Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/14 16:36
Chapter: Baking Buns and a Barmy Blonde

I just realized what a wonderful job you do of writing the children's voices. It sounds very natural. Having Luna around Muggles is just like having children around. I'm so glad that Jacqui finally got an invitation.

Author's Response: Thank you. Having kids helps me to write them. As for Luna, I think she’s the only person who doesn’t need to change her behaviour in front of Muggles. It really doesn’t matter what she says, because she’s Luna.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/14 13:33
Chapter: A Confusion of Weasleys

Something strange is going to happen soon to Jacqui if she keeps going to the Potters unannounced. I have to admire Ginny's character. She's nice but also firm. When she has a point to make to someone she's very clear about what that point is.

Author's Response: Lot's of strange things could happen to Jacqui. It wasn't completely unannounced. James was expecting Henry. :-D As for Ginny, I'm glad you like her, not everyone does. I've tried to model her on what little we see of her in canon. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/14 12:30
Chapter: Conversations and Invitations

I'm not sure what Moldue is. Is it Muggle? :D It's not a French word I'm familiar with. Poor Annie. I can't believe she could hold that much blackberry juice. Whatever was Mike thinking? I hope the Potters really show off to Mary. I think she'd still complain and make snide remarks about them.

Author's Response: Hi.
Moldue is Muggle. It's the word used in the French translation.
As for Annie, it may seem unbelievable, but that incident is based on one I personally experienced. You'll soon find out what Mary thinks of the Potter's new home.
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/14 17:36
Chapter: Interlude: Thirty

I'm surprised that Harry can even relax at all considering all the stress he must be under. That's always been a problem for me. If I'm busy I can't turn things off and relax.

Author's Response: I think that Harry has always (to some extent) been able to relax despite the pressures. He seemed to manage in HBP. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/14 16:40
Chapter: Work and Play

I think James is going to end up spilling all of the family secrets. Again, it's good he can't talk clearly or pronounce the words correctly. It sounds like they had a wonderful time at their barbeque.

Author's Response: James is a liability, but he’s not yet five. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/14 14:00
Chapter: Wet Afternoon

Your writing is so wonderful. I'm really enjoying this story. I can see and feel what's going on. I had a flash of warmth thinking of the two families at the pool in the sunshine.

Author's Response: Thank you. When I started this story (a long time ago) I assumed that a story centred around a Muggle family wouldn’t be popular. I was very wrong. -N-

Reviewer: desertsol98
Date: 12/08/14 12:58
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

This update made my day. I am just waiting to Jackie to figure out the Potter's "secret." I feel like she may not figure out the truth of it, but she may get pretty close.

I can't wait to find out who the killer is!

Author's Response: Thanks.
Will Jacqui ever figure out what's really going on? You'll have to wait and see. More soon(ish)
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/14 4:16
Chapter: School Gates

Some of the things the Potters have to tell people are almost funny. Fortunately James doesn't speak too clearly yet. I loved the description of Rose. She sounds like Hermione but with red hair.

Author's Response: James is almost five. The concept of keeping secrets for his parents is a little beyond him. As for Rose, I tend to think of her as a mix of Ron and Hermione. That makes her tall, gangling, long-nosed, and with bushy ginger hair (poor kid). -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/14 4:01
Chapter: Tea and Biscuits

I can't wait to see what Ginny says to Mary. It was silly for Jacqui to wonder if Molly could handle five children. But we know Molly and Mary doesn't. I'm glad they got the bank issue settled. I wonder how long it's going to take before the Potters have to tell Jacqui that they're magical.

Author's Response: You didn't have long to wait to find out. Jacqui has a lot to learn about her new neighbours, it's a good thing she learns quickly. What can the Potters do about the International Statute of secrecy? -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/08/14 3:29
Chapter: Sunny Afternoon

I guess if you go to visit unannounced strange things happen. Jaqui is lucky they didn't pull wands on her. Everyone was lucky.

Author's Response: This won't be the last time that Jacqui visits the Potters unannounced, but it could have been dangerous. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/07/14 17:23
Chapter: Misty Morning

I had to smile at the "hippy squatter" reference. There are people in my family who ride motorcycles and go to the Sturgis Rally every year. They also have respectable "day jobs" but they take off time to be bikers at least once a year and ride their bikes to work when they can. It saves on gas.

Author's Response: Mary (as you'll discover) is rather prejudiced. I sold my bike when the kids arrived, it's an impractical form of transport when you have a family. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/07/14 16:37
Chapter: The Pick Up

I take it Harry has Sirius' old motorbike. He sure did make a dramatic entrance. I think I liked that part the best. I really should be working but I'm involved in this story.

Author's Response: Yes, Harry has Sirius' old motorbike. I wanted him to make an entrance, and the bike did it. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/07/14 16:19
Chapter: The Drop Off

I just wrote a review and it got eaten by the system. It doesn't happen often but it's often enough to be annoying. I was waiting for Ginny to somehow break out her wand and dry out Henry's lunch. I guess that would've been too obvious.

Author's Response: :-D

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/07/14 16:18
Chapter: The Drop Off

I just wrote a review and it got eaten by the system. It doesn't happen often but it's often enough to be annoying. I was waiting for Ginny to somehow break out her wand and dry out Henry's lunch. I guess that would've been too obvious.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review(s). You're not the first to have had a review eaten, and you won't be the last.
This story is a tightrope of not-quite discovery as Ginny (and Harry) attempt to keep their Muggle neighbours in the dark.
-N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 12/07/14 8:53
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

Great to see a new chapter, hope they find the killer soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.-N-

Reviewer: GinevraMinerva
Date: 12/06/14 13:51
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

Yay!! An update of Strangers :) You just made my day!

Lovely chapter, I like the insights into the complexities of friendships between witches and wizards and muggles who don't know the truth.

I also particularly liked Mike's comment on 'Harry's one second of fame', I did giggle a little at his expense...

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I'm working on more Strangers, and a couple of my other long chaptered stories, because I want t get at least one of them finished. Friendship with Jacqui is certainly a complicating factor in Ginny's life. Mike's misconceptions are great to write. Sometimes, however, he says something sensible.
-N-

Reviewer: GinevraMinerva
Date: 11/29/14 17:26
Chapter: Arrivals

I love Strangers (and, no pressure, of course, but I'd love to hear more soon... ;) ) One nit-pick; a score is 20 isn't it? and 'a trio of half dozens plus a duo is 5x6, or 30... Otherwise, I love the chapter and the story as a whole (and all your other stories, as I always say :/) x

Author's Response: Hi
A trio of half-dozens is 3x6=18, add a duo, and you get twenty. As Christmas is approaching, I'll do my very best to grant your wish. check back tomorrow. :-D
-N-

Reviewer: Kkwelch16
Date: 09/02/14 17:17
Chapter: Tragedy

I love this! I wonder who the murderer is going to be and I love how henry says swimberling, its adorable. when do you think you're going to be able to update again??

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Has the killer made an appearance? I’m not saying. I hope to update soon.
-N-

Reviewer: foolondahill17
Date: 09/01/14 11:13
Chapter: Interlude: Three Families

Well, a little more than half-way through, I thought it was about time to leave another comment. I wanted to compliment you on how well you've put together this story, all the sub-plots and side-stories are mashed together very convincingly. I'm also thoroughly enjoying all the characters - both cannon and original.

Particular things I liked included your explanation of why Harry was so good with little children (which made me, at the same time, very sad and angry at the Dursleys), I also loved, loved, loved your characterization of Luna. Her talking to Mary at the front gate was utterly hilarious. You've really nailed her. I also really enjoyed Ron and Mike, and how they seemed to connect so well while joking about Luna.

Anyway, I'm very excited to see what happens next and congratulations on this stellar job.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

As I’ve said before, I originally intended for this to be an Auror-centred murder mystery with family crises on the side. But my narrator persuaded me otherwise. Jacqui rather took over. Many of the original characters (Lavender’s husband, Terry and Michaels wives) have appeared in other stories, so I know them well.

It seems that Harry’s past could have pushed him one of two ways. I think that, if it weren’t for Ginny, he’d spoil his kids. It takes me a long time to write Luna. I have to reach the point where she enters, and then try to find a Luna-worldview, and base her replies on her logic. I believe that Ginny is right not to be worried about inviting Luna to a party. The fact that she doesn’t fit in is immaterial, because she doesn’t fit in the magical world, either. In some ways Ron and Hermione are very like Mike and Jacqui.

-N-

Reviewer: foolondahill17
Date: 08/29/14 16:11
Chapter: The Pick Up

I loved the line about Harry knowing how to make an entrance :)

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Heir by Alexandryne 3rd-5th Years
I couldn't imagine it was gone. But then, the magic never really is gone, is...
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
FEATURED
Where Light and Shadow Meet by Ennalee 1st-2nd Years
All his life, Percy has built and gathered, painted and carved, and now everything...
Different in the Morning by Gmariam 3rd-5th Years
Seventh year is almost over, and after indulging in the kitchen a bit too much...
Rid of Me by littlebird 6th-7th Years
Hermione gets the cat, the flat, the food, and the furniture. Ron gets the family...
CATEGORIES