Reviews For The Hufflepuff
Reviewer: sejackson91
Date: 02/27/14 15:50
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

I love the world you've created and how all of your stories wind together. It's only because I'm rereading some of them today that I noticed the connection between this and killers. Subtle connections like that always make me happy.
Sarah

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The person appearing in those two stories also appears in the Lavender story Troth, and one day you'll find out a lot more about her.
-N-

Reviewer: SoGranola
Date: 03/22/13 1:32
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

I really liked this. I'm wondering if Hannah ever finds out the truth. Is that coming in a future story?

Author's Response: Thanks. Interestingly, I’ve just had an idea for the next part of this story. -N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 06/26/12 13:20
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

Fine. I hereby declare you my official post-Rowling canon source. Whatever you say happened in the post-war Potterverse happened. As far as I am concerned. Hunters, Strangers, Aurors & SchoolGirl & the countdown to wedding story with the Spenserian title- please update them. At least one of them. It's my birthday next week, pretty please?

Author's Response: Thank you.
This story actually happens before and During DH. :-D The title may be Spenserian, but I was led to it via Dorothy L Sayers. It's possible that I'll have the next chapter of H&P ready for next week. I'll see what I can do.
-N-

Reviewer: Ruchira_M
Date: 06/25/12 14:31
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

Piers Parkinson? What happened to him, eventually? Moldyshorts takes over soon so... Brilliant writing by the way. If this story has a follow-up please let me know.

Author's Response: You'll eventually fond out what happens to Pansy's Dad, but not for a while. There is no follow up, not yet. -N-

Reviewer: ckwright51
Date: 05/06/12 19:18
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

Great story I'm planning on working each in order so I assume we will see how Parkinson fits into the grand scheme of things

Author's Response: Thanks. Parkinson? You would think you'd be able to find out about Parkinson, wouldn't you? I really must do something about that. -N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 12/18/11 7:55
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

This was brilliant. The minute details that you have added to Hannah Abbott's story is amazing. I really liked this. True to the title, Hannah is a true Hufflepuff,extremely hard working and persevering. Great job!

Author's Response: Thanks. I have ideas for more Hannah, and Hannah/Neville stories. It's simply finding the time to write them. at least I now know how Hannah ended up as a barmaid. -N-

Reviewer: Evora
Date: 11/19/11 2:49
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

What a great read. I think this is actually my first time venturing into the Mystery genre, and I’m glad I did. I’ve never really been a fan of crime fics, but I think you’ve halfway converted me. Your apt and flow-y writing was certainly absorbing; the descriptions (like the surroundings of the farms and the way Knowe Place looked like) was very clear and concise. I’m glad that it didn’t take me more than one try to picture the place. It usually takes me three times to picture it perfectly, whether or not there are enough substance to go by. In this story, there definitely was a lot of substance. It wasn’t overly descriptive, something that I get annoyed at because when something is described too much, it typically goes off to other topics.

I have to say, your writing is extremely mesmerizing. I loved how each scene flowed perfectly to the next, no awkwardness or abruptness. There wasn’t any slamming of doors to the face. More like a gentle opening of a window. Like I said, the writing is mesmerizing. It made me fully absorbed to Hannah’s dilemma and made the time go faster. I was intimidated by the length at first, but that quickly went to the back of my mind.

Besides adoring your writing, I think I adore the way you wrote Hannah the most. Her gentle, yet adamant nature is like a water break for me. I’ve grown tired of the demanding natures of Gryffindors and the slick, threatening temperament of Slytherins. Ravenclaws are as underestimated as Hufflepuff but not quite so. Yes, I think Hufflepuff will be my favourite now. I love how Hannah can be fully seen as a Hufflepuff here, especially in how she truly believes that her House is the best of all. Her sense of pride and determination is contagious; it affected me to the point that it made me want to do all my homeworks due this week. But really, Hannah is a great character here. My favourite scene is where she realizes she can use Gabe’s infatuation of her to find out about her mother’s freelance writings to Witch Weekly. In my opinion, it’s quite an underhanded tactic, and I can almost say it’s rather a Slytherin thing to do.

Besides Hannah, I loved every other character involved in the story. Auror Webb was such an understanding man, and in the part where he draws the line between sympathy and professionalism was a great way to describe his fatherly sympathies to Hannah. I guess he could imagine losing his wife, then later on as he advises Hannah not to delve in the matter any further, he can imagine losing a daughter as well. It was an unexpected, heart-warming scene as I thought that the Auror incharge would be insensitive, because that’s normally how the cops go in the movie…

And of course, how could I forgot Hannah’s father? It seems as if Hannah got her traits more from her father from what I can infer. I mean, he’s a pureblood (assuming he is because Uncle Peter called his wife a Mudblood) who married a Muggle-born. There goes the loyalty. Then there’s the strong hold he kept of Hannah as if not to fall down during the funeral. There goes the phrase ‘unafraid of toil.’ That just reminded me how Hannah kept a strong face when she realized she got lost in Knockturn Alley. Most of all, I loved how her father expressed his feelings as a father of a daughter. He recognizes the fact that Hannah will get swept away by some bloke and she’ll be taken away from him.

The plot was very intriguing. I think the plot was the crown in this story; the sequencing drove the whole thing to a climatic pace, and it’s sad to see that I won’t know the end of it till you write a sequel. The minor characters concerning Hannah’s mother’s death were fascinating touches to the plot, and you delivered their actions well. I can infer their motives from there and maybe, just maybe, my predictions would be right. I hope to see a sequel to this because I truly enjoyed reading this!

Author's Response:
Thanks for the long and detailed review. I’ll try to do it justice.

I’ve always seen the Potter books as mystery/adventure stories. From who is trying to steal the Philosopher’s Stone to where did Voldemort hide the Horcruxes, they are primarily puzzle stories. I believe that’s why blokes (like me) enjoy them.

I set a lot of my stories in northern England and southern Scotland because I know the area well and that helps my descriptions. Using real places (and often twisting them) is useful. I try to achieve a sense of place and it’s nice to be told I’ve succeeded. My one-shots vary in length from 1500 words to almost 10000. This is one of the longer ones. I did consider splitting this into three chapters (in a way, I did) but it was written for a challenge deadline so it had to be submitted as a one-shot.

I sometimes think that the House labels are restricting. In one of my other stories Luna tells Ron “You want become an Auror. Why? Are you doing it because you are brave, or cunning, or clever, or simply hard-working? It’s easy to add the House-label afterwards.”

All of my stories take place at points along the same future timeline, I mention that because of Aloysius J Webb (who is regarded by some of his colleagues as over-sensitive). I have several original characters who reappear in my stories, Al Webb is one of them (he gets a chapter of “Tales of the Battle” to himself – as does Hannah).

Hannah’s dad sprang from the hills where I put the family. The minute I decided to put them in the Pennine hills then the hardworking Hufflepuff became a hill farmer. Up at dawn, in bed at dusk, taking care of his beasts.

Al Webb’s summary of events is remarkably accurate and there are a few bits in this story which tie in to one of my others. The sequel to this is being planned, and it will almost certainy be a Hannah/Neville story.

If you’re interested Hannah appears in “Fred and George’s Busy Day”, “Tales of the Battle” and “Mistletoe Kisses”. If you’re interested in reading about a Slytherin original character then I’d be interested to hear what you think about “Summer of ’97, which is set on the eastern side if these same hills.

Thanks.

-N-

Reviewer: Brennus
Date: 10/25/11 12:01
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

I've read just about everything you have written on this site but somehow this story managed to pass me by. I work for a firm that provides finance to the agricultural sector so was fascinated with the idea of a wizard farming family. It got me thinking how magic would help the running of a mixed livestock farm in Cumbria and I came to the conclusion that aside from some basics that it would not change how the farm was run a great deal. Of course all sorts of questions then sprang up, do they sell stock to just the magical world or the muggle market as well? Would they need to keep the extensive records that all livestock operators keep? Would magic help with veterinary practices? Etc, etc.
I guess half the fun of JKR’s world is how it intertwines with our world. How great is it that a farmer could really be a wizard or a bar-maid a witch (actually I’ve known several bar-maids who would love to be witches which may say something about the type of pub I drink in).
Anyway, great little story and I look forward to Hannah’s continued attempts at getting to the bottom of her mother’s death. It must be very hard for you to decide which story to continue with next and I probably won’t help by saying all of them! (That said can’t wait for the next part of A&S).

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This story was written for a challenge on the forums, although I’d been considering Hannah’s place in my timeline for a while. I try to keep my stories local (or vaguely local). I’ve used the Borders, southern Scotland and Teesdale, so the Cumbrian side of the Pennines was obvious for me. I’m no farmer, but I’ve dealt with several and I hope that I haven’t made any major errors in jargon. I’ve made Hannah a fairly decent Healer in some of my stories. She probably got her practice on livestock (but I don’t suppose she’ll have told people about that). I had to get her into the bar young, because she’s there in “Fred and George’s Busy Day.

There will be more Hannah. I’ve (horror!) just submitted chapter 1 of yet another chaptered story (Hunters and Prey – it’s H/G, but rather darker than my other stuff). The final chapter of Drakeshaugh Dragon and chapter 10 of Strangers at Drakeshaugh are both with my betas. There will be more Moons soon, too. A&S, unfortunately, is undergoing a complete rewrite. :-( I need to make some major changes to the next chapter.

-N-

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 10/24/11 16:04
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

I started reading Strangers in Drakeshaugh and realize through the reviews that you had written other related stories, so I thought I would give it a go.

You show Hannah as tenacious, but also brave as a Gryffindor (going to Knockturn Alley) Clever as a Ravenclaw (no where might be Knowe Place) and even wily as a Slytherin (reasoning that she is only 20 months away from her 18th birthday).--qualities of all 4 houses.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
If you've read my Author page you'll know that all of my stories take place along the same timeline.
Hannah, a nervous girl who had a panic attack during her OWLs, joined Dumbledore's army, fought at Hogwarts, and attracted the attention of that bravest of Gryffindors, Neville Longbottom. She became a pub landlady too. I'm a fan of Hannah.
-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 09/27/11 9:42
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

Good to learn more about Hannah.
Love the way your stories all fit together.
Must go back now and read the earlier ones that include Hannah at the Leaky Cauldron.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
This has made me want to write another Hannah story. It will have to wait.
-N-

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 09/21/11 12:02
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

Hi Neil. :) I quite liked this. You have such a good grasp of your own canon--the steps Hannah walked along to get her from where Rowling left her to the place we know she wound up. Well done, and good luck for the challenge.

Oh, and why the vampire? Just for creepiness? That chick made my skin crawl. *shudders*

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. :D
This is now the earliest story in my chronology (apart from a flashback scene in Mistletoe Kisses). Getting Hannah to The Cauldron was easy, resolving her tragedy is a story for another day. Thanks for the good wishes, you're in too (as were both of my beta-readers) so, good luck Lori, Alex an Soraya.
You don't like Camelia Tepes? Oh good, I have plans for her... ;-)
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 09/21/11 9:12
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

YEAH!! Neville and Hannah are wonderful!!!

Never did like Romilda.
Edyeb

Author's Response: Thanks.
The entire point of Romilda (and Pansy, Draco, McLaggen etc. is that you aren't supposed to like them :D
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 09/20/11 19:56
Chapter: The Hufflepuff

Started this one earlier at work on the iphone and will finish it shortly.

First, thanks for a PUFF story!! ;) from the Hufflepuff Common Room on Pottermore. I posted that this story was there, but as is everything on Pottermore right now, it's being moderated: it may post in a week or so, but I will keep trying.

I think my favorite part other than having a story about Hannah's mom's death, is the way you are tying this into A&S, Fred and George's Busy Day. Can't wait to get to the end to see if Mistiletoe Kisses gets a refrence somehow.

Will review again after reading the whole thing.

Is the Vampire the one that keeps niggling your plot bunnies for the Vamp story you keep hinting at??? I'm a Transylvania University grad (class of 1990) so I am always interested in a good vampire tale. Real place in Lexington KY.
Edyeb

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Ive had a Hannah story in the back of my mind ever since I wrote Fred and Georges Busy Day and Mistletoe Kisses. This story about Nevilles favourite Hufflepuff needed very little thinking about. The links to A&S were definitely deliberate. Its a pity that no one has thought to speak to Hannah.
I have a rough draft of a fluffy one-shot called The Professor and his Landlady which I keep tinkering with. So there will be more Hannah.
I have plans for Camelia Tepes (the vampire) and she will appear in "the vampire story", which is now called MIT: Exsanguination (it is: Brown, Bones, Beadle, Mark Moon, vampire, Whitby and London). Unfortunately, that story will be multi-chapter and Im not starting another chaptered fic until I finish A&S (early next year I hope).
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES