Reviewer: GinnyPotter95
Date: 05/30/12 4:46
Chapter: The Drop Off

Great Chapter!

Author's Response: Review number 200! Thanks. -N-

Reviewer: Seedy
Date: 05/23/12 1:19
Chapter: The Drop Off

Which story(ies) are you current working on? Only if it is comfortable for you to answer. Unless you've already mentioned it before and I just hadn't read enough yet.

Author's Response: Hi
I have six unfinished stories, I know that it’s too many so:
I am updating this story regularly.
I am updating Hunters and Prey regularly (it will be 17 chapters 13 are done).
I am updating both Epithalamium and Molly and her Daughter when I get the time (and the idea, because they are linked one-shot, not “novels”).
I have temporarily put Aurors and Schoolgirls on hold until I complete H&P, at which point I’ll be updating it and Strangers regularly.
That leaves Muggle Liaison Team. Not abandoned, but don’t hold your breath.
-N-
ps I’ve just submitted a new story (Brown). It appears to be a chaptered fic, but that’s because it’s a one-shot which grew to be over 10,000 words. It is pretty much finished (second chapter being betaed, third almost ready to go.

Reviewer: Seedy
Date: 05/23/12 1:17
Chapter: The Drop Off

Ya...my mistake...I mistook Terry as Teddy....

Author's Response: :-D

Reviewer: Seedy
Date: 05/22/12 1:42
Chapter: The Drop Off

Hi, I just wanna say that I love this whole story generally, but there are some mistakes.
Ted Lupin'd be age 19 when Albus is 11. Victoria'd be 17, or 16, when Albus is 11. Also, Luna is married to Rolf Scamander with two children.
Again I personally really like this story XDDD. Goodjob and please keep writing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, but I’m not sure what you think are mistakes, as I try to be completely canon compliant (Pottermore may, of course contradict me as I started this timeline over three years ago and I cannot possibly retrofit my timeline to be Pottermore compliant, unless I start again).
Teddy was born a few weeks before the battle (1998), and WILL be nineteen in 2017 when Al is in his first year (age eleven). In this story Teddy is eleven and in his first year at Hogwarts, and Al is three. This is the correct eight year age gap.
Victoire is currently nine (two years younger than Teddy). She will be seventeen and in her final year in the epilogue (I could have made her a year younger, but chose not to).
JKR did indeed say that Luna marries Rolf Scamander, she said it on a live chat on Bloomsbury.com, on July 30, 2007. Her exact words were “She ended up marrying (rather later than Harry & co) a fellow naturalist and grandson of the great Newt Scamander (Rolf)!” I know that a lot of fanfics (especially next-gen stories) show the Scamander kids to be a similar age to the Potters and Weasley kids, but I’m sticking with “rather later” because that’s what JKR said. In “Strangers” Luna is twenty-eight and still unmarried. Rolf is around (he has already appeared in one of my stories (ECCENTRIC)), he’s simply not here, yet.
Any more questions or queries, just ask.
-N-

Reviewer: GinevraPotter00
Date: 05/20/12 4:59
Chapter: A Confusion of Weasleys

So Jacqui's 32?

Author's Response: Her birthdate is 20 March '77 she's seven months younger than Fleur. :-D -N-

Reviewer: GinevraPotter00
Date: 05/12/12 5:33
Chapter: Arrivals

Brilliant Chapter but what is Parkin?

Author's Response: Thanks.
:-D It's a cake - flour, oatmeal, black treacle (I think you'd say molasses), butter and ginger. It's stick and heavy and yummy.
-N-

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 04/30/12 2:33
Chapter: Arrivals

fantastic! love it and where you have all the characters!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Next, lots of Muggles and more magical visitors. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 04/28/12 20:07
Chapter: Arrivals

Lovely to see so many old friends, the minibus to cover up the flooing or apparating was a good touch.
Looking forward to seeing how the other muggles cope when they arrive.

Author's Response: Thanks.
It was a good idea, but Harry really should have given his friends a few minutes to catch up, because Jacqui is sharp.
Next, more wizards, and lots of Muggles. Can the wizards cope?
-N-

Reviewer: Harmthuria
Date: 04/28/12 14:26
Chapter: Arrivals

I certainly am ready for the next chapter.

Author's Response: I'll try to finish it as soon as possible. -N-

Reviewer: 83gemini
Date: 04/28/12 11:48
Chapter: Arrivals

Lovely as always, though I assume Jacqui will be getting curious.

One thing seems off in your otherwise carefully plotted our timeline (though I'm sure it is hard to keep track); assuming Michael Corner is married to Trudi, and got engaged as suggested in "Bare" in the fall of 2004 this suggests he got engaged awfully fast (since he was single as "Unspeakable" and there's no indication Trudi was in a relationship with him as of "It Takes Two").

This may prove I have too much spare time, but your attention to detail is one of the reasons I enjoy your work :)

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. Jacqui is, indeed, getting curious.

First, congratulations on being the first to correctly identify Auror Trudi Corner! I've checked, and there is a flaw in my timeline. :-( It came about because "Unspeakable" was co-written (and rapidly co-written) for a (still unjudged) challenge. I could not force my entire timeline on my co-writer (although I tried). I'll need to do a rewrite of Unspeakable to tweak the timeline slightly.

Having said that, the error isn't what you think it is. :-D Lavender mentioned in "Bare" that Michael was engaged. But he didn't say to whom, and it wasn't Trudi. That is yet another unwritten minor-characters story.

-N-

Reviewer: majestic_ginny
Date: 04/27/12 14:45
Chapter: Arrivals

Yay, another chapter! I loved all the people, and also the subtle hints that there was something odd about them (like Terry and Michael talking like they all met, Michael's inept Muggle clothing, Harry calling Neville 'Prof', etc). I also really liked the OCs, they all seem so natural. Can't wait for the next chapter! Hope you update soon! --Nadia :D

Author's Response: Thanks, Nadia.
Michael's clothing could be put down to personal choice, and so coulf his wife's. Jacqui doesn't miss much, and she's already noticed a few oddities. Most of the OC's have appearred in my other stories, so I know them (Mrs Finnegan is the only one who hasn't appeared anywhere previously.
-N-

Reviewer: Verita Serum
Date: 04/27/12 4:40
Chapter: Arrivals

I believe someone mentioned in an earlier review being set back in their prep for finals week. I would have to agree. My future O Chem grade does not thank you! I, however, do - because this story is my absolute favorite.

Author's Response: Thanks you.
I really enjoy writing this, and I’ll continue to update as regularly as possible. Good luck with your exams.
-N-

Reviewer: MalchomMcGonagall
Date: 04/27/12 4:20
Chapter: Arrivals

Always good to see another chapter by you N. Since you have Seamus at the party anyway I'd love to know what he does now, as you've never said in your other stories.
Thanks!
M.M.

Author's Response: Thanks.
Neither Seamus nor Dean have played a particularly large part in my stories. Will you find out what he does, or will you simply find out what he tells Jacqui that he does? :-D
-N-

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 04/27/12 1:26
Chapter: Interlude: Three Families

cute

Author's Response: Thanks -N-

Reviewer: juniper
Date: 04/27/12 1:26
Chapter: Arrivals

I can't wait for her to find out that she's a Squib! And I really hope one of the kids are magical.

Author's Response: You will be waiting for quite a while. :-D -N-

Reviewer: noblefate
Date: 04/26/12 22:36
Chapter: Interlude: Three Families

As much as I love the overarching story, I look forward to the interludes even more because it's where the story about the Werewolf killer is really pieced together. I think it's fantastic that you're able to weave all of the magical elements of The Potters lives into such non-magical elements, but these chapters where you allow them to use magic openly feel like coming home.

Author's Response: Thanks.
The Werewolf killer thread of this story is becoming more important, and you will see more of it. After all, the next full moon is only a week away. The Potters are, of course, always using magic. Jacqui will continue to wonder.
-N-

Reviewer: golden_trio
Date: 04/26/12 21:28
Chapter: Arrivals

Oh, what a lovely chapter! Do I detect an Undectable Extension Charm in the living room? I wonder what everyone else will say when the meet the colorful bunch? I loved seein the tiny glimpse into Harry's school mates lives, especially the lesser known characters.

Well, this has thoroughly pushed me back another hour from studying for finals next week, so I best get to it!
-Katie

Author's Response: Katie
I couldn’t possibly comment on the use of an undetectable extension charm. :-D
You’ll find out fairly soon what Mary, Amanda, and the others think of the friends of the Potters. You’ll also meet a couple of magical latecomers.
Good luck in your finals.
-N-

Reviewer: harrys_red_head_girl
Date: 04/26/12 17:16
Chapter: Arrivals

Great Chapter! Its wonderful to see everyone as adults. The Ravenclaw boys all talking together, then of course Dean's and Seamus' families are going to be super close. Lets hope that plant doesn't make another appearance, at least in a bad way. I can't wait to see what else Jacqui picks up on, especially with the town folk arriving.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
There are an awful lot of arrivals in this chapter, and there will be more (there's only one Gryffindor from Harry's year missing). Dean and Seamus have been friends for as long as Harry and Ron. The plant may simply be a plant. But Jacqui will pick up a few interesting snippets.
-N-

Reviewer: annegirl_shruti
Date: 04/24/12 10:51
Chapter: Interlude: Three Families

I know that you say that this story started out with the werewolf case but what makes it so true to life for me is the little things which might have been omitted if the focus had solely been on the mystery, like the parents dividing up on the jobs of looking after the children, which one has experienced with their parents.

I also love how you've paid attention to each detail as when Ron chastises Harry about the timing of the party.

Another part that I love is when Rose corrects Henry and James that its ‘swimming time.’ It reminds me so strongly of the trio days at Hogwarts.

This is a wonderful story! Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
This certainly has moved in a different way to that which I’d originally intended. But it’s certainly a popular story. The mystery will continue to run (usually) in the background.
My writing regarding parenting is woven from the DH Epilogue, which I think is brilliant (although sometimes I think I’m in the minority). JKR shows Harry and Ginny’s, and Ron and Hermione’s different parenting styles brilliantly, and shows how relaxed the two couples are.
Ron has always told Harry what he thinks. He’s never been afraid to argue with Harry, or Hermione. That is an important part of their friendship.
Rose is her mother’s daughter, mostly.
I’ve just submitted chapter 15
-N-

Reviewer: harrys_red_head_girl
Date: 04/17/12 1:51
Chapter: Interlude: Three Families

Great Chapter! I can't wait to read what happens at the party. What will the town folk think of the Potters other guest?

Author's Response: Thanks.
Other guest? Harry and Ginny couldn’t have a housewarming party and not invite their oldest friends. Weasleys and DA members (and their spouses/kids) will outnumber the Muggles.
-N-

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Waning by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The light and warmth are waning as winter approaches. What that implies depends...
Helpless by Oregonian 3rd-5th Years
With Lord Voldemort firmly established at Malfoy Manor, and terror pervading...
Strangers at Drakeshaugh by Northumbrian 3rd-5th Years
The locals in a sleepy corner of the Cheviot Hills are surprised to discover...
FEATURED
Thank you for your time, Professor by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
It is April 1976, and Minerva McGonagall sits in her office, arranging biscuits...
Heat of the Moment by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor Professors
A night of paperwork, coffee, and burning the midnight oil... it wasn't...
A Splendid Fate by hestiajones 6th-7th Years
One failed photograph, two halved souls, and the numerous, marvellous machinations...
CATEGORIES