Reviewer: dreamsnape
Date: 04/13/13 23:37
Chapter: Epilogue

This was some long and complex story. Well done, especially for taking on the challenge of showing us the thoughts and feeling of Tom/LV. For me, you could have left out the song lyrics you so painstakingly included. I didn't bother trying to read them, and anyway, Lydia explained what they meant. Perhaps if you more fully described how the song sounded, that would have done more for me. Your characterization of Tom was good, I thought. Quite appropriate that he was so arrogant and self centered that he just assumed that Lydia would wait for him, and would be glad to be his queen, though he never discussed his plans with her. To me it seemed wrong, though, that he whispered "I love you" to her dead body. I don't believe he would have done that. Lydia was a good character, and I understood why she fell for him. Unfortunately, I don't recall who Hestia Prince was, so I'll have to look through the books again to figure out the significance of her. Anyway, good job. Write more.

Reviewer: dreamsnape
Date: 03/23/13 1:09
Chapter: Instincts

curious!

Author's Response: Thanks! Hopefully you find that the plot will continue to thicken. :)

Reviewer: AoifePotter
Date: 10/12/12 4:46
Chapter: First Impressions

this story is just amazing . that last line left me speechless and im kinda glad that Hestia is Toms daughter , cuz when Lydia said "my daughter.." im just thinking 'ah, hell no." and then i realised : Hestia JONES . anyway, thank you for writing this , it's one of the best fics i've read :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I didn't think Lydia would be willing to tell Tom about their daughter once she knew about the Horcrux. After all, a custody battle with the Dark Lord would be quite a mess. :S

Thank you for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: susielou222
Date: 10/02/12 3:46
Chapter: Epilogue

Wow. I have no words to describe this. I have enjoyed reading this fanfiction all the way through, and I can't believe that its over. Your Epilogue was spectacular.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I still can't believe it's over either, and while I have to admit that I'm sad that the story has ended, the reviews are keeping a smile on my face. :D

Thank you for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 09/30/12 15:01
Chapter: Epilogue

I started this story about a week ago and you posted the last chapter just as I came to it. A thoroughly fascinating and compelling piece of story telling. Well done and thanks.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it!
Thank you for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Con Moto
Date: 09/30/12 7:18
Chapter: Epilogue

I can't believe this is over! I loved every singe chapter; you've done a brilliant job!
So is Hestia Tom's daughter? That last line made it sound like she was...
Thank you for this story, it's been amazing!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! And yes, Hestia is Tom's daughter (although he never suspected). After Lydia knew for certain (hearing Hestia speaking with a garden snake) she had wanted to tell him, but it was when he was still travelling the world (before Hestia discovered Tom's Horcrux). After Lydia realised that Tom had split his soul, she decided it would be better for Hestia if Tom never knew that he had a daughter. Hestia grew up believing that Hadrian was her father. If Hadrian ever doubted that he was Hestia's bilogical father, he never showed it.

Thank you for your lovely reviews,
Hypatia

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 09/29/12 19:16
Chapter: Epilogue

I can't believe it's over! :'( I love this ending, you did a great job. I am really going to miss reading this. In the last line, I noticed something--"a girl with amethyst eyes who could speak to snakes"--that led me to believe that Hestia was actually Tom's daughter instead of Hadrian's. Is that true or am I just misinterpreting it?

Great job. I loved every second of it.

Author's Response: I can't believe it's over either! And yes, you are entirely correct: Hestia is the illegitimate daughter of Tom (from Chapter 26). He never realised but Lydia suspected for some time after Hestia was born. When she discovered that Hestia was a Parselmouth, she was certain. Of course, she had been trying to contact Tom for years (but the owls kept returning with her letters) and when she found Hestia playing with the locket and realised it was a Horcrux, she no longer wanted Tom to find out. Hestia had no idea that Hadrian wasn't her biological father and if Hadrian suspected, he never so much as hinted at it to anyone.

So yeah... perhaps there will be a sequel some day since the Dark Lord's daughter joined the Order of the Phoenix... :)

Thank you so much for your many reviews,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 09/29/12 19:01
Chapter: Epilogue

Is this the end????????????????
I only ask that because your story says no next to completed.
Anyways, I love Snape!!!!!! :) Amazing how similar Snape and Riddle were! Both slytherins, both half bloods with pure blood mothers and muggle fathers, both in love (in your story) and lost that love because their ambitions got in the way. Both lost those loves to magical deaths. Sigh. I loved it!
And now it is done. But I really like the prophecy idea you put in! It makes me want to write a story where Lydia survives and becomes the dark lady. *scary music* But I see that is was necessary in order to show how Voldemort could not bear the pain of love.
I wish I could have been inside your head, because I'm quite jealous of this story! :) the characterizations were beautifully done and believable!!!!
Now it's over. What will I do????? Probably fantasize about Tom and Lydia... Or Tom and I...
:)

~Nagini

Author's Response: Sorry Nagini: I completely forgot to check that box. This story is now complete. I might try writing more about Tom and Lydia (or perhaps Hestia) someday, but that will have to be another story for another day. If you ever write the version where Lydia lives, I'd be happy to beta (I've already played around with the idea in my head quite a bit, but for the purposes of this, that breif glimpse in Calypso's pool was all I could manage).

In some ways, I think Tom would almost see Severus as the son that "might have been", even though he was Lydia's nephew and not related to Tom at all. They even both have black eyes.

*sigh* I still can't believe the story is actually complete and over. I mean there were definitely days when I thought I would never be able to connect the current chapter to the epilogue (this was actually written about a year ago) but somehow (and largely due to excellent betas) we got there.

Thank you again for each and every review you've written for this,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 09/26/12 0:36
Chapter: Swan Song

I have made it this far. :)
Hmm... I loved the wrench of the daughter! Very nice! And Lydia's anger felt so real.
I do think that some parts moved a little too fast. Like when he sent the death eaters to kill Hadrian and capture Lydia. I think you could have built the suspense slightly more, because I know you are very good at that in your previous chapters. But overall, it was very good! Can't wait for the epilogue! (and the rebirth of Lydia? ;). )

Author's Response: Thanks! I agree that the order to capture Lydia could have been built up more slowly, but since it's all from Tom's perspective, I wanted her death to sort of be a shock, as it was a huge shock for him. Tom really was completely confident that his Death Eaters would follow his simple instructions and ever since he met Lydia there have been ups and downs and she'd always come around and forgiven him before. It really never occured to him that it could all go wrong so quickly and I was trying to force the reader to see it that way too (though, now that I think about it, I guess it does sort of just jump out a bit doesn't it?)

I'm afraid Lydia won't be getting a rebirth (she drew the line at Horcruxes). However, her nephew will at least get mentionned as well as a prophecy.

Thanks for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Con Moto
Date: 09/25/12 11:52
Chapter: Swan Song

Oh my... That was heartbreaking. I can't believe how you can make such an unfeeling, hateful person so human. I loved how you made me sympathise with Voldemort even though I hate him in canon. What he did with Lydia's body was so fitting yet so sinister because he ordered the attack. And he said I love you... Oh my goodness. Wow. Thank you for this amazing story, you are so talented. I'll look forward to the epilogue!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad to hear that Tom's character came off the way I wanted it to (he's not an easy guy to write). I was hoping I didn't push it too far with the 'I love you' so it's a relief to know you liked it. (Also, the reason the chapter was titled Swan Song).

Thanks you very much for your lovely review,
Hypatia

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 09/17/12 3:55
Chapter: Terrible But Great

I am so angry at Tom! As usual you have captured him perfectly, and he now seems to have no qualms about killing. There were so many deaths in this chapter...

I love all of the different cultures in this chapter! Chinese, Haitan, Greek, Egyptian...all of it perfect!

I can't wait to read more!

Ps: The answer is heart, correct?

Author's Response: Thank you very much! :D I always love to hear that Tom's in character!

You're right about the answer to the riddle. Apparently the ancient Egyptians thought of the soul as having different parts: Ren (the name), Ka (vital spark), Sheut (the shadow), Ba (this would match up most to what we call a soul) and Ib (the heart). Anyway, I thought it would make an interesting problem for when Horcruxes are being created since part of the danger would be that the person might accidentally confer all of one of these 'sections' of their soul into their Horcrux.

Thank you for your review,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 09/17/12 1:01
Chapter: Terrible But Great

Wow! What a way to capture Voldemort's breaking the boundaries of magic!
I loved it so much!! And found myself quailing in some areas. I think I may have nightmares! But I found it all rather fascinating!
I'm curious. What does the Greek translate to in the spell he said on Calypso's island? I know te last word was Calypso- but what was the rest? :)

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I'm really glad you liked it (and hope it doesn't result in nightmares). The only nightmare I can recall having about Lord Voldemort was one where I was dreaming that it was my duty to stop him from finding the 'magic wishing fork' (in case you're wondering, a magic wishing fork is a fork that grants wishes). I remember hiding it in a cutlery drawer so he'd have to check all the forks to find the right one. Shortly after waking up I began to question the wisdom of having ice cream before bed. :S

As for the spell, it was supposed to roughly translate to:

"Shrouded in darkness,
Revealed by dawn,
Arise Ogygia,
Isle of Calypso"

If you were trying a translation program, it probably didn't work well since I had to switch out the Greek lower-case 'nu' for 'v' so that it wouldn't show up as a strange little square.

Thanks again,
Hypatia

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 09/01/12 1:30
Chapter: Queen Sacrifice

This is heartbreakingly sad, and I am eagerly awaiting the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Awww! Thank you! :) The next chapter is already drafted so, hopefully, it won't be a long wait.

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 08/31/12 22:02
Chapter: Queen Sacrifice

Augh!!!!!!!!!
Wow, I absolutely loved our interpretation of how to make a horcrux. No wonder people don't make them.
And then- sigh. Poor Tom. He should have known what he was getting himself into. By the way, how exactly does the locket then end up in the cave later to be stolen by RAB? Will that be revealed later? :)
I really loved it, even if it was short. Keep it up!

Author's Response: Oh good! I actually spent quite a while trying to think of a possible method for creating a Horcrux. It's nice to know that it came across ok. :)

Tom isn't planning on having Lydia keep the locket forever. He's planning on reclaiming it when he returns to Britain (and as the end of his note hints, he plans on then making her the guardian of a different Horcrux.) How Lydia feels about guarding the locket... that may be another matter.

Thanks for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Prettyfish
Date: 08/29/12 4:30
Chapter: Waking the Dragon

Please update I have become quite fond of this fiction, I also hope Tom does something to go back in time and crash the wedding.

Author's Response: But even if he did go back in time, it wouldn't change the outcome of the wedding! ...that would be awkward. :S

On the bright side, the next chapter should be appearing relatively soon (like within the next week).

Thank you for your review,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Nagini Riddle
Date: 08/24/12 21:26
Chapter: Waking the Dragon

I felt so bad for Tom!!!!!!! Oh! It ripped at my heart when he lost control of his magic. Just why is Lydia doing? Augh! I had kind of been hoping they would end up together, despite having read More Than a Game. Oh well... It still makes me sad. Be sure to tell Tom that I would gladly marry him! (if he would have me- and I highly doubt he would. Sigh)

Author's Response: All I can say for now is that Lydia has her reasons. I'll pass on the message to Tom, but he's been in a rather bad mood lately. Plus, I feel obligated to point out that he really wouldn't make a very good husband. He'd probably invite the Death Eaters over without checking with his wife first, I doubt it would ever occur to him that it's not easy to get bloodstains out of robes, and you just know he'd always leave the seat up.

Thanks for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: castrolovee
Date: 08/20/12 22:38
Chapter: Waking the Dragon

Good as always.
I want to say poor Tom, but we shouldn't pity him.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

As for Tom, yeah... he really can't blame anyone but himself for how things are going.

Thanks for reviewing,
Hypatia

Reviewer: PeppermintToads
Date: 08/19/12 21:20
Chapter: Waking the Dragon

Oh my gosh...this was absolutely heartbreaking. Tom's reaction was believable and in character...I nearly cried when I read that part! :( Well done! ~Julie

Author's Response: Thank you! :) I tend to worry about Tom slipping out of character, so it's a relief to know that he seemed believable.

Thanks again,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Helena ravenclaw
Date: 06/28/12 15:03
Chapter: First Impressions

Wow, your story is fantastic!. I think that if Tom Riddle or later Lord Voldemort could live in those situations, JKR would write it exactly as you did. You really understood tom´s character and you created a perfect couple for him; Lydia is maybe a character with wich many of us Potterheads can identify, I even feal jealus for her to have such handsome and smart guy courting her, if that´s what they are doing.
I only have a question, If Voldemort has already made a pair of Horcruxes, doesnt that prevent him from loving? I mean he´s as selfish as ever but maybe loving Lydia can make a change in what he feels by creating his Horcruxes, maybe pain in his soul, because in my believes, love comes along with having a soul, and if you are slowly turning your soul into pieces maybe that affects your loving and maybe Voldemort, at some time of the story coulf feel remorse by not being able to protect lydia and having to deal with her death through his ever lasting life.
Anyway I just wanted to know your thoughts on my thoughts.
I congratulate you for writing such a wonderful story, I read it all in only 2 days, and now my eyes are irritated for staring so much time at the computer, but nothing to worry about. I hope you keep writing and if you decide to release a book, please let me know so I can buy it and read one more amazing story :) . And one more thing, I must confess I don´t know much about chess, but I´m looking forward to learn it, because in many cases, it can be much more than a game :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your review was the bright spot in my day (and it was one of those days that really needed a bright spot).

As for your question regarding Voldemort's ability to love with a split soul... I'm afraid I can't answer that just yet. However, if after reading the epilogue you don't feel that the question is fully answered, just let me know and I will give you a more detailed response. Sorry, but I think you're question is just too close to how the story ends. (If you can't wait to find out, you can PM me on the forums since it will be weeks before the epilogue is posted: I'm Hypatia there too.)

Thank you again for review,
Hypatia

Reviewer: Phoenix Song114
Date: 06/25/12 22:40
Chapter: Crossroads

WOW THIS STORY ROCKS! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you're enjoying it! :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES