Reviews For High
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/19/13 16:14
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Kitten as a Cat

Well, I don't know what to say. That was certainly mean of Albus. Harry does have a right to be furious, I think. Lily didn't give Scorpius a chance to explain. It was very interesting, though, for Harry to show up and teach Defense. And then to show up in the Astronomy Tower. That was outright bad luck.

Author's Response: Well, JKR said that Harry did return to teach the odd DADA lesson, so I took inspiration from that. And he was looking for Lily, that's why he turned up in the Astronomy Tower. Albus told him Lily was there, but didn't say she was with Scorpius. Albus is mean, but then again this is all from Scorpius's POV. He and Albus don;t get on as they both have preconceptions about the other. Al's basically protective of Lily, so is suspicious of Scorpius, and Scorpius hasn;t exactly been straight with Lily, as you may have found out by now. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/19/13 15:07
Chapter: Chapter 3 -Smitten as That

Outstanding! There's nothing like reading a next generation romance, especially when it involves Scorpius Malfoy and one of the Weasley/Potters. Those apple pastries sounded good. How funny that Teddy had played a trick like that on Lily. Love this story.

Author's Response: Really pleased you're enjoying the story. Teddy is in this quite a bit more, you'll be pleased to know. ~Carole

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/19/13 13:03
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Sticky as Lips

This gets better the more I read. I hope Lily isn't going to obsess about being the cause of Scorpius' fall and that she and Scorpius can move on. I love how you wrote Teddy. His conversation with Scorpius was very interesting. It will be good for them both to have met outside of family.

Author's Response: I think you've discovered by now that Lily moves on fairly quickly and doesn't blame herself for much. She's essentially an optimist :) Thank you. ~Carole. PS - I love Teddy, too. :)

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/19/13 12:17
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

I've been planning to read your work for some time and I noticed you had a new story up and it had to do with Scorpius and one of the Potter/Weasleys--anyway I ended up here. So far I love it. Your Scorpius and Lily are very believable. I love it when I find a new story that has other stories with it. I love to read and that gives me more to read.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review and for deciding you'll read on. I hope you continue to enjoy the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 07/17/13 2:00
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Absolutely amazing!! After getting hooked on the scorpious auror story, I had to find this one and I've literally not put it down!! Fantastic!!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I am pleased you're enjoying this and have also been reading Uncovered By Death (I'm very pleased they work as independent stories) because I've had such fun writing them both UBD should - I hope - be finished quite soon, as just writing the last three chapters . Thank you again.~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 20:09
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Aww. They ARE sweet, aren't they? I'm so glad they're happy. I'm also glad Lavender and Blaise are too with little Xander.

Author's Response: First love, very powerful. Let's hope it lasts ... Thank you once again for all your reviews. they've been fabulous. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 19:20
Chapter: Chapter 22 -The Same Sweet Steps

Before I read the ending, I just wanted to thank you for writing a very nice page turner. I thoroughly have been enjoying it and this is why I like completed works! So impatient and this way I can binge-read fanfiction to my heart's content!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you for all your amazing reviews. I do have a follow up to this 'Uncovered by Death' which is about Scorpius in the Auror Department, which is more of a mystery than a romance, but it's not finished yet, so you might want to hold fire. There are a few shorter stories that fit into this story as well - Stars or Carousels is about Dominique and James, Diffraction is about Genister, Aaron Harper and Hugo, Swans is about Molly ... um ... The Unimaginable Fear of Louis Weasley is about Louis - surprise surprise. Really, most of my NG things fit into this canon. And I shall stop pimping my own stories now - ha ha ha. thank you so much for all your reviews. They've been incredible and a real pleasure to read and respond to. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 19:18
Chapter: Chapter 21 -Relative Values

Ooh, Draco came around! I hope this isn't a slippery Slytherin trick! I was hoping he would apologize for happened to Hermione that he couldn't prevent. Well I guess he really truly disliked her and didn't regret it that much after she ended up surviving. *hmm shrugs* They can't all be St. Harry Bloody Potter. LoL.

Author's Response: Oh, I do think Draco was genuinely shocked and disturbed by what Hermione went through. He does dislike her - less because she was a Muggleborn and more because she's a Gryff and part of that 'Trio' - but he wouldn;t have wanted her dead. He doesn't like Ron either because ... well, you can't like everyone, can you? Harry would irritate him,don;t you think? He did everything before Draco could in Quidditch and he was a pretty good flyer and player, even Harry admits that. Anyway, he's not going to apologise to Hermione because firstly he wouldn't see it has fault (if you mean the torture at MM) and secondly, he is not going to want to look back to that time. Draco has moved on and isn't going to spend his life apologising because he wants to bury it.

Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 17:39
Chapter: Chapter 20 -Fantastic Days

I think it's incredible that Scorpius is the only one to earn true respect from Andromeda Tonks. I love how you used the Weasley/Potter children's fear and unease in her presence and her singling out of Scorpius to demonstrate the love she is trying to show him. She knows what it is like to grow up in a family like his and also how to be thrown away like yesterday's garbage just for a choice she made. It must feel horrible to find that the people you though loved you unconditionally could throw you out like rubbish, over something so seemingly innocuous as who you choose to date. How can your grandparents and parents of the past eighteen years just up and tell you they will choose for you who you can and cannot love or consort with. If you disobey, you will be cut from their lives. Just as he is losing one family, another is welcoming him with open arms and giving him a real chance. It's so sad though to choose. As much as he enjoys their company, admires the love, and shared camaraderie, they are not HIS family. It isn't right that he should have to choose.

Author's Response: Andromeda is just irritated by them, I think. She'd have been brought up in a restrictive atmosphere, Tonks was an only child, so I imagine that the whole crowd of Weasley and Potter children would send her insane. She relates to Scorpius (as Arthur says later) because he is from a similar background and he rebelled. Andromeda, imo, is someone who will get on with children much better once they're adults. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 16:51
Chapter: Chapter 19 -Where There's A Will

Yay!! I'm so glad astoria came around! Yay for Mom's and the mother son bond! I felt so betrayed when she turned on him, "How COULD you Astoria?" Granted she didn't want him to lose his inheritance but she finally realized he was miserable and she knew he needed to do things his way.

Author's Response: Yes, she came good in the end and had the decency to apologise. I think Draco's words about not getting involved if she'd been a Muggleborn hit home, and she doesn;t want Scorpius living in that perpetual prejudice. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 16:14
Chapter: Chapter 18 -Slytherin Spirit

I love how sweet their moment in the Prefect's bathroom is. Also the surreptitious mention of the unknown local brew from Mexico that Scorpius planned to corrupt the fifth years with. Haha! Awesome.

Author's Response: heh heh heh - I think it was probably a local Tequila with some horrible scorpion or worm in the bottom. Anyway, he suffered the next morning - ha ha. Glad you liked the Prefect's bathroom bit. It's always tricky knowing not necessarily how far to take it, but also keeping it moderately realistic and not all romance and fluffly hearts. ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 15:43
Chapter: Chapter 17 - A Testing Time

Intriguing! Now why on earth would Hermione need to write to Scorpius?? Interesting. *insert finger steeple here*

Author's Response: AH HA! ... you'll have to read on. *smirks wickedly in a Malfoyesque manner* ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 14:56
Chapter: Chapter 16 - Widows' Weeds

Not surprising that proud Narcissa would not forgive Scorpius lightly, nor ignore his insubordination -and insubordination it is in her eyes- and punish publicly for shaming her and the family name by consorting with a blood-traitor family. Narcissa is so interesting, not as evil as her sister Bellatrix, but not as loving as her sister Andromeda. Where as Bellatrix clung to the old ways and the new ideals in Voldemorts propaganda, she clearly did not care much for family as evidenced by the fact that she never defended her brother-in-law or sided with him despite her pull with the 'Dark Lord'. Her husband is only mentioned in passing, she obviously doesn't interact with him when trying to curry favor with the powerful Voldemort, her devotion seeming even sexual at times. Andromeda, all loving and open-minded, would reveal to her family her love for a muggle-born wizard despite the she must have known she faced in not choosing to run away in secrecy. For that she is shunned by the very family she loves but in her, enduring love for family never dies, she the disgraced can still embrace and love a son-in-law who is a werewolf, shunned by all alike, wizard or muggle. Narcissa loves her family enough to risk death to stand by her husband and protect her son, she will not run away or be cowed. She stands united and strong and through her strength and determination, in her own way, she also saved the wizarding world. Maybe she had a selfish reason for not revealing Harry, but if she had revealed him, she could have ruined any chances anyone had in defeating Voldemort. No one but the inner circle of the resistance knew about his horcruxes, yet everyone knew there was some peculiar reason why Harry Potter could save them all. No where in the story was it ever addressed that Harry Potter could not die. He very well could have been killed by some other means, perhaps only Voldemort could not kill him. Perhaps he was only resistant to Avada Kedavra or any attempts at his life by Voldemort. How could anyone know, since no one had made an attempt at his life except for Voldemort, as no one dared to if Voldemort could not succeed. If not for Voldemort's determination to kill him, he could very well have been locked in a cell his entire life hidden away somewhere and Voldemort would have succeeded in becoming invincible. It is interesting that J.K. Rowling chose to tell the story of Harry Potter through the experiences of the three sisters. The sisters are like representations of the past, present, and future. In personality, Narcissa is between the extremes of her two sisters, but I always found it interesting she is not so in appearance. Now that I think of it, Bellatrix is dark and reminicent of the evils in the past, Narcissa is the cold and shiny present, so full of light and possibility, Andromeda is the future, the blend of past and present, retaining the dark of the past but softer and kinder somehow, the result of the change.

Author's Response: Hmm, I think if someone had tried to kill Harry before GoF, then they'd have succeeded, but after Voldemort took some of Harry's blood in the graveyard, then he 'tethered him to life' whilst Voldemort lived, just as the Horcrux in Harry kept Voldemort alive. Also, he was protected as long as he lived with Petunia because of the love charm.

Um, anyway, yes, Narcissa is not as bad as Bellatrix, but not as decent as Andromeda (who isn't as open in my story as perhaps you think) Narcissa's saving grace in the books was that she loved her son - Bellatrix loved no one except Voldemort (and yes, I agree, it was probably a sexualised love). I also think she loved Lucius very much and they shared the same ideals, it was just that her ideals were more focused on her family and his on benefitting his family and becoming powerful under Voldemort.

Thanks for the review ~ Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 13:44
Chapter: Chapter 15 - Breaking In

It hurts me to see Scorpius in so much pain. Not the physical pain, he almost deserves that for goading Vaisey, but the mental anguish. He keeps getting punished over and over for being a Malfoy and it's so unfair to him. He may not be as fair as a Hufflepuff but he's certainly as fair as your usual average person and much more fair than your usual Slytherin. Heaven forbid we were all punished for the misdeeds of our fathers and forefathers. I hate how it shattered him inside. The good that he saw in himself, the redemption he has always felt concerning how his own actions differed, seemed to have melted away when he heard his grandfather's deathbed remarks and lack of remorse. Instead of remorse, what he heard was a wish to condemn a child to an early death. No one could not feel shame after hearing his own grandfather utter that about his girlfriend's mother right in front of her.

Author's Response: sigh ... I feel guilty now. He is paying for the Malfoy's misdeeds, certainly, but it's been a big wake up call to him. Hios life was pretty darn good before then. Not that he deserves the prejudice, but he's equally prejudiced against Albus and the Weasleys. Oh, yeah, he goaded Vaisey, very definitely, because he wanted to be hurt. He's just woken up, after all, to the fact that part of his family were as bad as he'd been told. BUT ... there's light somewhere.

BTW, this is the 200th review for High, so THANK YOU VERY MUCH! ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 4:55
Chapter: Chapter 14 -Confrontation

Scorpius learned the truth and it made me want to cry! I'm so upset his father hasn't changed as much as I hoped. I was pretty sure Lucius hadn't changed but I suppose Draco behaved the way he did because his own father died. Maybe under different circumstances perhaps. Did I mention your story is a page turner and "I can't set it down" as they say?

Author's Response: Story isn't over yet. Draco is grieving, but having said that, he is still very Draco, and here the difference between Scorpius and his father is very apparent. I wanted to cry when he learnt the truth as well. :( ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 4:21
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Legacies

This story is so heartbreaking. I don't truly believe Lucius knew what would happen to Ginny though as far as the possessing and the possible deaths of Muggleborns though, because in DH it was clear neither Lucius or Bellatrix really knew about the horcruxes. I know he didn't care about harm coming to Muggleborns but I'm pretty sure he just wanted the Weasleys to be found in possession of a dark object, especially one linked to Voldemort. However I don't doubt Lucius wouldn't mind harm coming to a Weasley child, I just don't think he was fully aware that was a possible consequence. I hope that Draco and especially Lucius regret what occurred although I doubt Lucius would be remorseful at all.

Author's Response: Oh, yes, I don't think Lucius thought that Ginny could die. He didn't really know what would happen, he just wanted her to be the one responsible for opening the Chamber so Arthur would be disgraced. But he never really paid for his crime, and that must haunt Ginny.

However, by the time he's had his stroke and is close to death, his mind has become warped and I can see him reverting to his former Death Eater mindset. He wasn't averse to harming Muggle children at the campsite, and I think if Ginny had died I'm not sure he'd have felt guilty.

Thank you for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 3:23
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Meet The Potters

hahaha . . . I really like the ending of this chapter, especially the last line. :p

Author's Response: Ha ha - I do hope you like Lavender in this story because I tried to keep elements of her from Lavender Blue, but obviously she had to be more grown up (as did Blaise). She's still quite gossipy and irreverent, but is obviously wiser. And, as you can see, I did give her and Blaise a happy ending to make up for losing two babies :( Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 2:59
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Incriminating Evidence

Oooo. That is so cute how Lily kissed him in front of everyone after a Quidditch victory! Like father like daughter huh?? (Or mother like daughter but I thought the former was more fitting, seeing as she is seeker.) How is Ginny ever going to forgive Lucius' grandson? The man partially responsible for her near death as a child? *filled with suspense*

Author's Response: Yes! Ha ha - I had such fun with this scene. I like writing Quidditch, too, so to have a big celebration snog seemed appropriate - ha ha. Thank youuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 2:26
Chapter: Chapter 10 - The Great Escape

Hmm? I can't imagine what's gotten into Albus that he is being so cordial to Scorpius? I really like the interaction between Scorpius and Teddy. I've always liked Teddy. I've yet to see a characterization of Teddy Lupin where he isn't a great guy. Plus I learned something new! i had to look up what a bacon sarnie was! It's like a BLT here but way more unhealthy. I thought BLT's were unhealthy but bacon sarnie's sound worse, but also somehow tempting. LoL.

Author's Response: I had to familiarise myself with Albus's change in attitude there. Actually, there are three reasons for it, which aren't explained but I thought I'd implied enough (you might get to this part later). One Albus realises how hard it must be if your granddad is ill, two he understands how embarrassing parents must be and if Draco (a hated Malfoy) is giving Scorpius a hard time, then Scorpius must be doing something right, and three - Scorpius's perception of Albus has changed as well.

Oh, a bacon sarnie is really only a bacon sandwich - sarnie being slang for sandwich. It's unhealthyish, but perfect cure for a hangover :D ~thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: rosemerta
Date: 05/03/13 1:42
Chapter: Chapter 9 - The Family Name

I like how you are addressing the animosity between the Weasley/Potter clan and the Malfoys. It reminds me of the old Hatfields and McCoys rivalry (here in the States). Or War of the Roses in England. I feel bad for the kids having to deal with the old prejudices. Lily's last line, which grandparents is she referring to? The Potters? I would have thought she would be referring to the sneaking around of her Dad, aunt, & uncle.

Author's Response: Oh, she was referring to Lily and James, but actually it could well refer to Molly and Arthur who used to sneak around on romantic walks - ha ha. Thank you ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Research and Development by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The Mirrorphone, the latest advance in Wizarding communications. Now, of course...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
on this side of heaven by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Ariana Dumbledore is struck by a stray curse, and she suddenly finds herself...
FEATURED
Oread, Walking by Seren
Cedric was just as odd as Hermione, because he liked to walk. Cedric/Hermione
The Effect of Gamma Rays on Two Terrifically Trapped Gryffindors. by Fenixaze 3rd-5th Years
From the "Stuck where for the weekend?" Challenge on Portkey.org ... Our two...
Drunk on Him by armagod679 Professors
For me, he was an obsession, a burning obsession, one that I could never let...
A Broken Hallelujah by epiphany212 Professors
You have always loved the chase. The pursuit of Quaffles and dragons have carried...
In the Hufflepuff Way by 1000timesingoldenink 3rd-5th Years
Did anybody really appreciate Hannah's mum?Because Mrs. Abbott was a heroine...
And Now... by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
Moments after the death of Voldemort, Harry gazes at the corpse of the Dark...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 1 by minnabird 1st-2nd Years
Welcome back to another rousing round of rambunctious rock!However, a new act...
CATEGORIES