Reviews For High
Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/17/12 8:37
Chapter: Chapter 10 - The Great Escape

Eww to matchmaking relatives. How disgusting. XP

During that whole...shenanigan with the to-do that Narcissa was throwing, it felt like Scorpius was about to seriously snap his twig. It was like a glorious, beautiful disaster, watching him bunk off, run off, and crawl into the bag like a champ. I don't think I've ever loved him more as a character. He's just so very much had enough.

Teddyyyyyyyyyyy! He is just...the man. He really is. He's just the man. If only Harry could get past his fatherly pissed off-ness to understand the pressures that come from being a very noticeable member of a community that approximately 3/4 of the school's population dislikes. Not to mention how much guts it takes to submit that Auror application knowing that he had a kneazle's chance in a lethifold's cage of actually being accepted because of that very identity. Damn it. Now I feel all righteously hacked off.

That howler seriously made my night. I could just hear Draco's pompous indignation, and then Scorpius just shrugging it off. So much win. And YESSS! I have a reason not to want to hex Al anymore; he finally sees Scorpius as another guy with a batsh!t family and not as that Slytherin princeling who is deserving of his spite. Yayyyyyyy!

Anyway, moving on...woot!

~Jess

Author's Response: yeah, Al finally did the right thing. I reckon the Howler did Scorpius a favour - ha. Plus ... In my mind (although I didn;t make this clear) Al realises that although Lucius is an arsehole, he is also Scorpys' granddad. and Al would hate to lose his granddad. :( Thankiees ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/17/12 7:42
Chapter: Chapter 9 - The Family Name

Oh, dear. Not only was he rejected, he had to deal with a pack of pompous Gryffindors. I really like the dynamics you've built into the prefect meeting. There is a definite divide between the houses or, rather, the other houses against Slytherin. It just seems like every time one of the other kids in the story talks to Scorpius, Slytherin always comes up. I think he really has a legit thing to be upset about. And OH MY CRAPPING DAMN IT, Albus is so obnoxious. I don't know how you do that, make me want to punch him, but rawr!

I think I legit like Ben. Sure, he's a bit uptight, but he really treats people fairly in ways that even his own dad didn't at school. Good guy, good guy.

Anyway, enough of the ramblitude. Onward and forward!

~Jess

Author's Response: Ben is such a 'nice guy'. Almost makes me want to punch him for being so fair and honest, hence Scorpius wanting to take the piss out of him - heh heh. Mmm, Albus and Rose really come over as obnoxious here, but actually this is from Scorps POV, so maybe they're not quite as bad as he thinks. (Or maybe they should join Ariadne in that pit and die) ~Croll~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 23:55
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Our Own World

Ariadne needs to fall in a pit and die. What a ho-bag. >:|

Lavender is so much fun, and it was a nice (and lulzy) touch having her warn him away from a 'My Sweetheart' necklace. I cringed inwardly at the very reference.

Grr, friends give some crappy advice sometimes. Why can't people realise earlier in life that if your relationship doesn't work without sex involved, jumping in the sack isn't going to improve it. Poor Lily! Scorpius was being a bit of a git, but considering the minor agony involved, it's rather understandable.

Grr, stupid lunch not being long enough for another chapter! Will be back later!

~Jess

Author's Response: Yes, Lily was given conflicting advice and by the same person. Isn;t being a teenage girl delightful? (I remember being given the same sort of advice - HA!) Mmm, Scorp was a bit of a git, but he wants a shag- the agony in his trousers must be unbearable - snigger.

Thank youuuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 11:42
Chapter: Chapter 7 - A Magic Show

Showoff.

Ah, I drift off back to the days of old. You write being at school so well. Personally, I skim over the lessons because I can't be arsed to think of things like that to use as teaching points.

I'm so, so glad they talked it out and that Scorpius was straight-up with Lily. Thinking something as potentially devious and self-serving as his relationship with Lily helping his career aspirations is one thing, but being open about it is another entirely. It showed a lot of guts and that he was truly willing to do what it took to get back on track.

I'm trying my best to feel bad about Lucius having a stroke, but I can't find it in myself to conjure any sort of sympathy toward him. It probably makes me a bad person, but whatever. However, I know this will throw Scorpius for a look, so I do feel bad to a certain measure, if only for that. Okay, yeah...I'm definitely a rotten soul, hehe.

Really must get to sleep now, as much as I don't want to. Ta!

~Jess

Author's Response: Ah, the DADA class. I wanted Scorp to be good at something, and I sort of imagine everyone thinking Harry's way is always right and thus they can be foiled pretty easily. Scorpy is a sneaky git, as well.

Hmm, Lucius. I didn't feel that bad either - ha ha. Mind you, I was in two minds about his eventual demise. I shall explain later. :)

Thank youuuuuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 11:14
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Sky as a Kite

Oh, that ruddy @#$#-face! How did Scorpius keep from sending a hefty Stinging Jinx right into that git's giblets?

Yusssss, they're talking again. True, it's a shame that Cootes had to go all tentacula on her for it to happen, but it is definitely going in the right direction.

May I just take the time to say that I simply adore the narrative voice? There is something just so indelibly irreverent and so very Scorpius about it. I think it's one of the things that makes this story so great, the feeling of truly knowing and understanding the main character.

At any rate, I really should be in bed right now, but I can't stop, especially now that they're talking again! Ta for now, and see you soon!

~Jess

Author's Response: Thank youuu. I just realised when I was responding to Gina, that this is the first chaptered fic of mine written solely from a male POV. I have loved pretending to be a teenage Malfoy. There is so much you can get away with. He is just so irreverent, as you said.

Cootes is a twat. He was drunk, but he's still a twat.
,br> Thanks again ~Croll of the Dungeon~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 10:32
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Burst the Clouds

Teddy is such a BAMF. He really is. Why is he the only reasonable one?

The confrontation at the match had me in giggles. Gerald was such a crap flyer, and it made my heart glow to witness his failitude and to see Scorpius reassert himself as the true owner of the broom and the one truly deserving of the Seeker position.

I really feel like, deep down, Lily knows that Scorpius hadn't intended to come off as a user. I mean...the story is in his perspective, and I was blindsided by it. Well, as there are a lot of chapters to come, I assume they get past this, but argh! the agony!!! I feel like reading this all night, not going to bed like a sane person should do. Anyway, until we meet again. :D

~Jess

Author's Response: Teddy's reasonable, in my opinion, because he hasn;t been solely brought up by Weasleys - ha! I am mean, but I do find them a prejudiced bunch at times. Obviously they come round, that is what redeems them, but there's a tendency to judge first, don;t you think? (comes from Molly - ha ha)

Lily is confused. She has been brought up as a Gryffindor Weasley, after all, and as much as she wants to believe Scorpy, ther is a part of her that in very insecure (she's not as intelligent as the others). So she can readily believe he's interested only because she's Harry's daughter. :( (and if he'd admitted that was part of the reason to himself then maybe he could have been honest with her) *sigh* teenage boys are prats. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 10:06
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Kitten as a Cat

*headdesk*

Oh, Scorpius, you effing dolt! Could he have possibly phrased that any more badly? I was enraged on Lily's behalf, and I know he hadn't even meant it how it sounded. Oh, if only he didn't have the same male disease the rest of the peen patrol do...talk first, think later. XD

It was nice to see Scorpius properly enthused by the DADA lesson with Harry. I do wonder, though, if Harry hadn't come in as the guest speaker to size up Scorpius rather than to teach the class a spell that Anthony probably could've shown them just as well.

You are rapidly making me dislike my own fave Next Gen character. How dare Al interfere in Scorpius's Patronus practice, lol.

Another lovely chapter from you, and another crappity review from me. Doesn't seem a fair exchange, but I'm greedy. *hugs*

~Jess

Author's Response: Hmm, I hadn;t thought that Harry was coming in to size him up, but that makes sense - ha ha. Yes! Obviously! Actually, Ben is there as well, and ... um ... yeah, won;t say any more although you've probably got that far. I know Al comes off as a total douche, but this is from Scorp's POV, so he reads more into it than is possibly intended. Or maybe he means it all - mwahahahahahahaha. Thankies ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 9:38
Chapter: Chapter 3 -Smitten as That

Oh, I'm sure she meant that shaft...not. Brazen hussy. I like her already.

Your Astoria is much nicer than mine, but I think she suits your Scorpius as his mum so well. There is an innate goodness which has softened Draco a bit but has influenced Scorpius in subtle ways, the ones that allow him to so much as contemplate fancying a Potter spawn. And on the platform! Egads, she's so nosy in that perfect Mum-like way, the one who won't mind her own sodding business but you can't hate her for it. Just one of the many reasons why this story feels so relatable.

There are just so many great characters in this story. Every last one of them is mentally implanted in my head as someone I used to know in school. OH! And OMP, Teddy is such a git, lol...making Lily spend time with Harry Cootes for lying to him. Buuuut, that's what she gets. :D

Onward!

~Jess

Author's Response: Heh heh heh - yeah, Teddy is a bit of a tease.

I like Astoria - well in this chapter. There's a bit where I wanted to shake her, too, but in the end, she's okay (I hope). I needed one of his parents to be more reasonable or I couldn;t see Scorpius ever being anything other than a mini-me Malfoy. Plus I like writing bitchy Mum dialogue - heh heh heh. I plan on being as embarrassing with Charlie when he gets to Scorpy's age. (That's my Charlie and not Charlie Weasley).

thank youuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 8:53
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Sticky as Lips

Teddyyyyyyyyyy! He's such a good big brother figure. I really shouldn't have killed him. I suppose it's Reason #233 why you're a nicer person than I am, lol. At any rate, yet another interesting development in the ScoLily dynamic. I can't help but admire her methodology; she is calm, supportive, and slightly insistent - but not pushy or patronising.

I love the astuteness of Teddy. He actually reminds me a bit of Remus, in that he notices things but doesn't really judge as he points them out. They are what they are. But then his big brother instincts kick in, though in a fair way.

On we go, amor mia!

~Jess

Author's Response: I can't kill Teddy. It has nothing to do with niceness but because I fancy him rotten and want to have his babies. Scrap that, Victoire can have the babies, I just want to rip his clothes off.

Uhm ... okay, really, I just still have this hole in me where JKR killed off Remus and Tonks. I just hate that so much and so I need Teddy to be happy and settled and the best bits of his parents combined. It's as idealistic as hell, but I just need that completion. (Wow, that's all deep, and probably the first time I've expressed that opinion.) Thanks, Jess. ~Croll~

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 01/16/12 8:26
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

Sigh...you write Quidditch divinely, Madam Croll de Dungeon. There is just the right mix of detail, action, and thought process to put me in the match but still see the story at large. Very well done. And I will never NOT love the sparring between Lily and Scorpius. So fun and intriguing. On to Chapter 2 in the Great Re-Read!

~Jess

Author's Response: YAY! The mighty Jessica DiStrange appears (damn, I want to do my tiger smilies now). I dreaded writing Quidditch when I first started writing, but - rather like you - I enjoy it now. It can be whatever I want it to be, and gives Scorpius a good chance to swear - ha ha ha.

Thanks, my love. ♥ ~Croll~

Reviewer: Redwing
Date: 01/16/12 4:03
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Aww, what a wonderful finish! I'm not sure if I ever reviewed any of the other chapters, but I've been faithfully following this one from the beginning. Thanks for a great story! I think you've convinced me to like the Lily/Scorpius pairing more than Rose/Scorpius. :)
One question: do they stay together? Please?

Author's Response: Hmm, well, I'm not sure I can answer in case I write a follow up. But ... um .... yes, I hope so. They're both still pretty young, though *sigh*, but most of the people I write get together older, so maybe these two can last. Thanks for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: BookWorm530
Date: 01/15/12 21:01
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

What a beautiful ending : ) The beginning of the chapter dragged on a bit but it was nice to see Scorpius being close with Lily's family. I am happy to see that they decided to stick it through even though Lily has one more year of school to go. Scorpius will make a great auror, especially with Lily there as support. Sweet story, Im glad I read it til the end : )

Author's Response: Thank you for sticking with it. Sorry about the beginning. There was a certain amount of indulgence going on, plus I had to tie up all the loose ends and I wanted to fit Charlie into the story. The Stag night was necessary for another fic as well as giving Teddy and Scorpius a bonding moment. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: SilverNight92
Date: 01/15/12 5:16
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

Awwww!!! It's all over!!! :( Honestly though, you should consider a career in writing, not just fanfiction. Though i do love me some fanfiction from you. :) Thanks for writing my favorite fanfiction!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank youuuu. This has been such fun to write although there were times I wondered if I'd ever finished it. I do want to write professionally; it is my dream. Alas, I'm not quite in that zone yet, not whilst fanfiction still intrigues me. Glad you enjoyed the story ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 01/14/12 19:11
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Carole! How do you do it? Seriously, I was fully prepared for something that would make me cry or make me smile or sigh or laugh, but this final chapter made me do all of the above. I honestly do not know how I'm feeling atm. On the one hand, I feel really, really sad that it's over, and that there was not more, even though this chapter had that wonderful sense of finality to it. But then I feel happy, too, that Scorpius found somewhere to live and his dad seems to have forgiven him and Scorpius and Lily got their happy ending (and yes, this is Soraya, not an imposter. I really did use the words "happy ending" in the same sentence as Scorpius and Lily) and Scorpius realises that while his dream was to play Quidditch, he's more suited to being an Auror, which made me happy that he's realised what he wants to do.

I'm sorry, I'm probably not making much sense here. I just-- I'm honestly just in awe of this story, Carole. It was amazingly written and fully deserved its QSQ and it kind of converted me to liking Scily which I never thought would happen. And all the inclusions and hints of other ships, like Jominique (lol), Scugo (coughNataliecough), Charlie/Penelope, Lavender/Blaise and others just made me smile so much.

I read this with my mouth wide open, Carole. GUHHH. I'm sad it's over, but I'm so glad they got the ending they deserved, and that it ended on such an optimistic note. Congrats on such a wonderful story, and may there be many more spin-offs of this (*coughsplutterJominiqueprettypleasecoughsplutter*).

Author's Response: Thank youuuuuuuu ♥. Hmm, not sure I can write Jominique now. She seems entwined with a certain witch called Mags De-Vine ... but I might well split them up - ha ha. Oh, the power!

Thank you so much for the review, Soraya, and all your support as I strove to complete this. It really means a lot to me. Charlie/Penelop - I really need to write that sequel. Thanks again and again and again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 01/14/12 19:10
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Oh, this was beautiful. A beautiful ending to a beautiful story. It's open-ended, but you've left it off optimistically because neither Lily nor Scorpius are giving up and I'm hoping that by 'spin-offs' you mean wedding stories ;). I'm sad this is over - it will be difficult not to have another chapter to look forward to - but I couldn't have imagined a better ending.

Thank you so much for writing this story. The updates came relatively quickly so it was never like I got a chance to 'forget' how much I loved this story you crafted. You are a brilliant beyond brilliant author and I love this fic (like Lavender,blue) more than many RL stories I've read.

Congratulations on finishing this, and on writing a story that was so wonderful it surpassed the already sky-high expectations I had for it.

xx Ariana

PS,
Loved the nod to Scugo by the way ;)

Author's Response: Nod to Scugo ... Merlin forfend! heh heh - you should have seen the little present I left my beta in the uncut version. Thank you so much for reviewing, Ariana, and for all your reviews, support and general all round love for this story. It quite possessed me at times, but kept me going when I was blocked on everything else. More weddings .... hmmmmmmmmm ..... Maybe. hee hee hee Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 01/14/12 18:42
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Wow. Just wow. You have this ability to create characters that are believable and honest, I love your writing style and I guess all I can say is that I'm going to miss Scorpius and Lily! Spin-offs please!

Author's Response: Thank youuuu. I seem to be on a Next Gen kick at the moment, so you can expect some more coming up. I really should get back to other chaptered fics, but Next Gen is drawing me in. ~Carole~

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 01/11/12 9:36
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

This is not my fav Next-Gen ship (i like to ship Scorpius with buys), but your fic is amazing! It has convinced me. :) Eagerly waiting for the final chapter.

Author's Response: Hmm, I have a Scugo somewhere (Scorpius Hugo) called 'Eyes that Know me' that you might like (it's not at all compliant with High, I should say. You might like to check out hestiajones' fiction pages because she's written some wonderful Scugo stories. Thanks for the review. The last chapter is finished and will be up as soon as my beta returns it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: LilyLuna622
Date: 01/02/12 0:31
Chapter: Chapter 21 -Relative Values

Let me start by saying that I’m new to the website and yours was the first story I read here. It literally blew my mind! I just love it. I’ve read a lot of fan fiction but so few are written and developed as well as this one is. It’s just amazing.

I love this story. I love how it started, I loved the apples, and I loved how Scorpius actually matured as a character. These last few chapters in particular are amongst my favorites. I got so into the story. I was literally yelling “No!” when Scorpius got locked up in the manor and was cheering him on as he made his escape. The Lily in your story is just as I picture her in my head, I love it!

I hope you get to finish it soon, and I hope you write the spin offs. Truly a fantastic story.

Author's Response: My New Year's Resolution .... Finish High.

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It really makes me smile when I read things like this. I have adored writing this story (which started as a one shot) so think I'm struggling to finish it because I don't want it to end.

I wish you a lot of fun perusing this forum and finding other stories and authors. Hmm, I do have a few semi-compliant ones up already. 'Lavender, blue, a Gryffindor True' is the story of Lavender's seventh year at Hogwarts. Stars or Carousels is about James and also Dominique (it explains why she's a bit of a cow, basically), (these are profs rating). All in the Genes is set the year before this story. The other one which is bothe Lavender blue and High compliant is The Only One which is set about three years before High. It might help to read Lavender first, though. Hmm, sorry, that was shameless self-promotion. Thank you once again ~Carole~

Reviewer: baseballblondie
Date: 12/28/11 19:11
Chapter: Chapter 21 -Relative Values

This story is amazing. I'm not a usual fan of Scorpious/Lily but I like this pairing for this story. I can't wait to read the last chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. Last chapter should be up in January. I'm just trying to get my head around writing it and saying goodbye. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Padfoot11333
Date: 12/21/11 18:35
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

Me? Not have read High yet? Nah...

I do like this, though. Something tells me the next 20 chapters are going to go by too fast, Carole...

~Lily

Author's Response: Ha ha - Thank you, Lily. I hope you enjoy this. At times it goes as fast as Scorpius' Firebolt X but he does slow down to catch his breath (and maybe Lily) ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES