Reviews For Centuries
Reviewer: nayin
Date: 10/13/11 18:45
Chapter: Centuries

I love this tho you've made me cry. I really hate tthe thought of harry and ginny dying but you made it so romantic. You're such a good writer. Oh and I love the ending.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Romantic centenarians, it happens. :-D -N-

Reviewer: locanena
Date: 10/11/11 23:12
Chapter: Centuries

OMG! Beautiful

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 10/10/11 3:17
Chapter: Centuries

I'll tell what it is!! It's BRILLIANT! I love it!!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. -N-

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 10/09/11 3:36
Chapter: Centuries

I absolutely loved the last scene in Kings Cross Station. It made me think of the chapter in Deathly Hallows but now more romantic because Ginny was there. I can't believe Hermione had to endure 12 years without Ron...so sad : (

Author's Response: Thanks.
Once I'd decided where this was going, the final scene at King's Cross was decided for me. In fact King's Cross was finished before both Ynys Môn and Death.
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 10/09/11 3:18
Chapter: Centuries

HI Neil,

While you are whistling innocently (or not so innocently (haha), might I note that you were the one who brought up Violet in your response to my review. Though I was thinking about mentioning her.

As the only other fictional Violet that comes to mind is the not often used character in PEANUTS, I think we are all going with the young Ms Moon as Al's Violet.

I must also raise the question: Does the Potter's secret come out or is there more to a member of the Charlton family that has yet to be revealed??? hmmm. My theory that I touched on in one of my STRANGES reviews

Can't wait for more!!
Edyeb.

Author's Response:
Edyeb

There is a long way to go before I write any next-gen.

Does the Potters secret come out? I'm not telling. Is it important that I can tell you that in October 2011 Henry John Charlton is 6, his sister (Annabel Kaye) is 4, and that both Violet Lillith Moon and Florence (Flossie) Longbottom are 2?
-N-

Reviewer: loveismagicharry
Date: 10/09/11 0:59
Chapter: Centuries

I can honestly say that this story brought tears to my eyes.

Never do I want to think about Harry dying.

But I've always believed that when that time comes, it will be with Ginny.

Thank you for a beautiful story.



Author's Response: Thank you for the review.
This story came about simply because I tried to write 100 words. A century became time and I started thinking about death.
I agree with you about Ginny.
-N-

Reviewer: Amelia_Bones
Date: 10/08/11 20:18
Chapter: Centuries

I hadn't picked up on the Annie Charlton reference as another astute reviewer below did. Very clever. I guess the Potter's secret comes out. One nitpicky bit. Shouldn't the teenage girl Hermione spoke to have been a great-great-grandaughter? I think of generations as being approx. 20 yrs apart especially in the wizarding world. They seem to have kids fairly young. Dunno. Perhaps one of your Potters bucked the trend along the way. Nice job, as usual. I cried again.

Author's Response: Annie is a common name, isn't it? **Whistles innocently and wonders why no one has asked about Violet.**
Ginny was 23 when James was born and 26 when Lily was born (I did the maths). Her brother Bill had his first child at 29. Assuming the same spread (especially as I know how old James and Al’s wives are) she’d be a Granny at 46-58, a great-grandmother at 69-87 and a great-great-grandmother at 92-116. There are probably a few great-great grandchildren toddling around. The unnamed teen is the youngest great-grandchild.
-N-

Reviewer: Amelia_Bones
Date: 10/08/11 4:16
Chapter: Centuries

Very original.
Dammit you made me cry!!

Author's Response: Thanks
I can't say sorry, because that was, in part, the intention.
-N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 10/07/11 15:48
Chapter: Centuries

I was really moved by this. It really brought everything full ciricle. King's Cross was a brilliant way to go, for lack of a better word. Harry's lived a good life, a full life. It brought tears to my eyes. I feel sad for Hermione. The last of the four.
I love your stories. You always manage to pull them off brilliant and capture the essence of everything that Jo has created. Thanks for that.
- K

Author's Response: Thanks again :-D -N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 10/07/11 15:44
Chapter: Centuries

I was really moved by this. It really brought everything full ciricle. King's Cross was a brilliant way to go, for lack of a better word. Harry's lived a good life, a full life. It brought tears to my eyes. I feel sad for Hermione. The last of the four.
I love your stories. You always manage to pull them off brilliant and capture the essence of everything that Jo has created. Thanks for that.
- K

Author's Response: Thanks for the review(s)
I always knew that the final section would be Harry and Ginny a King's Cross. I'm certain that JKR wants a good life for Harry and his friends and I try my best to keep to JKR's vision, to capture the essence, as you say. Thank you.
-N-

Reviewer: phillipcrain
Date: 10/07/11 5:24
Chapter: Centuries

it's here....and it's good!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 10/06/11 23:05
Chapter: Centuries

This is so sad!! :( But it was a great way to see where your interpretation of the Potterverse goes :)

Author's Response: Thanks. This is, I suppose, my “nineteen years later” although it’s actually eighty-four years later. -N-

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 10/06/11 22:37
Chapter: Centuries

Neil, that was really lovely. I had no idea what to expect, really, and this is so sad I find myself quite choked up here at the end. The progression of scenes is well done and so touching. The end at King's Cross was brilliant. I feel so sad right now even though it was really sweet for Harry and Ginny. Great job!
~Gina

Author's Response: Gina
Thanks for the review.
Writing exactly 100 words proved to be harder than I expected. From the moment I wrote the first part I knew that there had to be more, and I knew that I was going to finish at Kings Cross. -N-

Reviewer: bk64
Date: 10/06/11 21:32
Chapter: Centuries

I thought I'd be sad. Thought i'd be in tears. But I wasn't. Lives lived to the full and died in peace and happiness need no tears. Thank you, that was beautifully written

Author's Response: Thank you for such a lovely observation. -N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 10/06/11 19:53
Chapter: Centuries

Ditto to everything Katrina said.

While I didn't tear up, if you write Ron's last days, the tears will fall.

I must say, that in the Drakehaugh Series, I had been shipping Al and Annie, I guess I was wrong. But now we have your backstories for those relationships to look forward to at some time.

I am still trying to figure out which of Gwenog's relations Lily married.

Again a WONDERFUL addition to your cannon.

Edyeb

Author's Response: Edyeb
Thanks for the review
I hadn’t thought about writing Ron, because I rarely set my stories beyond “now” (currently October 2011). My only other future set story is the Augusta Longbottom chapter of “Tales of the Battle”, although my next one-shot “Owl Post” takes place in July 2016.
What makes you think it’s the same Annie (or the same Violet for that matter). As for Lily, she lives in Wales and Jones is the most common Welsh name.
-N-

Reviewer: crazybets
Date: 10/06/11 18:30
Chapter: Centuries

One word:

AMAZING again!

Like always: love your writings

Author's Response: Thank you.
Next: Owl Post.
-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 10/06/11 12:55
Chapter: Centuries

I love alll your stories but that's the first time you've made me cry!

Author's Response: Thanks (as always) for the review.
Crying is good, isn’t it? Getting an emotional response from my readers is always good. It’s certainly better than being called names!
-N-

Reviewer: PoP97
Date: 10/06/11 10:44
Chapter: Centuries

god, this is sad, but it's said so delicatly...it's nice reading, even though it skips some stuff =) good work!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Restricting myself to one hundred word chapters forced me to brevity. But this is, ultimately, where all my stories will lead.
-N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 10/06/11 9:30
Chapter: Centuries

When I saw the summary for this, I clicked somewhat reluctantly, expecting it to be lots of sentimental and overly fluffy moments from Harry and Ginny's married life. Seeing your name next to it, I should have known better, because it's not that at all. It certainly has some sentimental and fluffy elements, but never too much.

Firstly, I think it's amazing that you managed to write ten sections of exactly 100 words without any of the sections feeling abrupt. It gives the story an almost poetic feel.

I adored this line - it's just so Ginny. ‘She’s been married to him for more than three-quarters of a century, and despite being ancient, she’s neither deaf, nor daft,’ Ginny said firmly. ‘Harry Potter collapsing in the street will always be news.’. This story certainly had its amusing lines - like that one - but I was also on the verge of tears. I loved the idea that each of their children were living in one of the places that was important to them.

It’s hard, but no one lives forever. I made certain of that. - I loved that Harry said this to Lily, because I think it really shows his character - after what he learnt, no matter how tempting it might be to want to live longer, he knows that he can't.

I loved the way you used King's Cross at the end, and the idea of catching trains, from DH. It was just the perfect end to this.

I'm not quite sure how you'd describe this either, but "self-indulgent nonsense" certainly wouldn't be my words. It was very poignant, moving and well-written (and of course well-characterised, as your stories always are).

I think I felt the saddest for Hermione, the last of their friends to be alive. Anyway, I'll leave this here. Great story.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Katrina
Thanks for the review.
I seem to be drawn to writing fluff, but I try to fight against it. Every single chapter was rewritten dozens of times to get the word count right. Dialogue tags are the first things to go, they only stay when they are essential.
Somehow, writing one hundred words became writing about one hundred years. You’ve chosen to highlight my favourite line of Ginny dialogue and my favourite line of Harry’s too. I’m sure Harry’s views wouldn’t change, and the fact that he took a short visit to Kings Cross would help him cope.
I feel sorry for Hermione, too.
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES