MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!

Name: The_Real_Hermione (Signed) · Date: 04/13/11 2:01 · For: Tea and Biscuits
Hi Neil,

I'm really enjoying this story (as usual). Jacqui works well as a neighbour, as she is nosey but also kind and caring. It's interesting to present Harry and Ginny (and their family) from an "unknowing" perspective (meaning that the narrator doesn't know that they're wizards). It's a difficult topic to write, because there are just so many small things that we as readers are used to from canon, which to Jacqui seem strange, and I think you're handling it very well.

I'm very curious to see what happens next... I suspect Mary won't know what's hit her.

My favourite line in this chapter was Ginny's quick correction of "Flooed" to "Flew". It made me smile.

Sorry this isn't as long/detailed as my reviews usually are... I have to go now, but I'm sure I'll be back reviewing this rather soon.


Author's Response:

Thanks for the review.

It’s confession time. When I planned this story, the “main” plot was going to be the werewolf murders, and Jacqui was going to be comic relief. I wrote the first two chapters from Jacqui’s (first person) perspective simply to give an outsiders view of the Potters. Then the kids (particularly James and Henry—who, together, are trouble) got more involved, and I was enjoying myself, so I then wrote the third and…

Now I’ve got myself into the position where my narrator has no idea what’s really going on and I’m juggling the story to keep her perspective, while moving the werewolf plot forwards.

It’s fun throwing in the little oddities Jacqui notices, like the lack of electricity (and flooed), and Ginny almost saying Knutless instead of penniless. Next, Jacqui finds out what Harry’s job really is!

Nevertheless, in the interests of the plot (unless I have a brainwave) there will have to be one or two third person chapters where Jacqui is absent.

Name: AngelEJC (Signed) · Date: 04/12/11 23:22 · For: Tea and Biscuits
Mary is not going to know what hit her ;-) I can't wait 'til you post the next chapter! I have been waiting on tender hooks for you to post something, anything, all week! Thank you! As soon as I'm done with this review, I'm going to go check out M.I.T.

I don't know if you really care, but I read a Harry/Ginny fic the other day and thought that you might enjoy it. It's called "This Means War!" by Jeconais, it's on phoenixsong.net. Honestly, I thought that I was going to break a rib laughing! It's got some fluff, action, and humor all mixed in it at the most opportune moments. I understand if you really don't care, but let me know if you decide to read it!

Rebekah (AngelEJC)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I’m getting some interesting theories about what will happen next, though (unsurprisingly) no one expects Mary to do well. M.I.T. is nowhere near as fluffy as this. I’ve tried submitting to Phoenixsong but, unless it’s changed, they don’t accept new authors (and heven't for years), so I rarely visit.


ps It’s tenterhooks, not tender hooks. Don’t worry, it’s a mistake I’ve seen a lot of people make (I still get confused about discrete/discreet).

Name: nevilleherosnape (Signed) · Date: 04/12/11 20:51 · For: Tea and Biscuits
Baha! Love it! Fiesty Ginny is always fun!

Author's Response: Thanks, wait until you see nice, polite, and pleasant Ginny. -N-

Name: One Lily (Signed) · Date: 04/12/11 18:59 · For: Tea and Biscuits
i liked this chapter. cant wait to see what mary does!

Author's Response: Thanks. What would you do when faced with Ginny? -N-

Name: hpgploversforever (Signed) · Date: 04/12/11 17:59 · For: Tea and Biscuits
Wow I hope Ginny knows what she is doing. When you were talking about the prison were you talking about azkaban or Hogwarts. Because it said Scotland?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Ginny always thinks she knows what she’s doing. :-) I meant Azkaban, but I was imprecise, sorry. Azkaban is “in the middle of The North Sea” so could be anywhere between the English Channel and the Norwegian Sea. I’ve always taken “the middle” literally, which puts it somewhere between Dundee and the Skagerrak, Scottish waters. -N-

Name: Tomasz (Signed) · Date: 04/11/11 21:11 · For: Sunny Afternoon
Great story! It’s really interesting to read a story from a muggles POV. I loved the part where Henry is telling Jacqui about James poking another kid and saying “Stupidfly” I thought that was cute and made me laugh. This has been a really entertaining and enjoyable story so far and I can’t wait to see what happens next!(:

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Jacqui is an observant narrator and the Muggle POV is great to write. It’s very hard for a four-year-old to keep secrets, but (fortunately) it’s also very hard for Jacqui to pick up on what James was really saying, especially when it’s filtered through a second four-year-old.


Name: 14thfreak (Signed) · Date: 04/08/11 19:26 · For: Sunny Afternoon
Great chapter. Is Mark an auror now? Please please update this or spontaniety or aurors & schoolgirls. I am tired of seeing 'Tales of the Battle' at the top every time check to see whether you have updated and I check everyday (pathetic I know). So please update it.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Mark? Interesting idea, but I don't think he's Auror material. I had (still have, probably) too many chaptered stories started. You've seen Tales so much because I decided to finish it. It's done! There are only two more chapters of Spontaneity (Ron and Harry) so that will go next. then there will be a (hopefully managable) two stories. (Although I have a one-shot in the queue and another being betaed.) -N-

Name: One Lily (Signed) · Date: 04/05/11 19:40 · For: Sunny Afternoon
it so good! can t wait to see what happens!

Author's Response: Next, Tea and Biscuits. -N-

Name: One Lily (Signed) · Date: 04/03/11 8:24 · For: The Drop Off
thats my favorite part. we get to see her struggle with lack of knowledge, while we can almost laugh at her, because we know exactly whats going on!

Author's Response: True, thanks -N-

Name: One Lily (Signed) · Date: 04/02/11 22:08 · For: Misty Morning
i cant wait for the next chapter! i loved how you mentioned harry as a "skinny little thirteen year old"! so sentimental!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I love writing this because you, the reader, knows so much more than poor confused Jacqui. :-) -N-

Name: AReader (Signed) · Date: 03/31/11 19:28 · For: Sunny Afternoon
I just reread this whole chapter and everything seems so much clearer now. I was just wondering, how far will this story go? Up until James starts Hogwarts or until the end of the year, or just until the Potters move away or something? What's Jacqui going to meet up with in the next chapter?

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

This story will go on until “The Werewolf” is captured, which will be months, not years. My original intention was that I would not write any “future” stories. As James would be 6½ in April 2011 then that was my self-imposed deadline. However, I’ve already broken that self-imposed rule.

Jacqui will meet only two new people, they arrived with Molly.

Name: SimpleMinds (Signed) · Date: 03/31/11 11:32 · For: Sunny Afternoon
Have to say i'm overly impressed with the north-east stuff! Fellow geordie here y'see.

I am getting quite annoyed with this woman though, she has a go at 'Scary Mary', think she's a bit of a nosy one herself! Although i guess you'd be a bit bored out in the hills maybe?

Good going though. :)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I have plans for Harry to visit “the Toon” (or at least Heaton, and Stowell Street)

Jacqui is nosey, true. But she’s not as judgemental as Mary. If she wasn’t at least a little bit nosey I’d lose my narrator!

Name: Hormiga (Signed) · Date: 03/31/11 0:25 · For: Sunny Afternoon
I liked it! I specially liked the subplots being added lit by lit

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm not sure which are the subplots and which is the main plot. It this a story about the Potter family, or "the Werewolf Murders"? -N-

Name: Ford Prefect (Signed) · Date: 03/30/11 19:27 · For: Sunny Afternoon
You may have hit upon one of the more unique yet canon compliant stories in fan fiction. Well done so far. It's very enjoyable. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks. I try to be completely canon compliant (I've failed once, so far as I know). Next, Jacqui meets Molly. Perhaps that needs Deep Thought ;-D -N-

Name: Betamax (Signed) · Date: 03/29/11 22:31 · For: Sunny Afternoon
So I have been reading your stories for a while now and have actually re-read many of them. I felt is was about time that I should finally comment. You're stories fill a much needed void in the HP universe. This is the only set of stories that I have found that are all interrelated and show the life of most characters Post-Hogwarts. They are extremely well written and you are a gifted writer.

The level of detail you bring to your stories is unparalleled. There is also a certain creative spark in your stories that I have noticed lacking in others. Your muggle POV in this story is quite refreshing. I eagerly await updates to your stories because I just can't get enough of them.

Thanks for all the great stories.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

My future history was part-planned before I started writing. I have added to it, but changed very little since I drafted the original timeline. Rolf Scamander is a lot younger than I’d originally planned and my original characters Fenella Gray and Mark Moon often appear unexpectedly in the background. Other than that, things are moving forwards according to the plan.

Jacqui is proving to be a very good narrator, although I suspect that there will be at least a couple of occasions where I have to move to a third person Harry/Ginny perspective (because I don’t want to have to Obliviate Jacqui).

Name: AngelEJC (Signed) · Date: 03/29/11 19:15 · For: Sunny Afternoon
Oooh, this is REALLY getting good! I've checking religiously to see if you have updated. Last chapter I thought the crap was really going to hit the fan, but you have managed to somewhat diffuse the situation somewhat thus far.

I finally managed to order Quidditch Through The Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them on Amazon. They are in the mail as I write this *happy dance*! I have many friends of mine who can't wait to get their nuts on those books that I might have to barricade myself in my room to read them!

Keep up the good work!

Rebekah (AngelEJC)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. I’ve called the next chapter “Tea and Biscuits” and it should be ready soon. What will Jacqui notice inside Drakeshaugh?

Rereading “Fantastic Beasts” led to me writing “The Girl from DRaCoMC” and “E.C.C.E.N.T.R.I.C.” (and a lot of maths about the possible age of Rolf Scamander).

Name: Callisto Anaxandra (Signed) · Date: 03/29/11 19:14 · For: Sunny Afternoon
I like the way you have built suspense; you're almost too good, since now I'm unhappy that I have to wait for another installment. I think it's interesting to envision the Potters as a sort of celeb or royal family that needs so much privacy. :)

Author's Response: I love cliffhangers for that very reason. The Potters simply want to live a “normal” life, which isn’t easy. -N-

Name: bekkahtee (Signed) · Date: 03/29/11 18:57 · For: The Drop Off
Veeeery refreshing, a muggles POV nice! Im anxiously waiting for the next chapter on this and spontaneity. Keep em' coming(:

Author's Response: Thanks. The next chapter of this is almost finished. The Ron chapter of Spontaneity is almost done (needs beta feedback) and Harry is close to completion, too, but it has started out even raunchier than I expected. -N-

Name: mathamagician (Signed) · Date: 03/29/11 15:30 · For: The Drop Off
how come you haven't updated another chapter for aurors and school girls

Author's Response: Because Harry and Ginny aren’t co-operating with me (or with each other), I blame Cho. I’ve just sent them to Ginny’s bedroom for a chat, and that seems to be working. -N-

Name: hpgploversforever (Signed) · Date: 03/29/11 14:02 · For: Sunny Afternoon
Another great chapter. Such good detail. Can't wait to see how her apoligie to ginny goes.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I hope that you won’t be waiting long. -N-

You must login (register) to review.