Reviews For Inch of Dust
Reviewer: Ginnypotter2699
Date: 01/27/12 4:10
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

I love stories about George after the battle. So I like this one to :)
Are you Australian? I guess this u said uni.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you liked it :) I'm actually from New Zealand hehe.

Reviewer: unicornwarrior
Date: 08/04/11 2:02
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

That was so moving. It made me cry.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)

Reviewer: psijupiter
Date: 07/31/11 11:49
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Julia,

Such a lovely fic.  Very emotional without being overdone at all.  Your writing is always fantastic: brilliant imagery and descriptions.

I like the different sections, and the different relationships George goes through as he works through his grief.  My only small (tiny, miniscule!) nitpick is that the section with the muggle girl felt a little bit ... unbalanced? with the others, because it was so short.  

As others have said, your Luna is perfect and amazing and just right.  Have you written any Luna-centric fic? *goes to look* 

Thank you for such a great fic! :)

Ali x



Author's Response: Thanks so much, Ali! I can definitely see where you're coming from in terms of the Muggle section. I did think about expanding it but in the end I didn't feel like there was anything else I could add to it. But thanks for letting me know your thoughts, anyway. I appreciate it. And thanks so much about Luna xD I was really worried that readers wouldn't like her but she seems rather popular haha. Again, thanks for the review :)

Julia x

Reviewer: lunatrix18
Date: 07/22/11 10:30
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

simply beautiful!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 07/19/11 15:57
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

WOOOOW!!!!!

I really wasn't sure about what the pairing was when I read the summary, but I thought I'd give it a go, especially since you wrote it, Julia. This was just so, so, so, so amazing. I loved everything about it; it was beautifully poetic, with your signature lyricism (I have no idea if I've phrased that right) and the use of such gorgeous, wonderful descriptions, the realistic and, at times, heartbreaking dialogue, made this story a very, very enjoyable read. I shall add it to my favourites (for once, I actually remembered!) and I will definitely nominate this for the Post-Hogwarts QSQ. :D Please write more -- your stories are bloody amazing. And sorry for such a sqee-y review :S

~Soraya~

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Soraya! I'm glad the summary didn't put you off too much xD I hate writing summaries and I usually get lazy and just type out something rather minimalist. Don't worry about leaving a squee-y review! I love them just as much as essay length SPEW reviews! And thanks so much for the favourite and nomination, as well :) -Julia.

Reviewer: C_A_Campbell
Date: 07/19/11 12:10
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Wow. I loved this. I remember reading it as a drabble and loved the glimpse into George's mind. When I found this story and found you had expanded on it, I was ecstatic.

I love the Fred/Angelina/George triangle, and you handled it so well. I especially like the part with Luna -- the way he thought about her and how it was her that made him begin to grieve.

I wish I was one of those people who could write those long, amazing reviews so I could explain just how much I loved this. However, all I can say is, thank you for writing this. It was beyond beautiful.

Author's Response: Thanks! I really struggled with the drabble because I had to cut so much out so I'm pleased you like the one-shot version, as well :) Luna was definitely my favourite part to write, as well as the most challenging! I'm so glad you liked her part. Again, thanks so much for the review. There's no need to write long reviews all the time. Reviews like this make me smile just as much xD

Reviewer: Lily Qwuest
Date: 07/18/11 19:48
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Beautiful and Powerful. You, my friend, have incredible talent.

Author's Response: Thanks so much :)

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 07/10/11 23:07
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

After having gone through the scintillating reviews, all I have to say is WHAT DID I TELL YOU? :P

This was just utterly beautiful and poignant and intense and sexy and a million other adjectives, my dear elf. Just ... very, very elvish! I hope you'll now expand the other drabbles and fill up your author page - the world needs it. Badly.

Ever yours,

Lafonna

Author's Response: Lafonna is always right.

I should remember that. Hehehe. Anyway, in all seriousness, thank you so much. It's because of you that I didn't throw this in the not-working-therefore-can't-be-bothered-to-finish file. *huggles*

Greenleaf x

Reviewer: ljlove
Date: 07/07/11 4:24
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

This story was beautiful! I had totally forgotten that Angelina was with Fred so I had never really thought about it. When I first realized, I got mad that his own brother would do something like that but after reading this story, I realize he actually didn't do anything wrong and Fred probably would have wanted it that way. (I still feel like Angelina is a little wrong though haha.) This story was great, though, because it was all just George's scattered thoughts but at the same time you could always tell what was going on at that moment. Great story!

-El

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you were able to come to terms with Fred and Angelina's relationship through this fic.

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 07/07/11 1:06
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Wow! It's hard to know what to write here... it seems like I can't possibly add to what everyone else has written. Like Lori said, I would write out my favourite phrases, but it would be the whole story...

What really stands out to me is that you've written about a topic which a lot of people write about - how George copes without Fred and the fact that Angelina was Fred's and now he loves her. But your writing is just incredible. I really wanted this story to just keep going and going, it was just wonderful to read.

I think the part with Luna was my favourite - you just nailed her! I think she is one of the most original characters in canon, and it's so hard to write her without her just being crazy, but you just got her right.

I loved this line.
And for the first time since he held his brother’s head in his lap, while the Great Hall erupted into chaos around him, all George remembers is Fred at his best, his most brilliant, his star shining bright enough to crack the sky.
I just loved the idea of Fred being like a star and that this is how George is finally able to both remember and move on.

I loved this repeated image. He thought of a boy’s laugh, and a girl tilting her head towards the light. It's a really vivid image and I could just see it in my mind's eye every time you used it.

He closes his eyes and tries so very hard not to think of Fred. Fred and her and him and her and Fred and… oh God, he can’t think. He can’t think about anything. I loved the repetitions in this line (and in the whole story). You just really capture George's feelings and emotion so well in that.

I can't really think of a way of describing this story other than perfection.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Hi Katrina! Thank you so much :) When I began to expand the drabble, I had this very clear image of Fred, George, and Angelina sitting on the banks of the lake at Hogwarts. I'm glad you liked that imagery and that it stood out for you. Also, That line about Fred and the stars is definitely one of my favourites, too. It was one of the first things I added when I began to expand the drabble and one of the only things I didn't tweak at all along the editing process. I'm glad you liked it. Again, thanks for such a lovely review xD - Julia.

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 07/07/11 0:21
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

At this point, it's almost ridiculous for me to review, as I have nothing coherent to say that hasn't already been said. Suffice it to say that you make my monitor weep for joy every time something you've written comes on it. Simply gorgeous.

~Jess



Author's Response: Thanks, Jess :) Well, if you're lost for words then I'll take it as a good sign, eh? - Julia xD

Reviewer: Phoenix13
Date: 07/06/11 23:04
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

This story was written beautifully. My very favorite part was Luna. I think you got her character perfectly.

"“Will it ever stop? This?” he asks, and the way her lips curve up in a slight smile tells him she understands the question.
“No, but that’s the silver lining, George. It will never stop so you’ll never forget.”......And for the first time since he held his brother’s head in his lap, while the Great Hall erupted into chaos around him, all George remembers is Fred at his best, his most brilliant, his star shining bright enough to crack the sky."

This was perfect. I'm speechless. Absolutely wonderful!

~Alyssa

Author's Response: Thank you, Alyssa! Luna is a tough character to write so it's great to know you enjoyed her part :)

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 07/05/11 22:02
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Julia,

When I first read this in drabble form during the Three Broomsticks Brawl, I thought it was written to perfection. I was wrong – this is perfection. It’s the tiramisu of wonderful stories. Just…amazing. It’s one of those stories that you can read over and over till the point where you have it almost completely memorized and still not be tired of it. If it were legal on the boards, I would second this QSQ nomination.

I know I’ve commented on this before, but your style and tone of writing is truly magnificent. Each of your stories reads like a poem – and this one is a delicate, gorgeously tragic one at that. I have read a lot of wonderful, mind-blowing stories on this site, but there is something about the way you write that just makes each of your stories … beautiful. You write as though you’re creating a piece of art, and it really does show. The repetition of words is done in just the right places, the breaks with the song lyrics fit seamlessly, and most of all the atmosphere of your story was just fantastic. Each of the words you used just felt right for George in the grief he was going through. And I liked how each of the girls sort of represented the phases of George’s grief and the stages of where he was at in his life. I don’t think I can stress enough how brilliantly this story was written.

One of the best facets of this story is how you let the women tell George’s story; how each ‘relationship’ George had meant something important to the story. His experience with Verity was so complex, because in your story she had once, like Angelina, belonged to Fred. But unlike Angelina, I don’t think George was in love with Verity and it was definitely the deciding factor in the situation. Perhaps my favorite part of the story is when George is in the Muggle club and chooses the girl that looks like Angelina. I loved this line: Don’t speak, he says, because then he can pretend she’s not some random Muggle girl at a London club but someone else entirely. It was one of the lines that really stood out in the original drabble. I’m not sure why I like it so much, only that I know it seems to portray just how messed up (for lack of better words) George has become since Fred died.

I admit, in the drabble my eyes sort of scanned over the part with Daphne – not because it wasn’t interesting, but because I didn’t think it was that important. I love how you’ve fleshed it out here. Her character was so interesting and so well written. This line I thought was amazing: It’s like he chokes on a cry and out comes a burst of laughter rather than the tears he so desperately needs to fall. I just feel like with your writing, you are able to describe exactly what it is you mean rather than settling for a poor substitute of words. It brings so much power and oomph to the fic.

The part with Luna was probably, I think, one of the most compelling, best scenes I have ever read. Maybe even the most compelling, best scene I have ever read. I find her such a difficult character to write, personally, but it didn’t even feel like she was being written, if that makes sense. It felt like she was just herself. I love what she says here and how she is able to complete the circle of advice given to him by his previous relationships. My favorite line of hers was this: “It will never stop so you’ll never forget.” I don’t usually cry when I read, but I did tear up at this. Just absolutely brilliant.

The closing line felt like the perfect ending to the story – and even though it ended happily, it was probably the furthest thing away from being fluffy because of all the tragedy and emotion put into this piece. I think it is definitely one of the gems of this site, and I really want you to know how much I enjoyed this story. It’s tied up there with ‘Waking’ (maybe even surpassing it) as my favorites.

Xx Ariana

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, Ariana. How do I respond to a review like this? Thank you so much! There is a stupid grin on my face right now so I'm glad I'm alone. First of all, thank you for the lovely compliments about my writing. I am quite self-conscious about the fact that I can be over repetitive so I'm glad you enjoyed it and it's always good to hear it didn't bore you. Second, I'm glad you mentioned the night-club section. It's the one part of the drabble that I didn't change. I really liked the imagery of George going a bit crazy in this uninhibited environment. So thanks! Also, I'm glad you enjoyed Daphne. She was certainly interesting to write. I had written a lot more in her section of the drabble but had to cut it out for the word limit (grumblegrumble) and so she was neglected, originally. But it was great getting to flesh her out more in the final fic. I see her as the one to snap George out of his down-ward spiral. And dear dear Luna. She is incredibly hard to write but she can really relate to George. Like Daphne she is honest but in a much less harsh manner. I was worried that she wouldn't come across as Luna-ish so it's nice to hear she convinced you :) Again, thanks so much for such a wonderful review, Ariana. It was a fabulous surprise. - Julia xD

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 07/05/11 18:23
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Julia. I've been sitting here staring at this story for a second time, trying to figure out what in the world to say about it. And I've still got nothing. Your original drabble was amazing to begin with, and to expand it and find so much more depth than was already present... this is completely brilliant writing. Do you have any idea how good you are? I was about to leave a review earlier, after I first read it, but then decided to go nominate this for QSQ, only to discover Natalie had beat me to the punch. This is easily my favorite fic of yours... yes, even more than Waiting, though it pains me to admit it. ;)

If I tried to say what my favorite parts were, I would only end up copying the entire thing, but I will mention a couple of things... First, I loved the repetition of certain phrases, and the way you used the same word over and over as a list of sorts... "grow and grow and grow" and "fall and fall and fall" and best of all "Fred and Fred and Fred." Your prose always feels like poetry in terms of the beauty and the fluidity of actual words. And yet, even with writing so lovely, it didn't take away from George... I never once abandoned him to consider your perfect mechanics.

When Luna showed up, I doubted you for a split second... Luna and George, really? ;) But then you absolutely convinced me that she was the one to show him himself and show him was okay to love Angelina, and to understand how awful he feels because she has felt that way too. I adored this part, especially when George considered what Fred would think of him lying there with her.

"George turns his head to look at her, blonde curls spread about her face in all her Lovegood glory. He can smell the grass and the earth and the wood fire smoke rising in steady streams from a nearby farmhouse chimney. He can smell her. George brings his other hand to lie on top of his chest, his fingers curling into a fist. He wishes he could curl into a ball and push, push, push his hand into the gaping hole he can feel in his chest." This paragraph was probably my favorite part, especially the end. Your writing is always stunning, but this piece is over the top. It's seriously flawless.

I hope you get a ton of reviews and the recognition you deserve for this one. Just, wow.

Author's Response: Eep! Thank you so much, Lori! What a wonderful review :) I always wanted to expand this and I remember thinking as I wrote the original drabble that the subject lent itself more to a one-shot. I'm glad the repetition was a highlight for you because I often think I overuse it but I really tried to cut it down here so it wasn't too grating lol. And yay for Luna. That was my favourite part to write and I knew that at first it might seem odd but I'm so pleased you were convinced. Again, thank you so much for such a lovely review. It's made me grin from ear to ear :D - Julia x

Reviewer: Mom2Rose
Date: 07/05/11 15:32
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

Wow. I'm on the verge of tears.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :)

Reviewer: harrypotterfanforeva
Date: 07/05/11 8:14
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

amaaaaaaaaazing!!!!!1

Author's Response: Thanks :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 07/05/11 4:54
Chapter: Inch of Dust.

And for the first time since he held his brother’s head in his lap, while the Great Hall erupted into chaos around him, all George remembers is Fred at his best, his most brilliant, his star shining bright enough to crack the sky. And at that point I filled up and tears fell from my eyes.

This is so stunningly beautiful. I am in utter awe of your lush writing and just the way you managed to conjure something so beautiful from the prompt.

Too jealous, must now crawl into a ball and zechad myself. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much, Carole. I admit that I teared up when writing that last bit of the Luna section. I wouldn't zechad yourself too soon, however, because otherwise I will be very very annoyed if I have to wait any longer for a High update! Thanks again for the lovely review! -Julia xD

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
The Prisoner by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
A prisoner of Azkaban reflects on what is and what could have been. Little...
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES