Reviews For High
Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 1:15
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Our Own World

This chapter is so sweet and that's all I want to say. :)

Author's Response: I liked this one tooooooo. It was kind of a necessary chapter, but not one where lots happened. Sometimes a story needs that, I feel. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 0:50
Chapter: Chapter 7 - A Magic Show

:O ooh noo! Scorpius' grandfather had a stroke! (I mean I don't like the slimy git that is Lucius but he is still Scorpius' loving grandfather.) I know Scorpius (this is such a long name to type over and over) felt that his grandfather loved him a lot though. I'm sad. I think Professor Goldstein probably knew about Scorpius and Lily though even if he didn't let on. I like how witty Scorpius' remarks are and how he demonstrated that not only Slytherins can be sneaky, (Dumbledore was certainly sneaky) and that he very much respected Harry Potter. I'm glad you wrote his character as being in awe of Harry. No doubt as much as his Grandfather did not particularly respect Harry, I'm sure Draco and Astoria probably had more respect for him. Certainly the books that the well-read Scorpius studied were very much filled with praise and probably detailed accounts of his deeds. Anyways, great job!

Author's Response: I'm not entirely sure Goldstein knew about Scorpius and Lily. He might have suspected because Lily's marks had improved uite significantly (and she used the example of the whistling kettle) but he wasn;t match making or anything. I think, as a Claw, he probably thinks romancce is a foolish thing - ha ha.

Yeah, Lucius had a stroke. It was hard trying to write that sympathetically because I still loathe him so much, but Scorpius had a good relationship with him ao I had to depict that. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 0:05
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Sky as a Kite

Aww . . . I like how you worked it in that Scorpius was Lily's white knight. How sweet. I really like your version of Scorpius! Also I know Scorpius/Rose romances are popular but I honestly think that Rose wouldn't be a good fit for Scorpius. I much prefer your Scorpius/Lily pairing beacause the personalities I imagine the next generation to have makes me think your pairing would work out better. Most writers depict Scorpius as intelligent like his father but much more open-minded, Lily sassy like her mother, and Rose to be brainy like her mother. I just think a guy with Scorpius' good looks that he gets from his parents and his spoiled upbringing, a nerdy brainiac would not interest him as much as a stubborn, headstrong girl that challenged the status quo or the rules.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have to say I get a bit put off Scorose because the remark at the end of the epilogue has madde it practically canon. I personally think the dynamic between Ginny and the Malfoys is more interesting to explore because of what Lucius did to her, and that was the basis for the pairing. Scorpius, as you say, is attracted to Lily because she's headstrong, but she's also quite insecure, and he's very confident, so I think that vulnerability appeals to him too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/02/13 23:31
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Burst the Clouds

Love love this chapter. Love the punching of Vaisey, I mean he's a prat if there ever was one. The barreling at the box was classic and really enjoyable. The part I absolutely enjoyed most was the heart to heart with Teddy. I like how realistic Scorpius was in telling Teddy that he was still interested in Lily but wanted Harry to forgive him almost as much and possibly more so than Lily. Slytherins are much more cautious and calculating, so a Slytherin would not believe in love at first sight, would not act as impulsively (usually) as a Gryffindor, and DEFINITELY think twice about doing anything to ruin their chances at their future dream career. However Teddy's remark about Weasley witches was so great! I love the Weasleys and I wholeheartedly agree that Weasley witches (& wizards) are awesome and so you can't be blamed for falling in love with one. Really appreciate your writing, so thanks again! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review. I did enjoy writing Teddy because much as I like writing teenage idiot boys (like Scorpius or Hugo) there's something about Teddy that makes me sigh. He's possibly a bit too sensible at first, but there are signs of Tonks and Remus-the-Marauder in there somewhere :) ~carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/02/13 22:05
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Kitten as a Cat

I'm so sad. Poor Scorpius! Of course being a Slytherin, they are known for their cunning, but you haven't at all indicated he has nothing but good intentions in his attentions to Lily. It's so unfortunate that her father, in being protective of his daughter, voiced his doubts about Scorpius' intentions in front of Lily. Now Lily is second guessing her own judgement and of course Scorpius had just recently admitted how sneaky he can be. Ugh for meddling brothers! I have an older brother who scared off my older boyfriend when I was in high school too.

Author's Response: This is all written from Scorpius' POV, so the others don't quite see him the way we do. Also, he's quite prejudiced against Albus, as well. But none of this is 'hate' thankfully. It's all rivalry although they don;t like each other much. Actually I know you've read on, so the relationship has possibly changed by now ... not sure. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/02/13 21:25
Chapter: Chapter 3 -Smitten as That

Thoroughly enjoyed the chapter. I love your characterisation of Astoria. I'm glad she is the opposite of the Malfoys. I suppose she would have to be though because Draco seemed to have changed so after the ordeal with Voldemort. I noticed that you made reference to her early pregnancy which was mentioned in the story about Pansy. Scorpius' mom is a very likable character and not unlike Molly Weasley in that she has such a spitfire way about her. I also adore Lily and her cute obsession with apples. Right now I can't imagine why she eats apples so often but I'm sure it's some kind of plot device that will come in handy later.

Author's Response: Um, no, she just likes apples :D. It's just a quirk of her character, that's all. The initial reason, I suppose, is that this story was heavily influenced by a song I was listening to called High, by The Cure. One of the lyrics is 'sticky as lips' so I wanted her to be eating something. Apples are sweet, crunchy and ... yummy. That's all there is to it, really.

Astoria has come into her own in this story. In the wedding stories, she is only sixteen (my canon is skewed but I found out later that she was only 2 years younger), but here she's been married for eighteen years and has her own personality, thoughts and knows her mind. She's not all sweetness and light, though. There's a reason she was a Slytherin and not a Hufflepuff :D

Thank you very much for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/30/13 13:48
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Sticky as Lips

I like that you had Teddy give Scorpius a chance. It's also true that if Scorpius is halfway decent, he would be the only other blood relative in the (Black) family to acknowledge him.

Author's Response: Scorpius is half Greengrass, and JK did say that Draco had mellowed over the years, so I really don't think Scorpius's upbringing would have been as dogmatic as his father's (I address this in a chapter nearer the end. :D) Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 04/30/13 13:03
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

I should have known there would bed a liplock in the first chapter.

Author's Response: Ah, well, this was originally written as a one-shot, so that was supposed to be the end of the story, but then I wanted to expand. Otherwise it would have taken a little longer :) ~Carole

Reviewer: majestic_ginny
Date: 12/15/12 15:04
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

As a fan of anything that is Scorose, I was hesitant to read this at first. However, knowing your reputation, I decided to give this a try, and believe me, Carole, I’m glad I did. This was a wonderful, wonderful story. :D

I like the way how the story opens with a light breeze, and Scorpius’s confident thoughts. This is a good opening, as it paves the way for a fresh, new beginning. It relaxes the reader and is an easy read, and I like the absence of overly descriptive words as this feels so much more natural. It automatically hooks me on and makes me want to read more. As his girlfriend arrives, Scorpius’s character is immediately defined. He’s confident, a little snarky, intelligent and as JKR says, an improvement over Draco. He’s recognizably a Malfoy and still different, better, even, and I like the sound of him. Also, his girlfriend calling him ‘Scorpy’ made me laugh.

Lily’s description from Scorpius’s point of view is well done. I especially like these two lines: her red hair glinting in the autumn sun, chomping on an apple. Her mouth slowly turned up at the corners, and she laughed. and, she spun off again, the breeze billowing at her scarlet and gold robes, the sun picking out the myriad of colours in her hair. Lily at first glance seems like a perfect match for Scorpius, and I know I want them to be together even though I’m a ScoRose supporter. I loved the part where Lily threw the core of her apple and Scorpius caught it. It’s almost like healthy rivalry -- we never saw this in the books; it was always the captains trying to crush each other’s hands, so this was a breath of fresh air. I guess it goes to show that the rivalries have toned down a bit since Harry’s time at Hogwarts, and I liked that. The match itself was well written and entertaining to read, and I enjoyed the whole thing. Your writing came across as very natural, and the descriptions were easy to follow and the interactions between the players were certainly amusing. I won’t lie, I was hoping Scorpius would catch the Snitch, but him falling off his broom and Lily visiting him in the hospital works for me as well.

I loved how Albus is portrayed. He sounds a lot like Ginny more than Harry, and this is new. Also, I loved how Lily told Scorpius about how Gryffindors encourage their team members and ended up being yelled at by Albus. His girlfriend is annoying, as I’d expect her to be. I’m glad Scorpius is annoyed with her too, and am wondering why he’s still with her. Maybe we’ll find out later -- and I can’t wait for it, to be honest.

The Quidditch practice part was fun to read, and I wasn’t surprised that Scorpius is now scared of riding a broomstick. I wonder if this fear will go away, or if it’s here to stay. However, I do hope we see him play later on, and that this isn’t for good. Lily and Scorpius’s friendship seems to be developing fast and well, and the parts of the chapter starting from the Christmas holidays went by quickly. The story is fast-paced and your writing is good, and the plot is very intriguing. Initially I thought you were planning to write a story about how Scorpius and Lily got together, but now that’s sorted in the first chapter itself, so I really want to know where this story is going!

The writing style is good. It’s fresh, humorous and interesting to read. There are no awkward sentences of unwanted breaks and the story flows in natural progression. While everyone else makes use of the Potter-Malfoy hatred, I see you haven’t, and that’s a breath of fresh air. I also like your portrayal of the post-war world. My take on it feels so different and it was nice to read what you thought. The characterisations are very well done and both Scorpius and Lily are very engaging characters. I took a liking to them right here.

I would definitely read more of your fic, but I must stop at the first chapter for now. However, I will come by later on and read this fic -- it’s been on my list forever and I’ve been very intrigued. Also, since you have that sequel going right now, I’m eager to read this one.

All in all, the first chapter shows every sign of this being a fantastic story and you’ve got me hooked. I think you’ve got a new concept, and I, for once, don’t mind reading Scorpius with someone other than Rose. I can say that the sequel is going to be interesting too, and I want to get there quick. Anyway, good job on this, Carole! Keep it up!

--Nadia

Author's Response: Thank youuuu.

Okay, let me deal with some things you talked about. I am glad you decided to read this because as a Scily fan, I don;t read Scorose at all. Ha - sorry - I think I just found the ship too late and it had become practically canon, so I needed to write something else. Mind you, I tend not to read other people's Scilys either, although Scugo sometimes appeals.

Why is Scorpius with Ariadne? Um, purely physical - he likes sex and at the beginning of the story, he likes girls with a certain look (which Lily, as a scruffy, apple-chomping girl, clearly doesn;t have).

The romance part of Lily and Scorpius is fast paced to begin with. Originally this was a oneshot. If I'd known I was going to expand it, then I might have paced it differently. However, there are a lot more twists in their relationship so I hope you carry on reading.

Regarding the house issues. This story is all from Scorpius' POV, so you might find the descriptions of the Gryffs not entirely friendly (ha ha - none of them). It isn;t hatred, I must stress that, but there's a riuvaly based on houses, plus for Scorpius - whose family name has this bad reputation - he is straggling to throw off that rep as well as live up to it because he is a Slytherin, and thus has some aspects of his father. I hope you read on because I think you;ll find Scorpius is more like his mother in some regard. You will find that the past comes back into play, but maybe not in the way you initially thought. :)

The sequel is a mystery, by the way, so the romance angle is still there but it's far more to do with Scorpius' life outside Hogwarts and a murder enquiry.

Thank you so much for the review, Nadia, and I'm glad I managed to persuade you read the story. I hope you enjoy the rest of it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Ribe featherquill
Date: 11/14/12 13:05
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

I've read this story though in two days now, ended reading last night and review this three days after starting on the first chapter.

At first I thought that they, Scorpius and Lily, realised their feelings for each other to fast. It was only after a few chapter. I had though they had to fight their own prejudices before the would become a pair. Well I continued reading curios to what the big problem was then, I mean you have written a 22 chaptered story so there must be a problem or something to drive the story. When I noticed the problem, I though it was a nice change from many a Lily/James story I've read, I mean it was something in that style I had expected a first.

I really liked who Harry was quite easy to convince, I mean he was more willing to accept the relationship than Ginny or Lily's brothers. The whole way Teddy becomes Scorpius friend is really nice, thank you. The whole Malfloy affair, was very well done. I can't say that I liked the events, but it was written in a convincing way, though Narcissa is acting in another way than in the Forest with Voldy and Harry. But then again, she wants her grandchild to marry a proper girl, and she was a death eather so she is "Feed up" with the blood ideas.

Thank you for the read, it is the first Scorpius/Lily I've read, at least as far as I remember, and though I think that Scorpius/Rose is somewhat intended by J.K. Rowling, this story is know in my favorite folder.

Ps. Is there a banner to this story? If there is, I would like to see it,

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and for reading the whole story despite the initial reservations.

Okay, first off, then yes it did appear as if they got together and realised their feelings for each other quite quickly, but actually I think Scorpius was honest enoughto know that for a long time it was lust he felt. he's astute enough to realise that they might not have a happy ever after, which is why he was unsure what he wanted more - Lily or being an Auror. Second, I don't think the NG kids have the same prejudices. Scorpius might dislike Albus at the beginning (and vice versa) but it's not hatred, it's rivalry. He doesn;t have that same hatred as Draco had at that age because his upbringing, thanks to him mum and no Voldemort around is vastly different. Thirdly, Narcissa in the Forset wanted to save Draco. I don't think she would have cared about Harry, as long as she s=could save her son. She's still prejudiced, imo. Fourthly, mmm, JK might have hinted at Rose/Scorpius, but that's practically become canon, and I think the reaction between Ginny and Lucius is more interesting to explore - largely because it hasn;t been written about as much. Fifthly, thank you again for the review. I do have a banner somewhere, (actually I have two because it won the 2011 QSQ for Best NG) but I can't find it at them moment - eeep.

One thing I was pleased you said was that it wasn't like a James/Lily. there were a number of places where I agree it could have veered off that way, but I was extremely conscious that I didn;t want this turning into another Marauder type fic, or a Trio reincarnated fic, so I'm pleased you picked up on the differences. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: HumanHorcrux
Date: 08/28/12 0:20
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

I love this story... sigh. I wish it wasn't over. In your canon, do Lily and Scorpious stay together (as in forever)? :P
There's nothing to complain about, nothing bad to say about this story except for the fact that it ended. :D
Would you consider doing a sequel?
Anyway, just like the rest of your work, I absolutely enjoyed (obsessed-over, more like) reading this again. :D :D :D

Author's Response: Hmm, in my canon .... I can't tell you because I am planning a sequel, although it will be more about Scorpius and his work in Auror Dept and a murder that occurs. Glad you enjoyed reading this; I had so much fun writing it and thinking up new twists. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 08/26/12 14:15
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

What a great story. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I have a sequel planned (in my mind) I hope to have it written soon. ~Carole~

Reviewer: heliopath
Date: 08/25/12 19:20
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

loved this story.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I am planning a sequel, atm, although it will be less about Scorpius and Lily and more about Scorpius in the Auror Dept . Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 07/08/12 22:31
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

I once mentioned on the Boards that I was a strong Scrose supporter and only slightly swayed by this story...now that I've finished it, I retract this statement. You're a really great writer and I LOVED how this turned out. A few things were left open for debate at the end, which I really like. The characters were great, the plot was strong, and it was absolutely perfect. *sighs* Fine...I've been converted!

Author's Response: The open for debate might be answered in Stars or Carousels (depends what you need answered) or else the sequel I'm planning and hope to have written for GH challenge. Trouble is, these things always spiral out of my control. Hee - I was only teasing on the boards. I'd never be precious enough to deny other ships (apart from Snapanyone). And I have read some fabulous Scugos. Thank you very much for the compliments and I am pleased you enjoyed the story :D ~Carole~

Reviewer: Snappy McPeanuts
Date: 06/10/12 2:30
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

this was the first fan-fiction i have ever read, and i have completely fallen in love with your writing!!!! im reading "lions of gryffindor" right now and i just finished the last chapter you summited and im dying =P lol. you are an amazing writer, so pleaseeeee, continue writing =)

Author's Response: Thank you, Snappy! Your user name and review has brought a real smile to my face. I will keep writing, have no fear. Hmm, if you like High, then can I suggest 'Lavender blue, a Gryffindor true' which is sort of a prequel. It's about Lavender and Blaise. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: HanCourtney
Date: 05/25/12 15:55
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

THIS WAS EXCELLENT!!!!!

i have completely fallen in love with the way you portrayed all those characters!!!

have you written any spin-offs?

Author's Response: Um, yes, I have. Well, I have written prequels about Lavender and Blaise (Lavender, blue, a Gryffindor true) and a fic called Stars or Carousels about James and Dominique. I am hoping to write a chaptered fic that follows on from this and will be more of a murder mystery starring Scorpius, James, Lily (obviously) Hugo, and other Trio characters. OHHH, and Aaron Harper -the fifth year boy that Scorpius shares a dorm with, turns up in Swans, which is a story about Molly Weasley (jnr)

Thank you for the review and sorry for the pimping of ma fics :) ~Carole~

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 04/05/12 8:07
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

Draco/Hugo Boss I can live with.

Author's Response: Draco wearing Hugo Boss and me doused in Sienna's perfume ... gahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 04/05/12 8:04
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

I have told him.

He says he is not the Weasel's son.

Author's Response: And not the ferret's, and thus ... Drugo exists.

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 04/05/12 7:57
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

Apparently, I need to be specific with the likes of delusional shippers such as you.

No, I do NOT ship Scorpius with buys. Hugo is not an item of clothing.

Author's Response: Tell that to Hugo Boss.

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 04/05/12 7:53
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

I lied earlier.

Author's Response: So you don't prefer Scorpius with buys.

Good.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Unexploded Bombs by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Dudley Dursley has just experienced the death of his elderly father Vernon from...
Ginny's Big Decision by dg04 1st-2nd Years
After Dumbledore's Funeral, Harry tells Ginny that they can't be together anymore...
Little Lions by SexY_LydZ 6th-7th Years
On a stormy October evening, a letter, a late night trip to the library and...
FEATURED
Going Against Salazar's Grain by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
"Sometimes," said Dumbledore, "we sort too soon." Originally writtten for...
Whispers in the Night by lucca4 6th-7th Years
"Swear to me, Cissy. Swear you won't tell." It's a secret, and it haunts...
Fear and Loathing in Florida (Mostly Loathing) by minnabird 3rd-5th Years
Scabior and Greyback had to escape the Aurors somehow - they just hadn't expected...
Just Before Healing by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
With Hannah, things always go to yellow.
In Bloom by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 3rd-5th Years
It figures that he ignores the other side of roses. Thorns fit to draw blood...
Magical by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ginny and her brothers sneak down the stairs to look at presents, but instead...
CATEGORIES