Reviewer: Oregonian
Date: 04/23/15 0:12
Chapter: Uninvited Visitors

Hi, Neil.
I'm continuing to enjoy your story, as usual, but had to smile when I saw that Justin was in Portland, Oregon (eight hours behind England). I'm not sure what he's doing there, but I hope he's having a good time. It's a fine place to be.
Vicki

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 03/15/15 14:16
Chapter: Uninvited Visitors

Bats!! A woman with ice cold hands? Vampires?
Another great chapter.
Thanks again.

Author's Response:
Camelia Tepes - she's in "The Hufflepuff" and other stories, too.
More, soon.
-N-

Reviewer: rambkowalczyk
Date: 03/10/15 16:43
Chapter: Uninvited Visitors

glad you had a relatively quick update to the story. Thank-you

Author's Response: Thanks, I hope to update again soon. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 03/09/15 14:17
Chapter: Uninvited Visitors

What is a hot pot? I was thinking it might be what we call a casserole. You were right. I didn't know anything extra when I learned the stranger girl's name. It seemed that she wasn't so out of her mind that she didn't understand what Ginny was trying to tell her--Muggle-alert!

Author's Response: Hi. a casserole is a casserole, a hotpot (correctly - a Lancashire hotpot) is a sort-of lamb, or mutton casserole with sliced potatoes placed on top of the meat and veg. the trick is to cook it in a closed dish, but take the lid off a few minutes before it's done, so that the potatoes crisp up. Here endeth the cookery lesson. :-D There will be more about Frances soon. -N-

Reviewer: Esmeraldaya
Date: 03/09/15 12:06
Chapter: Uninvited Visitors

Really happy you have updates this story. Will there be more about Annie en James soon too?

Author's Response: Thanks. And the good news is that I updated James and Me today. -N-

Reviewer: sejackson91
Date: 03/08/15 18:22
Chapter: Uninvited Visitors

Well as usual it's another exceptional chapter. Knowing your fondness for hiding clues in obscure interactions I reread some previous chapters. I'm guessing Frances is the girl mentioned in chapter 20. I honestly can't wait for another Harry POV chapter as I'm sure he knows so much more about what's going on.
Keep it up
Sarah

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Am I that obvious? Damn! Frances has appeared in an earlier chapter, but that's all I'm saying.
The next chapter will be an interlude, but it's also from the perspective of a Muggle. This Muggle, however, knows a lot more than does Jacqui.
-N-

Reviewer: Sannah
Date: 03/02/15 18:06
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Two questions about the stranger:
- Why did she walk rather than apparate?
- Is she the same young woman who failed the Auror practical in record time (Harry encounters at the Ministry in chapter 20)?
I love this story! Hope you can update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Two answers:
Good question, I know the answer, and I'll probably tell you in the next chapter.
It might be.
I hope to update in a week or two.
-N-

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 01/15/15 16:53
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Glad to have another chapter! It's fun to have a smart Muggle view of Harry's and Ginny's world. I especially enjoyed Jacqui's assessment of Hermione. There are a lot of serious threads here though, not just the murders but also the links to Arthurian legends--and some of your other stories about Goyle, Nott, and perhaps the Ancient and Most Noble House of Lupin. But the red puffer coat? Red Riding Hood?? The cowboy boots threw me though--shades of Wonder Woman. I look forward to reading more, hopefully soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Jacqui continues to be an excellent observer. It’s fortunate that she’s also very good at rationalising what she sees, although she’ll have her work cut out in the next chapter. Some of the threads you mention are red herrings, but not all of them. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 01/13/15 12:32
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Oh who is the mysterious stranger?
Great to have another chapter.
Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks
More very soon. She’s called Cecilia, does that help?’
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/12/15 17:51
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Oh great! I have to wait until next time to find out who the mystery girl is. I hope you update soon. I could understand Henry thinking he'd done enough hand washing in the pool:D OMG--that stupid girl pulled a wand on a Muggle. I did have to chuckle at that.

Author's Response: Even when you find out who she is, you won’t know who she is, at least not exactly. I hope to update within a week or so. Don’t all small boys know that a hand-wash is good for a week? -N-

Reviewer: desertsol98
Date: 01/12/15 11:03
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

what a pleasant surprise I found this morning. What a way to end this chapter! I can't wait to find out who this stranger is!
Jacqui certainly is bright and I'm glad to see Ginny taking her into her confidence (limited confidence, but it still counts)
I just really love this story and all the people in it.

Author's Response:
Thanks, and sorry for the delayed reply. Real life! The stranger will be identified in the next chapter, but a Jacqui isn’t told everything, you won’t know, either. She’s already made a (blink and you’ll miss it) appearance.
There will be a lot to pique Jacqui’s curiosity in the next chapter. But Ginny will, once again, be forced to make excuses.
-N-

Reviewer: carmour45
Date: 01/11/15 19:34
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Really love where this is going. Keep it up. :)

Author's Response: :-D

Reviewer: carmour45
Date: 01/11/15 19:30
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Really love where this is going. Keep it up. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I will. -N-

Reviewer: GinevraMinerva
Date: 01/11/15 13:51
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Yay!! An update on Strangers :D :D Made my day!
Although it ended on a cliffhanger again, which just makes me want to ask you for more, a la Oliver Twist.

Fab chapter Neil- I loved it, and good call on the accents/ Yorkshirism. I'd use breadcake (I'm from Sheffield) but I've never heard it anywhere else in the country!

Author's Response:
Thanks. I hope to update this one very soon.

In the very first chapter Jacqui identified Ginny’s accents, and said she was good at them. She’s been doing it ever since, but her knowledge of breadcakes being a Sheffieldism may be her finest hour.

-N-

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 01/11/15 7:49
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

The plot thickens.

Author's Response: Yup! -N-

Reviewer: carmour45
Date: 01/09/15 9:48
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

Love this fic. Keep it comming.

Author's Response: Okay, but don't expect this sort of service every time you ask! :-D -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/24/14 1:02
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

I hope you finish this story. I really like it and I want to see if Jacqui ever finds out the truth about the Potters. It almost seemed that Jacqui wished the Potters were a little more normal. Maybe she's right--that fate determined these two families would meet and become close. Well, I'll pick this up when you add the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for all the reviews. This will (I think) be about 32 chapters when it's finally completed. The next chapter is in draft, as is the following one. I hope to update in January. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/16/14 16:38
Chapter: Tragedy

Seriously--they're eating pizza and chips? Sometimes at school here they make pizza and French fries for lunch. I just don't get it. I can see potatoes with meat but not pizza. Anyway, Jacqui sounds like such a good friend. I'm sure Ginny really appreciates it. Al almost gave away the family secrets a couple of times. I'm having fun picturing the Potters' home. You paint such lovely pictures with your words.

Author's Response: Pizza and chips, a meal of desperation. Get them out of the freezer, chuck them in the oven, and then half an hour later, you have a meal (of sorts). Although I know several Pizza restaurants which sell chips with pizza, and most fish and chip shops will, too. Drakeshaugh is, in part, based on a barn conversion I've watched being built. The Drakestone, and the area around it, are real, although I've had to rearrange local geography a little to fit the Potter's house into a real landscape. Keeping it real helps me to keep it real. :-D -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/12/14 17:24
Chapter: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

I noticed you use a lot of "statistics talk" to describe how they make predictions. It sounds like they're running regression equations. The whole werewolf situation is very complicated right now. I almost feel bad for Harry with all the stress he's under.

Author's Response: I do use a lot of “statistics talk”, well spotted. A couple of years ago I co-wrote a story (Unspeakable) with C_A_Campbell. Michael’s “RANDOM system” took form in that story. I work in engineering, so most of my statistical maths is long-forgotten, but it seemed like a good idea to use a magical regression analysis.
I’d really like to rewrite “Unspeakable” but 50% of it belongs to C_A_Campbell, and my last attempt to contact her failed. Perhaps I’ll try again.
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/12/14 16:37
Chapter: Waxing Gibbous

Mary is such a bitch. I will bet that Amanda was extremely excited to receive a bottle of champagne. An Auror's work is never done is it?

Author's Response: An Auror’s work is never done, but Ginny tries to make sure Harry takes time off.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Blaise Inglorious by Northumbrian 6th-7th Years
Ginny is stuck at Hogwarts while Harry, Ron, and Hermione are on the run. Blaise...
A Sackful of Holiday Horsefeathers by Piwakitt 3rd-5th Years
This story has a bit of everything in it. Humor, romance, Slytherin schemes...
Get Older by ellie oh 6th-7th Years
Lily is having something of a breakdown, unsure of where she fits as graduation...
FEATURED
Tarot by DeadManSeven 3rd-5th Years
A reading that consists of only cards from the Major Arcana indicates the destiny...
Rat by DragonDi 6th-7th Years
The Potters' Secret Keeper, Sirius Black, is presumed dead. Remus Lupin wants...
The Ruin by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
Even in its abandonment and slow disintegration, it retains its power to destroy...
CATEGORIES