Reviewer: Sannah
Date: 03/02/15 18:06
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Two questions about the stranger:
- Why did she walk rather than apparate?
- Is she the same young woman who failed the Auror practical in record time (Harry encounters at the Ministry in chapter 20)?
I love this story! Hope you can update soon.

Reviewer: glendora
Date: 01/15/15 16:53
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Glad to have another chapter! It's fun to have a smart Muggle view of Harry's and Ginny's world. I especially enjoyed Jacqui's assessment of Hermione. There are a lot of serious threads here though, not just the murders but also the links to Arthurian legends--and some of your other stories about Goyle, Nott, and perhaps the Ancient and Most Noble House of Lupin. But the red puffer coat? Red Riding Hood?? The cowboy boots threw me though--shades of Wonder Woman. I look forward to reading more, hopefully soon.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Jacqui continues to be an excellent observer. It’s fortunate that she’s also very good at rationalising what she sees, although she’ll have her work cut out in the next chapter. Some of the threads you mention are red herrings, but not all of them. -N-

Reviewer: minervassister
Date: 01/13/15 12:32
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Oh who is the mysterious stranger?
Great to have another chapter.
Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks
More very soon. She’s called Cecilia, does that help?’
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 01/12/15 17:51
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Oh great! I have to wait until next time to find out who the mystery girl is. I hope you update soon. I could understand Henry thinking he'd done enough hand washing in the pool:D OMG--that stupid girl pulled a wand on a Muggle. I did have to chuckle at that.

Author's Response: Even when you find out who she is, you won’t know who she is, at least not exactly. I hope to update within a week or so. Don’t all small boys know that a hand-wash is good for a week? -N-

Reviewer: desertsol98
Date: 01/12/15 11:03
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

what a pleasant surprise I found this morning. What a way to end this chapter! I can't wait to find out who this stranger is!
Jacqui certainly is bright and I'm glad to see Ginny taking her into her confidence (limited confidence, but it still counts)
I just really love this story and all the people in it.

Author's Response:
Thanks, and sorry for the delayed reply. Real life! The stranger will be identified in the next chapter, but a Jacqui isn’t told everything, you won’t know, either. She’s already made a (blink and you’ll miss it) appearance.
There will be a lot to pique Jacqui’s curiosity in the next chapter. But Ginny will, once again, be forced to make excuses.
-N-

Reviewer: carmour45
Date: 01/11/15 19:34
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Really love where this is going. Keep it up. :)

Author's Response: :-D

Reviewer: carmour45
Date: 01/11/15 19:30
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Really love where this is going. Keep it up. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I will. -N-

Reviewer: GinevraMinerva
Date: 01/11/15 13:51
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

Yay!! An update on Strangers :D :D Made my day!
Although it ended on a cliffhanger again, which just makes me want to ask you for more, a la Oliver Twist.

Fab chapter Neil- I loved it, and good call on the accents/ Yorkshirism. I'd use breadcake (I'm from Sheffield) but I've never heard it anywhere else in the country!

Author's Response:
Thanks. I hope to update this one very soon.

In the very first chapter Jacqui identified Ginny’s accents, and said she was good at them. She’s been doing it ever since, but her knowledge of breadcakes being a Sheffieldism may be her finest hour.

-N-

Reviewer: Dad
Date: 01/11/15 7:49
Chapter: Stranger at Drakeshaugh

The plot thickens.

Author's Response: Yup! -N-

Reviewer: carmour45
Date: 01/09/15 9:48
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

Love this fic. Keep it comming.

Author's Response: Okay, but don't expect this sort of service every time you ask! :-D -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/24/14 1:02
Chapter: Hunter's Moon Waxing

I hope you finish this story. I really like it and I want to see if Jacqui ever finds out the truth about the Potters. It almost seemed that Jacqui wished the Potters were a little more normal. Maybe she's right--that fate determined these two families would meet and become close. Well, I'll pick this up when you add the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for all the reviews. This will (I think) be about 32 chapters when it's finally completed. The next chapter is in draft, as is the following one. I hope to update in January. -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/16/14 16:38
Chapter: Tragedy

Seriously--they're eating pizza and chips? Sometimes at school here they make pizza and French fries for lunch. I just don't get it. I can see potatoes with meat but not pizza. Anyway, Jacqui sounds like such a good friend. I'm sure Ginny really appreciates it. Al almost gave away the family secrets a couple of times. I'm having fun picturing the Potters' home. You paint such lovely pictures with your words.

Author's Response: Pizza and chips, a meal of desperation. Get them out of the freezer, chuck them in the oven, and then half an hour later, you have a meal (of sorts). Although I know several Pizza restaurants which sell chips with pizza, and most fish and chip shops will, too. Drakeshaugh is, in part, based on a barn conversion I've watched being built. The Drakestone, and the area around it, are real, although I've had to rearrange local geography a little to fit the Potter's house into a real landscape. Keeping it real helps me to keep it real. :-D -N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/12/14 17:24
Chapter: Interlude: Bad Moon on the Rise

I noticed you use a lot of "statistics talk" to describe how they make predictions. It sounds like they're running regression equations. The whole werewolf situation is very complicated right now. I almost feel bad for Harry with all the stress he's under.

Author's Response: I do use a lot of “statistics talk”, well spotted. A couple of years ago I co-wrote a story (Unspeakable) with C_A_Campbell. Michael’s “RANDOM system” took form in that story. I work in engineering, so most of my statistical maths is long-forgotten, but it seemed like a good idea to use a magical regression analysis.
I’d really like to rewrite “Unspeakable” but 50% of it belongs to C_A_Campbell, and my last attempt to contact her failed. Perhaps I’ll try again.
-N-

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/12/14 16:37
Chapter: Waxing Gibbous

Mary is such a bitch. I will bet that Amanda was extremely excited to receive a bottle of champagne. An Auror's work is never done is it?

Author's Response: An Auror’s work is never done, but Ginny tries to make sure Harry takes time off.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/12/14 15:56
Chapter: First Quarter

That was certainly rude of Mary--commenting on the guests and saying she had a horrible time. She's lucky she was invited to begin with. Oh no, what did Ginny let out at the end!

Author's Response: Mary is certainly being very ungrateful, and bigoted. She certainly won’t be getting another invitation. As for Ginny…

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/12/14 12:29
Chapter: Fireworks

Aside from the trifle incident, the party seemed to go smoothly. Mark and Jacqui might be too smart for their own good. Pretty soon they'll run out of ideas to explain strange things that are happening around the Potters.

Author's Response: A mere trifle! People rationalise all the time, who knows how long it will be before Mike & Jacqui run out of explanations.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/11/14 23:42
Chapter: Nosh and Natter

I loved George's story about how he lost his ear. It entertained everyone. So far he party seems to be going well. Some people almost said something though. If it were my party I'd be very nervous about the possibility someone may say something very confusing to the Muggles.

Author's Response: Small children often ask very awkward questions, and Henry is no exception. I’m sure George has a lot of stories. The “magical” guests are, in the main, well-practiced around Muggles (at least in my universe they are). Dennis, Dean and Hermione are Muggleborn, others (Andromeda) are married to Muggleborns (Andromeda, Ron) or Muggles (Dennis and Seamus).

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/11/14 18:22
Chapter: Arrivals

I loved that you introduced each couple that walked in and their children. I felt like I was catching up with old friends. We have still to meet the Muggle couples and children from school. Once again I felt like I was at the party, smiling and greeting everyone.

Author's Response: Having been to some fairly big post-swimming competition parties, I know that it’s possible. Ron was right when he suggested that it’s not a werewolf. He’s often right.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/11/14 13:21
Chapter: Interlude: Three Families

I'm with Ron. I would never have gone swimming or anywhere else if I had a big party planned. It does help to be magical though. I would be all pins and needles getting ready for the party. Interesting that they've decided it's not a werewolf attacking people.

Author's Response: Having been to some fairly big post-swimming competition parties, I know that it’s possible. Ron was right when he suggested that it’s not a werewolf. He’s often right.

Reviewer: Fynnsmom
Date: 12/09/14 18:30
Chapter: A Breakdown, a Bike and a Barmy Blonde Again

This chapter was hysterical! I laughed out loud. You just have to love Luna. I loved it when she asked Mary if Mary would like her to take her clothes off. Also when she batted the air around Mary's head and commented that she seemed confused:d Great chapter.

Author's Response: Luna is always good for injecting some humour into the situation. It always takes me a while to get into the Luna mindset. She has a logic all of her own, and until I embrace it, I can't write her. I think that the secret is: she believes that she's rational.

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Silver Platters by Padfoot11333 3rd-5th Years
Roxy Weasley writes, and Lucy Weasley reads.
A Squib's Journey by ntoforhp 6th-7th Years
Jeffery Potter always had sensed he was somehow different from his playmates...
Out of the Blue by Secret Marauder 90 1st-2nd Years
This story weaves the tale of James and Lily from the day they met right up...
FEATURED
Where Light and Shadow Meet by Ennalee 1st-2nd Years
All his life, Percy has built and gathered, painted and carved, and now everything...
Different in the Morning by Gmariam 3rd-5th Years
Seventh year is almost over, and after indulging in the kitchen a bit too much...
Rid of Me by littlebird 6th-7th Years
Hermione gets the cat, the flat, the food, and the furniture. Ron gets the family...
CATEGORIES