Reviews For Raindrops
Reviewer: StarsApartlover
Date: 07/15/11 15:03
Chapter: Chapter Five

Great chapter! I saw the movie last night. Did you like it? Keep up the good work

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Yes, I saw the movie on day two (I know, what kind of fan am I, lol?) I really liked it. I know a lot of fans have their issues, but I just love seeing it on the big screen. Do I miss the things they've changed or left out? Yes, but they did such a fantastic job with what they had, it was amazing. Thanks again for the review! ~GIna :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 07/15/11 10:25
Chapter: Chapter Five

Hmmm. It was good to read Lily and James having a semi-civilized conversation. Too bad they didn't have the study date! Thank you for the update! Wasn't the movie good? It was missing some great bits from the book but overall I thought it was well done.

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for the review! And yes, I enjoyed the movie tremendously. For as much as they leave out or twist in rather odd ways, it's still so exciting to see it all come to life. I found it very, very emotional. Thanks again for the review, I'm glad you are enjoying the story! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 07/15/11 10:17
Chapter: Chapter Four

I am glad to see James is going out with his friends at the end of this chapter. It sounds like he needs a break - James snapping at the other Marauders? That is just wrong! James is right to stay away from Anastasia - she is quite the predator. It will be interesting to read if he can avoid her clutches in the future. Poor Cynthia - she sounds quite nice. I hope it isn't James she is after. Thanks for the update!

Author's Response: And thank you for the review! I love hearing your thoughts since I know what's coming for those two girls, lol. And yes, he does need a break, doesn't he? Thanks again for the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 07/15/11 10:07
Chapter: Chapter Three

Wow - so much bickering between James and Lily. It is so weird to read James being so irritated with Lily. Don't get me wrong - it's highly entertaining but just unusual. Mark has a lot of nerve (for a non Gryffindor) asking Lily out! Remus is awesome as always! Thank you for another great chapter.

Author's Response: I'm tickled that you see this as unusual, as I sort of did want that to come through in this story. Thanks so much for the review, I'm glad you are enjoying it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 07/14/11 22:50
Chapter: Chapter Four

I love this chapter. The banter is brilliant, especially at the end when they're planning the party.

I could go through this and point out my favourite bits but actually that's too difficult. Okay, I'll have a go. For me, my favourite part is the way you've caught James. I love the fact that he hates the others being his 'bodyguards' and also that you've shown so brilliantly the bonds between the four of them. Peter is excellent. Not muttering darkly in corners but a full Marauder who has worries like the rest of them. I love Sirius, too. (Who is his mystery girl - or is it a boy? 0-0)

Gina, this is one of the best chaptered Marauder/ JamesLily stories I've read because it has a plot, back story and very genuine interractions between the characters. Brilliant. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Wow, thanks Carole. I really appreciate the review. I don't know if it's quite that brilliant, but I'm glad I've got some things down right, lol. I do like writing James. The mystery girl is not a boy, no, lol - but she has appeared before, thanks to you. *whistles innocently* I don't know if she'll appear again, but I've set it up in case I need it. I could say so much more but that would give away the magic so I won't. Thanks for reading, and a tremendous thanks for the nomination! I hope you enjoy the next parts, I will tell you there are some interesting things planned and it will be my longest yet...Thanks!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: jamlil
Date: 07/14/11 13:50
Chapter: Chapter Five

oh i'm glad lil & jam could actualy talk!and i dont understand why they don't know about their feelings towards each other.Poor mark and Cynthia

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Yes, they are rather clueless, aren't they? Well, they are in denial, obviously! I suppose they will get there eventually...maybe. ;) Thanks for reading, hope you continue to enjoy it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 07/10/11 20:31
Chapter: Chapter One

All caught up now, and truly invested... but oh dear, I fear what happened in that closet. Perhaps her summer was as bad as his was, and all this anger (from both of them) is coming from somewhere else entirely. Hmmm.

Really liking the story!

Author's Response: Hi Lori, thanks for continuing! And thanks for picking up on things. Yes, her summer was not good either. Whatever happened in the closet is not as bad as you might think but it's certainly shaping her feelings and reactions now, just maybe in a less obvious way than James. So hopefully I've given them some depth as to why they are relating to each other this way. I'm also trying to set up other things that I hope I can keep straight, lol. I'm glad you liked it, thanks so much for another review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 07/10/11 19:32
Chapter: Chapter One

Hello there Gina. :) I'm enjoying this so far. I admire the fact that you can write J/L so much, and yet manage to come at it a bit differently now, still being true to what we know of the characters. I do feel like shaking Lily... does she know what he has been through this summer? I'm sure I will learn more as I go on, but just wanted to say I enjoyed the first chapter. I'm swooning over your Remus, as per usual. ;)

I can't remember if you like to know little nitpicky things or not, so forgive me if this is annoying... but I think you forgot a word (the word "what"?) in this sentence: "Never mind that she was putting him down for he had done in Hogsmeade; it still gave him nightmares." I love when reviewers tell me these things since they are so easily fixed. Hehe.

Well done, friend. If this is what is keeping you away from Sydney, I suppose I can understand it. And now I will read more chapters...

Author's Response: Hi Lori! Thanks so much for coming to read this story. I don't know how different it is from some of my others, but there are one or two things I see very clearly happening later on that are inspiring me, so I'm running with it. Hopefully it will turn out okay, lol. I'm glad you are finding it different and enjoyed the start. Lea said the same thing about Lily but hopefully you've read more and see where that's coming from. And hopefully you will enjoy the rest! I don't mind nitpicks, especially when it's just a dropped word my brain fills in, so thanks for that, I'll fix it soon. And yes, this is one thing keeping me from Sydney, although I've had a bit of a break-through on that so will be back to it soon, as well as with more of this. Thanks again for the lovely review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Emily Erised
Date: 07/10/11 5:06
Chapter: Chapter One

Hi! I'm sorry, I know I've already left a review, but I'm truly enjoying this fic; I'm supposed to by writing my dissertation at the moment so it is a much welcomed distraction, and I am checking Mugglenet far too regularly because of it ! I love your writing style and the characterisation is just perfect; I'm enjoying how L & J have perfected exactly how to rise the other, and the irascible and cantankerous James reminds me of Harry from OTP! However I just have one question that I had to ask: I'm almost too loyal to canon, and I was wondering in your version of events, did James pursue and ask out Lily in fifth year? While the sexual tension is blatant underneath their biting antagonism, it just seems that she really aggravates him to no end, and if he had 'fancied' her in the past he would know why he hated seeing her and Whitby. Apologies if this is an area you were planning on alluding to in laters chapters, or don't think it warrants an answer, but I had to ask! Keep up the regular updates, you're a very talented writer!

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks so much for the review, and I love answering questions. I'm a pretty strict canon girl myself, so as to the bit about fifth year, here's what I've been thinking. It was fifth year and it was a school boy's crush. It just doesn't really figure into their relationship at this point, in this story. What will be more important is that they settled down a bit sixth year and almost kissed near the end. But so much happened to them over the summer that they've returned so burdened by it all they can't see through it to wear they almost were. They are just so annoyed by each other right now neither realizes why exactly. I hope that makes sense. And I hope that starts to come through more as the story progresses. I really appreciate the lovely review and am glad you are enjoying it so far. Thanks so much! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Free_Elf
Date: 07/09/11 18:41
Chapter: Chapter Four

Poor James! Nothing's going right for him is it? It'll be interesting to see where this conflict with Avery is heading.

Plus, I can't wait to see this party!

Another great chapter :)



Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Your comments make me smile to myself since I know what's coming. As for James, I do love beating up on him. It seems to happen in every one of my stories, lol. Thanks again for reading I appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: I hate Tuney
Date: 07/09/11 15:23
Chapter: Chapter Three

Nice chapter!! Will things go better between James and Lily ?

Author's Response: Thank you! And you don't really want me to answer that, do you?? ;) Hope you enjoy the rest, thanks for reading! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 07/01/11 1:40
Chapter: Chapter Three

Hi there. First off ... Stick that in your cauldron and boil it. that line had me roaring my head off very loudly. Very inventive turn of phrase, Gina. (Edit:OOOH, it was from Lea)

All in all, I am really enjoying the twists and turns of this story, although I did get confused at the change in POV and thought you'd made an error and had copied and pasted parts of the previous conversation. I realised what you were doing, of course, and also remembered a past convo we'd had, but ... I'm not sure it quite works. I think what I'd do is not repeat the conversation at the beginning of her POV, but maybe start from her locking herself in the bathroom, a line of his conversation coming back to her (the line about Anastasia having taste, perhaps) and then launch into Lily remembering the horror of the wedding. That was scary, btw, and I really empathised with Lily at that point. It was a minor flaw, however, and probably no one else would be confused like me, but I thought I'd mention it.

Oh and hell, I hate myself for this, but James calling her a twat is pretty offensive for a boy to call a girl. It does mean female parts (ahem) but is generally aimed at men and is considered funny, but at a girl it's not as funny.I know she can't hear it and he's exasperated with her, but I think Remus would give him a look, or something. Or change to 'cow' or 'bitch', but then I don't find those words that offensive and others (including my kids - ha ha) do.

Um ... sorry, that all sounds rather negative and I don't mean to be because I'm genuinely enjoying this story and can't wait for the rest. The Slytherins are great. Not cardboard cutout villains, but fully rounded and still evil - hee hee.

Get this finished! ~Carole~

Author's Response: Hi Carole! Thanks for the in depth review. I appreciate your opinion - even if I disagree. :) Although, I don't disagree completely, to be honest. I'm not sure how I feel about the repetition of certain things either, but I did think showing things from both POV would flesh out a mutual encounter a bit. Plus, I really needed to show different things happening to them, but at the same time - particularly, James running into Avery outside while Lily was with Mark inside. As for James and that word - yes, you've mentioned that you don't like it. Yet James is really ticked at her, and he's not saying it to her face. And you know how much I struggle with my British insults! ;) Really, if that's the only thing you've picked on here, I'm thrilled. I thought for sure there would be more, lol. And it wasn't what I had there originally, only my first choice was misspelled and not quite vehement enough anyway. I'm glad you liked Lea's phrase, since we couldn't use the one we wanted, lol! And I'm glad you are still reading and enjoying the story. Thanks so much for the review!! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 07/01/11 1:10
Chapter: Chapter Two

Yeah, looosen up, Evans, you horrible girl. UGHH! Don;t like her much at the moment, although having snogged (and possibly shagged) and relative of Vernon's I can see she's suffering from PTSD. That was a good detail, btw. She's not quite so perfect and in control, is she? Serioulsy, I can see they're all suffering from the incident the year before and poor dead Kieran. But really, give James a break. HIS MUM HAS DIED!

Ha - see you've got me all riled and involved in the story. Well done, Ginaaaaaaaaaa! ~Carole~

Author's Response: That's sort of what Lea said, about not liking Lily. :) But you've caught on exactly to what I was getting at with that guy at the wedding, so thanks for that. Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Free_Elf
Date: 06/30/11 22:41
Chapter: Chapter Three

Ooh, I liked this. The dynamics between James and Lily were juat brilliant. Good idea with creating a special room for prefect meetings, especially putting it in a perfectly canon place. It's not something I'd really considered, but there would need to be a place where all the houses could meet together and it was never mentioned in the books.

You've put so many tantalising hints about the past and I'm getting really curious as to what happened!

Also, kudos to your beta for "Stick that in your cauldron and boil it!" An unbelievably good line that made me laugh so hard.

Can't wait to read more



Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm glad you liked that line, because we agonized over it, lol. And I'm glad you are enjoying the hints from the past, because I want to give the story a background to draw from that shapes and influences the present. I really appreciate the review and hope you enjoy as the story continues! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 06/30/11 17:35
Chapter: Chapter Two

Lily continues to struggle with James' new position. Sirius is right - she is being a bit bitchy. Hopefully she can loosen up a bit soon? Thanks for another chapter - I look forward to seeing where this story is headed.

Author's Response: Thanks for another review! Yes, she is really struggling with things, but James is too. I suppose I will have to bring that out in later chapters. She does need to loosen up, doesn't she? ;) Thanks again and hope you enjoy, I posted chapter 3 yesterday! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: Hopes Mom
Date: 06/30/11 17:22
Chapter: Chapter One

Will you do a flashback on the Hogsmeade incident? I am curious. Lily is quite prickly, isn't she? Poor James is defensive about his appointment to the Head Boy position. Nice start - I like this different take on two of my favorite characters. Thank you for a new story!

Author's Response: Hello! I'm so glad you found my latest! And I'm glad you enjoyed the beginning. No, I'm not planning on any flashbacks at this point. It's just something half-developed in my mind that influences this story quite a bit. Actually, I've sketched out a plan for it to be its own tale, so we'll see. This one is looking long. ;) Thanks so much for the review, I hope you enjoy! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: jamlil
Date: 06/27/11 21:01
Chapter: Chapter Two

it's good.update sooon

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm working on the next chapter and hope you enjoy it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: I hate Tuney
Date: 06/26/11 16:20
Chapter: Chapter Two

So, Lily had sex with Vernon's friend because she was drunk or did he rape her? Sorry for asking so coolly but I'm not sure I understand.! Your story is incredible, oh, and James' prank was the best prank I've ever heard for the Marauders! ;)

Author's Response: Well, I don't really want to give anything away so I'm afraid I can't answer that. But I'm glad you picked up it since it is part of her backstory! I'm glad you enjoyed the prank, wouldn't that be fun? ;) Thanks for reading, I appreciate the review! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: I hate Tuney
Date: 06/26/11 16:00
Chapter: Chapter One

Oh, sorry for what I;m going to say about Lily-since it;s your creation- but I would just slap her in order for her to remember the word 'sensitivity' :p great chapter though! I like that James is really mature right now!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed this. I absolutely believe James *must* have matured to be selected as Head Boy and this is one of my takes on it. Thanks for reading and reviewing, I appreciate it! ~Gina :)

Reviewer: pheonixflame
Date: 06/24/11 15:00
Chapter: Chapter Two

All I have to say is "wow." well, that's a lie, because you've got a whole lot more than that coming your way! I stumbled upon this fic and, while I like the instant gratification of reading completed stories, I couldn't help but read this after your strong, appealing summary. I'm so glad I did because, my goodnes, I love it. I love the non-cliche start and the freshness of the characters. It gets so tiring to read a James who wants nothing more than to prove himself to Lily, cliche Head Boy/Head Girl beginning, etc, etc. I hope you know what I mean. Yours is so different though; I love the way you portray James. I very much think that's the way he is meant to be in canon.

The animosity between him and Lily made my breath catch! It is so very powerful and well-written that I could not help but be furious with Lily! (not that you didn't portray her well; on the contrary! This is a compliment, I promise :) ) Like I mentioned before, this is such a nice, fresh, strong L/J and I can't wait to read more.

Also! I love the allusions to the attack in Hogsmeade and James' courage.

-pheonixflame/Mari

PS I'm a sucker for your stories. Whenever I see one while browsing, I know I have to read, because it'll be good. :) I haven't reviewed, I know, I'm terrible! But I promise to, as soon as I get on the computer and get off of my iTouch, on which it's so hard to leave reviews!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the amazing review. I really appreciate it because I was quite leery of starting a seventh year J/L fic on the train - I'm so glad you feel it avoided cliches, because that can be hard. I really wanted to try something just a bit different. The animosity between James and Lily is pretty intense, yes, and that was my plan so I'm glad it came through. Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I really appreciate the compliments! And I hope you enjoy the story! ~Gina :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES