Reviewer: turquoiseturkeyz
Date: 07/19/12 22:36
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

What in the world was the original case about?
I say guilty! (I say so as I doubt it will lead to any harm and in addition make Ron oddly happy)
Please tell me it was not about the portcuffs.
~Ellorah

Author's Response: The original case?
Thi is the only story which I don't consider to form part of my timeline. Simply because I don't think that wizards are stupid enough to allow the ridiculous UK libel laws to become part of wizarding law.
-N-

Reviewer: MaybeOneRaindrop
Date: 01/12/12 10:51
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

This made my day! Very funny! I like how only clever people would really get the humour behind it. Very enjoyable!

And Malfoy is a git, just saying!

Author's Response: Thank you. I’m glad that you enjoyed the story. -N-

Reviewer: Shreeja
Date: 11/25/11 14:25
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

This was amazing! I am studying law, and it was funny how you worked libel laws into the HPverse. Usually I find my reading through my material a tad monotonous. However, if things could be put across in this method, I'd probably have finished most books by the end of the year :P It was hilarious, and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I read a few judges summaries before attempting this, but my main impetus was the "keep libel laws out of science" campaign. I'm glad i could make you smile.
-N-

Reviewer: GinnyPottterGranger
Date: 10/04/11 22:16
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

this is so screwy- & you're right, "The System" does need some work

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. It does indeed. -N-

Reviewer: swati4891
Date: 09/02/11 1:51
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Ha ha ha.. Hermione's so... Hermione!
:)

Author's Response: I'm glad you think so, that's certainly what I try to achieve. -N-

Reviewer: hpgploversforever
Date: 08/24/11 16:14
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

WOW that was great. I was going to ask when this took place within your time line but as said above it is not part of your timeline. So instead I was wondering when Ginny's Rivel took place?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This was written for a challenge and I simply could not make it fit into my timeline (the first time I’ve failed). Ginny’s Rival is set two weeks after Lily’s birth, and about six weeks before Hugo’s, in mid-March 2008. And now that you've reminded me, I'll update my profile. -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 08/21/11 20:50
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

And this is a classic example of what's wrong with the world today! In the US you can not say anything about anybody without fear of it being taken the wrong way and resulting in either losing your job or being sued for hurting/offending/pissing off/ and/or making said person cry! Well done on this story! Malfoy is a git! (^>^) damages awarded to Mr Weasly for time lost on pondering the obvious!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I’m rather surprised at the reactions to this story. Public name-calling says as much about the person making the insult as it does about the object of the insult. Sometimes it’s best to laugh things off, and no one should ever be sued for speaking the truth. -N-

Reviewer: majestic_ginny
Date: 08/19/11 4:43
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Brilliant, Neil!

I proclaim that Mr Weasley is innocent. Draco Malfoy IS a git, despite of being one of my favourite characters. And, as Miss Weasley rightly said, his reputation is not worth a Knut ;).

Anyway, I loved the names for all the legal people. My favourite was Miss Golightly, for some reason. I imagine her to be someone bespectacled ;)and the characterisations were lovely, by the way :)

Overall, awesome story!

--Nadia

Author's Response: Nadia
Thanks for the review.
I'm rather fond of Draco and his family too. They make great villains.
I had a lot of fun naming the legal people, Miss Golightly bears absolutely no resemblance to a barrister I met last year. None at all, honest!
-N-

Reviewer: laughalot25
Date: 08/18/11 8:09
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

This was really well-written ;) I enjoyed the parts where Ron and Ginny were 'cautioned' about their behavior.

Author's Response: Thank you.
It's difficult to keep those Weasley's quiet.
-N-

Reviewer: Lasselanta
Date: 08/17/11 18:54
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Brilliant! I love all of your stories and am always excited when a new one comes out. Thanks for sharing your talent. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I try to make sure that there is always something from me in the queue, although at the moment, there is not. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 08/17/11 12:57
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Brilliant Neil, a tour de force, especially liked the "fragrant" Narcissa, so Archer.

Author's Response: Someone has found me out!
Archer and McLibel, but mostly Simon Singh v the British Chiropractic Association were my inspirations.
-N-

Reviewer: Mom2Rose
Date: 08/16/11 22:10
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Brilliant!
Assuming we're the jurors, I must admit that this is a difficult case. If one goes by the literal meaning, then the verdict is obvious. I see Ron as having given a personal opinion, however, and Draco should Have been reminded of all the libel printed via Rita Skeeter thanks to him.
Perhaps we should just call for a mistrial?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
If Ron is guilty, damage to Mr Malfoy must be appropriate to the “hurt” so damages of one Knut would seem appropriate. :)
I never considered bringing Rita into this. That was an opportunity I missed. :(
-N-

Reviewer: mugglenetaddict813
Date: 08/16/11 14:08
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Oh wow! If that's how messed up British libel laws are, than I feel sorry for you! If we had such laws in America, most journalists would be sued left and right! Especially all the ones who write for the tabloid magazines! Anyway, I did enjoy the story! I love how the summary reporter played favorites with the Malfoys and with Ginny too! Too funny! Oh, and I loved the fact that the etymologist was named Wordsworth! Such a great play on words! :) I'm sure there are other puns in the story, but I'll have to reread it to find them all. But, I definltely think this was a very creative way of getting your point across about libel laws, and it was a fun story to read too! My favorite line was when Ginny shouted, "Malfoy's reputation isn't worth a Knut, anyway!" Too true! So, I would conclude, that Malfoy, is, in fact, a git!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I can only agree about the libel laws. The preposterous McLibel case, Jeffrey Archer’s victory despite the fact that allegations against him were true, and Keep Libel Laws out of Science prove that. But enough tub-thumping.
This was an accurate report of Mr Justice Woolley’s summary of the case to the jury, favouritism and all (“Mr Justice” is a title by the way, he isn’t as important as a “Lord Justice”). I had a lot of fun coming up with the names for the legal people.
-N-

Reviewer: Kaiserin
Date: 08/16/11 13:18
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Mightly amusing!

I think veredict should be taken from the first twelve reviewers!! ;)

Ron's innocent of course! Malfoy IS a git... and far worst!

I loved picturing Hermione slashing at the barrister!! LOL!

Author's Response: Thanks
I'm afraid the court may need a unanimous verdict. Mr Justice Wooley may, however, accept the view of the majority.
Several scenes in this (like Hermione's outburst) were imagined, but unwritten other than being politely alluded to by the judge.
-N-

Reviewer: Ithinkrabis2people
Date: 08/16/11 10:55
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

Oh, PPS - I quite agree about the Libel laws... Yay for LibDems forgetting themselves in exchange for some power...

Author's Response: Yes, they're all the same (grumble). -N-

Reviewer: Ithinkrabis2people
Date: 08/16/11 10:52
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

This was a really great read! The concept is hilarious, and I think the characterisation is spot-on :) However, I think my favourite part of the story is the style, the way we're not seeing the trial directly - I feel it would have descended into the ridiculous if you'd described every little detail, but the way you've just given the reader snippets makes it all the more interesting! Overall, great fic! PS - Ginny's right; what reputation? ;)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I’m glad you liked the characterisations. Trying to write this like a Judge summing up a trial did, as you say, make it a lot shorter (and I hope funnier) than it might have been otherwise. I hope that Mr Justice Woolley’s opinions (and his feelings towards “the fragrant Mrs Malfoy”) survived intact.
-N-
It is safe to assume that Ginny is always right, that way you avoid arguments. ;-D

Reviewer: welshdevondragon
Date: 08/16/11 10:06
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

I don't mind not getting a verdict! I don't normally read humour (and I don't think Draco is a git- well he was at fifteen but he grew up) but this was very funny. The reason I clicked on it at all was because of your chapter notes regarding libel laws, where I agree with you entirely and it is something that more people should have an opinion/ want to do something about.

But aside from that and regarding the actual story this was brilliant. I liked the way it seemed rather dry and formal at first but then the opinions of Wooley started influencing his speech, and it was a good way of summarising what could have been quite a long story.

I also liked the names- they seemed very Dickensian, and the etymology was very interesting, as well as the (quite easy to do- my gran was getting them mixed up in a crossword just an hour ago) confusion of etymologist and entomologist.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this and it made me laugh. Thanks, Alex

Author's Response: Alex
Thanks for the review. UK libel laws are dreadful, it’s only a shame that the LibDems appear to have forgotten their pre-election promise to do something about it.
Regarding Draco: Fifteen? At sixteen Draco was busily (and ineptly) trying to kill Dumbledore and almost killing two innocent students instead. At seventeen, well, Harry deals with that in his evidence.
The names were deliberately Dickensian and JKR is extremely fond of word play (to shun the pike is to avoid a toll road or travel by the back-roads). This was fun and silly, and the sole intention was to make people laugh.
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 08/16/11 9:44
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

OH HOW FUNNY!!!

Quite enjoyable!!!!

Just how many Gryffindors, Huffepuffs and Ravenclaws were on that jury anyway!!!

A wonderful off piece to add to your timeline.


A big thanks for the word history as well.

Edyeb

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I’m sure that the jury was fairly selected.
This was an opportunity for me to indulge an unfortunate proclivity for sesquipedalian circumlocution. And, hopefully, make people laugh.
-N-

Reviewer: armagod679
Date: 08/16/11 9:24
Chapter: At the Wizard Courts

If we are the jury, I proclaim Mr. Weasley innocent since git is an inoffensive term, as proven by Miss Weasley.

Author's Response: Thank you. You can be jury if you like. :-D I had no intention of imposing my own verdict on anyone. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES