Reviewer: hermy008
Date: 02/16/12 22:23
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

That was amazingly fantastic! Brought tears to my eyes. :S Makes me want to 1) watch part 1 again just for that scene, 2) find that smashing pumpkins song, and 3) listen to "o children" again, in that order.

It's no wonder you got a award for this fic, it was just great. :D

Author's Response: Thanks so much! What a lovely review to wake up to :) The award means that the fic has been 'featured' in the side-bar but it makes me grin anyway. I hope you do listen to the Smashing Pumpkins song. I sort of associate it with this scene now, along with 'O Children'.

Reviewer: DestinyMoonStar
Date: 02/02/12 15:12
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Awesome story. You are a true writer.

Author's Response: Thank you very much :)

Reviewer: Harmthuria
Date: 01/30/12 20:43
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Great choice of song. Great choice.

Author's Response: Thanks! I was looking through lists of songs that might have been playing at that time and when I saw Eye there I just knew that had to be it :)

Reviewer: dancengirl
Date: 01/25/12 3:39
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

very well done i like that they stayed friends i hate hermione/harry ships all in all a nice job

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: expecto_patronuts
Date: 01/11/12 7:54
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Oh. My. GOD. Harmony is my fav ship EVER. Thiswas such a good fic. Kudos to you! ;D

Author's Response: Thanks :) They're mah fav ship too xD

Reviewer: CoolCatElly
Date: 02/22/11 12:06
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Wow, I am so jealous right now. That was amazing, Julia. You have such a poetic, unique writing style and I always love whatever you write, but this might be my favorite ever. So so beautiful <3



Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much, Elene! I'm glad you liked it :D

Reviewer: AngelEJC
Date: 02/18/11 17:29
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Two words:


LOVED IT!!!!


Three words:


Keep 'em coming!


Thank you!
AngelEJC

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Reviewer: hogwartsbookworm
Date: 02/17/11 15:50
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Ah, Julia, that was great! Beautifully written, (man, even when you write prose it is poetic!) totally in character, believable... I think you redeemed the scene from the movie. I didn't like it when I saw it, but reading this makes it seem much less out of character and out of place. Great job!

Author's Response: Thank you! Well, the point was to redeem that scene even before the film came out! So it's good to know you feel that way after reading this :D Thanks so much for the read and review. Julia x

Reviewer: Equinox Chick
Date: 02/17/11 8:03
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Ah, you just gave a reason for that scene in the film - thank - goodness for that, because quite honestly I really didn't like Dan's flat-footed dancing at all and found myself cringing. It also seemed purposeless in the movie, but here it was natural and so very right.

Julia, I have long been a fan of your poetical prose. You have this way with words that makes me weep with frustration at my own lack of poeticism. AGHHH! Anyway, this seems to be turning into a review that's far more about me and not the story and that would never do.

I'm not familiar with the song, but that didn't matter. The lyrics seemed to meld perfectly with the sentiment of the story. I particularly enjoyed the flow that swam along with a rhythm as perfect as their dance.

A touching story and one that seemed to fit well with the book and the desolation of their predicament. The line from the book that keeps reverberating with me is the one about 'being scared teenagers in a tent.' Utterly grim and yet you managed to find the occasional chink of light.

Loved the end. The bonds between the Trio are so strong that when one of them breaks away, it's heartening to see how Harry and Hermione manage to stay together.

Sorry, this was stream of conscious stuff, but put plainly - WONDERFUL story. ~Carole~

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much, Carole :D I'm glad I've been able to give meaning and reason to this. You know I don't much like the H/G relationship but I don't deny that, in the books, Harry does care for her a lot, and I wanted to show that. It's funny that you bring up that line because I was thinking about that while writing. I guess what I wanted was to give them a brief moment to get away from that, and I really believe that was what the scene in the film was trying to do rather than perpetuate the H/Hr pairing. Although, I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on that front! Again, thank you so much for the lovely review :) Julia x

Reviewer: WeasleyMom
Date: 02/16/11 18:11
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

So here's something: getting equally glowing reviews from Jess and me on a maybe-kinda Harmony fic. ;) I will not even try to be as eloquent as she was, but I do think this was just lovely. As always, your lyrical, poetic prose just draws me right in. And though I feared where you were going to take this, I thought your version was a hundred times better than that of the movie. As hardcore as I am about R/Hr, the crime against canon that happens in the movie is that Harry seems to think nothing of Ginny at all. I love that you've developed the lonliness and abandonment Harry and Hermione are surely feeling, and allow them to take momentary comfort in each other without selling out the ones they actually have romantic feelings for.

I just loved it. From beginning to end. You truly are one of the most gifted writers on this site, in my opinion, Julia. Well done.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Lori. You know how much I love your canon fics so I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I never set out to write this as a romance. In my mind, it's more of a missing moment in canon more than anything else. I love any tender moment between Harry and Hermione, and this was meant to be platonic which is why I couldn't bring myself to put it in the Harry/Hermione category. For me, it's a moment of friendship and nothing more. Again, thank you so much for the lovely review. It made me smile from ear to ear :)

Reviewer: MaraudingMarauders
Date: 02/16/11 16:01
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Awesome one shot...I liked it!

Author's Response: Thank you :)

Reviewer: ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor
Date: 02/16/11 14:07
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

Hello!

I’d like to first say that you and I are in the minority that enjoyed the dance in the tent scene in the movie, so I knew right away that this would be a brand new extension of your fabulousness. However, I have to confess that I’m rather torn, because even though I adore the movie scene in question, honestly, your version makes much more sense. XD

One of your shining qualities as an author has always been your ability to not only keep a character true to canon, but to supersede that underlying basis and add a new, equally plausible dimension. For example, we know the dance never happened in canon or that there is no evidence that it did, but you wove so many gorgeous canon details, such as Harry trying to imagine that his fingers were stroking red hair, not brown, and feeling Quidditch robes and not rough, serviceable fabric. At first, I will admit that I wasn’t sure if Book!Harry would ever have the jewels to ask (well, demand) Hermione to dance with him, but once the sequence proceeded, I felt his need to alter their cold reality — change the facts, as it were — and the song gave him inspiration.

I think the song, too, was a brilliant addition. Normally, at least from my experience, song fics often suffer from lyric overload, but the few interwoven lines just seemed to come at the right time and the right place to add just that little bit to the story. The lyrics were just so well-suited to the mood and theme to the song that I decided to YouTube it and listen to the song whilst reading. It was, of course, a great idea. The song’s rich melodies and auras match up well with the emotive properties of the story. You make your selections well. Well done, you!

The amount of description that you put into such a short piece was phenomenal. In one paragraph, you managed to paint a vivid scene and set up a metaphor for later in the story. I could have been watching this scene happening in my head and it wasn’t lacking in the slightest in sensory information. How you did this is a mystery to me, and I am so in awe of your ability to do so with such brevity and fluidity. In particular, this part was striking:

She stares at him, her eyes half-closed, before sniffing softly and taking his out-stretched hand. Harry picks the wireless up from the armchair and carefully places it on the side table before pulling her close against him. She lets out a huff of breath and their eyes meet.

In three sentences, you convey Hermione’s feelings at the time, as well as what Harry is doing, all while not missing a beat. It seems like a random point in the fic, but it’s indicative of how you do it so gracefully. I don’t have to ‘read between the lines’ or interpret things; you set up everything, and all one has to do is let one’s mind absorb the subliminal details and not even realise that it’s happening.

I’m not going to lie and say I didn’t start reading this with the preconception that this was a Harmony piece and would be one of our favourite things — a pocket of non-canon/what could have been encased in canon. It was that, but not what I’d expected. There was not that overt shippy undertone that made me think that there was anything but grief and wishing things had gone differently between them, and in a way, it’s far more beautiful as such. It’s not something written to spite canon and to show that certain ‘delusions’ could have happened; instead, there is a peace, or ironically enough, a harmony, between the two, where Harry was daydreaming about Ginny, and Hermione finally said that she missed Ron, indicated that she cared about him on a different level. It was just so lovely.

All in all, if I had known that all that kept you from submitting this story was the lack of a title, I would’ve beat down your door and made one for you so I would have got to read this before now. Thank you so much for your fabulous work and letting the rest of us be a part of it. I look forward to future submissions from you. Simply splendid.

~Jess



Author's Response:

What an epic review! My jaw literally dropped when I opened this up. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me this. It was such a pleasure to read. And yes, I did squee out loud. Please don't hold that against me xD

First of all, yes, I think we are a minority. Although, my friend Bronwyn LOVES than scene and she is a canon shipper. My mum is a total Harmony shipper like me so she loved it, too. LOL. I remember when I saw the film for the first time, I was really surprised that my version was so close to it. I think you get the same feeling of loss and abandonment and that longing for lost innocence. I love that you can take it either way, though. You can see it as something more than friendship if you want, or you can take it as a platonic moment of shared friendship. This fic is more the latter but I'm glad you still enjoyed it as such! Thank you :)

As for the song, I deliberately went through songs that were released around the time the Trio were on the run and as soon as I saw Eye I knew that it would be perfect and not just because I'm a huge Smashing Pumpkins fan. There is something about that song that really matches the melancholic feeling I imagine Harry and Hermione to feel. Also, when I wrote this, I tried to match the pacing to the song in real time. Of course, it sort of ran away from me but I'm glad that you were still able to see that structure as you read. When it comes to songfics, I believe that the lyrics should be there to add to rather than distract from the fic so it's good to know that they worked here. Again, like the structure of the melody, I tried to incorporate them within the prose to match the pacing and atmosphere.

As I said to Lori, I never set out to write a romance with this. I deliberately wanted to show a tender and platonic moment between Harry and Hermione. For me, they are as much of a pleasure to read as any good Harmony romance. Of course, people are able to interpret it as such but I like that a canon-carder can read this and still like it. I love how you describe the 'harmony' between the two. I really enjoy exploring that bond between the two of them that is sometimes ignored in fear of coming across as delusional. Whether there is a possibility of romance, Harry and Hermione are still really close friends and they have some great moments together in canon. This is more of a missing canon moment. Something that could have happened without taking anything away from Ron or Ginny.

Thank you so much for this review. It really made my day :) It means a lot to me that you liked this fic and that you took the time to write me that whopper is even more special. Sorry if this reply is a little convoluted and incoherent at times. I'm a little giddy from grinning so much. Now, I'm going to brush my teeth, wash my face, get into my pyjamas, and curl up on the couch and read some Katie/Oliver. Perfect plan!

Julia xxx

Reviewer: Padfoot Patronus
Date: 02/16/11 12:35
Chapter: Is it any wonder I can't sleep?

two words: clever and brilliant

-Akay

Author's Response: Thank you :)

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
The Skeletons' Tale by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
"A rose by any other name would smell as sweet," wrote Shakespeare. This story...
Autumn At The Castle by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
The 'treat' of autumn's glorious beauty is inevitably follow by the 'trick'...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
FEATURED
Five Christmases by hestiajones 1st-2nd Years
It took four Christmases for Andromeda Black and Ted Tonks to get together...
Coming Alive by The owl 6th-7th Years
Leanne Gamp hadn't wanted to be at that party, even though it was Christmas...
Graves by Oregonian 1st-2nd Years
In December of 1997, Harry visits his parents' graves in Godric's Hollow and...
CATEGORIES