MuggleNet Fan Fiction
Harry Potter stories written by fans!
Reviews For Swimsuit Quidditch

Name: Equinox Chick (Signed) · Date: 01/22/11 3:09 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
This was funny. The double entendre is a particularly British genre and you caught that very well. I was giggling along with your other readers. Backtracking, I did like Ginny's gift from George and Ron - very inventive.

Okay, here comes the crit. Neil, I really don't think Ginny would say those things in front of her brothers. Okay, she might say them once or twice to embarrass them, but there is no way they'd be comfortable with that type of conversation. Ron may have relaxed around Harry and Ginny, but he's not going to be happy with Ginny talking about her tits. Trust me, I have brothers. Your parents and your siblings never have sex - the children are born by immaculate conception. ; p

I did like the story and I'm very aware that I'm in the minority here, but I think it would have been better if it had been a quieter conversation - OR if all the Weasleys reacted in the way Percy does. Sorry, I'm very negative, aren't I? Feel free to ignore me or hex me to bits ~Carole~

Author's Response:
On the plus side, you liked the story and I made you giggle. Laughter is always good. It's especially good to know as I’ve never tried to write a funny story before.

I have brothers, but no sisters (or daughters), so I can’t argue with you from experience. Perhaps my friends and I are simply coarse (or naïve in the case of my missus - she is great for an unintended entendre, much to my male friends delight). This is only marginally worse than some conversations I’ve heard in front of brothers/friends/teenage kids. Perhaps it’s different in my part of the UK (I can’t use that as an excuse, however, as Harry and Ginny are southerners).

I actually physically moved Harry away from the brothers, but a private conversation seemed a little flat to me (and, also, I wanted to use Fleur’s comment). I will ytake another look at thin, but I'm not promising changes. I suspect that pastiche or AU story would make humour easier, as in those cases, characterisation is not an issue.

I may disagree with critics, but I never ignore them. Here are two quotes from Winston Churchill which I try to remember at all times. Good advice from a great (though flawed) man.

“Criticism may not be agreeable, but it is necessary. It fulfils the same function as pain in the human body. It calls attention to an unhealthy state of things.”

“Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak; courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.”


Name: welshdevondragon (Signed) · Date: 01/21/11 7:14 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
That was brilliant. Laugh out loud funny, and very, very Ginny to be that daring in front of her siblings and for Harry to have to go along with it and not let her win, as it were. And also bless you for mentioning Humphrey Lyttleton. He was a great man and certainly master of this particular genre. He is very, very sorely missed.

Author's Response:
Thanks. I can see Ginny constantly pushing her brothers buttons, and Harry is another way to do it.

I was trying for the fine traditions of Humph. In the words of the great man himself: "So, while Samantha nips out to enjoy a portion of winkles in cider…”

Name: macheel (Signed) · Date: 01/20/11 10:44 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
This story made me so angry........angry that there was not more. I loved the story. It made me laugh out loud. I think Ginny would be just like that.like that. She tough and does what she wants dispite what her brothers say. That sound like a fun little game that I will have to try. I love all of your writing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I find humour extremely difficult to write, making even one person laugh is an achievement. Ginny is tough and quick witted and Harry has displayed a wry, dry, and often self mocking sense of humour. He’s smart enough to verbally spar with Ginny. -N-

Name: acs09 (Signed) · Date: 01/20/11 9:08 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
I really liked your story! I think you did stay true to the characters and I agree with what you responded to one of the reviews. Since time has passed I do think things would be more relaxed and happy among them. Overall I enjoyed it and laughed in basically all of the story :D

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I see this as the beginnings of a more relaxed stage in Harry and Ginny’s relationship. Ginny is a Quidditch professional (in the light of this story I hesitate to use those words) and Harry is an Auror and four years after the war life is becoming settled. According to my timeline, they are engaged (as are Ron and Hermione), so I should have used fiancée, not girlfriend. -N-

Name: chaser5 (Signed) · Date: 01/19/11 17:35 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
this was an interesting story. for the most part each character stays similar to the books. the disclaimer was there but i found it to be a tad bit sexual-if one were to look into it.

Author's Response: I’m a big fan of the humour of the double entendre (most Brits are). I’ve heard a lot worse on early evening radio, but I was concerned that this would not be to everyone’s taste. -N-

Name: minervassister (Signed) · Date: 01/19/11 6:04 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
Wow! This takes Quidditch related humour into a completely new league.
Could have been written by Fred and George!
Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks, after a lot of battle tales, conflict and combat I needed to write something like this. I'm just glad that some people find it funny. -N-

Author's Response: Thanks, after a lot of battle tales, conflict and combat I needed to write something like this. I'm just glad that some people find it funny. -N-

Name: September December (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 21:00 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
Awwww! This fic is really funny, and your Harry and Ginny are adorable. :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I’m glad that I could make you laugh. -N-

Name: goldylocks1201 (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 18:00 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
That made my day. Thanks for that funny story. I really appreciated the innuendos.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Innuendo? They were talking about Quidditch, weren’t they? -N-

Name: iwishicouldwrite (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 16:36 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
hilarious!! Love the harry and ginny banter, they make such a nice couple :)

Author's Response: They do, it’s as though they’re made for each other – oh, that’s because they are. (-: -N-

Name: MagicMandy (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 15:54 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
This story was very enjoyable and amusing. I found the puns amusing

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Name: Lost_Robin (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 14:13 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
I LOVED it!!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-

Name: phillipcrain (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 13:42 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
well I thought this was hilarious!!! I was trying not to cry I was laughing so hard!

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm glad that I could make you laugh. -N-

Name: DobbyDeath (Signed) · Date: 01/18/11 13:40 · For: Swimsuit Quidditch
hey i liked the story, but you sort of change some of the characters personalitys. like harry and giiyn would never act like that in front of everyone. and ginny wouldnt say that underwaer thing in front of her parents. i also think that if ginny was doing that (ron, percy, bill and charlie) would most likly punch him in the face. js, good story, but dont change the characters.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I don’t think that I have changed their personalities. I deliberately dated this on Ginny’s twentieth birthday. Harry is twenty one and it is over four years since the battle, and five since they first kissed. Ron was (fairly) relaxed about Harry and Ginny during DH, he matured enormously during DH and he, too is in a stable, loving relationship (with Hermione). If anyone can control Bill and Charlie (who weren’t happy) it’s Ginny. -N-

You must login (register) to review.