Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 05/03/11 21:47
Chapter: The Drop Off

CAn't believe this slipped my mind....
But is there ANY chance for a mention/reference to Swimsuit Quidditch during the Saturday swim and BBQ??????
Edyeb

Author's Response: Almost certainly not, sorry. The swim chapter is almost done, and instead of Swimsuit Quidditch, an OC from "It Takes Two" and "Tales of the Battle" will appear. -N-

Reviewer: Betamax
Date: 05/03/11 10:10
Chapter: School Gates

Excellent chapter Neil. This is probably my favorite chapter of this story. I loved the confrontation between Ginny and Mrs. Saville. I don't know why I liked this one so much. I think it might be because it seemed like a lot of information was presented and it actually wasn't...if that makes any sense. Anyway, keep up the excellent work!

Author's Response:
Thanks, I think :-D

A lot of information is presented, its simply, given the unreliability of Jacquiís sources, youíll need to sift out the useful bits. James speaks true, but isnít always understood. Harry and Ginny lie, because they must, but their lies are half truths.
-N-

Reviewer: Luah
Date: 05/03/11 9:46
Chapter: School Gates

I don't think I'll be able to get over the cuteness of 'a Nora'! I think it only just comes second to the 'stupidfly' incident a few chapters ago, such a fab idea! Brilliant chapter :) !

Author's Response:
Thanks

Between them, James and Henry know a lot of stuff, itís as well that they canít vocalise it properly.
-N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 05/03/11 1:11
Chapter: School Gates

Wonderful chapter, Neil. I think I'm enjoying this story because although there's references to darker things (the werewolf, obviously), this story is really about Harry and Ginny and how they work as a family and how they're accepted into a community. I think you said in a previous response that there was meant to be more focus on the werewolf? This is just me, but I'm actually really enjoying what has happened, and I love Jacqui as a narrator. I loved all the speculation about Harry's job and "a nora".

Your characterisations are, of course, excellent, and I love the idea that Harry and Ginny behave like a young couple, not the parents of three children. I think that's very them. After all, they lost so much time together early on...

‘Do you think he’s a spy?’

‘James Bond, with glasses.’
That made me laugh. Okay, a lot of this chapter did. Very well-written and you handled the wizard/Muggle relations very well.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review Katrina

I originally intended that there would be more focus on the darker side of this story. Retaining Jacqui as a narrator has made that difficult. Iíve been busy re-planning this story to take into account the limitations and (I think) about one chapter in eight or nine will be third person Harry pov. Just to allow me to explain a few thinks that Jacqui canít possibly know. Iím a little worried that this might be a clunky mechanism, but I canít think of another way to do it.

James probably thought everyone knew that his daddy is a Nora.

I think that Harry and Ginny simply appreciate what they have. Iíve seen several stories where Harry is distracted from Ginny by work and I canít see that happening. Heíll learn to juggle and delegate. And, after all, he thought about Ginny constantly during the Horcrux hunt.

This chapter was supposed to make you laugh. I hope that the next one will, too. In it, Mike will learn the answer to a very important question. Does the redhead have a bikini?
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 05/02/11 19:26
Chapter: School Gates

I'm sorry! It keeps cutting me off before I can finish!

The error:

Author's Response: Still not getting it. Why not check out the e-mail address you used when you registered with the site? -N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 05/02/11 18:54
Chapter: The Drop Off

Oh I so needed a good pick me up laugh today, and School Gates did that in a huge way!!!!

I also noticed that Ginny seems to have picked up a bit of legimancy along the way, but I just can't feel sorry for Mary Saville. This reminded me of a dinner I was at once and one of ladies at the table was going on and on about how she had been to all the continents. For some reason, she stopped when I asked her how Antiarticia was. My mother nearly chocked from holding her laughter (or possible refraining from knocking me up side the head).

I am interested in Mr Patterson. Can't remember anyone from the canon with that surname, but I keep thinking that he might have a magicial relation somewhere. Of course a goblin apperating into your office or golf game would have the same effect.

Can't wait for more!!!!!
Edyeb

Author's Response:
This chapter was an enormous amount of fun for me to write. Legilimency? She spoke to Harry. The major problem for Harry and Ginny is going to be covering up Jamesí little slips. Dishonesty doesnít come easy for a five year old (they may think theyíre being clever and subtle, butÖ).

Mr Patterson simply received a phone call, isnít that clear? Oh, dear.
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 05/02/11 17:22
Chapter: School Gates

I'm sitting here still sniggering at "Mrs. Saville's" public verbal thrashing, for want of a better term. I still get a kick out of all the things that we pick up that Jaqui completely disregards. It still completely makes my day when I see that you have updated, I am DANGEROUSLY low on reading material.

I only noticed one error in this chapter:

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

My Ginny has more than a little Molly in her; public verbal thrashings are no problem. Jacqui is observant, but (fortunately) not too inquisitive. Harry and Ginny will be constantly trying to come up with explanations for something James has said. What about the werewolf murders?
-N-

Reviewer: bk6m
Date: 05/02/11 16:47
Chapter: School Gates

I really really like this story please keeep updateing!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This story is a slow one to write, but I will continue to update. -N-

Reviewer: grangergirl35
Date: 05/02/11 15:51
Chapter: School Gates

I like it :D

Author's Response: Thanks -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 05/02/11 15:44
Chapter: School Gates

I loved the show down with Mary! Well played!!

Author's Response: Thanks, so did I! :-D -N-

Reviewer: hpgploversforever
Date: 05/02/11 15:08
Chapter: School Gates

Another wonderful chapter in this wonderful story. Cant wait for the next chapter to come out.

Author's Response: Thank you. More as soon as I can manage it. -N-

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 05/02/11 15:04
Chapter: School Gates

lovelovelovelovelove this story :D "a nora" - so cute, I just about died laughing! I love Jacqui and her husband, they are such a normal family, really relateable. Loved Ginny's face-off w/ Mary, you wrote that really well. I love what you're doing with Harry as well! Can't wait for more, these updates make my day :)

Author's Response: Thank you.
Jacqui certainly needs to be relatable, as sheís my narrator. Mike will be in trouble soon (you may even be able to guess why). Mary has met her match.
-N-

Reviewer: Luah
Date: 04/22/11 13:40
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

I love this fic too much! I live in north east England too and have know of and may have visited some of the places mentioned . I adore all your fics and literally check to see if you've updated daily (I'm more than slightly obsessed with HP :P). Thank you sooo much for giving me hours of amusment :D

Author's Response: I regularly visit the Cheviots, and I try to achieve a sense of place. Iíve no idea whether I succeed. Iím obsessed with HP too, obviously. I try to submit at least one story/chapter per week. Thanks for the kind words. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 04/17/11 12:17
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

Drakeshaugh sounds like a wonderful house. I'd like to move in tomorrow.
Mary doesn't know what's going to hit her!
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.
I like Drakeshaugh too, although the lack of electricity would be a problem.
Poor Mary. :-D
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 04/13/11 19:36
Chapter: The Drop Off

DUH!!!

Must have had a nearly senior moments as we say in the states.

And here I was happy that I had figured out Harry's t-shirt a few chapters back.

Oh, well. I guess I will just have to console myself with DH pt1 blu ray pack I got in the mail today.

Author's Response: No worries :-D -N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 04/13/11 9:20
Chapter: The Drop Off

Sooo, since the Weasley's and you have a thing for Ginger cookies, when do we get the receipe????

Was Al going for The Three Bears as daddy favoritiest???

Looking forward to more. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I donít know the recipe! Itís my friendís mumís secret. The Tale of the Three Brotherís, is Daddyís favouritest (of course). -N-

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 04/13/11 8:11
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

yay an update!!! I adore this story more and more. I loved your descriptions of the Potters' house, it makes me want to visit it! it's a great combination of medieval and modern :) can't wait till the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The setting is real, the house, unfortunately, isnít. Like me youíll simply have to visit it in your imagination. Iíve mapped it, so at least I know where all of the rooms are. :-) -N-

Reviewer: One Lily
Date: 04/13/11 3:23
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

Good point.

Author's Response: :-D

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 04/13/11 2:01
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

Hi Neil,

I'm really enjoying this story (as usual). Jacqui works well as a neighbour, as she is nosey but also kind and caring. It's interesting to present Harry and Ginny (and their family) from an "unknowing" perspective (meaning that the narrator doesn't know that they're wizards). It's a difficult topic to write, because there are just so many small things that we as readers are used to from canon, which to Jacqui seem strange, and I think you're handling it very well.

I'm very curious to see what happens next... I suspect Mary won't know what's hit her.

My favourite line in this chapter was Ginny's quick correction of "Flooed" to "Flew". It made me smile.

Sorry this isn't as long/detailed as my reviews usually are... I have to go now, but I'm sure I'll be back reviewing this rather soon.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
~Katrina

Thanks for the review.

Itís confession time. When I planned this story, the ďmainĒ plot was going to be the werewolf murders, and Jacqui was going to be comic relief. I wrote the first two chapters from Jacquiís (first person) perspective simply to give an outsiders view of the Potters. Then the kids (particularly James and Henryówho, together, are trouble) got more involved, and I was enjoying myself, so I then wrote the third andÖ

Now Iíve got myself into the position where my narrator has no idea whatís really going on and Iím juggling the story to keep her perspective, while moving the werewolf plot forwards.

Itís fun throwing in the little oddities Jacqui notices, like the lack of electricity (and flooed), and Ginny almost saying Knutless instead of penniless. Next, Jacqui finds out what Harryís job really is!

Nevertheless, in the interests of the plot (unless I have a brainwave) there will have to be one or two third person chapters where Jacqui is absent.
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 04/12/11 23:22
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

Mary is not going to know what hit her ;-) I can't wait 'til you post the next chapter! I have been waiting on tender hooks for you to post something, anything, all week! Thank you! As soon as I'm done with this review, I'm going to go check out M.I.T.

I don't know if you really care, but I read a Harry/Ginny fic the other day and thought that you might enjoy it. It's called "This Means War!" by Jeconais, it's on phoenixsong.net. Honestly, I thought that I was going to break a rib laughing! It's got some fluff, action, and humor all mixed in it at the most opportune moments. I understand if you really don't care, but let me know if you decide to read it!

Rebekah (AngelEJC)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Iím getting some interesting theories about what will happen next, though (unsurprisingly) no one expects Mary to do well. M.I.T. is nowhere near as fluffy as this. Iíve tried submitting to Phoenixsong but, unless itís changed, they donít accept new authors (and heven't for years), so I rarely visit.

-N-

ps Itís tenterhooks, not tender hooks. Donít worry, itís a mistake Iíve seen a lot of people make (I still get confused about discrete/discreet).

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
M.I.T.: Entente Cordial by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
A strange and seemingly inexplicable death in London's West End brings an unlikely...
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES