Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/12/14 17:33
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

You made me do it. I finally had to look up what color puce is. Fun story.

Author's Response: Ha ha ha - it's not a very nice colour, is it. Thank you!

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 08/03/11 0:35
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

I know you said this was fluffy, but I like this sort of fluffy rumination. I always got the vibe from Tonks that she was a special sort of girl who could break the heart of a discerning wizard or two who could appreciate her brand of individuality. I always wanted Charlie to be that guy. And it overjoys me that SHE was the one who decided that she wasn't going to wait for him to wear the pants and take the initiative.

But I think my favourite part is actually this:

And they’d stood in line together and tried to predict who would get Sorted into which House. Tonks, he remembered, had been particularly bad at the game. When she was Sorted into Hufflepuff, the eleven-year-old Charlie Weasley had felt rather sad at losing his new friend because he knew he’d be a Gryffindor like his brother. However, after the Feast, she’d walked across the Great Hall and had whispered in his ear that she still wanted to be friends.  

It shows that quirky and loyal side to Tonks that not only identifies her as a true Hufflepuff, but as a girl worthy to steal the heart of a sex god like Charlie. :D

Nice little piece!

~Jess



Author's Response: Thank you. I have a strand of Chonks running through AA and also Mirrors, but it's generally unrequited on Charlie's part. This was meant to give him a bit more hope. I love Charlie a lot more since first starting AA, so perhaps I should have let him have more of a chance with Tonks. : ( - Thanks for the review. ~Carole~

Reviewer: maggie_95
Date: 04/22/11 23:08
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

That was so cute! I really enjoyed reading it, and it made me smile, which is all I ever look for, really.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I wanted to make people smile, so I'm pleased I did that. ~Carole~

Reviewer: coolh5000
Date: 04/22/11 11:29
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

aww, Croll, I loved this. It was a great (and very cute) story, and I liked the touch of fluff.

The characterisation was great from both of them. The interaction between the two seemed easy and natural. It's great reading about two people from different houses actually being friends. The use of memories was good and even in a short fic you made me believe the relationship between these two.

I loved the little details - especially the conversation about how their next DADA prof was going to go - it made me laugh, thinking about the fact that of course, everyone would notice that they'd been losing DADA teachers every year for years. The attention to these things is what makes your stories so enjoyable to read.

Sorry this is short but I just wanted to let you know I enjoyed reading this :)

~the cool one

Author's Response: Thank you, Robertah! How very ... cute ... of you to review. I'm glad you liked the bit about the DADA profs because it's always fascinated me. In one of my stories I have Ludo's brother running a book on it. And I don;t mind the short review - it was a short story, after all. ~Carole~

Reviewer: L A Moody
Date: 04/21/11 21:12
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

Thanks for putting a gentle smile on my face after an arduous day. Great idea to do an Easter themed story -- about choclate, of course. The Cadbury bunny applauds.

Author's Response: Sorry about your arduous day but pleased I was able to make you smile. Chocolate is always important. Thanks for the review ~Carole~

Reviewer: U-No-Poo
Date: 04/21/11 15:48
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

I'm such a sucker for Charlie/Tonks! I loved Apparently Asleep and I love this adorable fluff piece too! Once again, another fabulous story by you, Carole :)

~ Jordy

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I have a sneaky fondness for Charlie/Tons (or Chonks as I term it). ~Carole~

Reviewer: inspirations
Date: 04/21/11 10:44
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

Ah, this was so sweet. A very nice snapshot of Charlie and Tonks, and though the scene in itself is simple, the timeline, as such, of their relationship, bulked the story out that much more. The back-story gave a sense of depth to the characters that wouldn’t have been there so much if you’d just kept it to them chatting next to the lake.

I’m sure I’ve probably told you this before, but it can’t hurt to say it again. I love your characterisation of Tonks. There’s something very distinct about the voice you’ve created for her, that you keep consistent every time you write her.

A line that really stood out to me was: They had made the effort to stay friends despite their respective housemates’ surprise and faint scorn. It’s amazing how few people at Hogwarts seem to be friends, close friends, with people from other houses. It’s not until Dumbledore’s Army that Harry, etc., made friends outside of Gryffindor, and even then… That was something I’d never really thought about before, so thank you.

And finally -- poor Charlie. You did a beautiful job of building my sympathy for him, particularly through his guilt at choosing to spend Easter away from home. I almost wish this pairing was canon, and they stayed together… but I like Remus finding love more. :p

I really enjoyed this. I like the Easter chocolate theme underlying it all too. Minor aspect, but you incorporated it well. Great story. xx

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review, Spire. I'm pleased you liked the line about the surprise and faint scorn from their houses. I do think it was hard to be friends with members from other houses - Slyths and Gryffs I can understand the rivalry, but Hufflepuffs tens to get patronised so much in the books, whereas we know how amazing they are - LOL. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 04/21/11 9:01
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

That was super sweet! I was really impressed by how effortlessly you wove in the flashbacks, since that can be clunky sometimes. Here it worked perfectly and really added some depth to Charlie's feelings for her. The end was great - I was very happy Charlie got what he wanted! I can totally see this pairing work. So how do you think it ended? And how did Charlie feel about Remus and Tonks?
Lovely little story, Carole! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you thought the flashbacks worked because this was an old drabble that I rehashed, and added the flashbacks to it. I've written Charlie and Tonks in Apparently Asleep and they're a couple that I think of as best friends (she's the witch he referred to in Mirrors if you read it.) Charlie in AA and Mirrors accepts that Tonks loves Remus and he likes him so *sigh*. Charlie's just too bloody good. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Lost_Robin
Date: 04/21/11 6:39
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

I liked it.

Author's Response: Thank you. ~Carole~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/21/11 5:58
Chapter: Better than Chocolate

Hi Carole,

This was a lovely fic. I was a little surprised initially, because I know Remus and Tonks are your favourite characters and you write excellent Remus/Tonks stories.

Having said that, I really enjoyed this story, and it doesn't necessarily negate Remus/Tonks, because at this stage she hadn't met him yet.

I loved the title and the ending, because somehow that idea made this more original and less cliched. It made me smile, too.

I loved the flashback scenes, they really showed the friendship that these two have and how comfortable they are with each other. I thought it was a nice touch that she didn't call him Charlie once, and yet he called her Nymphadora, although in the narrative he always refers to her as Tonks.

One thing though - do you think their housemates would really scorn them for having friends in other houses? I mean, I think Gryffindors would if you were friends with a Slytherin, but because it's a Gryffindor and a Hufflepuff... I mean, their housemates would be surprised, but scorn just didn't seem right to me.

Anyway. Excellent writing - of course. I don't think I've read anything bad written by you. Or anything that wasn't very good.

And I'm rambling here now too...

Happy Easter!

~Katrina

Author's Response: Thank you. I do write a bit of Charlie/Tonks in my chaptered fic Apparently Asleep because I see him as the forerunner to Remus. They were the same school year so I like to imagine that they're friends. You could be righr about the word 'scorn', it is a bit harsh although I tempered it with 'faint'. I will think about something else, but I do think there's a lot of condescension towards the Hufflepuffs, ao Charlie forming such a strong friendship with one would have been noted with surprise. After the Battle of Hogwarts, of course, things would have been very different. Ernie was such a hero - :-). Thank you very much for the review, Katrina.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Harry Potter and the Sinister Plot by weasley-malfoy-aficionado 3rd-5th Years
Patrolling the streets of Hogsmeade one snowy day Ron encounters an unexpected...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES