Reviewer: silverlining95
Date: 05/30/12 20:35
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

I'll admit that whilst I've always been somewhat sympathetic towards Draco and what he went through, I never really forgave him for his actions.

Until I read this! Draco's personality and anxieties are perfectly in character yet still reveal aspects of him that were never completely revealed in the books, and for me this perfectly complements what we know of Draco with the redemption he (and his family) deserves. I thought the Hermione aspect worked beautifully, allowing him to atone, but also to show that he is capable of love, and the fact he stepped up and treated Hermione like a perfect gentleman and with more care than anyone could have expected was deeply moving.

I liked Astoria's inclusion, as it brought her into the plot seamlessly and fitted in with him realising he couldn't blame himself forever. Particularly, the line 'This was a mere flicker of interest in someone other than himself' was interesting, as it not only fits in with Astoria's role, but I personally felt it reflected how he still cannot quite let go of his past actions, so any previous interest in someone other than himself, such as Charity or Hermione, he doesn't register, because he still associates them with the darker side of himself.

Really, truly, touching. I'm now a Draco convert!

Fenella xx

Author's Response: Hi there, Fenella

Thank you for the review. You know, I never liked Draco at all until I read a story by Sainyn Swiftfoot called Deception, Disgrace, which made him redeemable. He's still horrible. He was truly vile to hermione and can't justify a lot of his actions, but Harry recognised he couldn;t kill and that counts for a lot.

I probably waste far too much time writing Draco, but he's rather addictive. EVIL FERRET!

Thank you very very much for reviewing. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Nina1503
Date: 08/09/11 11:43
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

I really liked your story:-)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. This story surprised me when I wrote it, and led to a spin off (Teenage Witch) which is about Charity at the Yule Ball, if you're interested. Glad you liked it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: The Next Dark Lord
Date: 05/08/11 8:01
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Aww...
I love the way you made Draco realize how he had to change. It was very original, but not the first time that I've seen something like this.

I liked the plot twist of Draco being in love with Charity Burbage...I didn't expect that at all! Yet when I read that part, it made sense.

And then you led it to Draco being "interested" (but not completely falling in love) in Astoria. Well done, well done.

Overall, I loved this story, and hope to write one as wonderful (but different, I'm a sucky romance writer) as this someday.

Author's Response: Oh ... he wasn't in love with Charity. They kissed but it was more because they needed each other at that moment. I doubt Draco had loved anyone except his Mum before then. He fancied Hermione, but couldn't admit that. Thank you for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it.~Carole~

Reviewer: ExLeper
Date: 01/16/11 17:22
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

ohh this was soooo good! I really have enjoyed every story of yours I have read so far you have an amazing gift great job!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked this story, because I loved writing it. ~Carole~

Reviewer: kittencat
Date: 12/24/10 16:16
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Oh this is absolutely wonderful and I think it is quite interesting and unexpected that Charity is his guide. I absolutely loved it!! I also enjoy that it isn't a typical Carol spin-off where everything is made apparent. The connections are hard to grasp and it has more of a "Five People You Meet in Heaven" vibe than a typical Carol retelling. I think you did absolutely wonderful and also enjoy how you depict the Malfoys caring about each other in their own guarded and distant way.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the review. I think the film actually inspired Charity's appearance in this - so Yay for the film (at last). Mmm, I think the Malfoys do care very much for each other; it just doesn't always show. Thanks again ~Carole~

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 12/19/10 18:16
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

great ending to a great story! I love how he meets astoria, she's so cute!! Nice job :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review and glad you liked the story. ~Carole~

Reviewer: chattyswimmer
Date: 12/19/10 9:07
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Loved the ending. Great story!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: christina_jane
Date: 12/18/10 22:07
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Great job! I think this is one of my favorites out of these Christmas challenge thingys. :)

Author's Response: Thanks very much. It was a joy to write. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Whitlie
Date: 12/18/10 21:47
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Awe it ended so good!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 12/18/10 18:55
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Beautiful! Just really beautiful. You write about connections and made some really great ones here. You pulled together all the scenes from the previous chapters and wrote a really poignant ending that fits perfectly. I love your angsty tortured Draco, and really liked how he resolved his issues here. The potion was neat, and the idea that he gives it to Hermione to make up for not helping Charity was great. I still don't really understand their kiss, but I still loved their dialogue and interaction. My favorite part, though, was meeting Astoria at the end. What a lovely bit of foreshadowing, as was the stuff with Rose/Scorpius back in the last chapter.
Really, really great story, Carole. Best of luck to you in the challenge! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Gina. Okay the first kiss was because she was there and vulnerable. Draco was thinking he could comfort her (she was thinking about her death, the table and everything). At that point, he's the same as her - ie a wraith or wisp of light, so they both have the same type of form and feel alive to each other (I hope this is making sense). The second time he kisses her, it's very much because she's close to him, he's feeling lost and he is pretty sure that she can heal him. He's 18, she's 27 and attractive. I think Draco is ruled by his hormones as much as anyone.

As for the Rose/Scorpius - meh, that's one version of the future. Scorp could well end up with Lily - heh heh heh.

Thank you very much for the review, Gina. You've made me think through that kiss, and although I'm keeping it, it's good that you've got me to justify it. Good Luck to you, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ProfPosky
Date: 12/18/10 18:16
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Oh, this is LOVELY. So many twists and unexpected turns, so in character, and yet so fresh. I especially like Astoria, and the hint you leave that Astoria is, for a pure-blood his father would approve, a very normal girl, one who might make him personally happy.

I've been reading right along and haven't always known what to write, so I have not reviewed as I should. This is really a masterful story, Carole. With so many opportunities to be cliched or maudlin or banal you skirted every single one of them. I like how you dealt with the suffering Draco witnessed and his coming to terms with the victims.

One has to wonder if Lucius ever felt badly about what happened to Ginny, and if he did, how if at all, he came to grips with it - I hope you write that one some day. It would not be at all like this. I despise Lucius, but I suspect that if anyone could show me a side of him I could understand at all, it would be you.

Congratulations on a MARVELOUS story.

Author's Response: OH, well, I do plan to write that Ginny/Lucius dilemma (not a pairing I assure you) It should feature in High at some stage, but I did write a drabble for D/A class this year which provided one angle. Thank you very much for the review and I'm glad you liked the story ~Carole~

Reviewer: AshTonks
Date: 12/18/10 18:08
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Oh, yay! Gushing praise! I really love this!

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I like a bit of gush. ~Carole~

Reviewer: nevilleherosnape
Date: 12/18/10 9:01
Chapter: Epilogue -Acceptance and Forgiveness

Wonderful! I love that you set it up for him to set it up for Rose and Scorpious in the future!! Great job!

Author's Response: Shame I ship Scorpius/Lily really. ha ha ha ha. Thank you for reading and reviewing. I appreciate it a lot. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 12/17/10 8:47
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Unspoilt Snow

Very interesting line at the end! I really liked the two versions of the future Charity showed Draco. And I'm really digging her character. The dialogue between her and Draco is great. One question: what was the kiss about? Does it come back later?
Looking forward to the end!
~Gina :)

Author's Response: I think Draco just likes snogging -LOL. In his mind, sex is the way to comfort someone, and she was upset at the time. Thanks for the review, Gina. The end is nigh ... ~Carole~

Reviewer: iwishicouldwrite
Date: 12/10/10 14:58
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Unspoilt Snow

yay!! I loved seeing Malfoy excited about seeing his son, it's clear that he really does care about his family :) update soon!

Author's Response: thank you very much. Epilogue is being written now. ~Carole~

Reviewer: AshTonks
Date: 12/10/10 10:28
Chapter: Chapter 3 - Unspoilt Snow

WAH! LOVE!

Author's Response: Thank you. Epilogue is being written now ~Carole~

Reviewer: MagicIsBetter
Date: 12/05/10 12:24
Chapter: Prologue - Shining Angels

Pretty cool idea!! Am I the only one who thought that it was Dumbledore??

Author's Response: Glad you like the story. Not sure Dumbledore would do the job as effectively as Charity ... he's a bit too imposing and terrifying for Draco. ~Carole~

Reviewer: ahattab33
Date: 12/05/10 11:36
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Connections

Carole-

I am so glad that there was a wonderful story of yours to read on the day I was able to relax and read some fanfiction, for your stories never fail to be character driven and and sympathetic. You know I have a soft spot for this Draco, the one who is still not very likeable, but has perhaps finally come to terms with who he used to be and has healed a bit and grown up a bit. This is a marvelous story about his own coming to terms, and rather than being predictable, you keep leaving me second-guessing where you are going with it. And everyone is in character- not even mentioning how much you have completely nailed Draco at what I imagine he might be in this point in his life, I particularly enjoy the last scene with his parents. And gah! I love your dialogue. I know you weren't sure if you were going to continue this story, but I for one think it's pretty marvelous.

~Amanda

Author's Response: Thank you, Amanda. You don;t quite know how much this review means to me. I was, as you know, humming and hawwing over this, but it is nearly complete so there's a definite end. Hmm, I think it was your stories about Draco and Astoria that got me thinking about him - so thank you again. ~Carole~

Reviewer: FawkesToTheRescue
Date: 12/04/10 20:00
Chapter: Prologue - Shining Angels

Oh, Carole, this is so nice. The characters you chose were beautiful, and the plot is stunning. I love the Dramione ... you have so much more plot in here than just the prompt. I don't have a ghost of a change in this competition now ... (gettit? ghost?) :D

Author's Response: Thanks Megan. It's been fun to write although I think my Draco obsession is growing alarmingly! Mmm, rather a lot of plot, and I need to cram it all into Ch 3 and then the epilogue - eeep! Good Luck to you, too. ~Carole~

Reviewer: Gmariam
Date: 12/04/10 18:12
Chapter: Chapter 2 - Connections

I really liked the last scene with Draco's parents at the end. It was very touching to see the Malfoys that way. As is often the case in so many of your stories, I feel like you are hinting at something there, something with his mother. I wonder what the future will hold for them. I'm also curious to see if you'll stick to canon or take Draco/Hermione to another level. ;) Nice chapter, good luck as you continue! ~Gina :)

Author's Response: One of these days, I shall finish my Dean story and that will explain the whole Draco and his mum situation. Actually, I do have a story up about Narcissa that explains my own personal canon surrounding her. That's not really in this story, though. Hmmm, Dramione ... perhaps. Thanks so much, Gina. ~Carole~

You must login (register) to review.
Information
Find out everything you need to know about the site right here.


We have stories and authors in this archive.

:

RSS
Choose Theme:
SOCIAL MEDIA
     
MOST RECENT
Severus's Prince by DestinyMoonStar Professors
What does Severus Snape do when a one night stand turns into a baby boy? ...
The Youngest Death Eaters: Year III by DestinyMoonStar 6th-7th Years
Year 3 A year of hard choices and tough talks: Destiny learns about...
Allegiance by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 6th-7th Years
During his final year at Hogwarts, Draco Malfoy had few illusions about where...
FEATURED
The Pretender by littlebird Professors
She feels the familiar pang of disappointment that they've never been better...
A Light in the Gap by WeasleyMom 3rd-5th Years
When Harry woke that first morning in Grimmauld Place, he wondered if Ron and...
Tapestry by Equinox Chick 1st-2nd Years
As Walburga Black stitches, Sirius rebels. Two poems written about the infamous...
The Weird Sisters - B-Sides and Rarities, Vol. 2 by ToBeOrNotToBeAGryffindor 1st-2nd Years
The Weird Sisters are back for an encore. Ten more tracks from your MNFF authors.
CATEGORIES