternating between this and "Strangers". Once H&P is finished, I'll be returning to A&S (and continuiing with Strangers.
-N-

Reviewer: SoGranola
Date: 03/15/13 23:08
Chapter: The Snare: The Foolish Pride of Lions

Neil, you are the master of the cliffhanger. I am VERY impressed at how well you end each chapter. I consider myself pretty hard to impress, but you keep doing it over and over again. :)

Author's Response: Thank you.
The fact that the early chapters alternate, so you have to wait two updates to find out what happens next may have been overdoing it. But I'm a big fan of cliffhangers.
-N-

Reviewer: trigg
Date: 02/15/13 5:50
Chapter: The Snare: Three Caged Birds

Hi again and thanks for explanation. I understand. Now it was makes sense. I will read it but as you say, not chronologically. Can I ask when you will update it?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, and sorry for the delay in my reply. Personal issues have stopped me writing for the last two weeks. The next chapter is almost ready, and I’m hoping to be able to mark this story as complete by the end of April at the latest. -N-

Reviewer: trigg
Date: 02/14/13 21:00
Chapter: The Snare: Three Caged Birds

Hi,

I tried to read this story but the chapters looks like doesn't in correct order. For example chapters 1,2,3,4,5,6 and seven doesn't seem continue in order. I don't really know but I think it should be 1-3- 5- 2- 4- 6 or something like that. Can you fix it or give exact sequence please? Thanks.

Author's Response: Hello.
You're the first so make this observation. The clues are in the chapter titles. If you want to read the story chronologically the chapters run: first, Introduction; second The Hunt chapters; third, Interlude; fourth, The Snare chapters; fifth, the Prey chapters.
However, I suspect that the story won't make much sense if you read it that way. I deliberately wrote it to flash back and forwards in time and some things revealed in The Hunt chapters relate to events in the Snare chapters, and to add another complication, all of the Prey chapters are happening at roughly the same time, but in different places. I know what I was trying to achieve, perhaps I've failed, but this story was not written in straight chronoligical order, and it isn't meant to be read that way.
-N-

Reviewer: hanname
Date: 01/15/13 14:03
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

So this is how Mark and Lavender met for the first time. It's actually really romantic. Keep writing. I love this story as much as everything else you've written. And I hope you hold on to whatever notebooks or disks you have all this planned on because when I win the lottery I want to buy them. You really manage to keep all the small details in line and never contradict yourself. Amazing! And you manage to make your male characters very real which seems to be a struggle for many authors even ones that have been published.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Yes, the events in this story are referenced in Brown, which I wrote first, but I've had this planned for a long time.The overarching what happens when is little more than a series of cells in an excel workbook. The master spreadsheet covers October 1996 (The Hufflepuff) to August 2027 (James and Me). There are more detailed sheets for my longer stories (this story is plotted on a day by day basis). As I'm male, it's the female characters which present me with most problems. :-D
-N-

Reviewer: apemangirl
Date: 01/07/13 17:19
Chapter: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit

I love the complexity of this story and the characterization. Really looking forward to more. Once its complete, I'm going to go back and read it again, just to enjoy the uninterrupted experience! Thanks - I love all your stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The next chapter should be ready for my betas by the weekend (I hope) and after that there will be one (possibly two) more chapters. I hope to have it finished before Easter. -N-

Reviewer: dawndragon2
Date: 12/17/12 18:42
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

I loved it looking forward to more
thanks

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. More soon. -N-

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 12/11/12 22:10
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

Ooo great cliffie! This story has captured my attention and I eagerly await the updates. I am sure a lot of other people do too!

Author's Response: Thank you, I’m hoping to finally be able to mark this one as complete sometime early in the new year. -N-

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 12/10/12 11:50
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

I thought Mark did everything exactly right in this chapter. I love it when characters make the logical choice -- ask the receptionist out! Let go of Daphne when you grab her inappropriately! Put the card in your pocket!

I really hope Mark gets a nice date with Cara before being caught up in the Lavender whirlwind. Not too nice, though. And considering who he just ran to save from a burning building, my hopes aren't too high.

Oh yes. I also thought Mark's action to run toward the burning building was exactly right. I am so proud of him this chapter! (So, well done writing him.)

Also, for some reason I immediately understood that Erasmuson was saying to boil your head. I'm going to start calling people numpty.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Mark may regret some of his choices, but that’s life. He probably should have held on to Daphne, regardless of where he was holding, I’ve no doubt that Polly Protheroe would have.

According to my timeline it’s now March 2000, and Moon is set in March 2005, so Cara will have a nice time, and Mark will keep in touch with Rhys. Lavender has a lot of misadventures to get through, too.

I had a lot of fun writing Erasmuson, though I’m worried that a true Scot will find errors.

-N-

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 12/10/12 0:16
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

Oh... don't leave us hanging here long! I see how many of the story threads come together here, but there's still more... How *does* Rabastan Lestrange link to Bletchley and Greengrass (other than being Deatheaters)? I can't wait to see.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.
How related are the Hunt and Trap chapters? How much does Lestrange know about what’s going on? Next, we’re back in Edinburgh with Harry and co., and you’ll find out a little more.
-N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 12/09/12 10:17
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

As always fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 12/09/12 9:45
Chapter: Prey: Welsh Green and Hebridean Black

"daft wee blonde lassie "? I wish Luna heard that.

And finally, Mark and Lavender!

Author's Response:
Thanks. Mark obviously doesn’t keep up with who's who in the world of Potter.

Finally they meet (sort of)

-N-

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 10/30/12 19:27
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Thanks for the update! Love keeping up with this story :-)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The end is in sight. -N-

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 10/18/12 23:10
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

Exciting, exciting... I hope you won't make us wait too long for the finale! This story has my vote for best post-Hogwarts chaptered story.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
There are three or four chapters to go. I was hoping to get it finished by Christmas, but it may be early next year, as it seems to be growing. Thanks for the vote, too, although I didn't win (and to be honest, I'd have been astonished if I had) it was nice to be nominated.
-N-

Reviewer: Cinderella Angelina
Date: 10/15/12 19:35
Chapter: Prey: Badger and Raven Go Hunting

I love Susan! And I love Theo, and Terry, etc. But mostly Susan. I love that she had mixed feelings about Lavender being "cured" and the possibility of her being an Auror. (Not very mixed, just the idea that Lavender would always be cheerful and would accompany her on patrol -- But Susan didn't really even seem to mind that idea.)

Theodore acted exactly as I expected him to.

Back to Susan. I love that she is responsible enough that Philippa asks her to watch out for the other, senior Aurors.

I am excited for the conclusion that I think is coming soon...

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’ve written several stories about Auror Brown, it’s about time I wrote a bit more about Auror Bones. I’m glad you enjoyed the sudden sideways move in this story. There will be more from Terry, Susan, Polly and the others soon. As for Theodore, he’ll be scuttling back into the shadows.

There will certainly be three more chapters. There may be four, but three is, I suspect, more likely.

-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Green Knight Rises by Kerichi 6th-7th Years
In Creevey Wizard Comics, the Green Knight aids those in need under the cloak...
Somebody Like You by Kerichi 6th-7th Years
After tea leaves predict romance for Snape, he makes a mocking wish on a...
The Plight of the Portrait by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 1st-2nd Years
You should never cross a Weasley-Malfoy duo. Gargarus the Third learns it...
FEATURED
Wild Card by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
It was going to happen eventually: Oliver Wood had to retire. But when the decision...
Half-life by welshdevondragon 3rd-5th Years
Neville has the rest of his life ahead of him, but all he can do is look back...
Skinny Love by xxbabewithbrainsxx 6th-7th Years
“I’ve always been chubby. Admit it.” “You’ve never been skinny...
Tigerlily by Maple_and_PheonixFeather 3rd-5th Years
You promised yourself you'd never hurt her, but there are times when you wonder...
Astriferous by Padfoot11333 6th-7th Years
Merope Gaunt has never been celestial.Nominated for a 2014 QSQ - Best Dark/Angst. Nominated...
CATEGORIES