Reviewer: kittycartwheel
Date: 07/03/12 3:41
Chapter: (Whispers)

"the lie slides off your tongue like honey but doesn’t taste as sweet. "
YOU HAVE SUCH A WAY WITH WORDS. I love you. The way you write is lyrical.

Author's Response: Thank you! I love YOU for leaving this review! Wow, this made my morning :). Thanks again. xx Ariana

Reviewer: midnight_marauder
Date: 09/27/11 7:05
Chapter: (Whispers)

I love looking into what the lives of the Lestrange Sisters might have been like, i like this dimension of it :)

Author's Response: I find them incredibly interesting as well :). Thank you so much for reviewing! xx Ariana

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 09/17/11 1:35
Chapter: (Whispers)

I just read the other reviews and I completely agree... I don't even know what to say. This is brilliant. More than brilliant.

I loved your interpretation of Narcissa and her relationship with Andromeda - so often Narcissa is just a whiny child, and it was very interesting to see so much more of her. I also thought your Andromeda was great, and different - she's often depicted as a keep-your-head-down-and-follow-the-rules sort of character, but she is a Black and it was great to see some of those characteristics coming out.

The scene with Andromeda and Rodolphus was just so well-written... it's so disturbing and horrible that she had to go through that... and the writing is just brilliant.

The second person in this is absolutely fantastic - often it can feel stilted or unnatural, but it's just absolutely perfect for this story. It's almost like Narcissa is saying to the reader 'if you had been in my position, would you have acted any differently?'.

I apologise that this isn't a really coherent and long review, which this story really deserves, but I don't think it would be possible to find anything bad about it, so you can just take it that I love everything about it.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Thank you for such a beautiful review! I'm glad you liked the characters and the second person - especially second person coming from Narcissa's point of view, seeing as she's a character not many people like. I agonized over the Andromeda/Rodolphous scene, because I've never written anything like it before and I was trying to treat it very carefully. Your review was coherent and long and it made my day! Thanks again xx Ariana

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 09/16/11 20:46
Chapter: (Whispers)

I don't even know what to say, Ariana. I think this is so brilliant, in so many ways. What an incredible interpretation of the banner, and you've written the story so powerfully. I love everything about it, and my already-substantial respect for your writing has soared to even greater heights. Just, wow. Thanks for this. ~ Lori

Author's Response: Thank YOU for that incredibly sweet review! It makes me so happy to hear that you've liked it - I've missed you since the Missing Moments class! Thanks again for reviewing :) xx Ariana

Reviewer: proud_to_be_a_muggle
Date: 09/16/11 14:19
Chapter: (Whispers)

I thought this was really good and you got their personalities down really well

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you thought their personalities were captured nicely :). xx Ariana

Reviewer: Karaley Dargen
Date: 09/15/11 13:30
Chapter: (Whispers)

Wow. I've rarely (maybe never) read a oneshot that wowed me this much. I don't even have a lot of words for it... Uhm. I didn't notice the second person at all – it just all flowed so smoothly! And oh the topic. So painfully believable! I quite like the Narcissa you show here. It's all so... real. Can you tell I'm lost for words? This is excellent. Really, really great.

Author's Response: Yay! I'm so very happy that you liked this oneshot, and that the second person was barely noticeable (I probably got a few grey hairs worrying about that last one). Thank you for this lovely review, Kara! It means so much coming from my Head of House :). xx Ariana

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 09/15/11 13:22
Chapter: (Whispers)

Wow. Uhm. Ah. You know ... Actually... No... See, the thing is ... Oh it's ... I HAVE NOTHING ON MY MIND THAT COULD PROPERLY DESCRIBE THE FANTASTICNESS THIS IS! :O

So, so intense and sad and painful and frustrating and moving. Oh gods, you have no idea what I want to do with the culprit right now.

And! I have always found the relationship between Narcissa and Andromeda intriguing! Although in my version, they aren't this close, I think your story does give a plausible reason for them moving further apart. Andromeda is a black and will know how to hold a grudge, and Narcissa will slowly grow into the self-centered woman we know. What a loss! :/

This does justice to the fabulous banner. I must say that I was eyeing it and had planned to claim it from the start, but nothing I could have written would have been better than this. Amazing work, Ariana! Good luck!

~Natalie

Author's Response: I know, Rodolphous is quite the b@stard, isn't he? I got so angry while writing him. Before I wrote this I didn't see Narcissa and Andromeda as being very close, either, but the idea of them having such a tight bond and then having it be broken was just more dramatically tragic ;). Thank you so much for your review, Natalie. xx Ariana

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/15/11 12:01
Chapter: (Whispers)

*gasp*

*gasps again*

*regains composure*

Ariana, that was amazing! It was so chillingly well-written and so scary. And that was the beauty of it. I love Andromeda and Narcissa as characters, and you really did them justice in this story.

I must admit that I thought the secret she was keeping was about Ted, not Rodolphus raping Andromeda. That was a very unexpected plot twist. I think what I liked the best about this was that it was written non-linearly, yet the flashbacks were never abrupt or anything -- they all flowed smoothly.

This story was disturbing (perhaps more so because I'm the same age as Andromeda in this story) and it's not your usual style, but it definitely paid off. You are an extremely talented writer, if I haven't already told you. A beautifully written story to match a beautiful banner -- well done ;)

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Wow, thank you! This story definitely deviated from the usual thing I write… and it was disturbing (Andromeda would be a year younger than me, and I can't imagine someone that age going through something like this). Thanks again! xx Ariana

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 09/15/11 9:21
Chapter: (Whispers)

wowzers!

Ariana this is brilliant. Absolutely friglootingly brilliant. I'm totally amazed, except I shouldn;t be because it's you. Uhm, dumbstruck. And it's second person which I hate - except I obviously don;t when you write it.

Sorry, incoherence reigns in this review. It's fab. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Caroleeeeee! I'm so incredibly glad that you actually liked it, even though it was second person :). I was really worried about that, actually, and you made me feel so much better. Thank you! xx Ariana

Reviewer: the opaleye
Date: 09/15/11 4:42
Chapter: (Whispers)

Oh my goodness, Ariana, this is beautiful. Beautifully written and structured and just gahhhh. I'm sorry but this review is going to be a jumble of incoherent mush. Your characterisation of Narcissa and Bellatrix was brilliant. You really caught the menace and manipulativeness that Bellatrix exudes. And Narcissa as this naive and pliable young girl, struggling between her loyalty to her family and her loyalty to her heart... just brilliant. I loved the use of second person and the way you split it into separate sections. It worked so well and created this intense atmosphere that had me gripped from start to finish.

This really has exceeded any sort of expectations I had when I made that banner and I'm just so glad you chose it. You are an amazing writer, Ariana, and I can't wait to read more from you.

Julia xD

Author's Response: This is such an amazing review! I'm so, so happy you liked this story, because I thought the banner you made for it was one of the most gorgeous ones I have ever seen. And yay for second person working - I haven't written it before so I was worried, because I know a lot of people that don't like it. Thank you so much for this review, Julia. It means so much :) xx Ariana

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Full House by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
"Power and the money, money and the power,Minute after minute, hour after hour."-Gangsta's...
Dark Enough To See The Stars by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Scorpius is looking for answers in the constellation that bears his name. He...
The Ties That Bind by Nagini Riddle 3rd-5th Years
"Life is short, but this time it was biggerThan the strength he had to get up...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
CATEGORIES