MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: GnarlyGnome (Signed) · Date: 12/04/15 13:25 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle
"A lesson learned in failure."
Thank you for taking this deep Half-Blood Princess. I loved it. So much food for thought in considering the many and varied failures here. Failure of so many individuals as parents, societal authorities, and just as kids becoming people.
True, Tom's family failed in raising an ethical person much as their parents and family had; but as intelligent as Tom was and with other models of behavior available the ultimate failure was his in choosing to be the way he was. Thanks again for a well written story with excellent characterization and a glimpse of that character developing into a deep, thoughtful person.

Name: PhoenixTears17 (Signed) · Date: 06/02/12 20:01 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle

Name: Aquamarine39 (Signed) · Date: 04/25/12 11:52 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle
This whole series is brilliant. Nothing else to say.

Name: annegirl_shruti (Signed) · Date: 10/23/11 12:02 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle

I'm sorry.....but I can't imagine Harry thinking of Ginny as "my sweet"....... :P

Anyhow I love the naturalness of the epitaph...... :D

Author's Response: Don't apologise - we all have different views of the characters, which is what makes fanfiction so brilliantly diverse! I'm glad you enjoyed the epitaph, (barring those two words :P), and thank you for the review.

Name: FwooperFeathers (Signed) · Date: 10/17/11 2:15 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle
I think he should have put Baldemort.

Author's Response:

Author's Response: ZOMG that's a good one!

Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 10/10/11 3:30 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, glad you liked this!

Name: Thestral Wings (Signed) · Date: 10/06/11 21:13 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle
I've been following your epitaph series for a few months, and I have to say I am a fan. It is such a creative approach to our favorite series. This one particularly struck me, not so much by Harry's final word selection (though it was profound) but by the thought process you took Harry through. It was so realistic and flowed from one thought to the next seemlessly. Thank you for the great read!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review, I'm glad you've enjoyed the series!

Name: The_Real_Hermione (Signed) · Date: 10/06/11 7:19 · For: An Epitaph - Tom Marvolo Riddle
I have enjoyed all your Epitaph stories sofar, and this one really measured up. I think you've really nailed the internal monologue style of writing - this feels like a really natural flow of ideas.

I'm also very impressed with the Epitaph you actually came up with - as Harry says in this story, it's hard to know how to sum up the life of a man whom everybody hated, without being hateful yourself.

But I think the most poignant part of this story was this - he made me who I am today. Without him, I’d be nothing. - I think Harry begins to come to this realisation in OotP, when he understands that he's not fighting Voldemort because of the prophecy, but because he couldn't bear himself if he didn't. Anyway, I'm going on a bit of a tangent here, but I think that is so true, because without ever meaning, Voldemort actually gave Harry a lot (obviously he also took a lot).

I also loved this paragraph. - Statistics, perhaps? The amount of people he killed? But would that be the amount he killed personally or the amount he was responsible for killing? And what about the people whose lives were ruined? How do you measure the worth of a life? Do you count Muggles as well as Wizards? Creatures as well as humans? Would you count the Death Eaters forced into his service? - I think this really shows the scope of the impact Voldemort has had, and it was really effective to do it through questions.

Your list of possible Epitaphs, as always, occasionally brought a smile to my face. Even though in his internal monologue, Harry thinks Dumbledore would want something like "Head Boy", I think what Harry actually chose would also be what Dumbledore would want, because Dumbledore is all about learning from others, and I don't think he would want anyone to pretend that Voldemort was anything other than he was.

Another well-written story, I'm looking forward to Fred's!


Author's Response: Thank you for your review (yet again), I think I've come to look forward to reading them. I hate to burst your bubble, but this is less of a mastery, and more that I think like Harry instead. I'm glad you liked the Without him, I'd be nothing. line, I debated with myself whether or not to include it for some time. I completely agree with you about the things that Voldemort gave to Harry, he would have been a completely different Harry had Voldemort not existed. The Statistics was really a bit of a joke for a friend of mine who claims that I only deal in melodrama, as I've always imagined that Voldemort would have affected the Wizarding World in a much larger way than he is seen to in the books, and at some point I'm sure there'll be at least a One-Shot with a more intelligent Voldemort posted by me. As to your point on Dumbledore, he's always struck me to be a second-chance time of guy. I honestly think that if Voldemort had turned up at Hogwarts, poked himself in the eyes, and told Dumbledore he was sorry with tears in his eyes that Dumbledore would have forgiven him, but that's just me. Fred's Epitaph has been posted, and is awaiting validation, so keep your eyes peeled! I look forward to the next review (hopefully!).

You must login (register) to review.