Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/18/13 18:15
Chapter: Chapter 6 -Femme Fatale

I wasn't really right but I was headed in the right direction. The actual story was much more interesting than what I was thinking. My original theory was too weird to think about. Anyway, excellent mystery. I loved this story.

Author's Response: I want to know what your theory was! Thank you for reading this and I'm really pleased you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/18/13 17:25
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

Oh for Pete's sake! I was following Dean's speech and it was a bluff. They really don't know. Shame on you Equinox Chick:D Are you going to tell us who did it?

Author's Response: Hahahahah - yeah, Good old Dean and his bluffing! Do you really think I'd be that mean and not tell you who did it? Thank you ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/18/13 16:34
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Almost Blue

I do have a thought but it's too weird. I don't even want to discuss it it's so weird. If I'm right at the end of this story then I'll let you know:D I'd make a very poor investigator. I don't think I have much imagination when it comes to solving crimes. Actually, I think that dress that Lavender's wearing has something to do with it and the fact that no one's supposed to leave but somehow Parvati got out of the house. And why is she suddenly visiting Padma?

Author's Response: OOOH, I'd be interested in your weird theory. It could well be better than the actual solution. Mwahahahah - you picked up on the dress, well done. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/18/13 15:14
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Let Them All Talk

Yes, the plot is thickening. You've succeeded in raising questions. The part with Draco was pretty funny. I don't know who would want Marcus. As I recall from the movies, he wasn't that attractive and from the books, he was kind of mean.

Author's Response: Yeah, the Flints are my default family you hate even though they weren't Death eaters - ha ha. I liked naked Draco in the wardrobe, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/18/13 13:26
Chapter: Chapter 2 -No Hiding Place

I was wondering who Lavender and Blaise lost in the Battle. How crazy--to find Blaise in a cabinet kidnapped by a Kappa. Maybe the Kappa took the diamonds.

Author's Response: Hmm, do you know who they lost in the Battle - can't remember if you've read Lavender Blue, but actually there's a reference to it in High as well. Ah, the Kappa ... let's see. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 10/17/13 17:57
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Watching the Detectives

I started to write a story for this competition also but I haven't finished it yet. But I will some day. Hmm, I wonder why Blaise took the diamonds. And why did he argue with his mother. This is going to be interesting.

Author's Response: Mwahahahahah - I had fun with this. I love reading mysteries but had never written one before I wrote for that challenge and now I think they form a large part of my writing plan. Hope you enjoyed the rest of the story ~Carole~

Reviewer: Amelia_Bones
Date: 08/22/11 20:19
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Watching the Detectives

You had me at Elvis :)

Mr. Tibbles went missing LOL.

Very nice set up. Eagerly pressing button.

Author's Response: Yes, poor Mr Tibbles. He's back now though. Ah, Elvis Costello, where would we be without him? Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 08/12/11 10:18
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Watching the Detectives

I was halfway right, dammit! I had my bets on Tracey when Tabitha started her reality-TV performance. Although, of course, it made sense why she should cover for her father, that lecherous man.

First thing I want to comment about is your Slytherins. They are so, so Slytherin. Blaise, Tracey, Draco ... wow. Even the stupid Flints. God, what a family. No wonder both Tracey and Draco wanted out. (Though, really Jonah must be great in bed cause I can see very few reasons why Karis would want to hang on to him.) But, oh well, it's Karis. Jonah seems to love her, he has status - he's quite suitable. I am rambling, but great job on the characterisation. From their shifting tactics to that little touch about Flint’s silver being suspect (wink), the house of snakes was well-represented in this fic. And I mean this in a good way, so get off my back, Bob and Julia (if either of you are reading it.) Apart from the pride and cunning, they have a sense of loyalty to their own which redeems them sometimes.

I loved the trio as well. Hehehe. I do enjoy reading Dean and Thomas, and a bright Parvati lightens up my day. Not many fics explore her character, sadly. Speaking of that, I thought the twist with the colour blindess was very clever!

While reading the fic, I noticed one thing - the claustrophobia. I don't know if it was intentional from your side, but the tension of the mystery was well-captured in the suffocating atmosphere of the Flints' house, and the various twists and turns which kept tumbling one after another within it.

The ending was great! It is odd to imagine Blaise being chums with Dean and Seamus, but in this universe, it is plausible. It’s just the way you write them. I will, however, let you know you have displeased me greatly by cheating of the mnage-a-trois the story seemed to be leading me to. How deceptive! How cruel!

Then again, that might just be greedy me. *snort*

I enjoyed it so much, Crolllll. Good luck for the challenge!

~Natalie

Author's Response: I think the thing about Blaise is that we're not given a concrete reason for Harry et al disliking him except because he's a Slytherin. Yes, he makes that remark about not touching a 'blood traitor' but it's fairly obvious he's said something about how attractive Ginny is, plus Draco is top dog in that scene so he's not going to say something nice about them there Weasles. Okay, Blaise apologist out the way, I'm not sure they'll ever be true mates, but there's enough similarities (liking beer, curry and laughing at Draco) for the lads to be able to get along - LOL. Wow, this response is all about Blaise ... eeep.

I'm glad you liked the story and the mystery. The feeling of claustrophobia wasn't really intentional, but the repressive nature of the Slyths and unwillingness to let slip the social masks was, so I guess that's why the closed in atmosphere came through. Plus that damn muse ... I mean Kappa ... was ever present - hee hee hee.

Sorry about the lack of smut. I will write that some day, but this needed to be the mystery with just a hint of something more. Thank youuuuuuu for the review and all your help. Love you immmmmmenswly!!!!!!!!!! ~Croll~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 07/04/11 23:05
Chapter: Chapter 6 -Femme Fatale

Aw, I wasn't right. I had my bets on Karis testing her husband or something with the diamond switch.

And then for a moment I thought you'd made a mistake with the Daltonism and Tracey having it. But it's you--I really should have known better.

Carole, I really really enjoyed this story. I didn't realize how much I missed Lavender/Blaise until I began reading this and you have no idea how happy I was that they were the backdrop. I especially liked Lavender's flashback in chapter two and then Blaise going after Marcus in this last chapter. Just absolutely lovely. You have a way of writing them that just made the entire story so much more addictive. Parvati/Dean/Seamus were fun to read about too, although I have to admit I'm starting to like her and Dean better together than her and Seamus and I don't know why.

Anyways, I'm rambling. Beautiful story, and wonderfully subtle incorporation of the clues. You're making me very glad I didn't submit a story for this prompt, as I think I would already be balking.

xx Ariana

Author's Response: Wow,thanks for the reviews and I';m glad I kept you guessing as I was sure everyone would guess. Then again, because I always knew who'd done it, I suppose I assumed everyone else would. This has made me want to write much more about Lavender and Blaise - plus Parvati/Dean/Seamus. Now I think that Parvati/Dean is too explosive, so Seamus is needed to calm them both down. I know Seamus has a short fuse at times as well (plus he makes things explode) but he's the joker between the three of them. She can't choose, that's the trouble. *sigh* Maybe I should write more about them. ~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 07/04/11 21:53
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Watching the Detectives

So, as I've finally finished my own mystery fic I now have time to read the ones I've bookmarked :). It's late so this won't be a SPEW-worthy review, but it's a very sincere review nonetheless.

I thought this opening chapter was wonderful. It encompasses everything about your writing that makes your stories so addictive -- jumping right into the plot, bringing back characters and scenarios from your other fics, gorgeous characterization and careful handling of the nature of the mystery.

I love Parvati/Dean/Seamus from the other story you wrote about them, and it's so interesting to see their interactions with the business they've set up together. I like how Dean and Seamus are still able to be close friends whilst it's come down to Parvati to keep them in line. And the disappearance of Blaise is just…. EEP! I hope Lavender appears in the fic; you've really made me love them as a couple.

Off to read the next chapter now.

xx Ariana

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you like Lavender and Blaise because they do feature rather heavily in this story as I can't seem to leave them alone. Thank you for reading. This story was fun to write - just not sure it's mysterious enough -LOL. ~Carole~

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 07/01/11 9:00
Chapter: Chapter 6 -Femme Fatale

That was great!
Couldn't work out who was the thief until the end.
Loved the interplay between the 3 Tecs and Lavender and Blaise.
Good that they are all having fun post Battle.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed the story because I had fun writing it. I appreciate the review, very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/30/11 17:46
Chapter: Chapter 6 -Femme Fatale

Lovely ending and great fun throughout! I had a feeling Parvati would show up with the answer, and that it would have to do with the rhyme. And I had a feeling there was something going on with the rhyme - and that it might even have to do with the Davises (sp?) So yay for you setting up subtle clues and me getting them, but another one for you still throwing in nice twists with Draco and then Blaise.

I think one of my favorite parts, though, was the calm ending - the boys in the pub, the girls back at the house. I just really enjoyed all their interactions. I also love your enigmatic hints at Parvati/Dean/Seamus or some combination of them. And of course the new name of their detective agency is hilarious. ;)

A very nice mystery, Carole! Well plotted and well paced, with great characters and some nice twists. Good luck in the challenge!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: : D Thank you, Gina, my number 1 fan - or rather only fan - ha ha ha.I did have fun with this mystery - mainly because I love Lav and Blaise so much,so I'm pleased you enjoyed it, too. I wondered about the end because it seemed a bit indulgent, but when I read mysteries, I like all the other bits that don;t actually pertain to the mystery and yet are part of the story, so thank you for appreciating the last scenes. Ta lots ~Carole (who is very pleased this challenge is over)

Reviewer: Evangeline_DeMore
Date: 06/30/11 13:05
Chapter: Chapter 6 -Femme Fatale

!Muy bueno! I really loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you liked it. It was fun to write, although mysteries are really not my thing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/28/11 17:06
Chapter: Chapter 5 - Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

Oh you sneaky witch, you. Where is Parvati?? I thought for sure that she would come in right in the middle of the meeting and ruin Dean's big theory. I didn't expect Jonah himself to. Hmm. Him and Karis were my original theory, given they were obviously selling their stuff for money. I suppose Parvati still could show up and save the day. She's puzzling out the rhyme and I think it will definitely do something for solving it. I think I've made a connection to it. I (now) think someone is trying to frame Lavender (blue not purple) but it could be almost anyone. I was thinking Tabitha but Tracey was the one spitting out the rhyme. Maybe Tabitha and Tracey are secret lovers? Totally kidding, lol. Either way, you've stretched this out in a fun way. Can't wait to see how it ends! I like piecing things together, but I love getting to the end and then looking back and going "Of course, there are all the clues!" Great job,
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I think you're my only reader ... ha ha. The rhyme, that rhyme that rhyme ..... Oh dear, am I torturing you. Oh Tracey/Tabitha - why didn't I think of that ... or perhaps I did. thank you, Gina. The story will be complete very soon. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/25/11 19:56
Chapter: Chapter 4 -Almost Blue

I'm trying to work it out, since I can sense you've set some more clues. You've also cluttered the suspect list with the Malfoys some more. But really, the stuff with the paintings makes me most suspicious. And I can't help but wonder if there is some sort of secret message in the dress exchange, esp. with the Davises. I have no idea what the Lavender poem might refer to, though. But obviously Padma knows something so that will be interesting to see in the next chapter! Fun to figure out, Carole!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing *insert annoying smiley face - hee hee*. Okay, you could be on the right track ... but then again, I might be spinning you a line. There are a few more twists and turns yet (but only two more chapters). Ta again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/20/11 19:15
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Let Them All Talk

Oh, were you giggling madly when Draco fell out of the closet? Because I was! So funny! Nice scene with Aurelia Savage. It really broadens the suspect list and their motivations. I especially liked the banter and interaction between Dean, Seamus, and Parvati. The line about there being no jealousy between them was really good. I still feel a bit bad for Blaise. I hope his mum wasn't trying to frame him, but it does look that way after speaking with Aurelia...
Nice job!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I was giggling madly when Draco fell out of the wardrobe - and when Tracey bundled him back in. Poor Hannah/Bob wasn't at all happy to have this foisted on her with no warning - hee hee.

I'm really interested in your thought processes here, Gina. As you know, I've written all of this, so I know exactly how this pans out, so it's fun to read your speculation. Thank you for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: Taki-Maki
Date: 06/19/11 16:18
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Watching the Detectives

I totally love it! Write more please!

Author's Response: Thank you. It's all written. I'm just waiting for the rest to be beta'd and then I can submit. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/15/11 17:52
Chapter: Chapter 2 -No Hiding Place

Great job with weaving the flashbacks into the conversation! That's tricky and it was easy to read and follow. It also really brought out Lavender's character well. I really feel for her and Blaise.
The cabinet with the Kappa is creeeeeepy! What is up with that?! Why do the Flints have a monster in the house?!
I wonder why Blaise needs money. I wonder if Jonah Flint does as well. I think the painting is a clue. Is it fun to know what your readers think or am I way off? Don't tell. ;)
Nice job, looking forward to the next! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Hee hee. perhaps you are right, perhaps you are wrong. You will find out in due course. Thank you very much for the review, Gina. This one was fun to write ... sort of. I'm still struggling with the last paragraph. *sigh*. ~Carole~

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 06/15/11 6:29
Chapter: Chapter 2 -No Hiding Place

Loving this, they make a great trio.
So glad that Lavender and Blaise stayed together after Lavender's Blue.
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you. Yes they're together still and they appear in a Next Gen fic of mine called High. I hope you enjoy the rest of this mystery. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 06/13/11 18:07
Chapter: Chapter 1 - Watching the Detectives

Oh Carole, I think this is lovely! Of course, I also read your other Seamus/Dean/Parvati story so I understand their dynamic a bit. But as a mystery, this was a GREAT set up! I haven't read Lavender, blue, but I know your fondness for Lavender and Blaise so I had no trouble following and thought the theft of the diamonds was done really well. I'm very curious if Blaise really did it and how he pulled it off. And I think it will be fun watching this particular threesome solve the mystery. Good luck as you continue!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you, Gina, I've had some fun writing this although I'm pretty sure mysteries just aint my thing. I like writing characters and subplots too much. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES