Login
MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Raindrops

Name: pheonixflame (Signed) · Date: 06/24/11 15:00 · For: Chapter Two
All I have to say is "wow." well, that's a lie, because you've got a whole lot more than that coming your way! I stumbled upon this fic and, while I like the instant gratification of reading completed stories, I couldn't help but read this after your strong, appealing summary. I'm so glad I did because, my goodnes, I love it. I love the non-cliche start and the freshness of the characters. It gets so tiring to read a James who wants nothing more than to prove himself to Lily, cliche Head Boy/Head Girl beginning, etc, etc. I hope you know what I mean. Yours is so different though; I love the way you portray James. I very much think that's the way he is meant to be in canon.

The animosity between him and Lily made my breath catch! It is so very powerful and well-written that I could not help but be furious with Lily! (not that you didn't portray her well; on the contrary! This is a compliment, I promise :) ) Like I mentioned before, this is such a nice, fresh, strong L/J and I can't wait to read more.

Also! I love the allusions to the attack in Hogsmeade and James' courage.

-pheonixflame/Mari

PS I'm a sucker for your stories. Whenever I see one while browsing, I know I have to read, because it'll be good. :) I haven't reviewed, I know, I'm terrible! But I promise to, as soon as I get on the computer and get off of my iTouch, on which it's so hard to leave reviews!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the amazing review. I really appreciate it because I was quite leery of starting a seventh year J/L fic on the train - I'm so glad you feel it avoided cliches, because that can be hard. I really wanted to try something just a bit different. The animosity between James and Lily is pretty intense, yes, and that was my plan so I'm glad it came through. Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I really appreciate the compliments! And I hope you enjoy the story! ~Gina :)


Name: jamlil (Signed) · Date: 06/23/11 1:24 · For: Chapter One
oh i loved it!!!!! it's gr8.i'm soooo so intrested in the story.please write more.
oh and i would have slapped Lily if i were James!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it. Yes, Lily was quite rude, wasn't she? Well, she has her reasons, I suppose. ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing, I appreciate it! ~Gina :)


Name: StarsApartlover (Signed) · Date: 06/22/11 21:36 · For: Chapter One
Lovely chapter! Luv this story so far. Can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked the beginning and hope you enjoy the rest! ~Gina :)


Name: wauwabee (Signed) · Date: 06/22/11 16:48 · For: Chapter One
I quite like this! I thought your characterization was excellent! Lily and James are my favorite paring probably because Rowling gives us SO much freedom with how they came to be. I'm interested to see how you weave in the Hogsmead story as well as getting Lily and James together!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed them in this chapter. James and Lily are my favorite pairing to write as well. Hogsmeade is more background than anything, but there will probably be more. Thanks so much for the lovely review, I appreciate it! ~Gina :)


Name: Emily Erised (Signed) · Date: 06/22/11 13:51 · For: Chapter One
Wow, this is an excellent piece. The characterisation is just perfect! L & J are my favourite pairing and you have really done them justice. Often, whilst reading fics I have a running commentary in my head of what I'd modify so that the story moulds into how I imagine Lilly and James ( often tenuous) relationship, but this needed no altering, I think you've really captured their essence.

It was great how you managed to tease us by weaving in the backdrop of the Hogsmeade incident, I hope we find out more about it! I also appreciate how you don't have James embarking upon seventh year with only the conquest of Lily in mind, but how his new found maturity and weariness is due to external happenings rather than just a conscious change in an attempt to win her over- it really adds a depth to his character, and a layering to their relationship.

Very sorry for the rambling, but I really enjoyed this and please, please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I do the same thing with altering stories *cough* so I'm thrilled you didn't need to do that here, lol! And I'm glad you liked their characterization, because I'm always worried about that, given people's perceptions of them from the vast amount of fan-fic out there. I suppose there will be a bit more about what happened in Hogsmeade, but it's more background that shapes the present. I've just updated so I hope you enjoy the next chapter! Thanks again for reading and reviewing, I really appreciate it! ~Gina :)


Name: Equinox Chick (Signed) · Date: 06/21/11 9:35 · For: Chapter One
Gina!!! Lovely approach to this. I am really intrigued by the backstory, so I demand you tell us what happened in Hogsmeade.

Remus is sweet in this. (I suspect a certain person's influence *scowls*) and James is sadly baleful. But I think you've excelled yourself with Lily. She is snarky and also witty, but bad tempered enough to make me want to shake some sense into her. James is LOVELY. Give him a chance!

Look forward to reading more. (Oh, and I'm not getting my favourite authors updates atm. I didn't get Jess' story either.)

Thanks for another classic. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Thanks for coming by to read this, Carole. I'm glad you liked the beginning. I have to admit, I wasn't sure whether to plunge into this idea or write that bit in Hogsmeade, so hopefully I'll be able to write that someday as it is a backstory I'd like to tell. Lea said something similar about Lily but the next chapter does get into her mean spirited attitude a bit. I don't know about another classic, but I had to give it another go because they are my OTP. Thanks again for the lovely review! ~Gina :)


Name: Free_Elf (Signed) · Date: 06/21/11 1:20 · For: Chapter One

You write James and Lily so well, their characters are already well defined in one chapter. There's a good difference between your other James/Lily fics. I also love the dynamics with the Marauders and James' father.

 Just one picky thing that jarred me - the Potters are a pureblood family so it struck me as odd that James' father would use the phrase Floo-phone since a phone is a Muggle device. Just a minor passing thought that made me curious.

Can't wait to read more!



Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I'm glad there seems to be a difference, since it's one thing I'm sort of worried about. And I'm glad the characters have come through already. I laughed when I saw your comment about the Floo-phone because I changed that at the last minute. I had it as Floo-call but liked the sound of Floo-phone better, lol! Yet I was hesitant for exactly the reasons you stated. Thanks for sharing your opinion and for the lovely review. I hope you enjoy the story! ~Gina :)


Name: Jupiter13 (Signed) · Date: 06/20/11 20:07 · For: Chapter One
Oooh new story? :D Great! More, it's good!

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm glad you enjoyed the beginning, thanks for the review! ~Gina :)


Name: unjellify (Signed) · Date: 06/20/11 18:38 · For: Chapter One
James/Lily is my favorite pairing in the series, though we don't get to see much of them in canon. So far, I love your takes on both characters, and I thought the dialogue especially was excellent. Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! They are my favorite pairing as well and I can't seem to write enough of them. I sometimes wish JKR would give us a bit more of them, but then all the fanfic out there would be contradicted, and I sometimes fear her story for them is far more mundane than all the crazy stuff we've thought up. I'm glad you found both characters appealing so far, and thanks for the compliment on the dialogue. It's one thing I love writing and probably have the most fun with. Thanks again! ~Gina :)


You must login (register) to review.