Reviews For High
Reviewer: crimson and gold
Date: 10/13/11 12:32
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

Hey, I couldn't stop smiling by myself while reading this! It's really good! Only the beginning, and yet, it seemed to fill me with loads, already! :D

I'm almost one hundred percent sure I'm not going to regret continuing reading this. Anyway, this is the first fanfiction I read on mugglenet, because I've been reading and writing on fanfiction.net ever since. I'm really glad I came across this story (and this site), because I've also been writing a Lily/Scorpius story on fanfiction.net. I don't usually read a Lily/Scorpius story because I tend to mix it up with my own...Anyway, I don't post stories here, yet, and I assure I won't grab your own ideas on mine :)

Great job, by the way! I'm looking forward to more awesome chapters! :D

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I tend not to read other Scorpius/Lily stories either, just in case it skews my own. So, thank you for reading. I hope you don;t regret reading because this is almost finished. I have a chapter to post and a chapter to write and then it's done (which has made me quite sad *sigh*. LONG LIVE SCORPIUS/LILY! ~Carole~

Reviewer: HermionesLittleSister
Date: 10/12/11 2:53
Chapter: Chapter 3 -Smitten as That

I get that. They want to ride his broomstick >,

Author's Response: Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: HermionesLittleSister
Date: 10/11/11 4:15
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Sticky as Lips

Sweet
-Livie

Author's Response: Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: HermionesLittleSister
Date: 10/11/11 3:29
Chapter: Chapter 1 -Flying High

That's funny it all deep with them kissing and then out of nowhere 'Wow!'
I just couldn't stop laughing!
-Livie

Author's Response: Thank you. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 10/01/11 14:45
Chapter: Chapter 20 -Fantastic Days

I am nodding fervently in agreement with your chapter notes. LOL.

Carole, I think you know how much I <3 this story. It's everything everyone said it would be, and the fact that I read 119-odd K in four days should tell you that this is one of your best stories so far. I'm favouriting it and (although this may sound selfish) I'm kind of glad I started reading it now because if I didn't, I'd have to wait for updates. And that kills me already with AA and Lions *hint hint*

I still don't ship Scily, but this story has brought me close to that. Basically, the story's wonderful, so are you, and you'd better update soon. Or else... I'll cry.

 ~Soraya~



Author's Response: ch 21 will soon be winging its way to Natalie, worry not. And then after the last chapter and 2 other things I have a plan for Lions which involves November! ha ha - thank you so much for all the reviews. Much appreciated. ~Carole~ Oh, and there could well be a spin off or two with this.

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 10/01/11 8:59
Chapter: Chapter 19 -Where There's A Will

Yaaaaaaaaay. Teddy and Victoire!! <3 them so much. And I so feel sorry for Scorpius. Astoria was so horrible helping Draco and Narcissa set Draco up like that. But at least she helped Scorpius later.

I think the funniest thing about this whole story is that you really shoot down a lot of NG ships, even Scominique (grrrrr).

The idea of Teddy in a towel is somehow very appealing, but I wouldn't dare fight Ariana. :O I'm intrigued as to what's happening next; see you on the next chapter!



Author's Response: eeeep, next chapter - godhdarnit, I knew I had something to finish. Okay, I will admit that I have taken great joy is poking fun at other peoples' ships - gently, of course. But I see this couple in my mind so very clearly and want it to work. It's become as real to me as Lavender/Blaise - *sigh*

Thank you for all your reviews. I will get to them soon. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 10/01/11 8:42
Chapter: Chapter 18 -Slytherin Spirit

They did it! (By that, of course I mean the "I love you" bit -- hehe.) Aw, it's sad that Scorpius ran out of that exam, but I hope he at least gets Acceptable in that. Though perhaps the DADA practical might push his marks up.

Sorry, I'm kind of in an exam mood right now. >.> Anyway, I thought you led up to that scene very well, and you did a lovely job on leaving out enough details to not make the reader uncomfortable. I definitely think less is more, etc., etc.

And I'm glad Scorpius is sort-of apologising and improving his relations with people he previously disliked. I think leaving school has that kind of feel to it anyway. So yes, there were parts of this chapter that were really relatable for me, and I'm really enjoying it. Though that's pretty obvious anyway. :D

Onto the next chapter -- I've nearly caught up! And I'm still in denial that I've read 100K (or more) in the space of a few days. XD



Author's Response: Thank you. I was so worried 'that scene' would end up anti-climatic because there had been such a build up. I was also very mindful of the rating on this story. The original version was Profs rated - ha - but I didn't want to up the rating and risk losing readers. Plus, I agree, sometimes less is so much more. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 10/01/11 3:11
Chapter: Chapter 17 - A Testing Time

Awwwwww. (Both for you and Scorpius -- you for losing all those reviews and Scorpius for going through that in the middle of a paper -- poor boy.)

Hmm. I noticed something and I'll have to pick your brain, I'm afraid. I don't know if it's a typo or something, but you said that Fred's mum was Angelina Johnson. Is she... dead?

But anyway, I really felt for Scorpius in this chapter. I knew that something would go wrong with Scorpius in his exam. But anyway, I loved Fred II in this, and I thought it very nice of Scorpius to wish Albus good luck despite their problems with each other. Good. (:P)

Anyway, I've nearly caught up! Only a few left to go.



Author's Response: Um, no she's not dead. I meant that she was Angeline Johnso in the sense that Angelkina Joihnson was a famous Quidditch player and is now Angelina Weasley. I will write that story some day, Thanks or the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/30/11 15:41
Chapter: Chapter 16 - Widows' Weeds

Oh, for a moment there, I thought Scorpius was actually going to go and retract everything and say that he wasn't seeing Lily! Good on him, is what I can say. And I'm glad Scorpius's speech wasn't cliched or anything -- you know, the normal "procedure" in stories and movies and stuff, when the speaker has something prepared and somehow comes out with this amazing speech that they've come up with off the top of their head. >.>

I also really liked your Andromeda here, and I really wanted to slap Narcissa, dammit. Well, enough rambling from me! I've nearly caught up so I shall continue tomorrow. Night!



Author's Response: Thanks for the compliments on the funeral speech. It was a bit of a tough one to write because Scorpius does still have some fond memories and love for his granddad, but it's being submerged by the horror he feels. *sigh*. At least Andromeda can show him not all Slyths are bad. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/30/11 15:22
Chapter: Chapter 15 - Breaking In

This was a really moving chapter, Carole. Having lost a grandparent myself recently, I can really understand what Scorpius was going through.

And aww, I felt sorry for Lily. First breaking her ankle, tearing her ligaments (my best friend recently tore her ligaments -- ouch) and then being told Scorpius is tired everyday, as if he's ignoring her. Poor her :(

Again, I really love your Teddy? He's just so lovely. I particularly liked him Metarmorphosing into Albus -- for a second, I was a bit weirded out by the thought of Al being friendly to Scorpius, but then I got it, LOL.

Aww, I hope Scorpius and Lily stick this time! (I highly doubt it.)



Author's Response: you doubted they'd stick? Oh ye of little faith! ha ha. Thanks for the review. I couldn;t keep splitting them up; that's when it gets boring *sigh*

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/30/11 14:45
Chapter: Chapter 14 -Confrontation

That was a really emotional chapter, Carole. I love that you have the angst and the seriousness and the fun of their relationship and yet there's a really good balance, never too much of one thing. This, I think, is what makes a good story.

I did think they were going to guess eventually -- though, now I come to mention it, I knew the charm would wear off eventually or someone would recognise Lily's freckles, for example.

But then Lucius died! I'm not sure what to think. Part of me thinks good riddance because he was never the best of people, but another part of me feels sorry for him for having to go through that -- plus, I feel really sorry for Scorpius having to go through all of that. Especially the fact that Scorpius was actually there when Lucius died, only for him to be kicked out... so sad :(

Onto the next chapter!



Author's Response: I debated in my head the deathbed scene for a long time. I always knew I wanted something with Lily there, because Lucius had been the problem for Ginny accepting Scorpius, so I wanted Lucius' POV. I still hum and haww about whether he should have been remorseful, but I also think by this age and after his strokes, that he had become more malevolent, so I kept this in. I feel sorrier for Scorpius, Draco and Lily, than I do Lucius. Lily, because she saw someone die and she's still very young. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/30/11 8:34
Chapter: Chapter 13 - Legacies

Carole! That was a brilliant chapter (but hey, what's new?). I'm glad Lavender and Blaise got the happiness they deserved. I'm really happy for them :)

And I can finally understand why Ginny had such a problem with Scorpius. Tbh, I forgot about that connection they had, and I can definitely sympathise with Scorpius for wanting to deny it. I would want to deny it too -- no matter what Lucius was, he's still family for Scorpius so I totally see where he was coming from.

And I *knew* there was more to that letter! Haha.

Anyway, excellent chapter, Madam, and I shall see you on the next one! I'm hoping to finish all of High by this weekend. We'll see how things go...

Author's Response: Yay! Everyone thought Ginny was acting unfairly, and she was a bit, but there was a reason nand she realised she was being unfair. This was the reason I wanted to write Scily. I think the history betweenGinny and Lucius is far more interesting than Ron and Draco. That can get boorish and comical - this, imo, has more edge. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/30/11 8:18
Chapter: Chapter 12 - Meet The Potters

Ooooh, things are getting exciting. I hope her baby's okay, and I'm glad I don't have to wait for updates, LOL.

Your dialogue is delightful and real and I particularly liked the last sentence.

I've got to read on so this will be a very short review. Oh, you mentioned Apparently Asleep in your last response -- when are you getting back to that? *wags finger*

Author's Response: EEEP! Apparently Asleep. Um, I need to finish this, write two shortish things, and get cracking on Lions and Dean Thomas. Then ... back to AA. Sorry. Of course the baby is okay, I had to give Lavender and Blaise some joy. Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 12:31
Chapter: Chapter 11 - Incriminating Evidence

YAY! They came out. Now to see Ginny's reaction -- this should be interesting.

And may I just say that Quidditch is most definitely your forte, Carole? You write matches so well.

This is a very short review because my mum is calling me -- but I'm on tenterhooks and I can't wait to read the next chapter. Thank God I don't have to wait for updates!

Author's Response: Thank you. The first Quidditch match I wrote was Tonks in Apparently Asleep (The Potter 100) and I struggled. The chapter got rejected twice, but I discovered through it all that I rather liked writing Quidditch, so I'm pleased you liked it. Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 12:05
Chapter: Chapter 10 - The Great Escape

Was that meant to be a Alpius reference? :P

Meh, I can definitely imagine Lucius and Narcissa trying to set Scorpius up. And I liked that Scorpius saw the brighter side to Howler. Hehe.

Out of interest -- why do Lily and Scorpius sign off their letters with their initials?

Excellent chapter, and I'll be back soon!

Author's Response: They sign off with initials to be slightly mysterious. Not many people know Scorpius' middle name is Hyperion. (I DIED when I found that out. It sort of sparked off the story, if I'm honest) Plus .... heh heh. I never use my name is emails to my husband. We have stupid and elaborate initial names ... rambling. Thannks for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 11:49
Chapter: Chapter 9 - The Family Name

Scorpius got rejected? Nooooo. I have a feeling there was something important in that letter, though, so I'm wondering what it was that Scorpius so conveniently threw into the loo. I'll have to see.

I'm sorry none of these are SPEW reviews, Carole, but I wanted to review every chapter since you accidentally deleted the whole story and all your reviews went with it. Plus your story is far too gripping for me to leave anything remotely substantial and though I know you always reply to reviews, feel free to not reply since they're all in a row.

Author's Response: I usually reply because reviews are my life blood. ha ha.OOOH, good thinking. There could have been something he conveniently didn;t read. Or maybe Harry is the prejudiced git that Scorpius thinks he is ... heh heh. Thank youuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 11:32
Chapter: Chapter 8 - Our Own World

Oooh. I was wondering why Lavender had moved into Hogwarts suddenly. That makes perfect sense.

That reminds me -- aw, Lavender's having a baby! That's nice to know, considering I just read The Only One. I'm hoping this one doesn't end unhappily like the last two :(

Awww, and I feel sorry for Lily, but also Scorpius. I can imagine the pressures on Lily to have sex with him just to make sure he stays with her, as well as Scorpius who doesn't know how far he can go. I want to hug him :)

Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: In one of the reviews I had before I deleted everything *sigh* someone asked me if I were a teenage boy - ha ha - because I seemed to write the boyish mind so well. Hmm, I'm not a teenage boy or at all male, but I remember them very well - LOL. Lavender and Blaise are my OTP, so they keep popping up everywhere - heh heh. Thank youuuuu

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 11:15
Chapter: Chapter 7 - A Magic Show

Oh no!!! Carole, you really are too evil for your own good. It's no wonder you're a Slytherpuff.

I really was rooting for Scorpius and Lily in this chapter! But now, it's obviously going to be delayed for a bit, dammit. I hope Lucius is okay, even though he's far from my favourite character in this -- though I would like to see how you write him. My memory seems to be failing me but I can't remember the last time I read something with Lucius in it by you, so the next chapter should be interesting.

See you next time!

Author's Response: I wrote a Narcissa story that had Lucius in it, and he's been in AA for one chapter, but no, I don;t write him much. This is my canon for him. OOOOH, he is in some of my Draco fics like Shrouds (briefly) and um ... Till Death Eaters Do Us Part ... which is a bit of a prequel to High. Very rambly response - thank youuuuuu Carole

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 8:41
Chapter: Chapter 6 - Sky as a Kite

Yayyyyy... they're back together! Well, I hope they are. Harry Cootes sounds like a b@stard, though.

You write Quidditch matches really well! I think that's one of the most difficult scenes to write but somehow, you write them effortlessly. I am so jealous. >.>

I really love this story. It's fast-paced and with brilliant dialogue and everything about it is just fantabulous. I particularly liked the Blaise/Lavender in this :D

I'll be back!

Author's Response: Harry was drunk and although that doesn't excuse his behaviour towards her, he wasn't behaving as he normally would. I keep putting Lavender and Blaise in everything. It's not self insertion. I think lavender is inserting herself in me - ha ha ha. rambling again. Thank youuuuu ~Carole~

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 09/29/11 8:27
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Burst the Clouds

I knew there was more to it! And I loved Teddy in this -- Blaise too. They're both so,,,, mmmm.

I liked that Scorpius was being realistic and honest about Lily. The last thing I wanted to hear was that he loved her because I don't think at this point, he knows that. And I liked the fact that Scorpius was honest :)

Onto the next chapter!

Author's Response: He doesn;t love her at this point. I don't think that's possible for him, but at least he admits it. Blaise *sigh* I love him too much. hee hee

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
A Different Kind of Magic by unjellify 3rd-5th Years
James Potter is Head Boy and Gryffindor Quidditch captain in his seventh year...
Colorblind by Nagini Riddle 1st-2nd Years
Set in the future, Harry's grandchild tries to comfort him while Harry remembers...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES