Reviews For In The Stars
Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 09/15/14 16:41
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

That ended up well, didn't it? It seems to me that they just divorced too soon. I'm glad they're remarrying. If a guy's too boring before you're married he's only going to get worse.

Reviewer: AtarahPern
Date: 01/24/14 13:05
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

That was alot of fun! Thanks for sharing

Author's Response: Thank you. It was a lot of fun to write, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Cosette_Cooper
Date: 07/19/11 21:52
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

Awesome.I like the idea that not everyone's marriages turned out perfect in the end.

Author's Response: Thank you. I think Draco and Astoria did all right in the end, but no marriages are perfect. ~Carole~

Reviewer: lucca4
Date: 04/18/11 23:14
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

Oh my god. That was so great! I haven't seen this movie before, but reading your story made me want to go rent it immediately :).

I loved how you kept Draco in-character but still romantic -- I especially liked his coming in at the end when Astoria is talking about how she thought he wanted her to be a 'yar' wife.

I also really enjoyed the back-story with Daphne, as well, with her drinking and I hope a reunion with Anthony happens soon in her future (…maybe? If you were to write a companion to this story, which I know is very unlikely as it's a birthday fic).

Anyways, I'm sorry I can't leave you a proper, long review but I just wanted to tell you that I clicked on this story expecting one thing and got something completely unique and wonderful. It was such an enjoyable, lovely read!

xx Ariana

Author's Response: Thank you, Ariana. I did enjoy writing this, basically because I knew exactly how it was going to pan out. I just needed to add some Draco snark - ha ha. ~Carole~

Reviewer: hestiajones
Date: 04/18/11 0:40
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

D'awwww. So cute. :)

Author's Response: yeah, fricking awesome.

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 04/17/11 19:39
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

I love it! Just a fun great read!! Terrific!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. It was fun to write. ~Carole~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/16/11 0:16
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

Sometimes I should probably think a bit more before reviewing stories... after I got your response, I re-read this story and it seemed rather obvious that Draco was being purposefully obnoxious, just as Astoria was. You're right, they really are perfect for each other.

~Katrina

Author's Response: That's okay, I frequently review and then think ... 'Oh, she did write that.' Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: ChocolateChipCookies
Date: 04/15/11 15:28
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

I really love this! Astoria, who has never seemed that real to me in the Potterverse, has been brought to life! (in my mind anyway) :)

Author's Response: Thank you. I suppose she is just a name - which is probably why I liked expanding her. ~Carole~

Reviewer: SimpleMinds
Date: 04/15/11 7:18
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

Well, despite not having seen either film, i found this wonderfully funny. Draco was undeniably far too likable! Really enjoyed the interplay between Dean and Draco though, it really is interesting to speculate on how all the old Hogwarts alliances would manifest themselves in adult life.

And the Greengrasses had the whole tragic fame thing down to a t in this!

Impressive work!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Yes, I agree Draco was too likeable, but I think he's probably very different in that type of setting than when he's with the dratted Potter. Hmm, I wonder if anyone bar myself and Lori have seen the film ... ~Carole~

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 04/15/11 7:12
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

My toddler is giving me strange looks as I sit here giggling, my face getting closer and closer to the monitor with every paragraph. Carole, this is just brilliant! You should cast movies or something, because you've picked all the right people for all the right parts. The dialogue has just the right feel (you used YAR!), and I could honestly see this thing playing out in all the same rooms as were used in the movie. At times, I was even visualizing it in black and white.

Roger the dodger, "all performance and no substance", her attempt to say Gryffindor, the Sean/Seamus joke... there was just too much to love about this.

I love your Astoria, and everyone really. Nice use of Lisa Turpin in the role of Liz (probably my favorite character)... that worked really well. I hope there is at least someone else out there who knows the movie enough to see how amazing this really is, though I suspect you will get plenty of love even without knowing. My only complaint is that you have cast and written Draco in such a way as to make him irrestible, even to me. *shock and alarm* Hehe.

I adore this. Thank you so much for thinking of me and for taking the time to work your brilliance on a movie we mutually love. I'm dropping it right into my favorites. Thanks again! And *hugs*!

Author's Response: If I tell you that this was my fourth attempt at a birthday fic for you after two appalling Romiones and then a Neville/Hannah that failed to get off the ground, will you forgive me for making Draco a bit less evil? Basically, once I'd remembered the fact that you loved that film as much as I did, then the story wrote itself. Thing was, i couldntt see anyone else but Astoria as Tracey Lord, so I had to make Draco more redeemable. I keep singing High Society now. Just a shame I couldn't get Uncle Willy in the story *sigh* .

Thank you so much for the review and I am pleased you enjoyed it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 04/15/11 6:38
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

I've never seen a Philadelphia Story, but THIS was...I gotta say, awesome. I really really really enjoyed reading it. And now you've made me want to go watch the movie, although I don't know how much it's been spoiled for me. :) Seriously, this was a very very delightful read- the dialogue was SUPERB and witty and and everything was paced so well.

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you! Oh the movie is superb, but I had to leave out so much. You really should watch it, or at least catch High Society - the musical based on the film. It's Jimmy Stewart as the journalist who steals the show. He's brilliant. *sigh* Glad you enjoyed the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/15/11 0:14
Chapter: What a Swell Party this is

This was a very interesting story, Carole. I haven't seen that movie, so I don't know how much of this is its plot... but wherever the idea came from, this is well-written and a great read.

I loved how you managed to intertwine several storylines - Roger/Astoria/Draco, Daphne/Anthony (this might have been my favourite, it was so sad), Dean/Lisa, the Greengrass family dynamics... and yet this story flows well and doesn't feel overwhelming.

I was expecting Astoria and Draco to get back together... after all, you tend to be a canon-stickler, but I was intrigued as to how it would happen. I loved how you wrote it.

I'm curious... was Draco trying to be obnoxiously funny when talking to Dean about Seamus? Because he struck me as over-the-top if he was just behaving normally... but that's just my opinion.

I loved Calliope. The way children tend to just say what they think was very effective in this story.

~Katrina

Author's Response: Thank you very much. Um, Draco was deliberately being obnoxious in the same way that Astoria pretended not to remember who Lisa was. I think they're made for each other - ha ha. The film, btw, is amazing and there's also a musical version called High Society. (stops plugging the films) Thanks again ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Have You No Idea That You're In Deep by littlebird Professors
"The problem, as Harry sees it, is he simply wasn't prepared."
Argus Filch by BrokenPromise 1st-2nd Years
Written for the Anniversary Challenge v3 over on the boards - a double dactyl...
FEATURED
Come Home by WrenWinterSong 1st-2nd Years
Three year old Teddy Lupin ponders the photographs on the living room side table.
But You Haven't Lost Me Yet by Dawnie 6th-7th Years
The war with Voldemort comes and goes, and James and Lily find themselves struggling...
broken brights by Padfoot11333 1st-2nd Years
Harry's breath catches when he thinks of Ginny. I am not JK Rowling and...
CATEGORIES