Reviewer: blueowl
Date: 06/30/11 8:54
Chapter: The Drop Off

Thanks for the update, i enjoyed it greatly! I can't wait to see whatever other clues Henry and his family see that makes the Potters "Unusal" Keep updating please!

Author's Response: Thanks. I hope to update soon. And it wonít be long before Jacqui meets Rose and Hugoís parents. -N-

Reviewer: macheel
Date: 06/30/11 5:47
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

Well done again. I just love reading your stories. The chapter flowed so well, I got lost in story and forgot where I was.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. This story is great fun to write, though surprisingly hard work. -N-

Reviewer: Loko
Date: 06/30/11 4:43
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

Fantastic! I've been waiting for the story to progress. Loved the 'argument' about red - it's just so Ginny. And the character development of Mike and Jacqui - it's great to have a greater insight into their relationship. Can't wait to see if the Charltons will ever find out about magic and how Harry and Ginny will react to that as Jacqui is clearly beginning to pick up that there's more to the Potters than meets the eye. Great chapter. Hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks. This chapter was intended to establish Mike and Jacqui as a couple, and to cement the Potter/Charlton relationship. If they fall out, I lose my narrator. There will be more soon. -N-

Reviewer: lilyginnylily
Date: 06/29/11 19:05
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

your story is awesome i love it so much your one of my favorite authors. i did see something on this page i might be wrong but i though harry could swim after the second task in the goblet of fire. again i might be wrong, Great job anyways.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. In GoF Harry swam with the help of Gilliweed. As a pupil in a Muggle junior school heíd have been taught the basics, but probably no more (not with Dudley in the class). -N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 06/29/11 18:25
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

Excellent!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-

Reviewer: Callisto Anaxandra
Date: 06/29/11 16:00
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

Everything seems good. There's so much overpoliteness, but I suppose that's natural for new acquaintances.

Another great chapter--keep posting! Every time I see that you've posted a different story, I wish it were a new chapter of this one!!

Author's Response: This takes place at the end of Jamesí first week at school; overpoliteness is to be expected as the families get to know each other.
I really must finish Aurors and Schoolgirls, that story (and this one) should be my priority, but I couldnít resist the Mysterious May Challenges. Lavender is constantly pestering me to write about her, too.
-N-

Reviewer: bk64
Date: 06/29/11 14:54
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

Naw! I thought that it was going to be Teddy Lupin...now I'd love to see how Jaqui would handle him and his hair!!! but he'd be what, only 10 or so when this is set? Another great chapter, but for some reason i keep on expecting one of the kids, probably James to do magic unknowingly (like start to struggle in the pool but end up getting themselves out too quickly)

thanks for the update!!

Author's Response: Thanks. According to my timeline, Teddy is now eleven, and has just started at Hogwarts. Jacqui will, however, meet Ginnyís brothers and their wives and kids. The question is, however, will James remember about ďthe national statue of secretsĒ.
Iím working on a one-shot about accidental magic, itís provisionally called ďThe Drakeshaugh DragonĒ.
-N-

Reviewer: blueowl
Date: 06/18/11 18:40
Chapter: School Gates

I've just about given up on an update . Please please please PLEASE update! I really want to see where this is going!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. The next chapter is done. However, ever since the Mysterious May challenge started I've had two chapters in the queue and no room to submit an update here. More as soon as I have a space. -N-

Reviewer: Mustanaamio81
Date: 06/06/11 15:02
Chapter: School Gates

Greetings from Finland. I just had to drop few lines in here to thank you of these wonderful stories you've written. I really like the way you've picked story up where the Deathly Hallows left it.

So thank you so much for delivering the much needed dose of good Potter-stories for one Harry-addicted muggle from Finland.

ps. sorry about bad english.. it's not my native language.

Author's Response:
Kiitos :-D

I know a couple of Finns (okay, Iíve never actually met them, but they frequent a gaming site Iím on), so you can thank Juha for the fast translation. Your English is brilliant compared to my Finnish. :-D

I hope that you continue to enjoy my stories.
-N-

Reviewer: WriteForLife
Date: 05/31/11 12:48
Chapter: School Gates

I really liked this chapter, i read it like when you first posted it but just never wrote a review and i'm really excited for more. I hope you post soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I have the next chapter ready, Iím simply waiting for an opportunity to post it. I have two stories in the queue (both for the Mysterious May Challenge) and two more ready (for the same challenge). I wonít be updating anything else until after the challenge deadline, sorry. -N-

Reviewer: HarryHeartsGinnyForever
Date: 05/07/11 18:03
Chapter: The Drop Off

The part where Harry kisses Ginny is adorable! Post more soon! :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I'll try (soon-ish?). -N-

Reviewer: sam_1034_lily
Date: 05/04/11 9:50
Chapter: School Gates

I absolutely loved it. I love the fact that it is from jacqui's point of view and not ginny's or harry. I can't wait for her to find out the truth about potters.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. As I've said (I think) my original plan was to write an introduction from Jacqui's point of view, and then write a third person novel. Writing it this way is fun, but it creates a lot of plot complications. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 05/04/11 5:57
Chapter: School Gates

Another great chapter, Mary didn't know what hit her.
Molly has been a good role model for Ginny in lots of ways, she doesn't stand any nonsense.
Will the magic start leaking out soon?
Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Ginny would probably be horrified, but I agree, they are more similar than Ginny would like to believe.
When the magic leaks out, Jaqqui gets Obliviated, and I lose my narrator :-(
More soon
-N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 05/03/11 21:47
Chapter: The Drop Off

CAn't believe this slipped my mind....
But is there ANY chance for a mention/reference to Swimsuit Quidditch during the Saturday swim and BBQ??????
Edyeb

Author's Response: Almost certainly not, sorry. The swim chapter is almost done, and instead of Swimsuit Quidditch, an OC from "It Takes Two" and "Tales of the Battle" will appear. -N-

Reviewer: Betamax
Date: 05/03/11 10:10
Chapter: School Gates

Excellent chapter Neil. This is probably my favorite chapter of this story. I loved the confrontation between Ginny and Mrs. Saville. I don't know why I liked this one so much. I think it might be because it seemed like a lot of information was presented and it actually wasn't...if that makes any sense. Anyway, keep up the excellent work!

Author's Response:
Thanks, I think :-D

A lot of information is presented, its simply, given the unreliability of Jacquiís sources, youíll need to sift out the useful bits. James speaks true, but isnít always understood. Harry and Ginny lie, because they must, but their lies are half truths.
-N-

Reviewer: Luah
Date: 05/03/11 9:46
Chapter: School Gates

I don't think I'll be able to get over the cuteness of 'a Nora'! I think it only just comes second to the 'stupidfly' incident a few chapters ago, such a fab idea! Brilliant chapter :) !

Author's Response:
Thanks

Between them, James and Henry know a lot of stuff, itís as well that they canít vocalise it properly.
-N-

Reviewer: The_Real_Hermione
Date: 05/03/11 1:11
Chapter: School Gates

Wonderful chapter, Neil. I think I'm enjoying this story because although there's references to darker things (the werewolf, obviously), this story is really about Harry and Ginny and how they work as a family and how they're accepted into a community. I think you said in a previous response that there was meant to be more focus on the werewolf? This is just me, but I'm actually really enjoying what has happened, and I love Jacqui as a narrator. I loved all the speculation about Harry's job and "a nora".

Your characterisations are, of course, excellent, and I love the idea that Harry and Ginny behave like a young couple, not the parents of three children. I think that's very them. After all, they lost so much time together early on...

‘Do you think he’s a spy?’

‘James Bond, with glasses.’
That made me laugh. Okay, a lot of this chapter did. Very well-written and you handled the wizard/Muggle relations very well.

~Katrina

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review Katrina

I originally intended that there would be more focus on the darker side of this story. Retaining Jacqui as a narrator has made that difficult. Iíve been busy re-planning this story to take into account the limitations and (I think) about one chapter in eight or nine will be third person Harry pov. Just to allow me to explain a few thinks that Jacqui canít possibly know. Iím a little worried that this might be a clunky mechanism, but I canít think of another way to do it.

James probably thought everyone knew that his daddy is a Nora.

I think that Harry and Ginny simply appreciate what they have. Iíve seen several stories where Harry is distracted from Ginny by work and I canít see that happening. Heíll learn to juggle and delegate. And, after all, he thought about Ginny constantly during the Horcrux hunt.

This chapter was supposed to make you laugh. I hope that the next one will, too. In it, Mike will learn the answer to a very important question. Does the redhead have a bikini?
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 05/02/11 19:26
Chapter: School Gates

I'm sorry! It keeps cutting me off before I can finish!

The error:

Author's Response: Still not getting it. Why not check out the e-mail address you used when you registered with the site? -N-

Reviewer: edyeb
Date: 05/02/11 18:54
Chapter: The Drop Off

Oh I so needed a good pick me up laugh today, and School Gates did that in a huge way!!!!

I also noticed that Ginny seems to have picked up a bit of legimancy along the way, but I just can't feel sorry for Mary Saville. This reminded me of a dinner I was at once and one of ladies at the table was going on and on about how she had been to all the continents. For some reason, she stopped when I asked her how Antiarticia was. My mother nearly chocked from holding her laughter (or possible refraining from knocking me up side the head).

I am interested in Mr Patterson. Can't remember anyone from the canon with that surname, but I keep thinking that he might have a magicial relation somewhere. Of course a goblin apperating into your office or golf game would have the same effect.

Can't wait for more!!!!!
Edyeb

Author's Response:
This chapter was an enormous amount of fun for me to write. Legilimency? She spoke to Harry. The major problem for Harry and Ginny is going to be covering up Jamesí little slips. Dishonesty doesnít come easy for a five year old (they may think theyíre being clever and subtle, butÖ).

Mr Patterson simply received a phone call, isnít that clear? Oh, dear.
-N-

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 05/02/11 17:22
Chapter: School Gates

I'm sitting here still sniggering at "Mrs. Saville's" public verbal thrashing, for want of a better term. I still get a kick out of all the things that we pick up that Jaqui completely disregards. It still completely makes my day when I see that you have updated, I am DANGEROUSLY low on reading material.

I only noticed one error in this chapter:

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

My Ginny has more than a little Molly in her; public verbal thrashings are no problem. Jacqui is observant, but (fortunately) not too inquisitive. Harry and Ginny will be constantly trying to come up with explanations for something James has said. What about the werewolf murders?
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Chocolate Frog by L A Moody 3rd-5th Years
Amid the desolation of Diagon Alley, a tiny ray of hope lay buried. Nothing...
I Suspect Nargles by foolondahill17 3rd-5th Years
‚ÄúNo one‚Äôs ever kissed me before‚Ķ. What is one to do now?‚ÄĚ An extensive...
The Life and Times of Linnea Potter by Cantatrix 1st-2nd Years
Linnea Potter has lived under the tyranny of her relatives for the better part...
FEATURED
Glass over the Flame by the opaleye 3rd-5th Years
Harry, Hermione, and the moments in between. He doesn’t say that this...
Tom Riddle and the Chamber of Secrets by CanisMajor 3rd-5th Years
What really happened the last time someone let the Basilisk out? Harry Potter...
Red Squirrel/Sun Rises by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
+ He wouldn't celebrate his birthday, but his son had other ideas. + This was...
Sybill Trelawney and the Unexpected Gift by Squibstress 3rd-5th Years
Sybill Trelawney learns to live with her Inner Eye, cooking sherry, and Minerva...
Pat-a-Cake by foolondahill17 1st-2nd Years
Molly Weasley II, called Pat, and twenty-one lot and little-known facts. Or...
Wood by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
Marcus Flint, the infamous Super Seventh Captain of the Slytherin Quidditch...
CATEGORIES