Reviews For Truth in the Dare
Reviewer: crbluvsravenclaw
Date: 06/28/12 19:31
Chapter: Chapter 1

That was good. I just finished reading the longest story on this website and it was about the Marauders so this was kind of awkward after reading it, but I don't care really. I noticed your name was ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor which means you read my story that was rejected, haha. I just have no luck in getting accepted in this website... Oh well, I think I'm going to post a new story and it's a Harry and Draco pairing... If it gets accepted, you should read it since you like writing stories like that...

Reviewer: Jane_Doe
Date: 08/17/11 7:59
Chapter: Chapter 1

So cute! I loved it :)

Author's Response:

Thank you. It's written differently than my normal fare, but I enjoyed trying out a new pairing. I'm glad you liked it.

~Jess

Reviewer: holyguacamole127
Date: 08/12/11 7:30
Chapter: Chapter 1

I loved it! You should write more to the story!

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed it. There may not be more to *this* story, buuuuuuuut, as I do like this pairing, there might be another one down the line a bit.

Thanks for reading!

~Jess

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 06/12/11 5:05
Chapter: Chapter 1

This was an interesting story, Jess. Considering you don't write a lot of Marauder Era, you completely nailed the characters. I loved all the dialogue - it was just so wonderfully in character. I loved how it was from Sirius' perspective and we really got a glimpse of how vulnerable he was being and how difficult he found that, and yet simultaneously how much he wanted to.

This is a ship that I've neither particularly liked nor disliked before... but you've made me really like it. You just made it so believable. I loved that it was Sirius who'd thought about it for years and Remus who decided on the spot, because people tend to write Remus as extremely controlled and Sirius as impulsive, so I loved that you broke the cliche with that.

The premise of the story - meaning the game truth or dare - was very believable for a pair of Marauders at a loose end. Also your title was excellent and really fitted in with this.

Anyway, I'm getting to the rambly stage here and I think I must have missed a lot of the good points about this story... there really were a lot.

~Katrina

Author's Response:

You know, I'm actually surprised you wanted to read this, for all its non-canon-ness. This story is pretty much case in point as to why I don't write Marauder Era. Here and there, I can conjure up some in-character prose and make it work, but anything regular, and I would so be one of those cliched, smoking rubble authors that we both know lurk in that category, hehe.

I wrote this in a banter-y tone because I don't often write dialogue heavy stories. And I had like a day to write it (it was for a SPEW prompt), and since dialogue is quicker to write... I am found out!

Anyway, thanks for reading, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)

~Jess

Reviewer: xxbabewithbrainsxx
Date: 06/11/11 16:14
Chapter: Chapter 1

I actually really hate this ship, but you made it really believable, Jess. It was dialogue heavy and it definitely worked -- it was bantery and Maraudery and that's what kept them in character. I really like the whole Truth or Dare arc and how you showed their confusion. Lovely fic, Jess, and that's coming from a Remus/Sirius shipper hater :)

~Soraya~

Author's Response:

Lol, it is a rather polarising ship, isn't it? It's nice to know that I could write something that was believable to non-believing eyes. So far, Carole has liked it, as well. Still not her cup of tea, but it's yay to build at least a speck of plausibility. :)

Thanks for the review and the read, despite it being out of your like zone!

~Jess

Reviewer: Phoenix13
Date: 06/11/11 8:44
Chapter: Chapter 1

I'm sorry if that review sounded a bit snappy; I just wondered why the warning option is there if you don't put it on the story. I guess it would be redundant because it's in the Remus/Sirius category. Silly me.

Author's Response:

The 'Slash' tag is actually there if two canonically straight characters are to be portrayed as gay. It's not a catch-all for homosexuality, which is a common misconception. Most people use it as such because they're dead afraid of offending someone. I am not one of those people; I don't discriminate between het couples and gay ones just because someone might get their panties in a bunch. With that in mind, I think you can see why I might've been a bit touchy about it.

Thanks for touching bases again, though. 

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 06/11/11 0:57
Chapter: Chapter 1

I liked it. That's saying something because I never ship this pair unless it's in a threesome with a glamorous Hufflepuff called Carole.

I liked the banter between the pair - expecially Sirius' thoughts on girls - he's such a gentleman - NOT. I also thought the friendship was well done here. It wasn't just their attraction to each other, but there was a deep bond. of friendship as well.

A slight crit (but feel free to ignore me) is that I think they sometimes came over as a bit too adult for their age in their words, but then that's probably because the teenage boys I remember and see around London are inarticulate and can only communicate in grunts. With their friends they're probably delightful specimans - *snigger*.

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU, for not using the bloody Astronomy Tower as their meeting place at midnight. If you'd done that I think I'd have deflisted you.

Darn it, this cat still has me beat. ~Carole~

Author's Response:

I really wanted this to be a dialogue-heavy piece, which I haven't really done, like, ever. As you know, I'm far more narrative in my style, but this was a fun departure. I'm still not sure if this story is any good or not, but if I can at least create a halo of plausibility around it for your sensitive canon-shipping eyes, then it must have some redeeming quality.

As for their not-quite-right speech for their age... woops. I'm not really sure what you mean specifically, but I do know of one part that probably fits the bill. I suppose I cba to change it, lol.

Hearts, Croll, for the read, despite the totally deceptive name of the category, inflicting such slashiness on you. I shan't do so again! But I prolly will.

~Jess

Reviewer: lucypotter
Date: 06/10/11 23:32
Chapter: Chapter 1

this is sooo cute...also to the person who asked about the slash thing...really remus/sirius wasn't enough warning for you. oh well I loved it and poor remus and his broken foot...You totally got their characters down though, something not a lot of people can manage

Author's Response:

I just really, really wanted Remus to have a teenage boy facepalm moment, rather than the usual sageness he ends up having. He's a smart kid, but it's hard to be a straight arrow all the time when yo're fifteen, lol.

I'm happy that the characters suited your perception of how they ought to be. I am VERY non-Marauder, but Equinox Chick and I are battling to see if we can both submit to every category. It should be fun.

And, if you're interested in my response to slash warning person, I indeed did respond. XD

Thanks for the review and the support. 

~Jess

Reviewer: Phoenix13
Date: 06/10/11 23:09
Chapter: Chapter 1

how come this story doesn't have a slash warning?

Author's Response:

To piss in your cornflakes, of course!

That being said, one would think that, with the story being in an SSP category, that redundancy is not germane to your comprehension of the suspected content.

Ta!

Reviewer: unjellify
Date: 06/10/11 19:29
Chapter: Chapter 1

Aw, this was so cute! I found Remus' comment that Lydia smells good hilarious. I had never shipped Remus/Sirius before, but you wrote it well.

Author's Response: Hehe, i'm glad you liked it. I just wanted to posit a plausible scenario, and I like to believe that this is at least believable. Thanks for the visit :) ~Jess

Reviewer: EnchantedLove
Date: 06/10/11 16:53
Chapter: Chapter 1

I love it! (: may you please be my beta reader?

Author's Response:

I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Alas, though, I am a terrible beta. As it is, I have two stories that have been waiting for more than a month for me to get to them. I fail heavily in that regard. Sorry to disappoint, but tis the truth, hehe. 

Thanks for stopping in. :)

~Jess

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
“No one’s ever kissed me before…. What is one to do now?” An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES